DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Dyson Logos' Fifth Edition Character Sheets
by Joseph W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2020 20:34:01

Flavor is an obvious highlight of this sheet, but the utility is as well. The decorative inkwork is atmospherically suggestive and visually interesting while remanaging entry spaces so that class, race, feat details, and character crest/portrait can all fit on one side, which is more than the official sheets do! The unlabeled big boxes can be filled largely as one likes, though a few side boxes for currency and modifiers suggest which ones were meant for attacks and inventory (and one can see this comparing this to the official sheets as well). Multiple versions of the sheet are provided, all in form-fillable and simple printable versions; you can choose between (X) handwritten or (Y) printed lettering, or (A) skills and saves divided by ability score or (B) alphabetized skills and save proficiency boxes next to your ability scores, for example. I've used them in two groups and a few campaigns already, and haven't felt anything missing from them. If Dyson Logos makes more sheets themed for a science-fantasy or a yōkai Japan campaign; I may buy those, too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson Logos' Fifth Edition Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dyson Logos' Fifth Edition Character Sheets
by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2019 15:50:23

These are great; I love Dyson and all his work, and there's a version with skills adjacent to their controlling attribute, and another version with skills in alphabetical order, which is fine. I think some people would like a lettered spellbook version or perhaps a spellbook version with guiding lines, but the one in the file is OK also.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
2016 Dodecahedron Cartographic Review
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2019 15:33:51

So glad I got this great resource; been a huge fan of Dodecahedron for years. Great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
2016 Dodecahedron Cartographic Review
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dyson Logos Commercial Map Pack 2018
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2019 21:17:48

As a DM I have ambitions for my stories. Its unlikely they will be published but I plan like they will. Dyson makes wonderful maps in an old school style. If you get this you won't have to ask permission to publish, if it happens. You won't have to rework your pdf for new maps...

And they're evocative, well done, and print very well. I personally recommend his work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson Logos Commercial Map Pack 2018
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dyson Logos Commercial Map Pack 1
by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2018 15:52:46

$AUD28.00 for 170 maps ... that's .16cents a map ... I can't even draw this quick to mape it viable to attempt it. Besides, the maps included within this Map Pack are far more impressive than I could ever hope to do myself. An impressive variety that any creator would be foolish not to consider buying this themselves. Well worth more than a 5-Star rating (2 thumbs up)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson Logos Commercial Map Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows of Forgotten Kings [5e]
by Theodore S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2018 15:49:32

I loved Orcs in Tarodun's Tomb adventure from the same company but this module left alot to be desired.

SPOILERS

  • The jungle exploration system was fun and easy, the players liked it.

  • Shadow deamon was cool and will be back to haunt our tiefling

  • A few fun magical items like the healing pinapples that put you to sleep

+- The villiage the players start at have an interesting dynamic of outlanders vs natives but its not defined or explained well. The NPCs are not fleshed out great, and Murderous Jay sounds like an ICP reject. Still gave me enough to work with and I was able to fill in some blanks but the execution per the book was lacking on how to make this feel like a believable place.

  • The players got bored exploring the ruins after some time, as they were samey and filled with a lot of red herrings. Puzzles in the end involving the royalty's skulls are a huge jump and the players never thought to use them...because it was random.

  • The flies while interesting, seemed over powered and how to give hints through the story on how the players can handle them seemed to be missing.

  • SO MANY FREAKING MUMMIES - omg it got so boring so quick at the end.

  • The rising water "trap" in the caverns is described poorly and mostly ignored it, which is a shame.

Overall the ideas are good but the execution is lacking - I doubt this was playtested.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of Forgotten Kings [5e]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Orcs in Tarodun's Tomb [5e]
by Theodore S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2018 15:30:28

If you are okay with adjusting some of the encounters based on your PC's power you'll be fine. I spread out the orcs into a few encounters and made sure to use the Orc generator chart because the flavor was awesome. The overheard dialog table was also super fun, the all Orc raiding party will be remembered by the PCs for some time.

Enjoyable and I look forward to more adventures from th AUthor



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orcs in Tarodun's Tomb [5e]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Orcs in Tarodun's Tomb [5e]
by Andy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2018 16:25:47

A solid little introductory adventure that can be played in a single session. Beautiful maps by Dyson Logos (I'm a big fan of his clear line style). It does, however, have one significant flaw: the monster encounter difficulty is absurdly overpowered for Level 1 or 2 PCs in 5E (assuming a typical party size). One room contains eight (!) orcs who "won’t hesitate to attack and subdue the PCs." Eight orcs is a "deadly" encounter for Level 4 PCs, never mind Level 1. I'll probably run this for my son and his friends, but I'll have to nerf most of the encounter CRs beforehand.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson Logos' Fifth Edition Character Sheets
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2018 12:27:31

By far my favorite hand-drawn style character sheet so far. It doesn't hurt that it is drawn by the legend himself. While I haven't used them for characters higher then 4th level so far, there has been enough room for all the character's information. And the fact that it has a section for the character's picture (on the front page no less!) is an added bonus that a lot of other sheets seem to neglect for some reason. I really wish he would produce more variants and pages for these, but being PWYW I understand if this is the totality of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson Logos' Fifth Edition Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows of Forgotten Kings [5e]
by Jarrett C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2018 00:29:56

This is a great short drop in location for use when your players are near a jungle. The maps, as always, are killer Dyson Logos beauties, and the words are the usual high concept creepiness from Zzarchov Kowolski. The art by Huth sets the tone for each location and helps you really get what the situation is like, though there could be more illustrations! New spells and several magical items round out the back of the piece (I appreciate magical items with drawbacks- looking at you, Magic Pineapple!). Worth the bucks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of Forgotten Kings [5e]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Orcs in Tarodun's Tomb [5e]
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2018 21:09:39

A winner. Straightforward, short and tightly-written adventure of orcs occupying an ancient elvish tomb, the key part of which is sealed with a puzzle. As the author himself indicates, this adventure is intended as an introduction to the 5th Edition of the world's most popular RPG (and so it goes without saying that it's for Level 1 and 2 PCs). Spoilers follow.

Layout --

15 pages of content, 18 pages total. The layout and formatting are almost uniformly excellent. My usual habit is to print things in booklet style and to then bind them, and when this is done with "Orcs in Tarodun's Tomb" it looks really snappy -- although that brings us to the only formatting flaw, albeit one that is very common and fairly easily fixed: the lack of properly-placed blanks. In this case, there are no blanks at all, and there always should be one after the front and one before the rear cover (unless one intends to have printing on the inside of the cover, which this item almost certainly does not, or should not). In order, then, for the book to properly print booklet-style -- that is to say, with the front and back covers properly placed and the pages in proper book order (even number left, odd number right) you'll need to add a blank after the front cover page, and another before the back. Again, this is very common; I have to use an editor to correct problems in most PDFs I want to print & bind. Very easily done using Sejda Online or another service. Hope the publisher doesn't mind me advocating for self-editing!

In any case, aside from that minor-major thing, the layout is very, very fine. Clean, with the right amount of whitespace for legibility at 100% size.

Art --

The art and maps are uniformly excellent in a great new-old-school way.

Adventure --

"Orcs in Tarodun's Tomb" will serve as a fine introduction to the game. Straight up well-told story of orcs holing up in a tomb, a magical puzzle ward, a wrathful Elvish spirit and a captive NPC who isn't what she seems. It also includes a solid "orc generator" table where you come up with a random combo of name, sobriquet and quirk. Now, you're not likely going to be asking the orcs their names as you break them in half, but it's a good tool to have, and a good GM will find a way to work in one or two names and traits (the leader is named).

The descriptions of the tomb's chambers are very evocative and blessedly brief. The adventure is fully statted out, thank you very much, with blocks all at the back. Thanks, you guys!

The only thing I don't love is the puzzle, but then I don't like puzzles, nor complex traps, because to me they're hokum. This one itself raises the same sorts of questions that most puzzles do. Why is there a deductive means to access the inner tomb in the first place, if the evil is meant to be kept sealed forever? As a GM, I'd have to come up with an answer to that, and whatever that answer is it probably ain't gonna make much more sense than leaving clues on the giant silver doors in the first place. However, I can say, as The Puzzles Are Stupid Guy, that as far as improbable magical tomfoolery goes, this one's at least evocative and will be entertaining for the DM to relate and for the players to solve. So to heck with it, just go for it or tweak it as you will.

Conclusion --

Overall, excellent style and substance. Add those two blanks (if you're printing booklet), and supply a reason why the puzzle is there, and you have a perfect piece.

Thank you for reading.

Andrew Merzetti



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orcs in Tarodun's Tomb [5e]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dyson Logos' Fifth Edition Character Sheets
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2018 19:36:22

Great layout, and classic Dyson Logos artwork. Big winner. Give him your money!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson Logos' Fifth Edition Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows of Forgotten Kings [5e]
by Gus L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2018 14:28:24

Shadows of Forgotten Kings attempts to do something rather difficult - create an old school dungeon crawl that will function under the mechanics and typical playstyle/conceits of 5th edition D&D, while inspiring players who are comfortable with this game style to think about and hopefully embrace some of the classic dungeon crawl/location based adventure ethos. It largely succeeds, and for this reason it’s interesting, creating a hybrid that introduces many old school concepts and techniques but adapts them in a way that might not always be pretty, but seems likely to function at a table unfamiliar with older rulesets and their assumptions. As an adventure, beyond the difficult mission it’s undertaken, Shadows of Forgotten Kings has a consistent feel, creating a lost city jungle adventure that emphasizes both the tragedy of the city’s ancient fate and firmly roots the adventure in a swords & sorcery setting that is refreshingly mysterious and dangerous seeming compared to 5E’s default high fantasy, but not entirely incompatible.

Full Review Here: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1U8uuQvGOsro9zzC9e3Tnp4oYUbyHzWH4Ika21_XCSiw/edit?usp=sharing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of Forgotten Kings [5e]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dyson's Delves II
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 18:44:21

I have run Goblin Gully at least four times for different groups. In its own way, this is a more polished product than Dyson's Delves I, though of course less so than Dyson's most recent works. But there's so much gusto in the creation here that you can't go wrong starting from this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson's Delves II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dyson's Delves
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 18:14:20

I have used several portions of this to great effect in various D&D games - including Fifth Edition! While perhaps not as technically proficient as Dyson's more recent work, there's a gusto that shines through even in these older products. Definitely worth the time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dyson's Delves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates