DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Patrick Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2020 10:25:36

I just took a full group of lvl 1 characters through Sorrowblight Fields. Everyone enjoyed the adventure. We spent about 6-7 hours with it. Even with some hired spears, it was a tough nut to crack for 1st level. The party had one fatality and had to withdraw twice to rest and recharge. Be ready to consider what the denizens will do if the party withdraws for a night. The writer treated the goblins with a bit of humorous whimsy, but you can skip over those bits easily if you want to maintain a more serious tone. The general format for the module made prep very easy. I was able to use the map with online players as nothing secret is revealed on the map.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Against the Goblins- A Swords & Wizardry Adventure
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2020 19:29:18

This was a pleasant surprise with a lot of ways to make the adventure continue. I can not wait to run it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Against the Goblins- A Swords & Wizardry Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2019 21:57:15

I'm currently running this adventure for a single player using Knave and Black Streams: Solo Heroes. I like that it gives a couple ideas of how to introduce the adventure and the gives several ideas at the end how to use elements from this for new adventures.

I will be picking up all the additional modules as long as my single player keeps coming back to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Al H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2018 03:52:45

Played this with white box: fantastic medieval adventure game adventures, worked great. I changed all the damage of creatures to 1d6 with a -1 or +1 to some. Only change i made. Great ole skool goblin killing game! Would love to get a print copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Against the Goblins- A Swords & Wizardry Adventure
by Kevin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2016 23:31:01

The first full-scale module from the designer of the mini-dungeons, this module comes across as a well-thought out and well-detailed adventure with multiple parts. While the adventure's monsters are not greatly original, the chaos element plot is well done and there is a touch of light humor. The adventure affords some flexibility to the DM and the PCs and each of the goblin tribes and the locations they reside in offer a slighly different challenge to the PCs. It is an excellent beginner adventure. Rating 4.5 out of 5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Against the Goblins- A Swords & Wizardry Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2016 12:18:50

This PDF is 13 pages, with 11 being the content. As stated, suitable for 4-6 adventurers of levels 1-3. Will very likely fit into any 'Ye olde school' D20 system RPG apart from S&W.

Some new monsters to look forward to. Artwork: quite good (B&W and colour).

Players investigate what is devastatng the crops of a farming area. Page 9 gives ideas on continuing the adventure. There's 3 symbols (1 for monsters, treasure, and obstacles), noted on page 1 for any encounters the players face.

Quite a nice little adventure for the price. At £1.05/$1.50, it's well worth obtaining.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Demon's Gambit- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2015 19:52:01

I used this recently as a little drop-in side quest for a city (Greyhawk) campaign I've been running. It worked great, and the price is right. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Demon's Gambit- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Buck-A-Batch: Bonus Potions
by Sylvia R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2015 08:16:28

Buck a Batch Bonus Potions is guaranteed to be useful to every GM. The 10 page PDF file contains 25 new potions which can come in very handy - especially if your PCs need some timely help. I kept finding myself saying "What a good idea..."!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Bonus Potions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mazestone Dungeon- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2014 22:59:08

I liked this quite a bit. It's a bit short, only 7 encounters (plus some prisoners to rescue) and only took about 45 minutes to run it, but then again, it's a mini-dungeon and supposed to be.

Downsides are that it features perhaps too many "save or die" monsters and some of the encounters are behind secret doors (which makes it hard to finish because the PCs aren't guaranteed to find them)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mazestone Dungeon- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2014 22:12:33

A nice mini-dungeon for S&W (or just about any OSR D&D type game, with little to no conversion). Well organized, a few high quality illustrations, and the price is right. Give it a shot!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sorrowblight Fields- A Swords & Wizardry Mini-Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Frugal Forge: 101 Magic Weapons [PFRPG]
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2012 05:51:55

This pdf is 22 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1/3 of a page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, which leaves us with 18 2/3 pages of magic weapons, so let's check these out!

The pdf starts with a short bit of unrelated prose before giving us a whole page of d%-tables and then going into the items:

First of all, we get a lot of weapons with added spell effects thematically fitting with their enchantments and thankfully, exotic weapons like katars and nets also get some, including the electrified net classic. Most of the items are quite solid in their design, albeit somewhat minimalistic, beyond the absolute basic information and perhaps half a line, aficionados of fluff don't get much out of this offering. My absolute favorite, if somewhat strange weapons, were the Jester's Daggers: If you juggle them for a round, you can throw them with a true strike at a foe. However, the description is not clear whether this uses your full BAB or iterative attacks.

Conclusion: Editing and formatting are ok, but not good - I noticed several glitches that forced me to re-read the respective item-entries in order to understand them. Layout adheres to a horizontal 3-column standard and the artworks by Sade, though not my cup of coffee, are ok. The pdf has no bookmarks, though, which is a bummer. While the items in this pdf go beyond simply providing a list of special weapon qualities, a strange feeling never truly left me. The feeling that these items are ABSTRACT. Take a crossbow that once per day can shoot an ally. If the bolt hits, is instead deals no damage, but heals him.

What? Why? Other items use mechanics that change their stats (e.g. a two-bladed sword that changes from +1/+1 wounding to +2/+2 icy burst for 3 rounds after killing a foe) or repositioning yourself or your foes via minor damage and without taking CMB/CMD into account, which is how this kind of stuff is done in Pathfinder. This sense of abstractness forced itself upon me and made me feel rather like I was reading a magic item supermarket pamphlet instead of looking at enchanted, truly magical weapons. And even my Jester's Daggers... why can't one use Perform (Juggle) with them if you get hit and instead have to make a ref-save?

Wait. I got it. Repositioning. Effects that change when foes are killed or hampered. Ring any bells? Yep, 4th edition. I'm not familiar with the designers and whether they have until now exclusively worked for 4th ed., but this pdf feels just a bit wrong to me. Add to that the Wallmart-flair and I'd rather advise you to check out Headless Hydra Games excellent 15 Specific Weapons-series - they offer a more unique flair and feel less like mass-productions. That being said, the low price still makes this an ok, albeit not truly awesome purchase and thus I'll remain with a final verdict of 2.5 stars, rounded up to 3.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Frugal Forge: 101 Magic Weapons [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Frugal Forge: 101 Magic Weapons [PFRPG]
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2012 21:19:51

Wow, this is an impressive and creative collection of magic weapons. I cannot wait to get some in the hands of my PCs. They all are well thought out and a very diverse, fitting many different styles of play. No matter if you're a hack and slasher or stab and dasher you'll find some extremely fun weapons in this collection. It's only 2 bucks, can't miss at that price. Love it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Frugal Forge: 101 Magic Weapons [PFRPG]
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/01/2012 13:47:54

101 Magic Weapons has weapons that will be useful to many different characters, across many different classes and alignments. Some of them are quite fitting for a character type while others seem to fill a niche that I'm not familiar with. The book is very well laid out and quite attractive. The table of contents at the front of the book is easy to read. This book is a great resource, either for when you're looking for that perfect magic weapon, or searching for ideas that you haven't had, yet. The pages are landscape oriented, so it's very easy to use this book as a reference on the computer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions 2 (4E)
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2011 11:27:05

Technically, looks and reads great. However, the content strikes me as overpowered. That is, the magic items are set at item levels which are too low. This is easily fixed by the DM changing the item level & cost (if the players are allowed to buy these items) or by only having these items found as treasure or received as rewards.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions 2 (4E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions (4E)
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2011 11:26:41

Technically, looks and reads great. However, the content strikes me as overpowered. That is, the magic items are set at item levels which are too low. This is easily fixed by the DM changing the item level & cost (if the players are allowed to buy these items) or by only having these items found as treasure or received as rewards.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Buck-A-Batch: Magic Potions (4E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 159 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates