DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Pen & Paper Football
by Bobby C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2018 04:58:47

Football fans with tabletop roleplaying game experience will absolutely love this product. It combines elements of fantasy football with the game mechanics of RPGs like Dungeons and Dragons, allowing you to play either super-quick league-play games and simulate an entire season in one evening, or play in-depth, down-by-down head-to-head games with all the trimmings of an actual 3+ hour football game (including different plays, turnovers, penalties, injuries, etc.), or combine the two to roleplay your own team's quest for a playoff berth, and maybe even a championship!

Polyhedral dice (d6, d10, d20) are required to play, so there is an additional money sink beyond the cost of this product (you will also need a coin...any coin will do, even a penny). Previous RPG experience is certainly not required, but highly reccomended. There is a LOT of dice rolling that will feel quite natural to Dungeons and Dragons players, including a d20 "attack roll" versus an opponent's "armor class" (called DC or defensive class in this game) rolling for damage (yardage), critical failures and successes on natural rolls of 1 or 20, etc. There is a lot of referring to several tables and charts for different actions and resolutions, but again, old-school tabletop RPG gamers will feel right at home doing this (if the author happens to be reading this, I'd like to suggest a handy "referee screen" reference with all the tables on one page at the end of the book to alleviate lots of page-turning). The only other requirement is some knowledge of american football (however, this product does in fact explain the rules of the sport quite well. Still, it will almost certainly be overhwhelming and confusing without passing knowledge of the sport). In this game, your "character" is actually an entire team, of which you are the coach, the players, and even the general manager, and your "stats" are key positions on the playing field such as quarterback, wide receivers, linebackers, defensive backs, etc., divided into offense and defense. Like any other RPG, you have the ability to "improve" your team and earn "experience" in the form of money, depending upon your number of wins and divisional standings at the end of a season. Think of it as fantasy football without the tedious micromanagement of every single player on the roster.

League Play is incredibly simple to learn (8 dice rolls per game. each modified by a simple calculation), and one player can easily generate an entire week's worth of game scores in half an hour or less (depending upon your league's size). The game comes with dozens of pre-generated generic football teams, allowing you to jump right in and play immediately. However, with a little time and bookeeping you can create the entire NFL roster or, if you're really ambitious, NCAA's Division I in its entirety. It should be noted that even in League Play, team stats DO matter, and even a 1 point difference in Offensive or Defensive rating can often determine the outcome of a game.

Head-to-Head play is as close as you're going to get to playing an actual game of football without owning a video game console or an electric football set. Through the rolling of dice, you move the ball down the field via passing, running, and kicking, while your opponent's defense attempts to stop you and get the ball back for themselves. Strong bookeeping skills and attention to detail are a must, for you're not only having to keep up with the score and where the ball is on the field at any given time, but also changes in stats due to injuries, and especially bonuses and penalties to dice rolls, depending on what kind of play is being attempted. Again, it will all feel natural to experienced tabletop gamers, but it may be frustrating for newcomers, so be patient and take it slow; there is no time-limit in this game, but rather a specific number of plays (40) per quarter.

Overall, this product is worth far more than the $2 it costs. This game is surprisingly deep, and it strikes a noteworthy balance between the excitement of an actual football game with the strategy and management of fantasy football. The Head-to-Head system appears to be quite balanced, with just the right number of explosive plays, penalties, injuries, and heartbreak one would find in the real-world sport of football. Having played through a few games against myself, I found the pace to be on par with an actual football game, despite my unfamiliarity with the game engine rules/modifiers/dice rolls. There is also a definite level of strategy involved which simulates real-world football (Should I call a pass or a run? Is the defense about to blitz? Should I go for it on 4th and long or punt?). I found the record sheets in the back of the book to be essential for bookeeping during play. I made mistakes, espcially on yardage, but I think that could be easily alleviated with a page-sized football gridiron chart to mark ball position (there are plenty of these found easily online, but perhaps the author will include one of his own in future updates?). There are some not-so-clear rules, and perhaps some errors (most of those are discussed in the "discussion" tab above), but I was able to make fairly competent judgments myself when rules were in question. It's a little tedious playing Head-to-Head by myself, because of the copious amount of dice rolling and record keeping involved. So I would definitely reccomend 2 players, although 3 is even better, for the 3rd player can serve as the referee while the other two focus on playcalls and dice rolls.

Pen and Paper Football is a fun, engaging game that fills a cross-genre niche between tabletop gamers and american football afficionados.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pen & Paper Football
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mystery Men! Second Edition
by William F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2018 08:20:37

Awesome game so far, fast to play, easy to read, easier to comprehend and vast enough to handle most situtations John Stater really hit the nail on the head with this one. Look forward to a 3rd edition if he ever decides to make another one or at the very least a supplement for this one. Look forward to more Mystery Men! in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mystery Men! Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Barbarians & Basilisks
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2018 09:04:41

I didn't have very high expectations for this product and didn't buy it for a quite a long time. I've been burned before ("Barbarians of the Gothic Wastes", "Barbarians, Booze & Battle-Axes", "Crypts & Things") by products with titles promising sword & sorcery but delivering half-baked, hand-wavy games that would take more work to get into playable shape than the time it took to write them originally.

So I was blown away by Barbarians & Basilisks (B&B). It not only reads as completely playable out of the box, but very well thought out and it reads like it actually was played! And even at such a short page count is more complete than many "OSR" style games.

I agree with the previous reviewer - the game is very much in the style of "Swords Six-Siders" (and can make a good supplement/pairing with it). A very bare-bones d6 only "old school" style RPG. But it delivers and deservers bigger recognition.

Wish I'd bought it much, much earlier.

There is a print edition at Lulu and I'm buying it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians & Basilisks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mystery Men! Second Edition
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2018 15:01:11

I just bought this and what a great surprise--it is PACKED with helpful content. I haven't played it yet, but the PDF includes a very detailed city scenario, tons of heroes and villains to use, and really nicely-formatted rules content. I am excited to dive in, just thought it was a shame no one had reviewed it here yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mystery Men! Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pen & Paper Football
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2017 09:00:10

This game is simple, yet so much fun! Even with a busy life, one can create a league for league play and complete it in less than a week! I remember creating much more simple pen and paper leagues like this as a child, this brings the individual skills of the teams into play in determining the season outcome and really brings the right amount of complexity, simplicity, and timeliness Into the whole package. Very realistic season results based off of team attributes with just the right amount of upsets and surprises. I definitely recommend this game for people who love sports simulations, And love the hands on play and control!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pen & Paper Football
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Barbarians & Basilisks
by Andrea G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2017 10:49:55

I still have to try this game but from a first quick reading it looks like a small, well-done job. Quick and easy, it focus on the theme and seems to deliver an enjoyable experience. The artworks, a bit “old school” in my opinion, are not a few and appealing too. Overall, I am very happy with it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians & Basilisks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bloody Basic - Sinew & Steel Edition
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2017 07:37:42

There is a great deal of fun to be had with BB:SS but it does not always succeed in its purpose. BB:SS offers a stripped down version of the D&D engine without a magic system. Magic systems are a notorious cause of rules bloat and are the bane of solo play, which requires mechanical consistency from the rules in order to differentiate gaming from daydreaming. BB:SS's 'sinewy' combat feat system is much more useful. On the other hand this set is hobbled by an unintuitive approach to saving throws: notably the designer himself has abandoned the the BB:SS ST rules in his more recent Blood & Treasure 2nd edn. BB:SS also imposes a cap of sixth level on character advancement; the level cap has been a bugbear of 'basic' rules since Holmes Blue Book. The Armsman, however, is an exceptionally fun version of the Fighter to play. In the end I hacked BB:SS with elements of Blood & Treasure and Bloody Basic: Weird Fantasy - the 'out of the box' experiment failed, but in fruitful fashion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bloody Basic - Sinew & Steel Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Barbarians & Basilisks
by sean m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2017 02:58:43

Great little OSR game,nice combination of brevity,layout and art. The price was a good incentive also. Buy this if interested in OD&D , The Black Hack , BOL , Crypts & Things or Swords and Six Siders .Was very impressed with my purchase. Other books by this author are great too,I have a few in both Print and Pdf and when I saw this new book I knew I had to buy it and I was very happy I did. Definately recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians & Basilisks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Grit & Vigor
by Paul L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2016 21:11:28

I'm not great at writing reviews but I wish I was for this game. This book has a great set of rules which span multiple time periods. It is very complete and has rules for most things any GM would need. I have been looking for a game like this for a long time. Hopefully people take a look at the preview and get a glimpse of what this game has to offer. I wanted a fairly light set of rules with alot of options...that is what I got. I was running other rules light games and found they didn't have enough to them. My players wanted to pick out more types of weapons and more abilities for their characters. I wanted stats on vehicles and such. This book solved those problems.

The game is quite broad in the types of stories you can tell. That is one of the best parts in my opinion. It is a sandbox of rules to run the game the way you want. The character classes and character creation are my favourite parts. Perfect for what I wanted in my game. I purchased print copies in hardcover as well from another site. Very nice looking books. It ended my search for a system that was not too light and not too crunchy. It has a old school feel which drew me in.

Highly recommended if you are into the various time periods the game covers. I eagerly await other products coming out for G&V. Great job on it! It really is well done. For me personally it is five stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grit & Vigor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Swords & Sandals
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2016 11:10:44

I posted a video review here: https://youtu.be/6QzUdB2CeKc



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Sandals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bloody Basic - Mother Goose Edition
by Travis C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2015 22:28:03

The "Mother Goose Edition" of Bloody Basic presents a slightly simplified version of B/X D&D, tweaked to appeal to children (and adults!) who enjoy fairy tales. Characters are generated with the standard D&D ability scores, but in OD&D/White Box Swords & Wizardry style, the bonus or penalty from ability scores is never more than +1 or -1. Ability scores that have a bonus or penalty are also given a description - for example, characters with Wisdom below 9 are "foolish", while those with Charisma above 12 are "charming". These also provide a bit more fairy-tale feeling.

The races given are Human, Dwarves, Little Pigs (yes, you can play the three little pigs!) and Sprites - the last of which should appeal to many children.

The basic classes given are the Curtal Friar (imagine Friar Tuck as a cleric), the Fighter, the Magician, and the Knave (essentially a Thief). The subclasses begin to show more fairy-tale feel, with the Maiden, the Prince Charming, the Woodsman, the Jack, and the Pied Piper. There are several fairy-tale twists here - for example, the Knave has the ability to "Climb Beanstalks" (and other things as well).

Unlike the old D&D Basic Sets, this book gives information for the presented classes up to 6th level. Thus, you should be able to get in quite a bit of play before hitting the top!

Sixth level characters gain a retainer, and the table for those is also quite well-themed for fairy tales, with talking animals of a few sorts, Brave Soldiers, Rugged Huntsmen, Valiant Tailors, and even Wicked Step-Sisters and Fairy Godmothers!

Alignment is very different from the standard D&D system, but in a good way! Four alignments are given, each corresponding to a suit of cards. Each gives a bonus on attacks when fighting for something that corresponds with the alignment, and each has a temptation, which they must make a saving throw to resist when presented with.

There's a very simplified skill system, and brief but informative discussions of traps, wilderness, reactions, and dungeon and wilderness adventures. This is the only place where the fairy tale theming flags a bit, as traditional dungeons don't really seem to fit into a fairy-tale game. Something different might have been better here, with more of a 'how to structure a story' feel. Of course, experienced GMs shouldn't have any problem with this, but the section as a whole seems aimed at beginners.

The monster section comes back into fine form, however, presenting such creatures as Baby Bears, Mama Bears, and Papa Bears, Gingerbread Men, Pixies, Leprechauns, Green Knights (as in "Sir Gawaine and the ..."), Bogeymen, Big Bad Wolves, Hags, and even Rumplestiltskin-style "Yellow Dwarves". That's only a small sampling of the monsters supplied, though - the author uses a nice space-saving trick to allow the listing of many monsters in just a few pages, managing to present 86 creatures in about 10 pages without it feeling crowded at all. What's more, the method used also makes it easy to create new creatures quickly!

The book finishes up with a section on treasure, followed by a one-page index. The bulk of the treasure section is on magic items, which are very briefly described. Most are standard D&D items that happen to work well in the fairy-tale environment, but there are a few lifted directly from fairy tales or children's stories that are not normal D&D fare - for example, Ruby Slippers.

There are a couple of editing oddities - for example, the alignment section refers to saving throws vs. magic, but the system is using the Fortitude/Reflex/Will save system. It seems Will is what's intended. For those printing out the PDF, the fact that page numbers are all on the right side of the page, instead of alternating sides, may be a bit of a pain.

But these are mere trivialities. If you're looking to run fairy-tale D&D, or to introduce small children to RPGs, I think this is a wonderful product with which to do it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bloody Basic - Mother Goose Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates