DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Freedom City (Third Edition)
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2022 13:36:40

I just finished reading the Freedom City 3rd Edition PDF for Mutants & Masterminds 3rd Edition and here is a quick review of the book.

I've been a big fan of Mutants & Masterminds for a long time and followed the line over three editions, and I was able to read the two previous editions of Freedom city. So I can compare too, at least in terms of memories.

In terms of layout, the PDF is divided into two books, the first book is mainly for the players (including the GM) and the second for the GM only.

The player section is very interesting because it finally covers the basic premise of this campaign setting but also the whole history of the city. The most interesting chapter for the players remains for me the chapter 2 "Life in Freedom" where the players can learn everything about the local life: business, education, arts and leisure, health, media, military, parks and recreation, restaurants, science and technology, social life, sports, city life...it's a lot of information that clearly allows the players to make the city their own and to feel at home there

What has changed in terms of chronology (and without spoiler because all this is in the part for players). The timeline of the 1st one stopped in 2002, the 2nd one in 2005 with the construction of the Lighthouse in orbit by the Freedom League after a repulsed invasion, so the Freedom City timeline is now in 2015 and a lot has happened in Freedom City: there is no longer a Master Mage on Earth, Seven has unwillingly become a Dark Lord, the Republic of Lor has fallen after the appearance of an entity called the Collapsar, and Star Khan has allied with the Grue shapeshifters to create a Stellar Empire, Freedom City served as a staging area for alien refugees who were parked on Star Island causing great tension until Daedalus relocated them to Starhaven, a former Preserver habitat on Europa, one of the moons of Jupiter. Local financial magnate Jonathan Grant became a two-term mayor and was murdered on his way to revealing who was behind the creation of the alien hybrid creature that killed his daughter, an alien rights activist, Captain Thunder lost his powers and his son is now a living electrical form who needs a suit to stay coherent, the new Lady Liberty is transgender, Siren is no longer an active member of the Freedom League but a reservist, in short, a lot of changes.

The players' section ends with different types of possible campaigns and some proposals for alternative versions of Freedom City.

The GM's part is much more interesting, but of course the players are not supposed to read it. Without being a secret universe, this is superhero lore and not Vampires the Masquerade, there are grey areas that players are not supposed to know about, unless the background justifies it. For example, if a player wants to play the new incarnation of the Scarab (a legacy hero), his or her base is described as well as an archetype of powers (even if all freedom is given for a player who would like to change a little the powers of the new incarnation). Without going into spoilers, there is a much more complete timeline than the two previous editions but also descriptions of factions, organizations and places that were in different books of the second edition: the Claremont Academy, The Scarab I mentioned before, SHADOW, AEGIS (the SHIELD of this universe) etc.

Note that this chapter also includes many proposals to change Freedom City to your liking; You want there to be less superhero NPCs? Simple, during the Terminus invasion in 1983, all the heroes died and poof settled.

The next two chapters cover the heroes and villains of Freedom City. So what can I say, there have been some changes, I mentioned the changes in the Freedom League or the death of Master Mage Adrian Eldrich, but they are not the only ones. Some villains I liked like Maestro are gone, others have changed like The Silencer and Tarot (and in case I'm playing in this universe, I'd rather not reveal anything)

What about this book? Well, it's a more than complete campaign setting to take your players on a superhero adventure, there's a lot, I mean, a lot of information... Where the Superverse chose to describe mostly the things that relate to the four adventures of the book and leave the GM's and players' imagination for the rest, Freedom City chose to deliver a complete turnkey city. I like this aspect but it makes for a lot of reading and choices to be made.

However, some things in this book refer to other books of the M&M3 series. You want to know more about Collapsar or the Stellar Empire, we refer you to the Cosmic Handbook supplement which has a chapter on that. Want to know more about the Claremont Academy? Then buy Hero High Revised, which has a chapter on it. Want to know what's going on in France? Buy Atlas of Earth-Prime. Well, I happen to have these supplements in PDF and it's still dispensable for a campaign taking place only in Freedom City.

As stated in the introduction: Freedom City is a campaign setting for superhero adventures using the third edition of the superhero role-playing game Mutants & Masterminds. But it can be used with any superhero RPG and even though a GM doesn't need permission to adapt a campaign setting to another RPG, I think it's cool that Green Ronin Publishing states this in full, it clearly means that they think their setting is so good that you might want to play it with any super RPG



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Freedom City (Third Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk Slice: Near Futures & Hackable Selves for Modern AGE
by Audun L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2022 08:47:39

Cyberpunk. Not my speciality. Yet, I venture forth because I’m enthusiastic.

This supplement introduces several new mechanisms and genre-specific elements you can add to your Modern AGE games (and arguably some would slide well into the Expanse as well).

There are several new backgrounds and professions, and other character options that helps invoke the cyberpunk feel. These additions are always nice, and a good reason to get this product, as it expands on player options. In particular, it is their solution to playing synthetic characters that I find, simply put, great! They provide options for a vast array of different ways to handle it, leaving the question "are you alive?" to be dealt with in play, and the setting of your own design. As a setting-less and "generic" product, this choice stands out as important and very fitting. They do not try to tell you how to resolve this question – that I understand as key in a lot of cyberpunk stories – instead they provide you with assets and tools to devise it for yourself.

The main strengths as I see it are the branding rules and the technology additions. Branding allows players and GMs who like to differentiate between different variants of essentially the same weapon, to draw some lines and add both mechanical effects and in-game flavour. The branding rules are based on the reputation rules from the core rulebook, which I find is an elegant solution; it also beautifully portrays the potential of this system to be tailored to your needs. Gear and weapons with automation are introduced, where you can use a toned-down or a hardcore gritty version in your games. From weapons getting small bonuses to hit targets to automatically hitting whatever it aims at; you can adjust lethality in a scary and suitable manner.

The new augmentations, vehicles, weapons, and armour can assist you in developing your own Appleseed-inspired or Ghost in the Shell-like stories and campaign settings. There are several options to represent Landmates and cyber-brains, feeding into the existential themes of so many cyberpunk stories.

The most interesting parts, to me, are found in the Gamemastering chapter and they deal with the cyberpunk genre and its tropes, and importantly: rules for hacking, cyberspace combat, and hacking brains/the self. The hacking and virtual combat may appear a tad cumbersome, but I put that down to the complexity of writing about simple mechanism that deal with complex and abstract themes – and you have to flip between chapter 2 and 4 to fully follow the rules of hacking and your various IT assets characteristics. This chapter is useful for both addressing your own cyberpunk setting, but also most other futuristic settings.

A definitive must-buy if you are interested in modern to near-future settings of high- and experimental-tech.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Slice: Near Futures & Hackable Selves for Modern AGE
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Expanse: Secrets of Lemuria
by Audun L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2022 12:13:14

This is a spoiler-free review. And because of that, the review is somewhat superficial.

This is a short adventure. It is however perfect if you want to launch a new series of adventures or even a new campaign. It is easily useable as a side-mission too, revealing changes in the setting as time goes and the ringspace becomes a part of everyone's lives. The adventure hints at conspiracies, dangers, and conflicting interests. However, a GM may be easily (too) inspired by these premises and potential introduced behind the scenes to not want to launch a few more episodes related to the plot lines introduced in the adventure.

The writing flows well and it is a quick read with regard to prep work. There are suggestions for potentialities due to player actions, (un)intended consequences, and risks, but the adventure stays on track and is focused on the story of the adventure. It is a fun read, and I presume fun to play (I have not been able to get it on the table yet). It mainly utilises information from the core rulebook, but having access to Ships of the Expanse is beneficial, depending on actions taken by the players or the GM's desire to expand on those parts of the adventure - and if going beyond this adventure, you'd probably want to get your hands on Beyond the Ring.

And speaking of Beyond the Ring. The cherry on top with this product is the preview of Medina Station at the end of the adventure. This is taken from the Beyond the Ring supplement recently released (at the writing of this review), and provides in-depth information about Medina, how it is changing and developing at this time in the timeline. If you are in doubt about buying Beyond the Ring, this product gives you a preview of that book, including an adventure that makes use of the Medina preview.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Expanse: Secrets of Lemuria
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern AGE Basic Rulebook
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2022 21:38:46

Thier book statements regarding equipment..."The equipment listed in this chapter runs the gamut of weaponry, armor,...etc." WHAT A COMPLETELY JOKE. However, they do write, "contents of which are left for the GM and players to determine". It's a good way of saying, "we give the range of stuff...however, we don't actually give the stuff, its up for the players to make up."



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Modern AGE Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blue Rose: The AGE RPG of Romantic Fantasy
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/26/2022 04:28:59

https://www.teilzeithelden.de/2022/02/26/rezension-blue-rose-green-ronin-publishing-aldea-erwartet-euch/

Blue Rose ist ein Rollenspiel mit romantischem Fantasy-Setting. Beziehungen spielen eine besonders große Rolle, aber das ist nicht alles. Magie, intelligente Tiere, eine vielfältige und diverse Bevölkerung sowie phantastische Landstriche und übelwollende Lebewesen machen die Welt Aldea zu einem faszinierenden Ort, der zum Erkunden einlädt.

Nachdem Blue Rose erstmals 2005 von Green Ronin Publishing veröffentlicht wurde, nutzte der Verlag zehn Jahre später Kickstarter, um 2017 das Grundregelwerk einer zweiten Edition herauszubringen. Diese verwendet nun das hauseigene AGE-System und soll hier unter die Lupe genommen werden.

Die Spielwelt

Aldea, die Spielwelt von Blue Rose, ist bunt, vielfältig und magisch. Das Grundregelwerk beschäftigt sich in aller Ausführlichkeit mit fünf Regionen, auf denen das Hauptaugenmerk liegt. Es wird auf das Land selbst, seine Geografie, die Bevölkerung, Kultur, Religion sowie wichtige oder besondere Orte und Personen eingegangen. Auf diese Weise gewinnt man einen sehr guten Eindruck davon, wie unterschiedlich diese fünf Länder sind und warum der Fokus von Blue Rose, als ein Rollenspiel mit romantischem Fantasy-Setting, auf dem Land Aldis liegt.

Aldis wird auch das Königreich der Blauen Rose genannt. Nach einer düsteren Vergangenheit hat die Bevölkerung sich von der Unterdrückung durch die Sorcerer befreit. Inzwischen haben sie eine Gesellschaft mit hohen moralischen Standards aufgebaut, die sich für Gerechtigkeit, Frieden und die Verständigung aller Völker einsetzt. Beherrscht wird Aldis von einem:einer Monarch:in, welche:r jedoch nicht durch Erbe, sondern durch ein strenges Auswahlverfahren und schließlich göttliche Bestimmung den Thron besteigt.

Das Land von Aldis ist fruchtbar und mit einem milden Klima gesegnet. Lediglich in den Grenzbereichen zu zwei anderen Ländern werden die Bedingungen rauer.

Jarzon ist eine strenge Theokratie, deren Herrscher:innen fest entschlossen sind, nie wieder solch dunkle Zeiten wie in der Vergangenheit unter der Herrschaft der Sorcerer zuzulassen.

Rezea besteht zum großen Teil aus weiten Ebenen. Sie werden von nomadischen Clans bevölkert, die ihre Freiheit über alles lieben.

Die Inseln von Lar´tya gleichen einem tropischen Paradies. Die Bevölkerung lebt in einem Matriarchat mit einem strengen Kastensystem, aber durch den Einfluss anderer Länder scheint es Veränderungen zu geben.

Ganz anders sieht es in Kern aus, einem öden und trostlosen Land. Das Erbe der Sorcerer ist hier deutlich zu spüren, doch während die anderen Länder alles tun, um davon loszukommen, wird es in Kern gepflegt. Sklav:innen und Untote sind ein normaler Anblick und die Herrschenden interessieren sich nicht dafür, wie es der Bevölkerung geht oder was sie tut, solange man ihnen gehorcht.

Die Bevölkerung Aldeas besteht zum großen Teil aus Menschen, die sich jedoch von Region zu Region stark voneinander unterscheiden. Die Night People – im Aussehen den klassischen Orks nicht unähnlich – sind ein Volk, das von den Sorcerern erschaffen und versklavt wurde, doch nun frei ist. Die Mitglieder des Sea-Folk sind im Wasser und an Land zu Hause und ähneln den Menschen, weisen aber ungewöhnliche Haut-, Augen- und Haarfarben auf. Die Vata sind von Natur aus magiebegabt, was ihnen das Leben in manchen Regionen Aldeas schwer macht. Das letzte Volk besteht aus intelligenten Tieren, die der Magie mächtig sind: die Rhydan. Fast überall haben sie den gleichen Status wie alle anderen Völker, auch wenn die meisten von ihnen lieber unter sich bleiben.

Nicht nur Vata und Rhydan, sondern auch andere Lebewesen beherrschen diese intuitive Form der Magie, das sogenannte „Arcana“. Sie wird vor allem dazu genutzt, das Leben der Bevölkerung zu verbessern – sei es im medizinischen Bereich oder im Kampf gegen die Umweltverschmutzung.

Ihr gegenüber steht eine Art „Schulmagie“, die in der Vergangenheit von Sorcerern und heute insbesondere von Magier:innen aus Kern genutzt wird, um Böses zu tun. 

Durch das romantische Setting haben Beziehungen und Romanzen eine große Bedeutung. Die Bevölkerung Aldeas kennt dabei nicht „das klassische Beziehungsmodell“ zwischen Mann und Frau. Alle möglichen Formen von Beziehungen sind denkbar und werden toleriert – sie sind einfach normal. Das Thema Geschlecht wird ebenso frei und tolerant gehandhabt. Das Buch macht hierbei deutlich, dass die englische Sprache Limitierungen hat, die es in der Welt von Blue Rose nicht gibt. Trotz ausführlicher Erklärungen im Grundregelwerk, wie Geschlecht und Beziehungen in Aldea gehandhabt werden, wirkt es in keiner Weise forciert, sondern so normal wie die Beschreibung eines Landstriches. 

Die Regeln

Blue Rose nutzt das AGE-System von Green Ronin Publishing mit einigen individuellen Anpassungen. Man benötigt lediglich sechsseitige Würfel – in der Regel drei Stück, von denen sich einer von den anderen beiden optisch unterscheiden sollte, da die von ihm gezeigte Zahl bei einem Pasch von Bedeutung ist. Jeder Charakter besitzt neun Eigenschaften, darunter Konstitution, Wahrnehmung und Stärke. Zu Beginn besitzen sie Werte zwischen -2 und 4.

Proben auf diese Eigenschaften werden mit 3W6 gegen einen Schwellenwert gewürfelt, der erreicht oder überschritten werden muss. Für den endgültigen erreichten Wert verrechnet man die 3W6 mit dem Wert der entsprechenden Eigenschaft und einem eventuell vorhandenen passenden Fokus, der durch Volk oder Hintergrund erworben werden kann. So ist zum Beispiel Schwimmen ein Fokus für Konstitution oder Einschüchtern ein Fokus für Stärke.

Ein Sonderfall tritt ein, wenn eine Probe gelingt und ein Pasch gewürfelt wird. Dann wird der andersfarbige Würfel, der sogenannte Drama Die, wichtig. Die Zahl, die er zeigt, bestimmt, wie viele Stunt-Punkte man zur Verfügung hat. Diese Punkte bringen neben der gelungenen Probe weitere Vorteile. So kann man im Kampf etwa zusätzlichen Schaden verursachen oder einen NSC nicht nur zu etwas überreden, sondern nachdrücklich beeindrucken.

Magie kann in Form von verschiedensten Zaubern jederzeit eingesetzt werden. Die Häufigkeit ist dabei theoretisch nicht begrenzt, doch nach manchen gewirkten Zaubern muss eine Probe bestanden werden, um kein Level Erschöpfung zu erhalten. Diese häuft sich auch durch andere anstrengende Tätigkeiten wie beispielsweise ein Gewaltmarsch und führt im schlimmsten Fall bei vier angesammelten Leveln zum Tod.

Die Reihenfolge im Kampf wird anhand des Initiativewerts bestimmt. Ein Angriff erfolgt auf dieselbe Weise wie die anderen Proben. Der Verteidigungswert des:der Gegner:in muss hierbei erreicht oder überschritten werden, wobei die volle Rüstung vom erlittenen Schaden abgezogen wird. Im Kampf stehen den Charakteren pro Runde jeweils eine „Major Action“, wie Angreifen oder Heilen, und eine „Minor Action“, wie Bewegen oder Zielen, zur Verfügung.

Dass Blue Rose ein Rollenspiel ist, das seinen Fokus nicht auf den Kampf legt, merkt man beispielsweise an den Waffen. Anstatt endloser Tabellen kommt es mit einer vergleichsweise kurzen Liste aus. Die Waffen wurden zu Gruppen mit jeweils zwei oder drei Varianten zusammengefasst. Für die Gruppe „Äxte“ gibt es beispielsweise die Varianten „Standard“, „Geworfen“ und „Zweihändig“. Für „Bogen“ gibt es die Varianten „Armbrust“, „Langbogen“ und „Schleuder“. Jede dieser Varianten verursacht eine bestimmte Menge an Schaden, wodurch das benötigte Arsenal an aufzulistenden Waffen deutlich verringert wird. Rüstungen und Schilde sind ähnlich unkompliziert in „Leicht“, „Mittel“ und „Schwer“ aufgeteilt.

Die Regeln sind sowohl leicht verständlich als auch gut umzusetzen und fügen sich gut in das Setting ein, dessen Fokus nicht auf Regeln, sondern Erzählung und zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen liegt.

Charaktererschaffung

Die Charaktererschaffung beginnt mit dem Festlegen der Werte für die neun Eigenschaften. Hierzu werden 3W6 gewürfelt und eine Tabelle konsultiert. Je nach Ergebnis erhält man einen Wert der von -2 bis 4 reichen kann.

Als nächstes entscheidet man sich für eines der fünf Völker: Menschen, Night People, Sea-Folk, Vata oder Rhydan. Mit dem Volk erhält man zwei Fokusse, die zufällig ermittelt werden. Auf diese Weise kann es geschehen, dass der Charakter Fertigkeiten erhält, die man bisher noch nicht für ihn in Betracht gezogen hatte.  

Der Hintergrund ist entweder von einer Nationalität oder Kultur geprägt und beschreibt, wo und wie der Charakter aufgewachsen ist. Zusätzlich erhält man einen weiteren Fokus und zwei Sprachen, die man beherrscht.

Über die Klassen „Adept“ (Magier:in), „Expert“ (Schurk:in) oder „Warrior“ (Kämpfer:in) spezialisiert man sich weiter und erhält mit jedem Levelaufstieg neue Fähigkeiten und Talente hinzu.

Im Anschluss folgen das Auswählen der Ausrüstung sowie das Ausrechnen von Werten wie etwa der Verteidigung.

Abschließend werden Name, Aussehen, Ziele, Persönlichkeit und Beziehungen des Charakters festgelegt. Nun ist er bereit, Aldea zu bereisen!  

Insgesamt nimmt die Erschaffung eines Charakters etwa 30 bis 60 Minuten in Anspruch, je nachdem, ob er magisch begabt ist oder nicht.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitungssicht

Das verwendete AGE-System hat ein einfach zu erlernendes Grundgerüst, das es sowohl Spielleitung als auch Spieler:innen einfach macht, einzusteigen. Es ist somit auch gut für Rollenspielneulinge geeignet. Zudem ist das Regelsystem detaillierter als etwa das von Dragon Age, das ebenfalls das AGE-System verwendet. Dennoch besteht kein Zwang, jedes Detail auch umsetzen zu müssen.

Positiv ist auch, dass sämtliche wichtigen Informationen im Grundregelwerk zu finden sind.

Das gespielte Abenteuer war einfach umzusetzen und anpassbar: Durch einen modularen Aufbau konnten Szenen problemlos weggelassen oder hinzugefügt werden. Es sind zwar vorgefertigte Charaktere vorhanden, diesen wurden jedoch teilweise Liebesbeziehungen gegeben. Für Spieler:innen, die sich untereinander noch nicht so gut kennen und deshalb unwohl fühlen könnten, ist es deshalb ratsam, Charaktere selbst zu erstellen.

Spielbarkeit aus Spieler:innensicht

Die Regeln sind einfach und schnell zu erfassen und gut umzusetzen. Auch das Kampfsystem ist leicht verständlich. Dadurch stehen die Regeln nicht im Weg, was das Zurechtfinden in der Spielwelt erleichtert. Vieles ist vertraut und Neues lässt sich gut aneignen.

Positiv hervorzuheben sind vor allem die diverse Charaktergestaltung, die besondere Rolle der Tiere und der Fokus auf zwischenmenschliche Themen. Dadurch ist es spannend, die gemeinsame Entwicklung der Charaktere zu beobachten.

Auch leistet das System großartige Arbeit darin, die verschiedensten Arten von Individuen und Lebensentwürfen so in die Welt einzuweben, dass es völlig normal und kein „großes Ding“ ist.

Etwas skeptisch wurde der hohe Grad an romantischen Beziehungen betrachtet, den das System im Normalfall vorsieht. Dies fällt einer Gruppe sicherlich leichter, wenn sie sich bereits lange und gut kennt, sodass sich niemand unwohl fühlt.

Insgesamt hat das Abenteuer in jedem Fall Lust gemacht, erneut in die Welt von Blue Rose einzutauchen und die Facetten von Aldea und die Regeln kennenzulernen, die durch diesen ersten Ausflug noch nicht behandelt wurden.

Spielbericht

Gespielt wurde das Szenario „The Rhy-Wolf´s Woe“ aus dem Schnellstarter für Blue Rose. Drei selbsterstellte Charaktere nahmen sich der Aufgabe an:

Merle Vel, menschliche Expertin. Sie gehört den stets reisenden Roamern an. Merle ist eine Schaustellerin und Akrobatin, die ihre Großfamilie, Musik und Gesang liebt. Besonders ihrer großen Schwester Tha´astra steht sie sehr nahe.

Tha´astra Vel, eine Kriegerin der Night People. Sie wurde als kleines Mädchen von den Roamern aufgenommen und schützt diese neue Familie, insbesondere ihre kleine Schwester Merle.

Malachai Khelvid, ein Adept der Vata. Er ist der Spross einer wohlhabenden Familie in Aldis und genoss eine umfassende magische Ausbildung. Seit Merle und Tha’astra ihn aus einer misslichen Lage befreiten, begleitet er die beiden Schwestern.

Spieler:innen sollten den folgenden Teil überspringen, um Spoiler zu vermeiden.

The Rhy-Wolf‘s Woe

Die Charaktere sind in einem Wald im nördlichen Teil von Aldis unterwegs, als ihnen unvermittelt ein Wolf begegnet. Doch anstatt anzugreifen, nimmt er telepathisch Kontakt zu ihnen auf und stellt sich als ein Rhydan namens Frostwind heraus. Er bittet sie um Hilfe und erzählt ihnen von seiner Freundin, einer Rhydan-Wölfin namens Graumähne. Sie berichtete ihm vor einiger Zeit vom Menschenjungen Markas, zu dem sie eine starke Verbindung spürte, doch sein Vater jagte sie zu ihrem Bedauern davon. Frostwind vermutet, dass sie erneut Kontakt zu dem Jungen suchte, doch nun hat er sie seit Tagen nicht mehr gesehen. Da er sich Sorgen macht, bittet er die Charaktere, nach ihr zu suchen.

Die Drei machen sich sofort auf den Weg zum Dorf, in dem der Junge wohnt. Dort lernen sie schnell dessen Vater Jatos kennen. Er ist besorgt und aufgebracht, da sein Sohn Markas verschwunden ist. Ein Gespräch mit der Bürgermeisterin zeigt den Charakteren ihr nächstes Ziel: eine alte Ruine, in denen die Sorcerer in den vergangenen dunklen Zeiten ihre Magie ausübten. Der Ort ist zwar gefährlich, aber die Drei vermuten, dass Markas und Graumähne dort Unterschlupf suchen wollen, um in Ruhe gelassen zu werden.

Im tiefen Wald ist es immer besser, nicht allein unterwegs zu sein.

Der Weg führt sie weiter in den Wald hinein, dessen Tiefen nicht ohne Grund bei der Bevölkerung sagenumwoben sind. Doch kein mythisches Wesen, sondern ein einfacher Bär stellt das erste große Hindernis des Abenteuers dar. Den gemeinsamen Angriffen von Merles Bogen, Malachais Magie und Tha´astras Schwert hat er nicht lange etwas entgegenzusetzen und haucht bald darauf sein Leben auf dem Waldboden aus.

Nach einigen Stunden Fußmarsch treffen die Drei schließlich auf eine einsame Hütte, die jedoch bewohnt zu sein scheint. In der Hoffnung, Neuigkeiten von Markas und Graumähne zu erhalten, klopfen sie an. Und so treffen sie auf Galthi von den Night People. Sie erzählt ihnen, dass sie die beiden tatsächlich vor ein paar Tagen in einiger Entfernung gesehen hat und es ihnen gut zu gehen schien.

Ermutigt von diesen Neuigkeiten geht die Reise am nächsten Tag weiter. Ein vor kurzem verlassenes Nachtlager gibt ihnen weitere Hoffnung, bald auf die Vermissten zu treffen. Endlich an der Ruine angekommen müssen sie feststellen, dass sie gerade noch rechtzeitig sind, denn Markas und Graumähne haben offensichtlich eine Gruppe Untoter auf sich aufmerksam gemacht und werden von ihnen angegriffen. Insbesondere Markas sieht bereits schwer mitgenommen aus. Die drei Charaktere greifen ohne zu zögern ein und können die Gegner nach einem schnellen Kampf besiegen. Sie bringen den Jungen und die Wölfin zurück ins Dorf und vermitteln dort zwischen allen Beteiligten, sodass Markas und Graumähne zusammenbleiben können.

Erscheinungsbild

Das Buch weist 384 Seiten auf und ist durchgängig vollfarbig. Besonders beeindruckend sind die vielen hochwertigen Illustrationen. Lediglich der Stil mancher NSC-Portraits will nicht ganz zum Rest passen. Manche Illustrationen wirken sehr idealisiert, was jedoch dem „romantic fantasy“-Setting geschuldet sein könnte.

Das Regelwerk enthält sehr viel Fließtext, was stellenweise erschlagend wirkt. Dafür sind insbesondere Beschreibungen so interessant zu lesen, dass man sich schnell darin verliert. Die Navigation wird durch regelmäßige und viele Überschriften, sowie einen Index erleichtert. Zudem wird der Text immer wieder durch Beispiele, Kästen mit Extra-Informationen, Tabellen und Illustrationen aufgelockert.

Fazit

Blue Rose ist ein Rollenspiel im Bereich der romantischen Fantasy, weswegen Beziehungen jeglicher Art, Romanzen und Gefühle eine große Rolle spielen. All dies wird den Spielenden jedoch nicht aufgezwungen. Vielmehr kann man es auf einen Grad anpassen, der für die eigene Gruppe angenehm ist – und wenn man sich daran gewöhnt hat, lässt sich der romantische Anteil nach und nach erhöhen. Das System bietet viele Möglichkeiten, das Setting nach den eigenen Wünschen anzupassen: sei es High Fantasy, etwas Horror oder in der nächsten Kampagne doch lieber ein bisschen mehr Romantik und Intrigen.

Zudem bietet Blue Rose vom fast schon utopischen „Aldis“ bis hin zum dystopischen „Kern“ – und allem, was dazwischen liegt – eine vielfältige und diverse Welt. Selbst mit wenigen Völkern und Klassen ist es möglich, die unterschiedlichsten Charaktere zu erschaffen, da ihnen auch anderweitig Möglichkeiten gegeben werden, besonders zu sein.  

Das Regelwerk selbst beinhaltet mit beachtlichen 384 Seiten alles, was zum Spielen benötigt wird und darüber hinaus Unmengen an Hintergrundinformationen. Allein der Teil für die Spielleitung ist über einhundert Seiten lang und gibt viele Vorschläge, Tipps und Ratschläge, das kaum eine Frage offenbleiben dürfte. Ähnliches gilt für den Teil, der die Spieler:innen betrifft

Selbst für Leute, die intensives Charakterspiel noch nicht für sich entdeckt haben, kann sich also ein Blick auf Blue Rose lohnen. Aldea wartet darauf entdeckt zu werden!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose: The AGE RPG of Romantic Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Changing Season - Fantasy Age
by Reyn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2021 21:32:33

The adventure is short but sweet, has plenty of space for GM customization, and the monsters are new and interesting!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changing Season - Fantasy Age
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Flight of the Wayfarer
by Reyn [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2021 19:06:13

Very professional, the art is excellent, and the adventure is quick juicy. What more could you need?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flight of the Wayfarer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern AGE Game Master's Kit
by Cassie L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2021 13:02:40

After reading the core book I wished the charts were in the back so they would be easy to find. Then I picked this up and there were all the charts so they are easy to find! I find this to be a condense and useful GM screen. Well worth the few extra dollars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern AGE Game Master's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ships of the Expanse
by Franck F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2021 17:02:39

I have enjoyed this product so far, it actually includes more than I originally expected. I thought it would just be compendium of Expanse ship description and deck plans. That part is actually roughly only half the book. The first half includes several chapters about life on ships, extra ship rules and how to modify/design a ship. It's very thorough, with a nice layout and neat illustrations. The deck plans and ship descriptions are beautifully designed. I removed one star beccause the deck plans are not really usable for tabletop or VTT RPGs (they pixelate pretty fast if you enlarge them). I would really love to have the deckplans as high definition .jpg or .webp or .png, so they can be used by GMs during their games.

Edit: dropping the rating to 3 stars because of the unresponsivness of the publisher to fix the issue with the PDF (ie being so low res that the maps are almost unusable for tactical purposes).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ships of the Expanse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Blue Rose Adventurer's Guide
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/23/2021 09:10:46

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2021/06/review-blue-rose-adventurers-guide.html

I have been on record as being a big fan of Green Ronin's Blue Rose setting, both in its True20 and AGE versions. There is just something about it that I find very, very compelling and think it makes for a fantastic game and game world.

I am also on record as being a huge fan of D&D 5th Edition. While it wont replace my beloved Basic D&D it will sit on my shelves and game table very happily right next to it.

So what happens when Green Ronin decides to take their Blue Rose world and used the D&D 5th edition rule system? Well, you get the best of both worlds! Let's look into this RPG chocolate and peanut butter creation and see what we have. My only fear is that some of the things that made Blue Rose so special might get lost here. Let's find out.

You do not need the Blue Rose core rules to play this, but you do need the D&D 5th Edition rules.

The Blue Rose Adventurer's Guide (5e)

For this review I am considering the PDF and POD versions I purchased from DriveThruRPG. Note: As of the date of this writing the POD is no longer available. I suspect this has to do with the change in printing costs for "Premium Color" prints. There was a successful Kickstarter (that I missed) to fund a traditional print run. It looks like there will offset printing ready for your FLGS by the end of 2021. I guess I better hold on to my now collector's item!

The book is 176 pages with full-color art throughout. Once again the cover art is by the incredible Stephanie Pui-Mun Law who has given us the look and feel I associate with Blue Rose. All of the art, as far as I can tell, has been used before in the AGE version of Blue Rose. I do not see this as a problem. The art is so tied to Blue Rose for me that I would have a difficult time seeing anything else. So this is a positive in my mind.

It is hard to believe that it was four years ago that I reviewed the "new" Blue Rose AGE edition. So a lot of what I said there will apply here.

Introduction

This section from developer Steve Kenson introduces us to Green Ronin and Blue Rose. It is a nice reminder that Green Ronin's DNA is deeply sequenced with D&D. Many of the founders and developers at GR can trace their careers back AD&D 2nd Ed, D&D 3.x, and D&D 5. These are not "johnny come latelys" these are people with a strong and credible background in game design and D&D in particular. This also covers some naming conventions. "Sorcery" from the True20 and AGE versions has been renamed "The Occult" here, so as not to confuse with the sorcerer class. Similar distinctions are made later on with Priests and Clerics when dealing with the various theocracies.

Chapters 1 through 7

These chapters all deal with the history, people, and geography of the World of Aldea. They are,in order, The World of Aldea, The Kingdom of Aldis, The Theocracy of Jarzon, The Khanate of Rezea, The Thaumocracy of Kern, The Matriarch of Lar'tya, and On the Borders.

While these sections are nearly identical to similar sections in the Blue Rose core rules AGE edition, they are not a copy and paste. I covered those in my Blue Rose review. The differences here are now largely one of rules setting. Details have been edited to better fit the D&D 5e rules.

This also works well as an overview for anyone wanting to play in Aldea regardless of which rules (True20, AGE, D&D5) they want to use.

Chapter 8: Aldean Ancestries

We are moving away from the old concept of race in D&D and I could not be happier. This chapter gives us a good example of how this can be done moving forward. There is a natural familiarity here for anyone coming to this version of BR from the True20 one. The ancestries of the world of Aldea are here and how they can be played in D&D 5. If you are thinking ahead then YES, you can now use Rhydan and Sea-folk in your regular D&D game.

What was "race" is not split off into Ancestries (your "genetics" as it were) and Culture (where you were raised). This is particularly useful in the cosmopolitan world that is Aldea and in particular Aldis. Sure you might a Night Person, but you were raised in a villa on the Northside of Garnet. Your best friend is a Sea-folk and you spent more time on the waterways than whatever stereotypical things people think Night Folk do. Sure you might be naturally strong and fierce-looking, but the only battles you have ever been in are the Poetry competitions in Garnet. Which by the way are pretty damn fierce in their own right. In my Blue Rose games, Garnet has annual poetry competitions that have all vibe and energy of an epic Rap-battle. The top prize is a lot of money, but more importantly, bragging rights.

I would like to say this should be back-ported into D&D, but I am pretty sure we will see this in future versions anyway. This is an improvement. Character customization at a new level.

Chapter 9: Aldean Classes

Ah. Here is what I waiting on. Blue Rose AGE and True20 versions only has three classes. An while this works remarkably well, D&D has a bit more. So in the proud tradition of so many D&D 5 books, this book offers new takes on all the standard classes. I want to focus here on just a couple I really like.

The Monk gains the Blue Rose Spirit Dancers in the Way of the Spirit Dance and makes it better than the sum of it's parts. I have never been a big fan of monks, I have only played one in my 40+ years of gaming. The Blue Rose spirit dancers were a great concept, but again, not something I would play. This new Way of the Spirit Dancer Monk is better than either and yes I would play one. Imagine an acrobat with ballet training and grace and mix that in with aikido and karate. Yes, that is basically Gymkata (Gods of Light help me) but so much better really.

Paladins get the Oath of the Rose and really just become the Knights I was always playing in BR anyway, but nice to see them on paper.

Warlocks. You knew I was coming here. We get two Patrons here (from the Primordial Gods), the Autumn King and the Winter Queen. A Winter Queen warlock is indistinguishable from how I like to play witches as to be the exact same thing. But honestly, I expected nothing less from Steve Kenson and line developer Joseph Carriker.

Wizards get a little psychic in School of the Psyche. I would run wizards with a pretty tight hand in Blue Rose 5e. Not because of the lack of magic, just the opposite, there is a ton of magic in this world.

These all are designed well for the World of Aldea, but I'd be crazy not to play a Queen of Winter Warlock.

We also get some Feats to help round out some of the powers that characters can get in Blue Rose-AGE. Not a lot, but 5e is not as feat-heavy as 3 was.

Chapter 10: Aldean Backgrounds

Aldea is a new world so there are some modified and new backgrounds for it. The best is the Reawakened. Or the reincarnation background. You know I am going to use that!

Chapter 11: Aldean Arcana

This covers the magic in Aldea including the Occult (what was called Sorcery). Some spells from the Player's Handbook/SRD are marked as "Occult" spells.

I would have loved to see some new spells here, but I would need to go through both the Blue Rose book and the PHB to see if there is anything missing.

We get some new magic items including Ancestral and Rhydan ones as well as Occult Artifacts (great for any game).

Chapter 12: Aldean Creatures

This covers the monsters and creatures we find in Aldea not in the Monster Manual/SRD. There are some important alterations to some creatures such as Griffons, Centaurs, the Fey, and undead, to correspond to the world better. We also get Clockwork creatures, "upgraded" Fey Lords, and slightly different Fiends. Rhydan also get updated 5e style stats.

Shadow of Tanglewood

This is an included adventure for four to six 1st level Blue Rose heroes.

There is an Index and the OGL statement.

While I was worried that some of the charms of Blue Rose AGE would be lost here there is more than enough to make up for it. I mean there are no stunts or any of the other nice features of the AGE rules. There is no conversion matrix for bringing over characters from one game to the other. But this book plays to the strengths of D&D 5e and still manages to give us an Aldea that feels special.

What might have been lost from the AGE (or even True20) version is more than made up for with D&D5. It's not exactly the same, but it is every bit as fun.

Who Should Buy This Book?

If you are a Blue Rose fan and a D&D fan then get this book. If you are a Blue Rose player/GM/fan and your group is playing D&D 5 then you should get this book. If you are a D&D 5 player, and you are curious about Blue Rose, Aldea, and the City of Aldis then most certainly get this book.

One of the great strengths of this book is it ability to introduce the concepts of Blue Rose and its world to a bunch of new players. Honestly D&D 5 players should be grabbing this book.

If I were Green Ronin, I'd put a Quick Start adventure using Blue Rose 5e with some very simple concepts from the game. Don't include character creation, but instead have a set of pre-made characters including a Night Person, a Rhy-Cat (or Rhy-Bear), a Sea Folk, and a Vata. Show off their strengths and then get a group of YouTubers to play it. I know my youngest's group would eat this up in a heartbeat. Slap a giant ad in the back for both versions of the game.

Now I just need a set of Blue Rose 5e dice to go with my set of Blue Rose AGE d6s.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blue Rose Adventurer's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Death in Freeport 20th Anniversary Edition (Fantasy AGE)
by Josh S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2021 06:21:54

a nice intronsetting for campaigns in the age system, I just wish they would release the other 2 freeport adventures for the age system!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death in Freeport 20th Anniversary Edition (Fantasy AGE)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy AGE Companion
by Josh S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2021 06:18:48

this book adds soooo much to fantasy age I cant imagine playing the game without it, sure some of it comes from older age games but gwtting everything together is great. the additions to the arcana with all the roleplay related spells transform the game to somthing wybbetter than the basic book alone



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy AGE Trojan War
by Josh S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2021 06:05:35

a great little supliment and really good quality for print on demand, there are new talants and 3 new arcana that I am opening up to my players in our current fantasy age campaign. Worth a buy even if you dont want to run a campaign in the setting, its great to see fantasy age getting new content!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE Trojan War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy AGE Trojan War
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2021 00:40:27

This is a beautifully designed and laid out supplement for Fantasy AGE, with thematic and interesting additions to the core game. The Spells and Magic items are easily my favourite and very usable in non Trojan settings, making this useful for any FAGE GM in any setting. The book also provides extensive and well thought through options for the divine, including character's relationship with the divine, options for divine manifestations, relationships, piety and bloodline, all of which I'd recommend to any GM who wants to add deities and faith to their campaign. The amount of research that has gone into this book is delightful, right down to how commerce and partial armor works for the setting, the writers clearly have a lot of knowledge of the myth and history of the time that has been put into this book. The writers have provided references to existing FAGE monsters (from the basic rule book and bestiary) and how they would work within this setting, however I would have liked to have seen additional monster stats in this book rather than notes on beefing up existing creatures. Overall this is a great supplement for someone who wants to run a game in the Homeric setting, or a FAGE GM who's looking for additional ideas and options for their own setting and game, and is well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE Spell Cards
by Kevin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2021 19:42:18

These cards are beautiful, hardy and work great. I love having them. They are so incredibly convienent that they have become a necessity at my table. They really make planning out casting NPC's and BBEG's much easier as I can simply grab at random or choose specific Arcana's as desired.

If I have one complaint, it is the price point. It cost me about $76CDN to get them in my hands, then I needed to seek out a case to protect and organize the cards. I've also had to seek out extra large protective sleeves for the individual cards. All this to say that a pdf version would solve this issue. I do understand the concern of Green Ronin of people printing all they want, but at the current price, they are simply too expensive to have more that one set.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE Spell Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 643 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates