DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
WFRP: Salzenmund: City of Salt and Silver
by Mikolaj L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2022 01:05:25

This book is a lot of Oldhammer lore gathered in one place, describing a very different city of the Empire then the one we know so far, populated with people of diverse heritage and customs then those coming from the "civilized" parts of the Empire. We get a history of the province, city and current ruler who has risen to power partly due to the events in The Empire Within campaign. We get enough background stories, hooks to create our own campaign or run a sandbox. The city illustrations are gorgeous, some say that map is not up to the C7 standards but I like it personally as I find it more classic then the others. We have new important NPCs, nobility, priests and smugglers who run the city. Nice chapters about mining operations, smuggling, local night goblins and general description of the province. The author has put a lot of effort to gather small stories from the Oldhammer lore and you can feel how much heart he has put into this product. For me as a GM, it is a wonderful book and I am looking forward for the next one Sea of Claws.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Salzenmund: City of Salt and Silver
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
by RN M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2022 21:26:52

I found the setting guide half of the book an excellent resource, giving a lot of depth into the town of Ubersreik, and hooks that I was able to build a whole campaign off of.

The prewritten adventures are a little less useful in my opinion, especially if your PCs aren't using the Pregens.

Still, an excellent purchase and an excellent reference for the setting of Warhammer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
by Gideon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2022 07:14:22

This is in many respects a good update of the WFRP rules system. It is, however, in my opinion let down somewhat by excessive crunch and unclear exposition of the rules (especially the lack of examples).

For more thoughts on the book, see: https://awesomeliesblog.wordpress.com/2018/12/23/going-fourth/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
by Gideon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2022 07:04:06

The first of the five adventures in this book, 'A Rough Night at the Three Feathers' is a true classic, which pioneered its multi-threaded format. The remainder repeat the same formula with varying results, from the excellent 'Nastassia's Wedding' to the mediocre 'Day at the Trials'. Overall, Rough Nights & Hard Days conains plenty of very good material, but GMs might wish to adapt some of it to make it less repetitive.

For a more thorough review, see: https://awesomeliesblog.wordpress.com/2019/05/04/rough-and-ready/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rough Nights and Hard Days
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: Power Behind the Throne Companion
by Gideon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2022 06:56:42

The bulk of the Power Behind the Throne Companion is a familiar blend of peripheral content seen in previous volumes in the series: background material, supplemental rules and standalone scenarios. On this occasion the content is in my opinion a little less inspiring and relevant than in the Enemy in Shadows or Death on the Reik Companions, but it will still be of value to GMs.

Where this book goes beyond the earlier Companions, however, is in providing supplemental content for use with the main adventure. Power Behind the Throne was evidently circumscribed by its page count, and there are some areas that benefit from further attention. All of these areas are addressed in the Companion, though with varying results. Some of the content is all but essential for GMs of the main adventure, while other parts are in my view largely redundant.

Taken as a whole, the Power Behind the Throne Companion is a little more uneven than the earlier books in the series, but still contains a good amount of material to interest GMs. The information on the Garden Party and some of the additional NPCs is probably enough on its own for GMs of the main adventure to justify getting a copy.

For a fuller review, see: https://awesomeliesblog.wordpress.com/2021/07/18/power-boost/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Power Behind the Throne Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: Death on the Reik Companion
by Gideon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2022 06:55:24

The Death on the Reik Companion is a valuable collection of resources for any GM running WFRP adventures set on the river. For GMs of Death on the Reik it is all but essential. The encounters and trading rules really bring the river journeys of the adventure to life.

For a more detailed review, see: https://awesomeliesblog.wordpress.com/2020/09/25/it-takes-two/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Death on the Reik Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: Enemy in Shadows Companion
by Gideon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2022 06:53:55

This an excellent compendium, with a particular focus on road travel and mutants. It ties in thematically with Enemy in Shadows, but has few specific links to that adventure. It is, therefore, very much optional for Enemy in Shadows GMs. At the same time, though, this means it is also of value for WFRP GMs not running The Enemy Within.

For a detailed review, see: https://awesomeliesblog.wordpress.com/2020/02/04/more-more-more/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Enemy in Shadows Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Enemy Within Campaign - Volume 1: Enemy in Shadows
by Gideon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2022 10:07:41

This is a good repackaging of the first part of the classic Enemy Within campaign. The material has been polished and improved in a number of respects, but overall offers a very similar play experience to the original 1980s scenarios. Given their quality, though, that's not such a bad thing.

For a fuller review see: https://awesomeliesblog.wordpress.com/2019/10/27/wanted-bold-adventurers/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Enemy Within Campaign - Volume 1: Enemy in Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: Death on the Reik - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 2
by Gideon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2022 09:59:49

Death on the Reik is a WFRP classic. It is an enormous, multi-faceted and action-packed adventure that will keep a group busy for a long period of time. The updated version for WFRP's fourth edition contains much the same adventure content as the original scenario for WFRP's first edition, but in a new arrangement. This makes the sequence of events much clearer than in the original, but sometimes lacks attention to detail. It poorly explains the hooks for the adventure, and introduces several new errors. Also the background information on river travel, which formed a core part of the orginal scenario's charm, has been moved to the companion volume (qv). It is still a great scenario, but the new presentation fails overall to improve on the old.

For more detailed thoughts see: https://awesomeliesblog.wordpress.com/2020/09/10/take-me-to-the-river/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Death on the Reik - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: Middenheim: City of the White Wolf
by Gideon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2022 09:49:08

An excellent city guide that packs a great deal of useful material into its page count. It successfully mines the archive of existing Warhammer material, while adding a host of new ideas. The only let-down is the inaccurate city map.

For a fuller review see: https://awesomeliesblog.wordpress.com/2020/11/23/city-slicker/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Middenheim: City of the White Wolf
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: Power Behind the Throne - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 3
by Gideon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2022 09:41:16

Power Behind the Throne was one of the highlights of the original Enemy Within campaign for WFRP's first edition, but it was a flawed diamond. Although it immersed the players in an exhilarating and revolutionary scenario of politics and conspiracy, it was, nonetheless, extremely challenging for GMs to run and in some respects fundamentally flawed. Cubicle 7's revision for WFRP's fourth edition improves substantially on the flaws of the original, but does not quite fix all of the problems, and still requires more work from the GM than it should. However, the genius of the original adventure still shines through, and for a GM willing to take on the work, it offers some of the best gaming there is.

For a more detailed review see: https://awesomeliesblog.wordpress.com/2021/06/10/fight-the-power/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Power Behind the Throne - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: The Horned Rat - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 4
by Gideon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2022 09:29:46

An excellent, atmospheric adventure which combines a variety of play styles: investigation, role-playing, travel, exploration and combat. Some of the organisation of the material could be better, but The Horned Rat is still well worth spending your money on.

Read my detailed review here: https://awesomeliesblog.wordpress.com/2021/12/30/i-smell-a-rat/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: The Horned Rat - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: The Horned Rat - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 4 Companion
by Gideon T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2022 09:25:05

The Horned Rat Companion is another good miscellany of material in the same mould as earlier companion volumes for The Enemy Within. The obvious higlight is the guide to skaven, which is excellent. There are also a pair of very good short scenarios reprinted from WFRP's first edition. The rest of the content, which mainly concerns the Middle Mountains, is more uneven. Nonetheless, the book has plenty to offer WFRP GMs, regardless of whether they are running the Enemy Within campaign.

For my full review see: https://awesomeliesblog.wordpress.com/2022/04/29/rat-race/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: The Horned Rat - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 4 Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WFRP: Power Behind the Throne - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 3
by Patrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2022 13:41:09

A very poor update, on the whole. While this version was my introduction to Power Behind the Throne, there were so many errors, omissions, and unclear events that I had to obtain a copy of the 1st edition version of the adventure just to clear them up.

For example, many of the page references are incorrect. My personal favorite is a reference on page 36 that directs you to page 36 (the actual information is on page 98). There are also a number of places where dialogue is confusing or partially elided. Compare the first edition “travel for weeks to bring the young ’uns to the Carnival, and what happens?…” to the fourth edition “0 ‘uns to the Carnival [etc].” Yep, something is in the current edition of the pdf where half a sentence has been replaced by 0. It is nonsensical as written. Note that this was copied directly from the first edition and was somehow still messed up. One would think that some sort of minimal copy editing would catch something like this.

The most egregious, though, is the omission of important biographical details about an important npc. I’ll try to refrain from spoilers, but read the rest of the paragraph at your caution if you’re planning on playing. There is a part of the adventure where an important npc is able to do something big to some infrastructure based on his membership in a certain organization. This comes rather out of left field. The only other reference to his having been in this career is buried in the relations section of one of the wizards. As a GM, I was somewhat confused by this the first time I read it, or indeed what other npc should make of this knowledge. The first edition book, on the contrary, gives quite a bit of detail on his background, motivations, and career, which makes a number of things make a lot more sense. That is all somewhat vague, but should be understandable if you’ve read the adventure through. Generally, quite a few things about the central villain in terms of personality, background, and motivation have been omitted for reasons I cannot understand.

Another important thing missing is the “standard NPCS” section from the first. This gives stat blocks for watchmen, burghers, knights panther, courtiers, etc. It seems like sheer laziness to remove this rather than update it.

Three stars because it is still a very good adventure and there are some good suggestions on mixing things up for players who are already familiar with the material. There is also some nice art, although some of the character art tends toward the cartoonish by comparison. In my view, though, having compared this book and the original, you’d be better served by getting the first edition pdf and updating the stat blocks. The main reasons to buy a “director’s cut” would be more polish, better editing, and clearer writing. Ultimately, though, the writing is less polished, the editing is abysmal, and a number of things are left less clear.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP: Power Behind the Throne - Enemy Within Campaign Director's Cut Volume 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Doctor Who: The Roleplaying Game Second Edition
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2022 13:12:21

I really wanted to give a good rating. I'm a fan of the show, I liked the first edition of the RPG and buying the 2nd edition last year was compulsive .

I like the art, the PDF is gorgeous though too much orange but still gorgeous.

I like some of the new concepts like Focus, Concept, the very good looking experience system.

But Distinctions...well no.

So I'm suppose to determine with my players how the Distinction works, without guidance except a few examples which does not explain the rationale of how they work.

In the current state, this is a deal-breaker for me.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Doctor Who: The Roleplaying Game Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 818 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates