DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Vault 5e: Uncharted Journeys
by Matt [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2024 11:16:02

I run Level Up: Advanced 5E, but I still wanted a better set of rules for travel. This supplement meets all my needs: the rules are concise, easy to learn and teach, easy to modify as needed, and fun. There are abundant examples of different types of encounters for all kinds of terrain (except aerial travel), with plenty of suggested hooks for interesting encounters. My players were hesitant at first, because they don't like having to learn more rules, but they quickly got into it. Travel play is a lot more fun for us now, thanks to Uncharted Journeys!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vault 5e: Uncharted Journeys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath & Glory - Church of Steel
by Graeme [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2024 00:37:29

This is the single worst example of bookmarking in a PDF I have seen in an rpg product to the point that it makes the book impossible to navigate. The wrath and glory core book didn't have fantastic bookmarking but at least you could get to a particular chapter fairly easily. More recent pdfs such as threat assessment: Xenos have generally been better but this book is on a different level. Not only are the headings in this pdf arranged seemingly at random with some chapters getting skipped entirely and some having a book mark for each paragraph but most of the headings don't even take you to the appropriate place in the book when you click on them. This poor navigation makes this pdf practically useless as an RPG product as you need to be able to quickly search for rules in-game.

As for the book itself. I haven't been able to make much use of it due to the aforementioned issues. The book does cover a wide variety of 40k vehicles but has some odd omissions e.g. why no Thunderhawks?



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath & Glory - Church of Steel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Ubersreik Adventures - If Looks Could Kill
by Zekiel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2024 03:54:09

This is a nice short scenario, featuring some fun NPCs with believable motivations, a nice bit of world-building, a bit of combat and a little light puzzling. Drawbacks are that it's rather linear and the presentation isn't as clear as it could be.

For a fuller review of this (and other titles in Ubersreik Adventures) see my blog: https://illmetbymorrslieb.wordpress.com/2023/07/12/review-ubersreik-adventures/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Ubersreik Adventures - If Looks Could Kill
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath and Glory: Aeldari: Inheritance of Embers
by Jay [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2024 06:51:21

I really like what they're trying to do here. However, the current version, what they have actually provided, is a sloppy mess of a product. I can't even say it's just assorted typos or a few formatting errors in tables or even some copy/paste errors (like lifting melee weapon stats with flat Damage values directly from adversay profiles without taking into account that those already account for Strength). It's all of that and way more problems beyond those. Among other issues, the Rarity values need to be adjusted depending on where an item south out. For example, even accounting for keyword modifiers, it makes no sense that it's easier to acquire Kabalite Armour or a Wych Suit than to get a suit of Aeldari Mesh Armour when requisitioning wargear from the Ul-Khari craftworld. They give us four Aeldari groups(factions), and could stand to do four availability values for each item (including a "-" for groups that simply do not provide such items). There's more that needs fixing, a whole lot more, but I hope they update the title and I can come back and give a more positive review soon.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath and Glory: Aeldari: Inheritance of Embers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer 40,000: Wrath and Glory: Aeldari: Inheritance of Embers
by John [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2024 12:03:17

I should like very much to recommend the digital Inheritance of Embers unreservedly, but as of the end of January, 2024, I really cannot. When this PDF is eventually fixed, and the NUMEROUS glaring errors in it are finally corrected, it will be a marvelous resource for Eldar/Aeldari fans. Right now, it's nigh-on unusable in many of its parts.

(And yes, having written for the hobby games industry myself, I know that errata are inevitable. I accept that, as anyone reasonable should. But I'm talking about a staggering number of easily-caught errors that somehow made it to virtual print.)

Copy-and-paste errors abound (notice that the Howling Banshees don't even have Weapon Skill among their required skills even though they're a melee archetype specifically...and then notice that that's because their skill stat line was simply lifted whole cloth from the stealth-and-sniping Ranger archetype).

Similarly, the Wargear chapter is a dreadful mess, and its tables seem largely inconsistent with the Wargear tables in the core rulebook; even weapons like the Warlock's and Farseer's Witchblade inexplicably show different stats from their listings in the core book. If Cubicle 7 has had a genuine change of heart about how efficacious a given Aeldari weapon should be, fine. But indicate that explicitly; otherwise, the discrepancy just looks like shoddy editing, which is what I very much fear it to be.

The problem with such manifold mistakes is that, as with cockroaches spotted in a restaurant kitchen, one immediately begins to worry about all the bugs one can't see. I am hesitant to use much of this book in a campaign at present for the simple reason that I suspect much of its rules crunch as expressed in numbers and keywords is flatly incorrect.

The shame of it all is that, if these mistakes weren't so abundant, this would be a wonderful resource for players and GMs who want to run Eldar characters and campaigns. Inheritance of Embers has just about everything you're looking for if you're an Aeldari fanatic like me—Craftworld, Corsair, Drukhari, and Harlequin archetypes; new weapons and equipment; new psyker powers; new talents; information on the Ynarri; tips for playing these enigmatic aliens; gorgeous (if largely recycled) art; a compelling setting in the Ul-Khari craftworld, which is rich with conflict and juicy plot hooks; a bestiary.... There's a lot here to like, it's true.

But is the book usable at present? Well, sort of. Until the dozens of errata we early adopters have submitted are incorporated into the PDF (along with, ideally, another serious editing pass from C7 staffers themselves), be prepared to make nigh-constant judgment calls about which data in the book to keep and which to dump or revise. And after a while, one wonders why one has paid for a book that one can only use after a generous allotment of homebrew-style tinkering. Fan-written versions of most of the archetypes exist on the internet; at this point, why not just use those instead? Even if that content needs tweaking too, it's free.

If Cubicle 7 wants to charge money for a book that roleplayers can safely regard as both useful and definitive, they simply have to do better than this. I didn't want to be disappointed, and I do still love much of what's in the book, but I'd advise you to wait before buying. As of this writing, the PDF has not been updated since it was released on DriveThruRPG on 11/1/2024 (or 1/11/2024 for us Yanks). I would definitely hold off before handing over your hard-earned money.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Altdorf Crown of the Empire
by Zekiel A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2024 14:26:11

An expansive, gorgeously-illustrated guide to the capital of the Empire, this sourcebook gives a detailed view of the 36 districts that make up the city, along with details about the various organisations that vie for power in its fog-clogged streets. Highlights include the Imperial Palace, the Isle of Eels, a bunch of bickering revolutionary factions and a variety of cults (not all of them aligned to Chaos). The book features tons of references to Warhammer lore going back to WFRP First Edition and the first Warhammer novels (particularly Beasts in Velvet) but doesn't rely on you spotting them to be a fascinating and useful guide. With multiple adventure hooks on almost every page, I think you could run adventures in Altdorf for years to come with this!

We've been waiting a long time for a really thorough sourcebook for Altdorf and I think this does a cracking job. Thoroughly recommended.

A (much) more in-depth review can be found on my blog: https://illmetbymorrslieb.wordpress.com/2024/01/13/review-altdorf-crown-of-the-empire-part-1/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Altdorf Crown of the Empire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Up in Arms
by Rafal [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2023 08:39:46

Thank you for updating the PDF, but I would be grateful if you could also support those who prefer to use physical textbooks and publish a comprehensive errata for your products.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Up in Arms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Archives of The Empire Vol 2
by Rafal [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2023 08:38:50

Thank you for updating the PDF, but I would be grateful if you could also support those who prefer to use physical textbooks and publish a comprehensive errata for your products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Archives of The Empire Vol 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Age of Sigmar: Soulbound, Ulfenkarn: City at the Edge of Death
by Jay [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2023 22:36:10

It's very well cooked, even if I don't like the flavor. This product does a great job of taking Soulbound into a new direction. The enhancement of the Grim & Perilous rules along with a detailed setting/adventure (multiple adventures, really) is great. Locations and characters are interesting and just detailed enough to leave the GM some room to play. Unfortunately, I want my Soulbound to be about, well, the Soulbound, and this product specifically discourages such play. So, if you want something along the lines of the usual Soulbound gaming experience, give this product a pass. OTOH, if you want to play something closer to WFRP using a slight variation of the Soulbound rules, this product has you covered. I gave it the full 5 stars because I'm not going to knock it just for not being to my personal taste.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Age of Sigmar: Soulbound, Ulfenkarn: City at the Edge of Death
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Age of Sigmar: Soulbound, Ulfenkarn: City at the Edge of Death
by Ron [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2023 09:59:26

Fantastic supplement. It does two things very well: 1) It gives you rules to play Soulbound not as fantasy super heroes but as street-level heroes in a grim setting which I think significantly expands what you can do with this game. 2) It's an amazing sourcebook for Ulfenkarn which is a very cool, contained setting within AoS. If you own the board game Cursed City this is a no brainer but even if you don't this is a great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Vault 5e: Uncharted Journeys
by Jakob [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2023 16:18:08

I was excited for it upon release but unfortunately somewhat dissapointet and dropped it after my first read through, thus I won't deliver an in depth review. I expected a flexible drop-in supplement for ramping up exploration and travel and found great approaches that seemed half baked. What most bothered me were the very specific encounter prompts that I seemed to be more aiming to serve as adventure hooks and hard to drop into pre existing campaigns and adventures without serious customization. Also the feel of them was more of a quirky silly nature wich I just dislike in this quantity. Also the system seemed rather complex for what it actually accomplishes. All in all I just feel it could really have used some polishing. It's not bad, but not really good either, for me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vault 5e: Uncharted Journeys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Rogue Trader: Into The Storm
by Ben [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2023 22:44:47

I’ve tried downloading the pdf multiple times on multiple devices and the pages don’t have text. Even the preview has this same problem. Completely unusable.

Updates: The pdf file has been updated and fixed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Into The Storm
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Enemy Within Campaign - Volume 1: Enemy in Shadows
by Philipp [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2023 07:33:50

Good revival of a classic that everyone should have played.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Enemy Within Campaign - Volume 1: Enemy in Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Core Rulebook
by Philipp [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2023 07:26:58

Best Edition of WFRP so far, building on the foundation of the best previous Editions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Winds of Magic
by Zekiel A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2023 07:39:37

This is a splendid book for anyone who is interested in magic in the Empire. It gives absolutely excellent information on the eight colleges - providing a characterful description of the college and associated wind, a dedicated career, a sample patron, and of course plenty of spells. There are also some nice tweaks to the basic Channelling rules, fun rules for familiars and a good selection of adventure locations and villains.

For a more in-depth review see: https://illmetbymorrslieb.wordpress.com/2023/10/07/review-winds-of-magic/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Winds of Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 892 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates