DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Rabbits & Rangers - LL
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2020 18:12:50

For the past few days I have soloed my way through The Duskwalker's Due made for Pathfinder 2.0. It is available for pay what you want/free $ at DriveThruRPG. I used the Pathfinder 2.0 Playtest to play it and the Solo Adventurer's Toolbox to solo it. It is a solo adventure and a character is included that you use (higher than first level). The document is 19 pages long and it took me several hours to play it. It is well designed but brutal. The Boss took me out in no time at all. I wanted revenge. So, I used Rabbits & Rangers (2$ for 86 pages of rules) and I combined it with Castles & Crusades. I turned it into a level one adventure and used six toon characters to play through it. My armadillo wizard used an ACME Catalogue to order a ghostbuster trap. When it was turned on it did spark and smoke (some old cheap model), but it was able to capture the Boss. Bustin' makes me feel good . . .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rabbits & Rangers - LL
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Supercalla
by Frank W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2020 11:57:39

Don't go bleedin' ta death on me till ya check out Supercalla! It's got it all! Space bikes, space magic, space madness, random tables and out of this world backgrounds like Dog That Bit The Hand That Feeds including his stellar skill the Nasty Bite.

"Enough to satisfy the Main Man through all the sunrealms." - Lobo (probably)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Supercalla
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Pudding Heavy Helping Vol. One
by Adrian M. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2019 03:50:37

Black Pudding zines are amazing. It feels as if you were looking into the personal notebook of a very experienced OSR GM. The illustrations and tone are up my alley, cartoonish and with interesting ideas thrown left and right. There's character sheets, character classes, monsters, magic items, dungeons, optional rules... tons of great content!

In theory you could get all the zines for the pay what you want individually. But I decided to go with this compilation, which just orders all the content nicely, and it's a way to support the authors. Still waiting on the delivery of the print option.

I hope there're more of these coming along, and I hope to continue supporting the excellent work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding Heavy Helping Vol. One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Pudding Heavy Helping Vol. One
by Eric A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2019 15:24:31

The print version of Black Pudding Heavy Helping is a quality product, with clear pages and tight binding. Rather than a simple rehash of the first versions of the 'zine, it's organized by section / topic, so you get all the character classes in one section, magic items in another, monsters in another. That organization is much better than the lazy approach of simply binding all the issues together that is taken by some fanzine compilations. The entries are imaginative and written in a humorous and engaging style. Even some that might seem a bit of a stretch at first, have real potential once you read them (the Goblin as a PC class comes to mind). What really got me excited, though, were the Meatshields of the Bleeding Ox! Remember the Shady Dragon Inn supplement for B/X D&D? I loved that supplement. Well Meatshields is 'Shady Dragon Redux', and for once the Director's Cut is better than the original! I adored this section and had to say so.

I'm really looking forward to a Second Helping of Black Pudding...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #5
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2019 02:42:27

"Dripping and dolloping into view comes the latest issue of this old school RPG zine chock full of nasty goodies for your classic fantasy games!

In this issue you'll see ipzees and orbii, you'll learn aromatic charms, you'll find weapons of magic, many strange people will offer their services for your adventuring party, and you will absolutely encounter some cackling ice witches." So I'm finally catching up with the 'pay what you want' James V West OSR creation fanzine Black Pudding. This issue caught me by surprised because there's a ton of OSR weirdness in this issue. We start with the random encounter tables in 'the marigold standing stones'. Then we get 'the spell books of the marigolds' which ties into the marigold witch & standing stones that's fresh in this issue plus new monsters in this issue. We next get into a fancy flashy stealth version of James V. West's ninja PC class. Then we get a band new quick & well thought out OSR adventure, 'The Rat Queen Dies Tonight.' This nasty little gem of an adventure. This adventure takes things & events into consideration as a Basic Dungeons & Dragons adventure. There are some fantastic treasures, NPC's, & solid locations.

Then we get a solid spell book article in the form of Malyfesto's Grimoire of Nefarious Incanations. These are some wily little spells & some really nice ones in this one page article. This is followed by 'They Come But What Are They' an article of random tables to generate some very nice random encounters.

Then we get a new race called The Orbii a PC race class of ancient protectors & warriors to use with your OSR games. The we get Boola an NPC nature protector & all round nice OSR NPC to use in your old school games. The we've got 'Meat Shields of The Bleeding OX' a fine collection of hireling NPC's for your old school games.

Then we've got a new micro setting for your old school games called 'Adventures In The North'.This is a Sword & Sorcery micro setting that you can drop anywhere in your old school campaign with a Northern feel about it. We've got ice witches, undead, & some solid additions in the form of a wide variety of monsters about.

This includes some new weapons & artifacts thrown into the mix. Finally we round out with a James V. West character sheet done in the old school OSR style. I'd give Black Pudding #5 By James V. West a solid five out of five for its content.

Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want More OSR Content? Subscribe To https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Pudding #5
by Umberto P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2018 11:16:13

A great source of OSR goodness! I cannot wait to grab next number in my slimy (and greasy) hands!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #4
by Jeffrey G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2018 13:35:03

Now in its fourth issue, J.V. West’s Black Pudding is one of the most entertaining OSR ‘zines going. Each issue offers 28 pages of 70’s-style, DIY dungeon-crawling craziness, prizing imagination over logic and fun over complexity. And while every Black Pudding feature may not fit into every OSR campaign, West’s rapid-fire writing, exaggerated illustration, expressive hand-lettering (yes, West letters most of the content by hand!) and absolutely unfettered creativity makes every page a hoot to read for anyone who appreciates D&D the way they played it in Lake Geneva.

Read my full review of all four issues of Black Pudding at https://printantplaygamer.com/black-pudding/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Pudding #3
by Jeffrey G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2018 13:34:20

Now in its fourth issue, J.V. West’s Black Pudding is one of the most entertaining OSR ‘zines going. Each issue offers 28 pages of 70’s-style, DIY dungeon-crawling craziness, prizing imagination over logic and fun over complexity. And while every Black Pudding feature may not fit into every OSR campaign, West’s rapid-fire writing, exaggerated illustration, expressive hand-lettering (yes, West letters most of the content by hand!) and absolutely unfettered creativity makes every page a hoot to read for anyone who appreciates D&D the way they played it in Lake Geneva.

Read my full review of all four issues of Black Pudding at https://printantplaygamer.com/black-pudding/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Pudding #2
by Jeffrey G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2018 13:33:48

Now in its fourth issue, J.V. West’s Black Pudding is one of the most entertaining OSR ‘zines going. Each issue offers 28 pages of 70’s-style, DIY dungeon-crawling craziness, prizing imagination over logic and fun over complexity. And while every Black Pudding feature may not fit into every OSR campaign, West’s rapid-fire writing, exaggerated illustration, expressive hand-lettering (yes, West letters most of the content by hand!) and absolutely unfettered creativity makes every page a hoot to read for anyone who appreciates D&D the way they played it in Lake Geneva.

Read my full review of all four issues of Black Pudding at https://printantplaygamer.com/black-pudding/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Pudding #1
by Jeffrey G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2018 13:33:07

Now in its fourth issue, J.V. West’s Black Pudding is one of the most entertaining OSR ‘zines going. Each issue offers 28 pages of 70’s-style, DIY dungeon-crawling craziness, prizing imagination over logic and fun over complexity. And while every Black Pudding feature may not fit into every OSR campaign, West’s rapid-fire writing, exaggerated illustration, expressive hand-lettering (yes, West letters most of the content by hand!) and absolutely unfettered creativity makes every page a hoot to read for anyone who appreciates D&D the way they played it in Lake Geneva.

Read my full review of all four issues of Black Pudding at https://printantplaygamer.com/black-pudding/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Pudding #4
by Umberto P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2018 22:59:06

A small little gem oozing flavour of past times. Entertaining to see, to read and to play. A MUST!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Pudding #4
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2018 13:31:40

All previous editions (#1-#3) were great, but this #4 is outstanding.

I love the OSR game rules that are fairly generic but usable in home games. There is the usual awesomeness that's in previous zines.

It is a little nugget of awesome OSR-ness that I can't help but love.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #4
by David O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2018 22:24:54

This is totally worth it to drop some money to pay the creator for a wonderful product. I paid the suggested $2.00, but it's worth so much more than that. James V. West has created a super fun collection of zines so far, but this one blows them all out of the water. Excellent work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lizards vs. Wizards
by Mathor S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2018 20:05:44

Funny , simple and quick

It passed it's survial roll



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lizards vs. Wizards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Pudding #3
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2017 07:04:27

LOVE THIS ZINE!!!

Puts the fun in gaming !!!

Kind of a Mad Magazine of Old Skool gaming.

Great Work!!!

Can't wait for the next issue.!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates