DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Ship Files: Polixenes Class Courier
by Omer J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2016 11:47:18

This product is a high-quality ship book. While the background material is not as expansive as in some of the Clement Sector books, for example, this book provides a highly detailed and highly useable starship which you could easily insert into any Cepheus or Traveller campaign. The 100-ton Polixenes Class Courier is, essentially, the good ol’ Scout/Courier, but in a more elegant “airframe” form. It has two variants. The main difference between them is fuel storage, with the longer-range one capable of 2-Jump-2. I wonder why it doesn’t have Jump Drive B to provide it with Jump-4 capabilities if it already has the fuel for this (I guess that this is a TL11 design?). Each variant gets a deck-plan in the book itself, and the regular variant also gets a color deck-plan. You also get the deck-plans and ship record sheets in separate, ultra-high-res JPEG files for your own printing.

Everything gets wonderful renders, including several paint-job variants of the ship and an Air/Raft it may carry (in its regular variant, that is). This also includes full Cepheus Engine ship (and air/raft!) stats and ship record sheets.

All in all, this is an excellent book. I now wonder, will the author publish his Terran Union setting itself in a later book? It sounds interesting...

Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ship Files: Polixenes Class Courier
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cepheus Engine Character Sheet
by Raymond T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2016 16:36:12

All the details you need to run your game and track your characters. No muss, no fuss and well laid out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cepheus Engine Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ship Files: RAX Type Protected Merchant
by Omer J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2016 10:18:56

This product is what I want in a "proper", full-scale ship book - a detailed artistic and schematic layout of a starship with all sorts of details that makde things interesting for the players - from a side cutout to show how the decks connect to each other to detailed description of which stateroom belongs to which crewmember. The ship itself is a relatively "typical" Traveller-type starship, but in this case provided with detailed art and schematics above and beyonmd what most ship-books usually provide.

Renders and deck-plans are high-res, clear, and professional.

The only thing which could be improved in this product would be the addition of a default crew, and some "juicier" in-setting background, but those are optional given the wealth of information and art provided by this booklet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ship Files: RAX Type Protected Merchant
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the great review. I have added an example crew, very basic and more an NPC sort of effort. Also added the Badger Class Launch!
Ship Files: RAX Type Protected Merchant
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2016 12:16:51

Once again Moon Toad has given us a well written, designed, and layed Out product. The ship is clean and creative yet fits cleanly into the Traveller style. Background information allows the ship to feel real rather than just a deck plan. Color images breath life into the ship as well. Overall I have found these to be well worth the money. Anyone who wants a great merchant ship for their game will be very happy with this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ship Book:Type S Scout/Courier
by Rich N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2016 10:48:13

Top quality work as expected from Moon Toad. Book comes with deck plans for 4 variations of the classic Type S as well as all the details you could possibly want. The walk-around descriptions of the different versions are excellent and it comes with a fully fleshed out ship, crew, and adventure seeds. And of course the renders of the different ships are top notch. Highly reccomened this book to anyone looking to really dig in to the Type S.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ship Book:Type S Scout/Courier
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ship Book:Type S Scout/Courier
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2016 21:52:51

One of my favorite ships in Traveller. Basically a small mobile home, where you can bring your stuff. Small enough not to draw attention, so you can do stuff, and yeah.

The renders make more sense then the original layout floor plan.

Was hoping for maybe some 3rd quarter view inside the ship, to help show varriations.... But for the price that might be a bit much to hope for.

Maybe a supplement expansion? Either way a real good set of maps.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Type R Subsidised Merchant Operators Manual
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2015 16:00:33

Loved the details. Was hoping to see a diagram how the Fighter Docked or where it was with relationship to the ship.

The Free Trader was my favorite so far from the team.

Looking forward to the Scout Courier.

(And if they will have Dyrone, Vargr, and Zhodani versions with it....)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Type R Subsidised Merchant Operators Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ship Book:A2L Far Trader
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2015 14:52:22

This is a fresh look at a Traveller classic design. I loved the way the book handled the variants and the images were fantastic. Well done and worth every credit, er um penny. :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ship Book:A2L Far Trader
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ship Book:Lune Class Freelancer
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2015 14:50:07

I really enjoy the products from this publisher, but this one is my favorite so far. I loved the design and the history/background given. I could see me using this in game as either the PCs ship or a ship that shows up often.

Well done in both art and writing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ship Book:Lune Class Freelancer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ship Book:Type A Free Trader
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2015 11:47:09

If you play traveller and your character(s) will ever travel on a Free Trader then this is a must buy! Stats, A3 plans, crew... What's not to love!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ship Book:Type A Free Trader
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ship Book:Lune Class Freelancer
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2015 17:11:19

This is the perfect travellers ship, with Jump 3 and Manoeuvre 4 you can go anywhere quickly and at 300 tons it is not too pricy. I suspect this is also used as the yacht of choice by the sub-sector nobility and mega-corp executives that need to get places fast (or at least a lot faster than the Type Y).

The book is rich in detail, with beautiful colour illustrations, deckplans and exterior views of several ships. There are also b&w and blue deckplans and 3 sample spaceship record cards.

Amazing high quality product that I can't fault with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ship Book:Lune Class Freelancer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ship Book:A2L Far Trader
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2015 15:49:55

More versatile than the A2, faster than the type A this is almost the ideal Travellers ship (I prefer the more expensive Lune Freelancer, also 300 tons by the same Publishers).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ship Book:A2L Far Trader
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ship Book:Lune Class Freelancer
by paul h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2015 18:15:56

I know the thread's about a year old, but I just recently picked this up from DTRPG and I gotta say it's how ship books should be (more on that later). As with the other source books I've purchased from Moon Toad publishing it has a very high level of production, the graphics are crisp and there's even (gasp!) color! I know it's not practical to always publish in color, but damn, all eBooks need to be designed and sold with at least SOME full color illustrations in them.

I pretty much liked the entire book. I thought that there could have been a tad more on the descriptions, but I'm a detail oriented kind of guy and I think it makes a lot of sense to NOT think about space when making a pdf document. They don't charge you by the byte.

The design is well thought out. First where there is a turret that shoots things other than beams it has a magazine. You'd be surprised by how many designs don't take that into account. They just pop something down on paper and they are done. There are multiple airlocks where you might expect them to be, PLUS they have listed vac suit storage right next to them. Another shocker when it comes to deck plans!

I really liked the extra illustrations, showing the ship in port, or flying. It gives a lot more life to the idea that ships aren't always on their own. In one image there's even a venerable scout/courier on a nearby landing pad.

Overall I thought the production quality was very high. I found a couple of minor blueprint errors, but nothing that you couldn't easily overlook. I did find the design somewhat odd. From an efficiency design view it seems to make more sense (to me at least) to move the launch and cargo deck from mid-deck to the lower deck, and swap the engines up to the 2nd level. It makes the design cleaner as well as offering the ability to have the launch dock from the front, or have some sort of through cargo deck much like a type-R merchant has. That's a personal preference, and after seeing so many sci-fi ship designs there are going to be ones that look cool but don't necessarily follow through on things like that.

In regards to my earlier comment about "it's how ship books should be" - I think if you combined more of the background/operations aspects that MJD has written in the new Referee aid's you have a killer combination. Moon Toad's graphics are FAR superior to anything I've seen yet from MGT, and I have harped on the low-res versions of deck plans and imagery in these series from MGT. I would happily pay the extra few dollars it would cost to have better artwork and clearer deck plans.

At $6ish USD the book is fairly priced and, I think very much worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ship Book:Lune Class Freelancer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ship Book:Lune Class Freelancer
by Steven P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2014 16:37:13

I've been searching for a ship to replace my party's creaking Far Trader - what an excellent package this turns out to be. For the money (under a fiver, UK-stylee), you get three full ship variants, two small craft variants, full and logical deck plans, and even illustrations and NPCs. Moon Toad and the writers - Eric Lyon-Taylor and Ian Stead - have done a fantastic job of putting all this together, and their effort has to be applauded. If I have one or two small quibbles (first with the proof-reading, and second with the fact that nobody ever puts a toilet in the medical bay :D) they certainly don't detract from the overall experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for a great review, apologies for not putting a loo in medbay. Next vessel that has a medbay will have one :O)
Ship Design Sheets
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2014 22:27:39

I was I guess expecting actual floor plans and the like. Its a good summary of important graph charts in one nice collection and well presented.

What could improve it is actual ship sheet page, were you record your ship layout, something like the classic High Guard did even. And some token ship floor plans just to round out the book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ship Design Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates