DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The Sewer Master - A Solo Adventure
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2023 09:07:21

Short solo, 53 entries (not including the author's afterword). Can be resolved very quickly.

The author asked for feedback.

Good points: (i) links seem accurate; (ii) variations in play are possible, giving replay value; (iii) decent attempt to build atmosphere, foreshadowing the climactic encounter; (iv) sensible decision to start small.

Possible improvements: (i) some lengthy entries, at times overwritten; (ii) a number of paragraphs have neither choices nor significant elements like combat; (iii) little opportunity for exploration; (iv) the detail of what mysterious liquid the vial in 012 contains is not resolved. Failure results could be significantly shortened e.g. 002 Eaten.

As a first effort, worth four stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sewer Master - A Solo Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback! I really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.
pixel_trans.gif
Mutants & Masterminds Atlas of Earth-Prime
by Jamie T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2023 23:52:02

This Atlas is possibly the best Superhero Genre supplement book I have seen in quite awhile. For years most superhero games like to do cities and smaller regions for background. ATLAS OF EARTH-PRIME brings back the world concept and does so in spades. They dispensed with including info on characters that have already appeared. In it's place is more of a background of how that area is changed due to a super presence and the other heroes in the area. It doesn't bog itself down with numbers and stats instead offering background on people places and things. Some characters do have stats, however here it is the heroes that fill in the gapes. I mean even Gotham is Batman's, but he isn't always around. Filling in this space is where this book shines for me. Now don't get me wrong there are plenty of heroes added, a prison and various other things stated out. But it feels like everything included is important. This gives their world a lot more heft. You walk away with more a of firm view of what the world is about. Most people interested in Mutants & Masterminds will probably have been influenced by the Marvel and DC comics history and lines. This definitely places in one supplement a world much like those worlds, but very unique way.
Even if Mutants & Masterminds isn't your bag this makes a great reference on how to add to your own supers game. There is plenty of ideas to strip mine here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Atlas of Earth-Prime
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Rainbringers and Stormsingers
by Reyn [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2023 19:18:00

A clever little set of simple encounters to get you started in an AGE game with plenty of freedom to add you own stories and ideas! What a lovely format!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rainbringers and Stormsingers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fantasy AGE Bestiary VTT Token Pack
by Reyn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2023 19:22:05

Love these tokens! I also love that a few of the token have variants!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE Bestiary VTT Token Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Book of Fiends: A Malefic Bestiary for 5E
by Tom W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2023 02:51:46

From the statblocks, the art, the writing, this book is fantastic. The lore is written clearly and in nonspecific style and the stories for these monsters are easily slotted into any real world mythology but, as we're dealing with the hells, it's decidely semitic in theme. It's a joy to read it and the pdf bookmarks are handy for navigation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Fiends: A Malefic Bestiary for 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Tavastia
by Jonathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2023 01:20:34

Very interesting addition to the lore with a sort viking aesthetic. I would say a must have if you want to be inspired for these sort of elements in your campaign. Only thing that brings down the rating is the lack of visual media like illustrations or images. Would really be enhanced with more visual media to inspire the reader a bit more!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tavastia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fantasy AGE Core Rulebook
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2023 05:17:04

I want to love this book.

It blends a lot of Fantasy Age 1st Edition and Companion rules together, coming in at twice the page count of 1st Edition. Adding a fourth character class (socially skilled Envoy), 3 player ancestries and brings in things that were common house rules (a Specailsiation at 1st level) and a range of optional rules. Class specific stunts lend depth to class choice, whilst still allowing enough cross over for flexibility.

The mechanics remain simple and elegant. Character creation adds to 1st Edition having a random element from Ancestry features - two random options can now be switched for one fixed if a specific character concept is in mind. Adding a Secrets Talent tree for each ancestry allows characters who want to lean onto the classic/sterotype is a great idea. Which is topped by having a whole set of Specailisation for exotic ancestries (divine/fey/demonic) as a bolt on, that could even be discovered later in play. Personal challenge mechanics to allow depth of roleplaying to have xp rewards are interesting, but will need

One especailly nice touch is Defeat Conditions, taking the next logical step on standard conditions brought in here, where 0 Health puts target out of fight. So PCs don't have to leave a trail of corpses across town, and a party wipe can become a "captured for later" situation without obvious fudging. Which is good for forging lasting nemesis relations, as well as being forgiving on new players.

... but there are a few issues.

Art work, whilst generally good, ranges from brilliantly evocative to cartoonishly bad. Layout can be challenging, particularly in the Adversaries chapter (which is substantially larger than 1st Edition).

The biggest let down was the campaign setting chapter. After Highfalls Swale in 1st Edition (a self contained mountain region for apprentice characters, that could be plug and play into any game world) I had very high hopes for the nautical themed Breakwater Bay in here, especially with the book's hints about it being part of a larger setting of Stranger Shores which sounds intriguing. Its okay but very bland with little of way of conflict (the book is so inclusive it includes pronouns for NPCs, which as a GM I'd rather select myself, if not plot critical) set up for potential GMs to use as a springboard. The geography and cartography of Kassa Island is painfully bad (like, multiple branching out flows from every lake to the sea, bad).

The inculded adventure (always welcome) is solid if linear, and possibly a little quick to reveal a major challenge to a Stranger Shores background.

In all; a good game, and ideal for beginner players, inexperienced GMs would have a hard time expanding from what is in the book to an ongoing campaign.

My advice to Green Ronin would be: re-release Highfalls Swale, including a couple more adventures in addition to Choosing Night, as a stand alone product. Then tie it in (property inheritence trope?) to Breakwater Bay for travel and exploration; after hiring any high school geography teacher for a day's consultancy to correct the basics and split Kassa into a three island archepeligo with at least two potential home sites. Seed with a half dozen adventure sites or fractions. And you have a solid campaign foundation.

And if smugglers are going to be a be a thing ... you need what? between where? and why? answered even if only vaguely.

Best of luck, this game deserves a good run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fantasy AGE Core Rulebook
by Reyn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2023 12:13:45

So excited to see this finally come around! It combines some of the best parts of the sisterhood of AGE RPGs into an outstanding version of an already excellent game. My three-year compaign will surely turn into several more years, and my adventures on the ACA will benefit greatly from the new stuff included!

Highlights for me: -the new Envoy class! -Relationships! -Peril and Daring! -Class Stunts! -Revamped Basic Stunts! -More Spells! -More Specializations! -An exciting setting Stranger Shores and Breakwater Bay!

Thanks for all the hard work Ronins!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Sword Chronicle - Feudal Fantasy Roleplaying
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2023 13:57:30

Disclaimer: I have not played the Song of Ice and Fire RPG this was ported from, only played with what is in this book.

If this were a freshman term paper I would call it a 70% C-.

First the good: Very interesting take on tying players into a larger purpose. Overall a good mechanical system. Good ideas on incorporating sorcery, and thematically good choices for a ~high middle ages+fantasy world. The house management and warfare rules are good, without soul-crushing amounts of fiddly detail.

Now the bad: Felt exactly like someone copy pasted bits and pieces from somewhere else to make this. Lots of tables that would be much more useful together are separated. For example, personal weapons costs/weight listed on page 113, all mechanical information on pages 136-137. Some tables don't match between different sections. Defense holdings have different stats in chapter 5 vs. chapter 10. There are items missing descriptions or stats (Sand Steed), and descriptions missing items (Telescope). This badly needed one more diligent editing pass. Also the "pretty" font in some headings is nearly illegible.

There are also many areas where more detail and thoughtfulness would have helped enormously. For instance, the troops one's house can raise have different options of abilities to improve, with no real explanation for why or how they are useful. It's great that my on-foot peasant levy can improve their animal handling ability, but to what end? Also, hilariously, rules as written cavalry units are tied for slowest on the battlefield, with most infantry moving double their speed.

The final verdict: I got excited by this, I played with it for a game, and then I realized that if I wanted it to actually work I would have to edit and rework about 40% of the book. There are a lot of good ideas here, but I am really glad that I got this in a bundle, I would have been disappointed at paying full price for it. The shortcomings would have been much less frustrating if it didn't have so much potential. There are plenty of simply mediocre RPGs, but one that could have been great and missed sticks out much more.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sword Chronicle - Feudal Fantasy Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Changing Season - Fantasy Age
by Patrick Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2022 08:36:29

You get roughly nine locations (rooms) with four fights and a couple traps. There are some cool ideas here for creepy critters. The frequently awkward writing and typos suggest a lack of editing.

The author also describes an interesting setting of settlements strung along an ancient road through a hostile wilderness. Perhaps the impending release of the new core rulebook will generate enough interest in FAGE that we will get more adventures for the Emperox's Road. There are so few adventures published for FAGE that every addition is valuable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Changing Season - Fantasy Age
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
3rd Era PDF Mega-Bundle
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2022 22:51:32

This is almost a complete collection of material Green Ronin published for 3rd edition D20. Its missing a few things, which I will cover, but the amount of material included and the price for it is more than worth it. My only major critique is not including Egyptian Adventures - Hamunaptra. I'm not sure why this was not included. Its 3rd era Mythic Vistas content and still published by Green Ronin. It also appears to be missing a couple of Freeport adventure modules, Hell in Freeport and Vengeance in Freeport. I should also mention the lack of the 3.5 Character Record Folio, Arcana: Societies of Magic, and Pocket Magica but none of these are dealbreakers.

It is also missing Jade Dragons & Hungry Ghosts, but I can imagine why it was not included. That was a product of a very different time.

Some things were not included for licensing reasons, The Black Company, Thieves' World and The Red Star. If Green Ronin ever wants to do a Kickstarter to fund maybe a brief anniversary sale of licensed content, I would be more than happy to contribute, especially for Thieves' World. Some other 3rd era material not included that is no longer published by Green Ronin can still be found here at DrivethruRPG. This includes Sidewinder, SpirosBlaak, and Ultramodern Firearms. Some is no longer available though, Mindshadows, Monsters of the Mind and The Game Mechanics content. I can understand why all of these were not in the mega-bundle since there are issues with rights or licenses.

As for the content itself, these are high quality PDFs. Even older 3.0 material that is no longer available individually or was never in PDF format, has very high quality PDFs. They are not scans of old books. For example, Secret College of Necromany looks fantastic.

The price here is simply amazing. This is some of the best 3rd era content ever published and the amount of it is vast. Its full of stuff that can be mined for 5E or even OSR campaigns. There is enough material here to provide essentially endless hours of entertainment. So I highly recommend this mega bundle.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
3rd Era PDF Mega-Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cyberpunk Slice: Near Futures & Hackable Selves for Modern AGE
by Guilherme M. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2022 14:51:58

Good adittion to the AGE system, specially since it also clicks with the setting of The Expanse. I bought this module with the intention of bringing augmentations into my game and I'm more than happy on how they ruled them - especially considering augmentations require slots due to character progression so they can be adopted by characters, which poses an interesting tradeoff for the players. Of course, not all augmentations fit the setting of The Expanse, and it's important to bear in mind that this material is directed at Modern AGE rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Slice: Near Futures & Hackable Selves for Modern AGE
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Freedom's Most Wanted
by Matthew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2022 14:12:39

its a very useful toolkit of characters and still viable even in later editions



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Freedom's Most Wanted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Mutants & Masterminds PDF Mega-Bundle
by Gustavo M. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2022 16:43:13

Super bundle for M&M 1st and 2nd edition! Please make another with the rest of the books of this editions!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds PDF Mega-Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Trades of The Expanse: Bounty Hunter
by Audun L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2022 10:51:35

This is the exciting first instalment in a new series of PDF products for The Expanse RPG by Green Ronin.

TL;DR: All in all I am impressed by the content in this supplement. It is short, perhaps too short to some people’s liking, but it is very useful, and it packs a punch! There are some aesthetic and typographic issues (in the PDF I downloaded, same date as this review was written).

The page count fits the cost, and the content of these fifteen pages is surprisingly extensive, and everything is useful, which in sum makes me consider this to be a bargain.

The supplement starts with a short treatment on bounty hunting the Expanse storyverse and gives a brief and good overview with ample room to fit bounty hunting into your games. I personally wouldn't have minded that this was a tad more substance heavy, but that is what the following pages are for, I suspect.

There is a typology of five different kinds of bounties. This classification of bounties is useful when creating the story. Particularly regarding considerations of legality, but also the various stages of the job, the encounter types if you will. Some bounty hunting jobs will be more investigative and focus on tracking and social encounters, whereas others may slant more towards the action encounters. A tracking job may not even involve meeting or having an encounter with the bounty or target, however there's usually more to it than just locating the target.

The bounty type classifications interact well with the next section, which concerns clients. The client section covers the main providers of bounties: governments, corporations, security contractors, and individuals. That there is no specific listing for criminal organisations is a bit disappointing. Of course an argument can be made that a criminal element can be part of any of the four client types, however something more on this would have been useful to give it that little extra oomph (perhaps for another instalment in the series about being a criminal and part of organised crime?).

After bounty and client types, the supplement enters into more details about finding jobs. This section is good, even if it - like much of GRP produce - leaves figuring out how the tables interacts with gameplay to the reader. An example here would have been great. However, it contains all you need, whether preparing jobs before the game starts, finding jobs during gameplay, or by quickly rolling up a job before the session starts: 1) Pick the kind of job you are looking for (e.g., a standing bounty), 2) roll the appropriate test, 3) check the drama die result against the next table, and you have a bounty type and reward (income modifier).

The finding bounties table is nice, but some more information about the rewards and drawbacks from picking a harder kind of job would be nice, with relation to its interaction to the bounties available table.

The bounties available table aligns with the client classification, except it has an additional entry (sensitive) that could've been explained somewhere. The type of client comes with a reward (income modifier), where the more rewarding jobs are harder to get.

All in all, these tables are great for when you're preparing one or more stories for a game series. They may be a bit more clunky to randomly generate a job via skill tests on the go during gameplay.

The job types in this section suffers from some inconsistencies with the finding bounties table, Agency Assignment vs Agency Contract, and Freelance Contact vs Freelance Contract. These minor details aside, the entries on the job types are short and to the point, giving you the briefing you need about what you may consider, and how best to categorise a job you have in mind (insofar as this categorisation is useful for you around the table). It is at least useful in considerations about who the client may be, and to set the stage in the regard. Very useful when preparing adventures.

The next section is about the hunt, and it comes with some new bounty hunting stunts (the table in my PDF is missing a proper header for that table, but it is self-explanatory). The section breaks down how bounty hunters may go about their business and is a version of a Detailed Investigation as described in the rulebook. It continues with questions about payment, with a sidebar about turning temporary income modifiers into a non-temporary income modifier (spoiler: it's not easy). The table about bounty income could need some more explanation, as could lifestyle and income ranges in the core game. It is not entirely intuitive how and when to use in gameplay. The last bit, before the new gear, is a short entry about going "off-script" and calls upon the reputation rules (more on that later).

The new gear is what I would expect, not a bunch of new guns, but useful tools to get into places (for bounty hunters without all the necessary or useful skills), restraining targets, and surveillance. Even two new ships, and while there are no deck plans, I would not have expected that. The ships are thematic and cool alternatives to the extensive collection already in the game (although why one of them has "weapon systems" under qualities I don't know).

The next couple of pages give the players more fun to work with. Here is the new specialisation Bounty Hunter, which I really like. Thematically fitting, i.e., it’s not a power armoured gun-toting specialisation, it’s all about preparedness and gaining the upper hand. This alone is almost worth the price, particularly with the additions to reputation (three new honorifics, and some more about “bad reputation”), and specific Bounty Hunting Churn events (anything from automatically failing tests when contacting the target, to competent competitors trying to steal your bounty and reward, to jobs turning out to be something (entirely) different). A great section!

The supplement caps all this nice and useful stuff off with a list of bounties: Named NPCs presented as story-hooks, with pictures and threat levels (but not stats).

All in all I am impressed by the content in this supplement. It is short, perhaps too short to some people’s liking, but it packs a punch. There are some aesthetic and typographic issues (in the PDF I downloaded 19 August 2022).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trades of The Expanse: Bounty Hunter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 660 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates