DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
5e Arms Cards
by Jareth J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2022 18:44:40

These cards are as advertised, they have the damage displayed as dice of different colors and as written values. along with all the relevent propterties and ranges within reason (i can't expect them to put the special properties of how a Net or Lance works; if i wanted five paragraphs or rules text on a playing card i'd purchase some Yu-Gi-Oh cards). The weapon images are well done, and although some weapons share the same image, with the number of weapons and unique images i'm not going to complain (i actually got a chuckle seeing that the Club and Hand Crossbow were just scaled down images of the Great Club and Light/Heavy crossbows respectively)

I only have two critisisms, one of which is major and the other is minor.

The minor critisism is that the numbers of certain cards are laughably low (which i understand, its a 52 card deck, you've got to cut some corners and honesly i'd have had a hard time picking which get duplicates and they did an alright job choosing which get duplicates and don't, there are almost 40 Simple & Martial weapons). You only get one of each polearm that you get two of is the Javelin. I have spent alot of time learning medieval history and studying these sorts of things for my games and its not even Menagerie Press's fault, its more just modern fantasy representation putting an unrealistic light on swords, but; Polearms such as spears, pikes, and halberds were all much more prevelent than swords (which commonly took a role as a backup weapon), and i feel that you could have diversified which weapons are getting the duplicate treatment; has anyone ever had two players both choose the Maul? has any movie or book had two characters with a Maul? all im saying (and once again, this is just a super minor nitpick, i love these cards.) all im saying is that a second spear or pike would have been nice.

Now, after my small rant about unrealistic depicitons of weapons in modern fantasy, you might be wondering what that Major critisism is. well don't worry, its very easy to fix and will likely make you laugh, as i did, trying to convey this in a proffessional manner; The sling is depicted as a Slingshot, which is a different weapon, you even have it marked as a two-handed weapon, which is of course true of the slingshot, but a sling is a one handed ranged weapon - go ahead check the Player's handbook, it doesn't have the Two-Handed property, you see a proper sling is a strip of leather with a pouch for a bullet (a small stone, glass, or lead ball). one strip of the leather is tied around a finger on your hand, and your thumb presses the other side of the strip to your finger, you swing it around to build up momentum and release the one side of the strip and send the bullet flying. it was a very noteable weapon in history, even the Romans used the sling (as an auxilary weapon).

In conclusion i really enjoy these cards and will likely buy a second set, somewhere in the future, so i can have some extras of the weapons that come as singles in this set. As far as my critisisms go, i wouldnt take the number of which cards we get to seriously, it's fine. the only thing i'd like changed is the misprinted Slingshot on the sling card, as that is litterally the only actual thing wrong with them, every other rule and value is nailed perfectly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5e Arms Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

5e Armor Cards
by Jareth J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2022 17:53:44

As advertised, these cards are four of each base Armor (and four shields) found in the equipment section of the 5th edition Player's Handbook. These are simple in design, but good if you want to intergrate a more card game equipment system. i do like these cards.

That being said i do have a few critiques;

  • Less experianced players might not know that Light armor adds their whole dexterity, while medium adds up to 2, and heavy adds no dex bonus; which is not reflected on the cards aside from being told which class of armor the card represents. (although with that experiance this isn't really required)
  • I play with encumbrance, so i would have liked to see the weight of the items on the cards.
  • Some of the armor reuses artistic assets and i'd have liked to see some visual diversity between them; For instance, you already did an amazing job with the difference between Plate Mail, Half Plate, and a Breast Plate. especially between the Plate Mail and Breastplate where you can see the visual similarity between the two designs, as if someone just put more armor on the breastplate to complete the set. i feel that you could diferentiate the Chain shirt and the Chain Mail by the mail having longer sleeves than the shirt, or showing the pants disapearing into the bottom of the card. (it'd also be easy enough to add Rivets onto the image for Studded Leather) - This entire critisism about the art only affects me, it's just nice to see at a glance which player is wearing which armor without having to stop and read; saving mere fractions of a second, like the speed runner we all want to be.

Overall i really like these and know they will go a long way to me realizing my dream of a Diablo/Munchkin style D&D equipment system. If Menagerie Press ever makes a version 2 with these small updates, i know ill be purchasing a copy of it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
5e Armor Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Careless Adventurer's Guide to Hazards
by Mike C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2021 20:34:01

I very much enjoyed reading this document! I was late to learn about it, and then I was glad to gain the knowledge of what I had been missing.

I especially appreciate these qualities:

  • Full scope of "hazards" including mechanical traps, magical traps, environmental conditions and effects, poisons, and diseases
  • Creative and realistic ideas about how each hazard functions or operates
  • Clarity about the functionality, plus how these hazards might be detected and overcome
  • Convenient summary reference to the specific game mechanics that are relevant in each situation
  • Guidance for adjusting the scale or severity of the danger or challenge
  • Ability to add or modify these ideas into any game setting

I plan to keep a copy within reach to use on the fly during game sessions.

Even if you feel that you already know about these things, then still you will be glad to see all of this useful content presented so clearly in one place.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Careless Adventurer's Guide to Hazards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Neo-Tokyo 2100: A Future Shock Adventure
by Abdulrahman A. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2021 03:32:09

A future shock is an adventure designed to be used by the Savage Worlds Adventure edition. It is an event based storyline taking the characters to the streets of Neo-Tokyo and involving them in the inner politics of a biotech corporation.

PROS

1- The adventure uses only SWADE core rules, nothing else is required.

2- Locations and NPCs are well defined and fleshed out with descriptions, personalities, motivations and stat blocks.

3- It has a main plotline (Overarching story) and some side missions. The main story only becomes times sensitive later on which gives room for the PCs to do other jobs.

4- Great art, layout and uses the same format as SWADE's which makes it familiar and easy to read.

CONS

1- No defined way to motivate the PCs to be involved in Act I. Many outcomes are assumed but if the PCs completely ignore the situation (Which any sane person would do) since they are new to town and probably don't want any trouble. The module suggests they might be hiding from a botched job as a hook and thus their none involvement in the event for ACT I should be expected. (Check adjusting the module for an easy fix)

2- None present rules (even simple ones) for cyberspace, a NPC is given virtual stats and hacking assumes some virtual space opposition (Defense AI), the difficulty is defined for each level the hacker attempts but nothing else is explained.

3- The rivalry between the brothers isn't as defined even though clearly one of them is a victim it's hard to sympathize with or understand such an idealistic character. (Check adjustments)

ADJUSTMENT

1- EvoTech, a biotech company specializing in researching, developing and producing technology and cloning solutions for many commercial and none-commercial purposes hires the PCs and sends them to Neo-Tokyo to investigate the Genji Corp. Rumors has it that the Genji Corp is on the verge of a breakthrough in cloning technology and the PCs are tasked with gathering information and update ExoTech regularly while waiting for further information. Over the course of the story, ExoTech may ask the PCs to steal/destroy the Immortals cloning data and this will put the PCs in a tough position to choose between ExoTech or the Genji brother. It will even give them motivation to look into the Genji Corp incident in ACT I. ExoTech should also hook them up with Shige and provide a means for transportation to Japan but that's where their involvement ends.

2- The Genji brothers are geniuses who climbed the corporate ladder in record time. Their genuis showed when they finalized their cloning technology and process to grow human clones in vats. The project's initial goal was to grow replacement organs for those in need but Yoshitsune slowly moved the project into producing human clones and Yoritomo didn't agree which caused the conflict and the clash.

Final Thoughts

The adventure is worth picking up and running. The few adjustments suggested here would make it easier for me to run but feel free to do your own and it's easy to add and adjust for your own setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Neo-Tokyo 2100: A Future Shock Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ghoul Cove
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2021 18:06:34

This is a nice mini-setting with lots of interesting things for players to explore and interact with. There are as many secrets for players to explore as they are willing to look for.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ghoul Cove
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Roll Them Bones: A Dice Mini-Game Postcard Zine
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2021 12:09:20

I purchased this from the Kickstarter and you get exactly what is described, 4 mini dice games that you can use however you want. Are these mind-blowing in their novelty? No. But they are clever and a change of pace and completely in the style of an old Zine. This is a PWYW right now and it is certainly worth the asking price at $0.99.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roll Them Bones: A Dice Mini-Game Postcard Zine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dream Prison
by Jemma C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 18:24:49

I got this cause a couple of my players wanted to delve into plaing Kalashtar and I thought it would be a nice little way to introduce the race without going straight into eberron. I Totally love this campaign and the little dream cat creature is adorable and so whimsical. One of my other DM friends has asked if he can borrow this book to make notes for when his players choose kalashtar too since the race matches so well with this. I already kickstarted the new adventure!

I got the paperback version of the book which arrived in amazingly quick time from when I ordered it and in perfect condition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dream Prison
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Descent Into Mirefen
by Patrick R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2019 18:42:40

Qualifier: I was a kickstarter backer.

I loved running this, the setting is very well written and clear. There are more than sufficient details to flesh out the start of this adventure, as well as tailor it to your own setting. Players can gather information in a multitude of ways, and if you feel like it, you can also adjust the time scale of the adventure to add or remove added pressure (My players were eager to set out, so I let them get to the destination and back to down before pressure started mounting).

I would estimate 1 session if the adventure is beelined (as happened with my players), but more likely 2 sessions if more thoroughly explored.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Descent Into Mirefen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates