DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Curse of the Web Witch- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/11/2022 08:51:33

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2022/10/100-days-of-halloween-curse-of-web.html

Curse of the Web Witch

PDF. 10 (14 with maps) pages. Color cover. Black & White interior art. For 4-6 adventurers of levels 2nd to 4th.

Another mini-adventure that could be run in the afternoon. A cursed artifact from a forgotten god has transformed a priestess into a horrible monster, a web witch!

The PCs have to track her down (not too hard) and destroy the artifact.

This one has a few new monsters including the Web Witch. All in all quite a fun little romp.

The web witch here is fun and I like the stats, but I think I would rather use the web witches I made a few years before this one.

Again, like the Return of the Warlock this one can be easily adapted to any world. In fact, it is recommended you do so.

About Dungeons of Dazegoneby

Both of these adventures are part of their "Dungeons of Dazegoneby" line of adventures. Here is what the author Matt Kline has to say about that:

I can remember a time in my distant past when I could head to the local mall walk into one of the two bookstores they had at the time, plunk down around five dollars, and walk out with a brand new Dungeons & Dragons module. Our Dungeons of Dazegoneby line is a tribute to old-school gaming, paying homage to a time filled with graph paper maps, wandering monster tables, hand-drawn character sheets, and lazy afternoons filled with adventure and wonder. We hope you enjoy playing these products as much as we enjoyed making them.

Damn. I could have written that myself! So yeah I get what they are doing here and I am happy they are doing it. The maps from Dyson Logos really help.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of the Web Witch- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Return of the Warlock- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/11/2022 08:51:28

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2022/10/100-days-of-halloween-curse-of-web.html

Return of the Warlock

PDF. 10 (14 with maps) pages. Color cover. Black & White interior art. For 4-6 adventurers of levels 2nd to 4th.

A skull taken as a trophy has the trapped spirit of our warlock here, one Kalis Magefire. He has escaped and has taken hostages demanding to fight the heroes that killed him. Too bad those heroes have been dead for years.

The adventure sounds simple enough. The warlock's spirit has taken control over the hall built dedicated to the heroes that defeated him. He know wants to fight those heroes. Failing that you all will do.

Sneak in, defeat the warlock, save the hostages.

The strength in this adventure will be how easy it can be adapted to nearly any setting or set-up.

I would recommend that the "heroes" used here be from your own campaign. If you (like most of my fellow graybeards) are now playing with a different group the name drops might not have the same resonance, but it will still be fun.

About Dungeons of Dazegoneby

Both of these adventures are part of their "Dungeons of Dazegoneby" line of adventures. Here is what the author Matt Kline has to say about that:

I can remember a time in my distant past when I could head to the local mall walk into one of the two bookstores they had at the time, plunk down around five dollars, and walk out with a brand new Dungeons & Dragons module. Our Dungeons of Dazegoneby line is a tribute to old-school gaming, paying homage to a time filled with graph paper maps, wandering monster tables, hand-drawn character sheets, and lazy afternoons filled with adventure and wonder. We hope you enjoy playing these products as much as we enjoyed making them.

Damn. I could have written that myself! So yeah I get what they are doing here and I am happy they are doing it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Warlock- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Almost Thief- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Sean B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2021 09:53:13

Finally got around to running this for one of my groups. (MINOR SPOILERS below)

Note that I adapted this to suit an AD&D 1st Ed group, but it ran quite smoothly. OSR stuff is easily adapted across systems.

All in all I like how the Dazegoneby line reads, and have purchased several, but due to world events haven't been able to play them until now.

This is a fun dungeon, easily inserted into a campaign. The layout is simple and the threat can be real. It doesn't seem like it at first glance and my players went at it intelligently, freeing the zombies in the crypts one-by-one for fear that something might release them all at once and pose a real problem. Even so, their resources dwindled and the final encounter nearly ended them, so just the right level of challenge to keep them busy for an afternoon.

The group was a mix of veterans and one brand new player who wants to come back for more!

Technically speaking the presentation and game objectives are clear. There are some typos and such, but nothing that ruins the overall package. I recommend it. Good stuff.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Almost Thief- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Helfire Mountain- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2020 09:59:18

I used this as a sub level in Dwimmermount following and unfortunate Azoth conflagration. Great way to introduce pyromancy to my old school campaign. The module is challenging without being too deadly. Everybody loves a rampaging Elemental. Good price for a very useful product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Helfire Mountain- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Warlord's Vault- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2020 09:56:34

A great side quest for use in any sandbox campaign. Easy to alter and run for the DM. My players had a blast with it. Interesting magic items also. I've yet to have a bad module from this company.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Warlord's Vault- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Crystal Coffins- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2020 09:53:50

I used this as a side quest for my Dwimmermount campaign. Really a lot of fun for the players and easy to run for the DM. Reasonably priced and thoroughly enjoyable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Crystal Coffins- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Trial of the Guild- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2020 09:46:08

I've bought seveal of these Mini-Dungeons. They are great for filling out your campaign with side quests. This one was one of the best, it has a great scenario that roped in my players. I have yet to be disappointed in these products and the price is right.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trial of the Guild- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Against the Goblins- A Swords & Wizardry Adventure
by Sean B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2020 13:25:38

I've now bought a bunch of the 'Dazegoneby' line and am prepping this one specifically for my table.

Full disclosure - I Haven't played any of them yet in a practical sense, so these are my observations based on reading through them.

As I was browsing, looking for some good options for scenarios to drop into my game, and came across the Dazegoneby line. I admit that the low price tag was also a lure... but I was very pleased - they read well and are nicely put together. Clean presentation and easy to prep scenarios.

They use the Swords and Wizardry setup, but are easily converted to any of the other old school systems, official or OGL.

I like that the setups are simple, easily inserted into existing scenarios, and fairly rich in their offerings. The antagonists are well thought out with clear motivations of their own, which lends a level of nuance to any game. (I am particularly eager to run my group through the 'Night of the Stirges' module)

I'm most certainly interested to see more offerings from Creation's Edge Dazegonby line, especially more full-length adventure modules. I would also like to see their books given the print-on-demand treatment for hardcopies.

Having bought up most of their low level adventures, I'll come back for the high level ones once my crew gets there in-game.

My two coppers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Against the Goblins- A Swords & Wizardry Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Patrick Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2020 10:25:36

I just took a full group of lvl 1 characters through Sorrowblight Fields. Everyone enjoyed the adventure. We spent about 6-7 hours with it. Even with some hired spears, it was a tough nut to crack for 1st level. The party had one fatality and had to withdraw twice to rest and recharge. Be ready to consider what the denizens will do if the party withdraws for a night. The writer treated the goblins with a bit of humorous whimsy, but you can skip over those bits easily if you want to maintain a more serious tone. The general format for the module made prep very easy. I was able to use the map with online players as nothing secret is revealed on the map.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Against the Goblins- A Swords & Wizardry Adventure
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2020 19:29:18

This was a pleasant surprise with a lot of ways to make the adventure continue. I can not wait to run it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Against the Goblins- A Swords & Wizardry Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2019 21:57:15

I'm currently running this adventure for a single player using Knave and Black Streams: Solo Heroes. I like that it gives a couple ideas of how to introduce the adventure and the gives several ideas at the end how to use elements from this for new adventures.

I will be picking up all the additional modules as long as my single player keeps coming back to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Al H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2018 03:52:45

Played this with white box: fantastic medieval adventure game adventures, worked great. I changed all the damage of creatures to 1d6 with a -1 or +1 to some. Only change i made. Great ole skool goblin killing game! Would love to get a print copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Against the Goblins- A Swords & Wizardry Adventure
by Kevin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2016 23:31:01

The first full-scale module from the designer of the mini-dungeons, this module comes across as a well-thought out and well-detailed adventure with multiple parts. While the adventure's monsters are not greatly original, the chaos element plot is well done and there is a touch of light humor. The adventure affords some flexibility to the DM and the PCs and each of the goblin tribes and the locations they reside in offer a slighly different challenge to the PCs. It is an excellent beginner adventure. Rating 4.5 out of 5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Against the Goblins- A Swords & Wizardry Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2016 12:18:50

This PDF is 13 pages, with 11 being the content. As stated, suitable for 4-6 adventurers of levels 1-3. Will very likely fit into any 'Ye olde school' D20 system RPG apart from S&W.

Some new monsters to look forward to. Artwork: quite good (B&W and colour).

Players investigate what is devastatng the crops of a farming area. Page 9 gives ideas on continuing the adventure. There's 3 symbols (1 for monsters, treasure, and obstacles), noted on page 1 for any encounters the players face.

Quite a nice little adventure for the price. At £1.05/$1.50, it's well worth obtaining.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Demon's Gambit- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2015 19:52:01

I used this recently as a little drop-in side quest for a city (Greyhawk) campaign I've been running. It worked great, and the price is right. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Demon's Gambit- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 167 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates