DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Tails of the City
by Aaron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2021 17:09:53

Pulpy, action-y, cartoony, modern, I look forward to running and playing in the City. Plenty here for "persons" of any type, I will be using monsters, mechanics, and items in other settings, too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tails of the City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tails of the City
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2021 13:47:30

This book is very well written and perfectly balanced for all three systems. I see that one or two people have complained about there not being enough 5e stuff in it, but there really is more for 5e than those one or two people have claimed. The setting itself is brilliant, and the stuff that you could do with this book is amazing! the characters that were put into this book via the kickstarter were all very well drawn and colored, the front cover shows exactly what you are getting in for, and the armory in this book was balanced very well.

A lot of TLC went into this book, and it clearly does show. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Aw, thanks! We'll keep on putting that love into the books. <3
Tails of the City
by THOMAS B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2021 13:28:12

For full disclosure, I was one of the Kickstarter backers of Tails of the City, having an orginization and NPC created for inclusion as part of my pledge. Overall, I am quite pleased with this campaign setting and am satisfied with supporting its creation. Where if you are a fan of pulp fiction adventure and superheroes, as well shows like Ducktales or movies like Zootopia, then you may want to check this out. Being for the systems D&D 5e, PF 1e, and PF 2e, you will have rules and mechanics to add to your campaign for more modern adventures. With TotC including rules for more modern gear and weapons, which was a pleasant suprise since originally there was discussion of not including such. With different originizations and NPCs you can use to bring your city to life and effect the direction of the campaign. Allowing for many different characters with different strengths and flaws, which I do look forward to playing and making use of. Including the information and rules involving the many originizations.

You will need to check other reviews involving assurance on the balance of game rules and mechanics, yet I have followed the work of David Silver for many years now, with his Ponyfinder campaign setting, and have confidence in his abilities. Where David has very much come a long way from when he created the original version of Ponyfinder for PF 1e, and I haven't personally had any balance issues of note for his rules and mechanics. This even includes him having races able to fly at 1st level, which is a more contraversal and contentous point for many. Especially in D&D, but even Pathfinder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ponyfinder - Campaign Setting
by Justin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2021 01:24:41

A wonderful start into this tabletop world. I was a bit hesitant to play Pathfinder or 5e, but once I got my hands on this book and got absorbed in the lore I knew I could do something with it. The art is wonderful and the setting has a nice mythos to it with some good winks thrown in if you know the source material. When it comes to the layout, things are in a nice, neat manner and it's easy to reference what can be done by what type of character. The amount of feats is amazing and can spur build ideas completely on their own. For me it was money well spent and I look forward to what other releases are coming in this setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ponyfinder - Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tails of the City
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2021 09:39:52

Covers all the basics. Both versions of Pathfinder and the new D&D. Has magic, tech and everything in between. The perfect pulp starting point. Plus Fatbergs. Who could want anything more? :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tails of the City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tails of the City
by Martin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2021 00:42:09

Speaking as a backer for this kickstarter project, I'm sad to say that it provides few options for 5e players, and fewer of them spark the imagination. I can't speak to the Pathfinder side of things, as I don't play either edition, but if you're coming to this for 5e options, I'd suggest you steer yourself towards other projects.

Buyer beware, it seems.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
We have the person race, pulp heroes with properly dramatic boons and flaws to make them pop. 17 new spells. 14 new choices of equipment. 5 monsters. 10 antagonists (monsters with a purpose!) And 6 new skills/proficiencies. The fortune system for players to engage with the narrative in a new way. This is all for 5e. We do hope 5e players have lots of fun with the wealth of options we're bringing to the table.
Tails of the City
by Michael V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2021 20:21:13

Love the format (including rules for all 3 systems in each topic), and the feat work is great. It looks like it'll be a blast to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ponyfinder - Princess Luminace's Guide to the Pony Pantheon
by Justin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2021 12:45:27

A nice addition to fleshing out the world of Everglow if your players are finding it difficult to use the native gods of 5e or Pathfinder. Contained within are some possible plot hooks and can serve as a background for why an area believes the way it does. Does this character follow the Moon Princess, here's what they would believe. Another fun addition to this book is the ability to pick Luminous Dragon as another choice players can take if they want to play a character that isn't a pony. I've used this book in my own campaigns when looking for something to entice the players in a call to action. This book is wholeheartedly recommended if your looking for something to add some life to your Everglow experience and give it some individual flavor.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ponyfinder - Princess Luminace's Guide to the Pony Pantheon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words! We'd love to hear how the pantheon perched themselves in exotic new worlds.
Ponyfinder - Campaign Setting
by Elizabeth B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2020 16:53:47

I was looking for a way to add ponies to dnd and I didn't like the ttrpg Hasbro had put out themselves so I got Ponyfinder to have the same feel as dnd.

The similarities to MLP are clear if you know what to look for and some of it was bound to happen since unicorns and pegasi are common in fiction already, but Ponyfinder makes all of it its own and adds many more pony types to the standard three.

Pro: The book has both pathfinder 1st ed and dnd 5e versions.

Con: It's easy to look at the wrong section even with the color coding.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ponyfinder - Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hatchet Men: Slashers in Heroic Horror
by Matthew D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2020 22:53:51

This is a rather small book, but trust me when I say that every page is worth it.

Implementing Horror Elements into a heroic, powered-up game like Pathfinder is a challenge. I, like many GMs, have tried and failed on plenty of occasions, but it wasn't until I read this book that I realized what I had been doing wrong all along.

Jade is a game designer who I've often turned to for wisdom on how to run unconventional games or scenarios, and the first chapter is a fantastic example of why I trust his insight. The advice here for building, developing, and running slasher-based games is detailed and effective, running through everything that makes a slasher story work and how a GM can get the most of each of these elements at their table. The advice here is tailored towards horrific adventures in Pathfinder, but it can be extrapolated to writing adventures in any system and to writing horror in a variety of mediums. I particularly like the sense of player agency which this book advises be maintained, as horror adventures so often forget that a game is meant to be played and enjoyed by everyone at the table.

The book has less crunch than fluff, but the mechanics listed in the book are once again very effective and widely applicable. Several troublesome monster abilities have been reworked in this book to provide more player engagement at the table (the most obvious example being the replacement of grappling with Fool's Errand's Lock mechanic), and the resulting fixes do a great deal to streamline combat and make sure that everyone can get in on the fun of a slasher game. The two new templates (Slasher and Grim Slasher) are powerful in addition to being flavorful, with a variety of customizable abilities which allow for GMs to tailor their Slashers to their campaign (these templates also have some unique abilities that elicit a genuine "whoa" reaction from players). The numerous artifacts in the book provide some great plot hooks for Slasher villains and can once again be implemented into a variety of campaigns with relative ease (although they each can do very nasty things). The four sample Slashers provided in the book are all unique and incredibly flavorful without sacrificing much of their versatility.

The biggest crunch highlight of the book has to be the Massacre system, however, a mechanism which allows Slashers and boss monsters to become much, much more of a threat to a coordinated group of PCs. This system is rather simple but is broadly applicable and does a great job of improving the threat of individual creatures in combat. This is definitely a mechanic I will be implementing in many future games.

Overall, Hatchet Men: Slashers in Heroic Horror is a fantastic book with many applications beyond the advertised subgenre of Slasher Horror. If you are interested in running a Slasher Horror game in Pathfinder, I don't think you could find a more thorough and perfect guide to the subject.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hatchet Men: Slashers in Heroic Horror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ponyfinder - Untamed Lands
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2020 14:55:30

Initially I received the PDF of this as part of being a Patreon subscriber to Ponyfinder and I liked it so much that as soon as it became available as a print on demand book as well I made sure to buy a copy for myslef. For me the updeate to Hybrid Blood to Pathfinder Second edition was the main selling point but the new races in here are great as well. The book provides a great way of building and running anthropomorphic animal races which in some cases does mean furries. Personally I am using this as part of my own homebrew world to define the kinds of an ancestries I am offerening to players as a replacement for humanity. As far as third party support for what I consider the best version of D&D I have planned this book is a must have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ponyfinder - Untamed Lands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ponyfinder - Princess Luminace's Guide to the Pony Pantheon
by Martin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2019 19:50:57

A wonderful expansion on the divine entities of Everglow. A wonderful cast of characters, as much as background information about a setting. While I haven't had the opportunity to use the additional race options this book adds, I appreciate the options!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ponyfinder - Princess Luminace's Guide to the Pony Pantheon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ponyfinder - Herolab Extension
by Martin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2019 19:47:11

A couple of hiccups in initial setup, which Silver Games LLC was quick to assist with. For me, this is an essential tool for building Pathfinder content, Ponyfinder or not!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ponyfinder - Herolab Extension
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ponyfinder - Protecting the Future
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2019 19:38:12

This is a very creative idea. I have always wanted to add this kind of flexability to a character. You could easily build an entire party with this same class and still be very well rounded. Also it's not just the mechanics. The fluff and flavor feels very real. You can almost hear the marching in formation and the orders being barked.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ponyfinder - Protecting the Future
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ponyfinder - First Steps
by Ben D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2019 13:24:51

So, apparently this book was lost — and not just thematically.

It was forgotten by the author/publisher and only released after they realized their collective goof. That being said: it is enticing. The entire premise is based upon that pivotal moment when primitive pony life fled the oceans. Still steeped in chaos, the unformed and unchecked possibilities that the fey races embody, the protoponies became the zero-point for all future (modern and potential) tribes of pony.

Like most of the race/tribe suppliments, First Steps covers a bit of the history, life challenges, and environment of the target race. In this case, the Protoponies are pretty much amphibious, flexible, and impressionable on a biological level. They have strengths that lean towards adapting while simultaneously making their continued existence difficult. Each protopony has, within them, the potential to become another race of pony... or even found their own.

What this means for the player is twofold. You can (potentially) insert a protopony into any environment and be successful (if you survive), and you WILL be noticed. Even among the other races of the setting, protoponies don't quite blend in (unless that's what they're good at). They look a little different, move a little different, and think a little different. They can't seem to decide if the oceans or the land are their home and not even their magics are entirely consistent.

From a thematic point of view, it's that scene with the obelisk all over again: the unlimited potential of a race taking its first true steps into a greater world. There's not much of a culture to speak of, but that's because the only protoponies left are so rare as to be objects of myth. They persist in complete isolation, or have wandered until the demands of the world kill them or cause them to adapt.

It's a unique and fun book to look at how things are related, as well as how the story has the potential to shape the characters. It can be a story hook or a seed for the unknown. Creatures of any kind could, potentially, be related or add their unique qualities to the game where protoponies are involved. Even in the Starfinder age, protoponies could muddy the waters of what is, or is not, possible. It's a short, but valuable, tool for a campagin that incorporates ponies or their lore.

And one other, glorious, addition is the rarity chart — a tool to help GMs and Players alike understand just how much a given critter is likely to stand out in a crowd. That alone is worth the price of admission.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ponyfinder - First Steps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the lovely and well-thought out review. We're super happy you're enjoying the book.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 98 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates