DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
City Under Martial Law - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/18/2014 22:51:28

I normally love Gil Luna’s soundscapes, but this one commits what to me is a cardinal sin of RPG background tracks: it features recognizable speech. Thematically, it fits; you have a guy giving commands to a distressed town through a bullhorn. But this invites players to pay more attention to the background track, so that they can understand the words he’s saying, distracting them from the actual gaming scene at hand. And this is otherwise a very noisy track, too, as would be quite expected with a rioting crowd, sirens, even gunfire. The soundscape is of high quality and fits its title very well (although the sirens put me more in mind of a police crackdown than a military takeover), but I think it would be too distracting in actual play.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
City Under Martial Law - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apocalyptic Sewer - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/18/2014 22:43:06

The water in this apocalyptic sewer runs pretty rapidly, it seems—or else the dripping water sounds almost like a heavy rain. I almost expect a canoe to come floating down the corridor. I think I hear rats scrabbling around, and maybe something even more threatening. The track is skillfully executed, but I have a slight concern that it might be too distracting. A GM using this soundscape should keep that in mind and monitor the volume carefully. But other than that, it’s got a wide range of applications, and would work just fine not only in the post-apocalyptic setting suggested in the title, but in any adventure that takes the characters into the sewers.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalyptic Sewer - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Radioactive Wasteland - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/18/2014 22:25:57

Bleak, depressing, godforsaken—that’s what I expect from a “radioactive wasteland,” and that’s what I got from this track. I picture this playing under a scene like, say, the one where Charlton Heston discovers the bomb-worshiping cult in “Beneath the Planet of the Apes.” Although the name suggests a post-apocalyptic setting, there’s no overt technology level embedded in the track except for a crackling that I associate with a Geiger counter, so I could even imagine this being used for visiting a mad scientist’s lab in a Cthulhu game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Radioactive Wasteland   - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Summoning Circle (encounter) - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/13/2014 17:55:00

I like most of the "Adventurer's Soundtrack" pieces quite a lot—but not this one. Part of the reason is just that the track implies too much of a storyline that might fit poorly with the pacing of a summoning scene during gameplay. A larger part of the reason is all the screaming in the first half of the track, and the very quiet chanting about 3/4 of the way through. The ups and downs in the volume and "body" of the piece draw attention to themselves, at least for me, and this diminishes the track's usefulness as RPG background music.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Summoning Circle (encounter) - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Elven City (with music) - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/13/2014 17:43:47

The musical line in this track has a peaceful, almost lullaby-like quality to it. The light and airy vocals and sounds of songbirds add beautifully to the ambience. The occasional sequences of more distinct dialogue in some kind of Elvish dialect, however, beckon listeners to try to focus on them and understand the words, which could be very distracting at the gaming table.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Elven City (with music)  - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dark Forest - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/13/2014 17:30:58

This track strongly resembles "The Dead Marshes," track 9 of "The Adventurer's Soundtrack," except that the animal sounds here are forest creatures like wolves and bears, or perhaps other things more exotic, and there is no sound of water. Next time the PCs at your table venture into a haunted forest or the like, start this track going to heighten the sense of spookiness and vague threat. I wish this track didn't have the human scream and the large-animal snarl, which lock down your story a bit. But I like everything else about it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dark Forest - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dead Marshes - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/13/2014 17:20:16

I think there must be alligators in this swamp! I can definitely hear bullfrogs and plenty of insects—and the crickets make me think it's nighttime. but near the beginning and middle of the track, some significantly larger, threatening creature makes noises. I wish those sound effects were more subtle, or even absent, as I find them a bit disruptive. Otherwise, the track is great. Use it to give your table a spooky ambience when the adventurers find themselves exploring a black dragon's swamp or a Cajun bayou.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dead Marshes - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dwarven City - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/12/2014 19:50:41

This does not sound like a very friendly place! "Duergar City" might be more like it. Barking dogs give you the sense that you're not really welcome here. Gruff voices, soft cries, and the sounds of pickaxes working away at ore deposits might give you the sense of slave labor. The track is pretty well done and relatively non-intrusive, even with the voices. But I don't see myself using it that often, unless the PCs at my table get captured by dark dwarf slavers or something like that.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dwarven City  - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battlefield Ruins - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/12/2014 19:15:08

Melancholy and haunting, this track could serve as decent backing for almost any RPG scene of exploring ruins that are open to the sky. Only a few drumbeats give you the sense of a "battlefield," per the title; the track surely works for such a setting, but you're definitely not locked into that description. However, bird cries near the beginning do pretty much limit you to outdoor scenes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlefield Ruins - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sea of Shadows- from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/12/2014 16:54:07

The cawing of seabirds implies that you’re not too far from land, but the light, melancholy instrumentals give you a sense of hopelessness. The creaking of wooden planks abounds; once in a while the ship’s bell rings lightly. This piece makes me want to write up a skill challenge for sailing through haunted waters or getting out of a dead calm (although a "gust of wind" spell makes the latter a bit less challenging). This track runs unobtrusively in the background, enhances the mood, loops perfectly, and inspires the DM—hard to beat all that!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sea of Shadows- from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alien Starship (interior) - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/23/2014 05:52:12

It's all a bit off... not quite identifiable sounds that will make looking around an alien starship all that more scary...

Much of it almost subliminal. If you concentrate you hear it, but as soon as your mind moves away or someone speaks to you it becomes inaudible... yet it's still there.

It's just pottering along in the background as I write... in some ways almost restful yet it is edgy as well.

Just the thing for playing when your party is exploring Traveller Hephaestus by 13Mann Verlag, available hereabouts, for example.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alien Starship (interior) - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I think that\'s the best review I\'ve ever read. Thanks!
Laser Battle - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/23/2014 05:42:20

Loads and loads of zapping sounds... a few 'tings' and bangs for variety.

I don't know about your players, but mine are very good at generating zapping sounds of their own when there's a laser battle in progress.

It makes for an intriguing and atmospheric scene-setter, though, and as there is no real patten to it you can just turn it on when a brawl breaks out. It certainly makes you want to keep your head down... and I did wait until the house was empty before playing it!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Laser Battle   - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Summoning Circle (encounter) - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Chuck C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2013 08:51:38

I bought this specifically for the last adventure I ran, where Our Heroes were putting a stop to some cultists in a New Orleans Warehouse. I trimmed out the screaming, and the monstrous voice at the end and it worked very well. Not that those pieces were bad - I just didn't need them. I think anyone in a similar position would find this likewise useful. It's a quality piece.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Summoning Circle (encounter) - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Frozen Tundra - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/08/2013 00:12:16

I wish I’d had this track back when my home D&D campaign went through an antarctic story arc. It makes me want to find another frozen clime just to use it! The howling winds and howling wolves give a good sense of the dangers of the tundra: the weather and the wildlife. The track isn’t perfect, though. It took me a while to realize that the crunching sounds at the beginning were supposed to be footsteps in the ice and snow, and the track doesn’t loop as well as I’d like. It’s not too disruptive, but the beginning and ending are rather distinct and there are about 3 seconds of silence at the end. Still, a good addition to your soundscape library for any RPG that might include a cold-weather adventure. I could easily imagine using this with any fantasy RPG or with horror titles like Call of Cthulhu (maybe some of those sounds presage an encounter with Ithaqua).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Frozen Tundra - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

On the River (encounter version) - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/07/2013 23:02:14

From the raptor’s cry at the beginning of the track to the rapids or waterfall at its end, this track is inspiringly creepy. It’s a great combination of natural beauty and otherworldly mystery, and in general would make great backing for a brief trek through a haunted forest or something like that. I say “brief,” though, because this is the first Ambient Environments track I’ve heard that doesn’t loop well. The sound of the water, in particular, builds throughout the piece in a way that makes looping feel disruptive when the river becomes peaceful again after its fever pitch. The sound effects are great and well executed, but the non-loopability really limits its usefulness at the gaming table and accounts for my rating.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
On the River (encounter version)   - from the RPG & TableTop Audio Experts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 94 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates