DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Heroic Maps - Storeys: Kennelfield Winter Castle
by Oliver D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2019 07:12:31

I've been meaning to pen a review for some time now, for the incredible work the Heroic Maps team puts out. Trouble is, the work Heroic Maps does is so good that I've bought so many, that each time, the writing a review thing becomes less and less appealing because of the sheer volume I'd have to write.

So instead I am writing a combined review for the recent maps I've purchased. This include the Hall of Portals, Fortress of Fire Mage, Ruins of Aerineya, Drabdon City Sewers, the House of Chaos and Lost Temple of Morahga’s Eye. But it is this product, the Kennelfield Winter Castle and accompanying Gatehouse product that really sets the bar sky high.

The attention to detail is incredible. The storeys approach to the castle can be quite intimidating to run as a DM for a group of quite demanding players, but by doing this, the castle gets everything it needs: a courtyard, stable area, dining hall, temple, library, throne room area, royal quarters, a mage tower (I'm using it for that, anyway!), a cellar full of other neat areas like a jail cell area, a crypt...the list goes on and on. There are arrow loops ('slits') than you can reasonably lay your hands on archer minis for and the rooftop is ideal for a pesky Horizon Walker ranger to snipe from. Until a dragon swoops in, that is.

I'll be running a gigantic pitched battle with over a hundred minis on it and can hardly wait. When you combine this map with the Kennelfield gatehouse, you invite siege warfare and the frozen moat looks awesome.

The other maps I've bought all have stand-out features and there are too many for me to go into here, but if you are in need of a striking map, or fancy a special exception (like I did) to the dry-wipe Pathfinder grid products (they've seen their fair share of use I can tell you), then I can't recommend Heroic Maps enough.

I'm not the most tech-savvy and I find in general with printers, if they can go wrong, they will. Which is another reason I recommend Heroic Maps - the files come gridded and ungridded, but best of all, they come in sliced up pages that you just print and then lop off the borders. The imagery on the pages is contiguous and is represented in such a way that the edges 'overlap', making it easier to spec out and glue to card.

I honestly don't really have any criticism of the products I've bought from Heroic Maps. Perhaps a suggestion for a future map - I've not managed to quite find something suitable for a grand throne room of an Emperor (along with his private quarters and a couple of side rooms). There are other maps with a sort of throne room or hall in other castle type maps, but I'm talking about the ruler of most of the free world - huge, lavish and ridiculously OTT. But there will always be more ideas and here Heroic Maps excells - the back catalogue is enormous and I often wonder how the team comes up with new ideas so often.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: Kennelfield Winter Castle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Discover: Old Lychen Cemetery
by Ken J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2019 13:57:14

Update! Make sure you check into their Patreon page. Once again a wonderful set! Fantastic details, an excellent subject and presented in the outstanding way that this publisher has consistently done throughout their lines of maps. It could be said that every cemetery looks the same, what varies is what lies beneath and this set offers all of the variance that is needed in a game/campaign. Spending time or money to print something that you can utilize again and again across many sessions is all you can ask for and this set does deliver. I can be cynical in reviewing a map, sometimes nitpicky, but this product does stand out as a set that defies criticism or wishfull rework. Cannot recommend more highly the value, versatility and advantages of having this set in your bag of GM tricks. The reason you should check into their Patreon page https://www.patreon.com/heroicmaps/overview is that they have added an additional vault "Crypt of Azaek" which stands alone, but fills out this product with a nice add-on. You do not NEED to get on Patreon for them, but supporting Joe and Sarah will be beneficial to your long term mapping library!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Discover: Old Lychen Cemetery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind review! We're very happy the map will be useful in your games
Heroic Maps - Storeys: The Dog Arms Inn District
by Jörg P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 11:02:56

I consider this map as a highlight in the line of creations of Heroic Maps. Perfectly usable for 28mm scale, easy to print out, rich in details and full of nice little somethings. The quality of the works of Heroic Maps definitely increased over the last years and from my point of view they are the best battlemaps available nowadays. Usually I develop an adventure and then look for appropriate maps and sketch them if necessary. With a huge collection of Heroic Maps products at hand I occasionally chose another approach in letting a map inspire me and create an adventure on the basis of these works of art. My players enjoy them not less than me. I sincerely advise all fans to support Joe and Sarah at patreon.com hoping they will present us more of these eye candies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: The Dog Arms Inn District
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Streets & Houses
by John Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2019 07:00:56

A fantastic collection of single and double storey houses from simple one room dwellings to more luxurious town houses. Lots of cobbled street sections and alleyways too. Combined with the shops kit you can pretty much map out an entire village/town etc. Love it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Streets & Houses
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dungeon
by John Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2019 06:48:54

Excellent dungeon tiles with lots of options for different combinations. A very nice tool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Shops 2
by John Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2019 06:27:03

Very nice shops for most village/town/city settings. Two floors. Gridded or ungridded. An excellent pack.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Shops 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Geomorphs: Village Core Set
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2019 21:37:52

I wanted to like this so much, but printing it yields squares of wildly different sizes. I have burned thru an ink cartridge and have nothing to show.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Geomorphs: Village Core Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Jon. I've replied to your email. As I said there, I think you've misunderstood the concept of the Geomorph range, and so there's no single large map to make, but instead it's a set of 5 10x10 tiles that you can arrange as you see fit. Each page of the pdf prints one half of a 10x10 tile, with a slight overlap for alignment assistance. And for additional help, you can see full previews of each tile in the product description here, to help you piece together the sheets.
Heroic Maps - Hinterlands Geomorphic Set [BUNDLE]
by Jonathan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2019 09:54:52

The maps themselves are beautiful, but most of the the jpgs have a pixel or two of white border around them making them not lineup seamlessly.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Hinterlands Geomorphic Set [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Storeys: The Church of St Pixtus the Martyr
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2019 15:19:22

A really nice map that creates a sense of place for the characters. The multi-level aspect ensure that you can cope with a range of gameplay.

If you like Chapel on the Cliffs by Goblinstone Games (available on Drivethru) you could use this as an alternative map for the church and add additional encounters within it (useful it you decide to run that for higher level parties).

The lower level could also be connected to other maps produced by Heroic Maps (just add a secret or trap door via theatre of the mind).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: The Church of St Pixtus the Martyr
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Sewer
by Reinaldo R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2019 18:22:44

I'm really dissapointed in this product, I bought this to try it out before buying the complete bundles for my VTT group. Even though it says that it's VTT ready, the tiles apparently have different dimensions that makes them unable to be completelly aligned, not even using the snap to grid feature, and when "aligned" manually they show a small border in all sides wich looks awful and it breaks the unity of the map.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Sewer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Abandoned Dwarven Hold Corridors
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2019 20:38:24

I love this set, the corridors and the rooms, and the mine tunnels and junctions that go with them. However, between the Dark Abandoned Dwarven Hold Corridors and the Ancient Keep Corridors sets, and the room sets for each, there are corridor and room pieces in each of the dark sets that are not in the keep sets, and vice-versa. Is there a way we might have those added in the near future, please? I ask because I go to construct Dwarf dungeons and there are parts in the Ancient Keep -which is more of a sand-colored set than blank stone, and thus MUCH lighter in color- and I can't use those parts because they're too light, and simply darkening them with an image program doesn't work, especially when the outer walls of the Dwarf Hold look more like mortar'd brick than sandstone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Abandoned Dwarven Hold Corridors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Abandoned Dwarven Hold & Mines [BUNDLE]
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 02:41:15

So, overall, the tiles look fantastic- as is typical from Heroic Maps. The amount of detail is staggering. However, for use on a virtual tabletop... it can be extremely difficult to properly align everything if you use a grid. Some tiles simply don't line up with each other properly, and the tiles inevitably become skewed. The dwarven floor tiles, which should act as a guide, also become skewed and do more to confuse than anything. The edges of many of the tiles are not clean, which results in even further confusion with alignment. This visually becomes apparent with one of the images of an exterior showing both a grid and the Dwarven tiles- and they don't line up.

This is likely less of an issue when it comes to printing, but trying to do so virtually is both confusing and extremely time-consuming. The tiles need to be better aligned with one another, and the edges cleaned up to prevent confusion.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Abandoned Dwarven Hold & Mines [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Chapel of the Dead Lovers
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2019 04:10:39

A beautiful map that will fill smart players with joy at seeing all that treasure and trepidation at not knowing what lurks in the shadows.

Texturing and detail are excellent and the maps work well on Fantasy Grounds as they provide a lower resolution map without gridlines.

I will definately use this map soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Chapel of the Dead Lovers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Giant Maps: Langstone Castle
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2019 02:51:37

As always, Heroic Maps delivers really solid maps. It's a nice, large map with good attention to detail. There's a lot of really subtle details that really bring it to life.

There are a few nitpicky things- some of the walls look a bit weird, and you can tell that some of the doors aren't perfectly placed over walls. There's also the reoccuring problem with the dpi listed in the description not being accurate for VTTs such as D20PRO (this one is 275, not 250.)

Regardless, if you're looking for a good fort or a small castle, this one is definitely quite nice. Great work as always.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Giant Maps: Langstone Castle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dry Ravine Paths
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2019 16:05:49

I purchased this as part of the Dry Ravine bundle, and the overall collection is superb, if somewhat overwhelming. I'll be using these as part of an extreme badlands-type environment my Party will be adventuring in for 1 or 2 months, so it's perfect for the numerous encounters I have planned. The only thing this particular set is missing is an overview page showing all the different path pieces so you have some idea how to fit them together. With 64 sections in this particular kit that can be combined, let alone the other 3 kits that make up this bundle, it's wasteful to print them all out to figure out how to fit them together. Otherwise, this is another excellent addition to Heroic Maps' superb products.

Update: I just wanted to acknowledge that there is a graphic on the product webpage that shows all the pieces, although due to the sheer quantity they are somewhat small and hard to make out, at least for older eyes like mine!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dry Ravine Paths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 311 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates