DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Black Death
by Salvatore V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2020 15:57:04

i just bought this title on a lark... Wow! so glad i did! This isnt your average lazy "ill clone D&D and publish it..." that is flooding the market. This is concise and well written and envokes the "realism" of grimdark/ gritty medeival settings without getting bogged down in a sea of rules. This is so worth your time and money! Get this NOW!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Death
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pen & Paper Baseball
by Tim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2020 15:21:41

Another Home Run for Mr. Stater. I am a huge fan of Pen & Paper Football and P & P Baseball did not disappoint. I love the quick play, custom teams, and user friendly simplicity that makes this game a fun experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pen & Paper Baseball
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nod 35
by Jesse R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2020 02:33:27

My favorite issue of Nod so far. A touch over one hundred pages of hex crawling action. There's a very playable setting in this one issue of Nod, even if you don't own any of the other issues. Ancient Greece inspired setting with a lot of encounters to play around with. There's always a little whimsy in Nod, but it never distracts from the good. Lots of encounters with Giants, Mountain Spirits and their Oread children. A war brewing in the background with lots of chances to make allies. I almost wish this was a sandbox video game, like Red Dead or Skyrim or Fallout. A story happening that you can dip in and out of; random things going on that have nothing to do with the "meta plot" but that are fun and exciting. This is the latest issue of Nod, and it's already over a year old. If you're reading this Mr. Stater, I'm greatly looking forward to your next issue, but as I have many back issues to buy I have plenty to hold me over until it's released.

Other articles include a small bestiary and a new class for Blood & Treasure, write ups for some golden age second run superheros and their rogues gallery for Myster Men!, and helpful advice on how to be a demigod in your old school fantasy game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nod 35
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Swords & Sandals
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2019 06:54:22

This 40 page package packs a prodigious punch of provocative peplum panache! If you like the peplum (or sword and sandal) films of the 60s and rules light (or OSR) mechanics this is the game for you. Lighter than either Mazes and Minotaurs, or Heroes of Hellas this product still manages to approach the genre from a different angle with some innovative and interesting mechanics. I'd be interested in seeing what the authors could do if they decided to publish something beefier than 40 pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Sandals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nod 28
by Jesse R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2019 03:08:47

I think you could get one issue, any issue, of NOD and have enough fuel for years of gaming. This particular issue covers half of the Trollheim hexcrawl. One would think that something called Trollheim would be viking/scandinavia with the numbers filed off; and it is that to some extant but it brings in a lot of other flavors. There's mention of Djinn and if this was an "official" product it would describe the genasi living here. There's a human king married to a dwarf woman, lots and lots of trolls, weird god like beings, evil grandmothers, and a few aliens. It's not gonzo per say, it's more of a dream-like let's not hold back TO much and see what we can come up with type of setting. This issue also has a new class written for Mr. Staters own game Blood & Treasure, which is kind of a B/X by way of 3e version of you know what. The class is an odd duck. Kind of like a Ranger if they only lived on mountains. Converting this class to any of the OSR rule sets out there shouldn't be any trouble. There's a part 2 to a d20 Mecha game, but as I haven't read the first part I will pass on making any judgements. The final part of this issue is a write-up on how you might make a setting in mythical Atlantis. It's flavorful in an overview type of way, and has minimal rules writing on the type of beings there are. It's weird. Some of them lay eggs.

The hexcrawl is the real meat of this issue and it's worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nod 28
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pen & Paper Football
by David L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2019 14:27:30

This game fills a tabletop football void. By that I mean that there a lot of tackle football games out there, but almost all of them either take what feels like forever to play a season, even with friends, or they aren't conducive to running multiple seasons.

PnP Football takes care of this problem by narrowing down team creation to just six rolls of 3d6, making team building a snap. Don't want to build your own? Some 50 ready-made teams are available. The included league schedule options make setting up your own league just as painless, and the off-season thinks of just about anything that could conceivably happen without bogging down the gameplay. The league play rules are an absolute delight for the solo player and are especially useful to people like me who sometimes have only have a few minutes to play at a time, and yet that's still enough to roll several games to a final score.

The game can also be played head-to-head, although you may wish to have a field from a different game as the trackers for a head-to-head game are a little on the bare-bones side and don't include a separate field to track where the ball is. But this game was never intended to be about details. It was meant to be simple, easy-to-learn, and potentially let you be commissioner of a league of your very own for as long as you want, dozens of seasons if you desire. That's where PnP Football shines the brightest, and it's a brilliant example of how to do more with less. Several people at the Table Top Sports Delphi forum say this is the best football game they have ever played, and I agree with their sentiment.

If you like tackle football, spend $2 on this. You won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pen & Paper Football
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Barbarians & Basilisks
by Monica G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/18/2019 13:33:05

Barbarians and Basilisks is a nice, short, rules-light game that invokes the sword and sorcery films of the 80s, and elements of fantasy pulp novels. The game is presented in a simplistic, no-frills format that invokes the feel of a small publisher game from the 80s or 90s that was published on a copy machine. The art is simple, but consistent, there is no fancy page design, and the pages are full of tables. This is what most role-playing game books looked like from the 1970s through 1990s, and that is definitely the look that the publisher was trying to invoke here.

As for the gameplay, this is a standard fantasy game with 6 character stats, and typical sword and sorcery adventurer classes. This includes barbarian: unarmored brutes with great strength, sorceror: magic users, thief: cunning, sneaky adventurers, and warrior: fighters who use armor and fight with two weapons. There are six stats that range from 1-6, all determined by a D6 role. The stat level determines the number that a player has to roll on 2D6 in order to score a success for attack or skill use. The rules for magic are extremely simple--there are no spell lists, just guidelines the target roles based on effects. The skill system grants one skill at character creation and gives the character further abilities. The book has an equipment list that includes all you need for basic combat and adventuring--weapons, armor, and gear.

Figthing in this game is simple enough--roll 2D6 and hit a certain target, which depends on the type of monster or class of opponent that you are fighting. Your class determines your ability in combat for attack, defense, and turn order. There is some opportunity for character advancement as well. At the end of each adventure, there is a chance that your character can gain a random improvement that may include learning a new skill, a bonus to hit with a weapon, a follower, or one of several other possibilities. After capturing a castle through gameplay, players can advance further and gain more followers and gold, and then expand to rule more castles, gold, and soldiers.

The basic rules fit into under 10 pages, and after that, there is enough material to run several adventures. The book includes a sample adventure, complete with maps and treasure, and monters. As well, it comes with several sample characters, making it easy to start playing without much preparation work. For further adventures, there is a bestiary that includes more than 50 monsters for your players to fight, and some traps. This makes the game very easy to run as a one-shot, but also possible to play as a campaign.

Overall, Barbarians & Basilisks is a simple little RGP that you can pick up and run with little trouble. It's great as a one-shot, since it takes only 2D6 and a bit of prep work to run. It's a much simpler game than similar fantasy games, such as Dungeons and Dragons, at the expense of being less customizable. Though, it's a simple game with no frills, it does a good job of evoking self-published games of yesteryear but comes with enough material to play for several adventures. This is a great game to play with friends who want to try an introductory tabletop RPG, but will also keep veteran players entertained.

Read the full review at Geeksagogo.com!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians & Basilisks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood & Treasure 2nd Edition Monsters II
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/18/2019 14:03:46

You can never have too many monster books in my mind. Even I use one or two per book and my players are surprised or go "what in the hell is that!?" then it is money well spent. Monsters have taught me so much over the years. Monsters lead me to Greek Mythology. Monsters helped me learn how to write code to create databases and then later helped land a DBA job while I was still in school. One day I'll update my old Access95 Monster Database, but that will have to be later.

Blood & Treasure 2nd Edition Monsters II. This is the second book for the Blood & Treasure 2nd edition game. This one has 197 pages, over 500 monsters. Color cover with black & white art. No this is what we buy monster books for! New Monsters! At 500 some odd monsters there are some here that can be recognized from the records of myth and fairy tales, (lots and lots of dragons!) but there a plenty of more that are completely new to me to edge it out over Monsters I. There is similar material from the Monsters I book; conditions, attack descriptions and the like. But the bulk is dedicated to new creatures for your game. This book also has a Chimerical Monster table for making your own chimeras. Tables on mutant dinosaurs and vermin. Also a combined monster listing of both books. If you have Blood & Treasure Monsters then you will want this one. If you just like new monsters then get this one too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood & Treasure 2nd Edition Monsters II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood & Treasure 2nd Edition Monsters
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/18/2019 13:52:22

You can never have too many monster books in my mind. Even I use one or two per book and my players are surprised or go "what in the hell is that!?" then it is money well spent. Monsters have taught me so much over the years. Monsters lead me to Greek Mythology. Monsters helped me learn how to write code to create databases and then later helped land a DBA job while I was still in school. One day I'll update my old Access95 Monster Database, but it will have be later.

Blood & Treasure 2nd Edition Monsters is for the Blood & Treasure 2nd edition game, but can be used with any Old-school game. The system is a mix of Swords & Wizardry and AD&D 1st Ed/OSRIC so reading the stats is really easy. 215 pages, over 600 monsters. Color cover, black & white interiors.
This one has all the usual suspects from the various SRDs and that is fine for me really. There are some new descriptions and there are new monsters. There are things in this book that make it more worthwhile than just monster stat blocks. There are a number of conditions and definitions ported over from 3.x OGC that are very welcome additions to the "OSR Ruleset". There are guidelines for Monsters as a Character Race which are quite nice. Another import from 3.x are Monster Templates. Now you can a Celestial Gnome or a Draconic Goblin among other things. Really expands your creature database. There are even four mini-adventures included. Not at all bad for just under $10. Highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood & Treasure 2nd Edition Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pen & Paper Football
by Bobby C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2018 09:01:00

Football fans with tabletop roleplaying game experience will absolutely love this product. It combines elements of fantasy football with the game mechanics of RPGs like Dungeons and Dragons, allowing you to play either super-quick league-play games and simulate an entire season in one or two evenings, or play in-depth, down-by-down head-to-head games with all the trimmings of an actual 3+ hour football game (including different plays, turnovers, penalties, injuries, etc.), or combine the two to roleplay your own team's quest for a playoff berth, and maybe even a championship!

Polyhedral dice (d6, d10, d20) are required to play, so there is an additional money sink beyond the cost of this product (you will also need a coin...any coin will do, even a penny). Previous RPG experience is certainly not required, but highly reccomended. There is a LOT of dice rolling that will feel quite natural to Dungeons and Dragons players, including a d20 "attack roll" versus an opponent's "armor class" (called DC or defensive class in this game) rolling for damage (yardage), critical failures and successes on natural rolls of 1 or 20, etc. There is a lot of referring to several tables and charts for different actions and resolutions, but again, old-school tabletop RPG gamers will feel right at home doing this (if the author happens to be reading this, I'd like to suggest a handy "referee screen" reference with all the tables on one page at the end of the book to alleviate lots of page-turning). The only other requirement is some knowledge of american football (however, this product does in fact explain the rules of the sport quite well. Still, it will almost certainly be overhwhelming and confusing without passing knowledge of the sport, and there are some recent rule changes that aren't addressed in this book (ex. ball placement on PATs, and the difficiulty of onside kicks). In this game, your "character" is actually an entire team, of which you are the coach, the players, and even the general manager, and your "stats" are key positions on the playing field such as quarterback, wide receivers, linebackers, defensive backs, etc., divided into offense and defense. Like any other RPG, you have the ability to "improve" your team and earn "experience" in the form of money, depending upon your number of wins and divisional standings at the end of a season. Think of it as fantasy football without the tedious micromanagement of every single player on the roster.

League Play is incredibly simple to learn (8 dice rolls per game. each modified by a simple calculation), and one player can easily generate an entire week's worth of game scores in an hour or less (depending upon your league's size). The game comes with dozens of pre-generated generic football teams, allowing you to jump right in and play immediately. However, with a little time and bookeeping you can create the entire NFL roster or, if you're really ambitious, NCAA's Division I in its entirety. It should be noted that even in League Play, team stats DO matter, and even a 1 point difference in Offensive or Defensive rating can often determine the outcome of a game.

Head-to-Head play is as close as you're going to get to playing an actual game of football without owning a video game console or an electric football set (or being a football player yourself). Through the rolling of dice, you move the ball down the field via passing, running, and kicking, while your opponent's defense attempts to stop you and get the ball back for themselves. Strong bookeeping skills and attention to detail are a must, for you're not only having to keep up with the score and where the ball is on the field at any given time, but also changes in stats due to injuries, and especially bonuses and penalties to dice rolls, depending on what kind of play is being attempted. Again, it will all feel natural to experienced tabletop gamers, but it may be frustrating for newcomers, so be patient and take it slow; there is no time-limit in this game, but rather a specific number of plays (40) per quarter.

Overall, this product is worth far more than the $2 it costs. This game is surprisingly deep, and it strikes a noteworthy balance between the excitement of an actual football game with the strategy and management of fantasy football. The Head-to-Head system appears to be quite balanced, with just the right number of explosive plays, penalties, injuries, and heartbreak one would find in the real-world sport of football. Having played through a few games against myself, I found the pace to be on par with an actual football game, despite my unfamiliarity with the game engine rules/modifiers/dice rolls. There is also a definite level of strategy involved which simulates real-world football (Should I call a pass or a run? Is the defense about to blitz? Should I go for it on 4th and long or punt?). I found the record sheets in the back of the book to be essential for bookeeping during play. I made mistakes, espcially on yardage, but I think that could be easily alleviated with a page-sized football gridiron chart to mark ball position (there are plenty of these found easily online, but perhaps the author will include one of his own in future updates?). There are some not-so-clear rules, and perhaps some errors (most of those are discussed in the "discussion" tab above), but I was able to make fairly competent judgments myself when rules were in question. It's a little tedious playing Head-to-Head by myself, because of the copious amount of dice rolling and record keeping involved. So I would definitely reccomend 2 players, although 3 is even better, for the 3rd player can serve as the referee while the other two focus on playcalls and dice rolls.

League Play is immensely engaging, and can be managed by one player alone, if necessary. It requires a copious amount of bookkeeping, but far less than conventional fantasy football. The only issue with League Play I've discovered is the lack of game mechanics for season-ending injuries, which results in Head-to-Head teams suffering a marked disadvantage to Leage Play teams. I have alleviated this by adding some special rules (see the discussion tab) that add League Play injuries, which offers a little more depth, realism, and balance.

Pen and Paper Football is a fun, engaging game that fills a cross-genre niche between tabletop gamers and american football afficionados.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pen & Paper Football
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mystery Men! Second Edition
by William F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2018 08:20:37

Awesome game so far, fast to play, easy to read, easier to comprehend and vast enough to handle most situtations John Stater really hit the nail on the head with this one. Look forward to a 3rd edition if he ever decides to make another one or at the very least a supplement for this one. Look forward to more Mystery Men! in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mystery Men! Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Barbarians & Basilisks
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2018 09:04:41

I didn't have very high expectations for this product and didn't buy it for a quite a long time. I've been burned before ("Barbarians of the Gothic Wastes", "Barbarians, Booze & Battle-Axes", "Crypts & Things") by products with titles promising sword & sorcery but delivering half-baked, hand-wavy games that would take more work to get into playable shape than the time it took to write them originally.

So I was blown away by Barbarians & Basilisks (B&B). It not only reads as completely playable out of the box, but very well thought out and it reads like it actually was played! And even at such a short page count is more complete than many "OSR" style games.

I agree with the previous reviewer - the game is very much in the style of "Swords Six-Siders" (and can make a good supplement/pairing with it). A very bare-bones d6 only "old school" style RPG. But it delivers and deservers bigger recognition.

Wish I'd bought it much, much earlier.

There is a print edition at Lulu and I'm buying it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians & Basilisks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mystery Men! Second Edition
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2018 15:01:11

I just bought this and what a great surprise--it is PACKED with helpful content. I haven't played it yet, but the PDF includes a very detailed city scenario, tons of heroes and villains to use, and really nicely-formatted rules content. I am excited to dive in, just thought it was a shame no one had reviewed it here yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mystery Men! Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pen & Paper Football
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2017 09:00:10

This game is simple, yet so much fun! Even with a busy life, one can create a league for league play and complete it in less than a week! I remember creating much more simple pen and paper leagues like this as a child, this brings the individual skills of the teams into play in determining the season outcome and really brings the right amount of complexity, simplicity, and timeliness Into the whole package. Very realistic season results based off of team attributes with just the right amount of upsets and surprises. I definitely recommend this game for people who love sports simulations, And love the hands on play and control!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pen & Paper Football
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Barbarians & Basilisks
by Andrea G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2017 10:49:55

I still have to try this game but from a first quick reading it looks like a small, well-done job. Quick and easy, it focus on the theme and seems to deliver an enjoyable experience. The artworks, a bit “old school” in my opinion, are not a few and appealing too. Overall, I am very happy with it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians & Basilisks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates