DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
FIRE TEAM : VIETNAM English Rules
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2019 15:34:43

Would dearly love to try this , but the translation into English is terrible. This seriously needs a complete, competent rewrite to make it readable and understandable. Big pity as the hex maps are attractive



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
FIRE TEAM : VIETNAM English Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HONComp AFRIKA Pack#2
by Mark R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2018 17:09:40

Just what I was looking for to battle in North Afrika with 15mm scale. Very nice terrain



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HONComp AFRIKA Pack#2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HONComp AFRIKA Pack#1
by Mark R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2018 17:08:49

Just what I was looking for to battle in North Afrika with 15mm scale. Very nice terrain



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HONComp AFRIKA Pack#1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FIRE TEAM : VIETNAM English Rules
by Patrick N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2015 20:29:58

I only just recently bought this product, so I can only give a 1st impression review, but overall I am very happy with this product.

The game uses a scale where each counter represents 1 to 3 persons while combat resolution is handled per soldier within a unit. As such this hopefully will help speed up play by reducing the total number of counters on the board, while still retaining the ability to track injuries and losses (and their related effects on combat ability of a unit) on a per person basis. Overall, although the game is print to play and as such the final appearance may depend on the printer that you use, the graphics in the boards and counters provided look very good. The use of geomorphic boards in a hexagonal shape is a very nice feature and would appear to provide many opportunities for variation in setting up scenarios. Also the inclusion in the rule book of photographs of real world samples of the terrain depicted on the map seemed very helpful to me in better understanding the difference between the different terrain types such as short grass, long grass and elephant grass, for example.

I also like the layout and overall style of the counters provided, as they seem to convey the necessary information in a usable format. And the overhead view of the soldiers/personnel on the counters seems well suited to the “eagle eye” view of the playing area provided on the maps, while also making it easier to me to readily figure out a units facing and such. The game also appears to have an interesting approach to command and control that I am interested to try out. Overall, the only two real down side that I have encountered so far are that I had a little trouble in initially printing a couple files, and, because the rules appears to have originally been written in French and translated to English some of the language and wording may be a little hard to understand at first (as well as some of the text in some of the images still being in French). Specific examples include where;

  • “counters” appear to sometimes be referred to as “pawns”
  • The term “movement potential” is used in place of something probably equivalent to “movement points”
  • The term “minimum expense of PM” appears to be used as the likely equivalent of “movement point costs” (or something similar)
  • “Valor” or “valeur” appears to sometimes be used instead of “value”
  • “Potential of Vision” appears to mean something similar to “Observation Points”
  • And reference is made to how certain types of terrain “don’t embarrass the movement to feet” or “don’t embarrass the Line of View” where I suspect the authors might mean that they don’t “hinder” or “inhibit” or may “restrict” these things

In general this is not too big a deal, but may result in the need to reread some of the rule a few time to try and make sure that you fully understand what they appear to be saying, and it may be a good idea to go over some of the issues with whoever you may be playing against to make sure that you are both “on the same page” with how you are interpreting things.

Finally, one thing that I really like about the game is that awhile ago I had bought one of those small books that you see on the rack at gaming stores discussing Infantry Actions during the Viet Nam War that discussed different small unit tactics for different actions and how the different forces involved sometimes organized their troops in different manners. This game appears to be very suitable for trying to recreate some of these different type actions as well as trying out different unit organizations.

Specifically, it seems like it should be relatively easy with this game to try out similar missions using either a three fire team USMC squad, a two fire team USA squad, or an Australian/Commonwealth based squad. Additionally, the unit size in the game appears to even allow a player to experiment with the specific order of his troops (such as placing his/her machine team or grenadiers near the front, middle or back end of a column, etc) while moving in different formations. As such, this game appears to potentially fill an interesting niche to me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FIRE TEAM : VIETNAM English Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello and thank you for your constructive criticisms! I am French, rules(rulers) were written in French and translated into English thanks to a software, where from problems of understanding! I am going to rectify them. Franzi
FIRE TEAM : VIETNAM Presentation
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2015 20:48:11

I have always been a fan of Vietnam era games, especially tactical ones. I'm looking forward to getting this one when it is finally released. So far it seems like it is well thought out and I am hoping it will will turn out to be as good as it seems to hint at. So far it's just terrain and a few pictures.......



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FIRE TEAM : VIETNAM Presentation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HONComp Battery of Brecourt Howitzers
by Jonathan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2014 03:45:54

Bought this as I love HoN and the artwork. These extra emplacements are a nice addition to the game, atleast until DPG produce some official ones.

There is only 1 other review for HONComp tiles that I have seen and they commented about the saturation and boldness of the tiles. I cant comment specific for those tiles but I can say that these do have a vibrant finish although the howitzers themselves because of being under netting are little less clear.

I think the 1 thing to be sure of though is the quality of your printer and what paper you are printing on to get similar results to the official tiles.

I have an Epson Photo PX730WD which is a few years old. Its not amazing but does produce nice photos and I have done a lot of prints for my own boardgames. The paper I used what Epson Matte Heavyweight 167g. This has achieved great results for this tile as glossy paper is not in keeping with the originals.

The only thing I think is shame for these tiles is the font type and size of font used.

  1. The font type is not the same as HoN tiles (I suppose this down to copyright issues?)
  2. The size of the font is too small and makes quick checking of defence bonuses just that little bit more difficult.

That is the reason I give these 4 out of 5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HONComp Battery of Brecourt Howitzers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HONComp Defensive Works
by Rich E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2014 12:51:11

While the artwork is nice, it lacks the "pop" of higher contrast that the actual game tiles use. I find myself wishing for more black and white highlights rather than a more subdued gray.

Also, the perhaps the worst part, I printed out the 2 x 2 square crater to test how well the scale is done and I found that it does NOT match the size of the original game boards exactly. I printed the PDF as "actual size" to be sure the printed version matched the designer's intent. The squares on the graphic itself appear to be about right, but the actual game boards and tiles have a larger margin between squares than that used in this publication.

The end result is that the 2 x 2 crater is slightly smaller than the 2 x 2 building/rubble token that comes with the core set. Not so much smaller as to be unusable, but smaller enough to make it look just a little odd.

I also printed the crater page out as a test to see how well this company is doing with Heroes of Normandie scaling. And I'm afraid if they create any larger tokens (3 x 3, etc.) that the difference in size will result in unusable pieces.

I hope they review the margins, both between squares and around the outside, of the original HoN tokens and tiles. Adding just a little more space between the squares, and increasing the contrast between the boundaries (see the rubble on the back of the 2 x 2 building tile for example) would really make their products much improved.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
HONComp Defensive Works
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello ! Sizes of the tiles modified on September 9th, 2014. Thank you for your remarks !
FTV Fire Team Vietnam
by Craig D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2014 15:33:11

Looks very promising. Not much to go but like the concept and the price



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FTV Fire Team Vietnam
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FTV Fire Team Vietnam
by Arrigo V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2014 07:45:37

pretty graphic. Until the designer produce something else this is the only thing that cab be said.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
VN Rice paddies Map 1 VIETNAM Serie for all Modern Skirmish Games Rules
by Thomas R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2013 16:29:45

This is "Map VN 01 B". When you unzip any of this publishers maps the naming convention becomes inconvenient: "1_x_Geomorphic_Map_VIETNAM_Serie_for_all_Modern_Skirmish_Games_Rules" It's only a minor inconvenience, but if you buy a stack of these $2.60 maps and unzip them, you will be spending some time figuring out which is which...

The map is attractive, but the subject, one very large divided rice-paddy, does not provide a lot of variety of terrain, the artwork also bleeds off the edge of the map, leaving the image incomplete along a good portion of the board.

What it is not clear is if this publisher's series of Vietnam themed maps is meant to work together; if it is intended that the various maps should be connected in any way. With all four sheets coming together to create one giant paddy-field, only one type of terrain is really in play so it would be great to be able to tie it in with other maps. Unfortunately the cut-off detail is going to make that less appealing.

The maps are sold as ideal for skirmish games and the small size, the equivalent of a single slice of a typical chit style wargame board reinforces that idea.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
VN Rice paddies Map 1 VIETNAM Serie  for all Modern Skirmish Games Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello ! Every map is a typical element which will be used or not for such or such scenario according to the players. For this map, (who I remind you the scale in real represent 50 x approximately 30 meters), The rice paddies would be rather little in the reality! There will be other maps of fields of rice that I am going to publish for credit note a panel of choice! Thank you for your constructive criticisms! BATTLESPROJECT MAPS
Hello ! Concerning your critic : " the artwork also bleeds off the edge of the map, leaving the image incomplete along a good portion of the board " - I verified the file pdf: there is no problem of smudges, and a portion of the map is not missing! - Pages have to be to print in the size(format) A4 (210 x 297 mm) otherwise a piece of the map will be missing? - It is also necessary to verify the printer, the problem comes can be from there? BATTLESPROJECT MAPS
VN Hamlet 2 / Jungle Map VIETNAM Serie for all Modern Skirmish Games Rules
by Thomas R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2013 16:13:46

This is "Map VN 01 A Version removable roofs". When you unzip any of this publishers maps the naming convention becomes inconvenient: "1_x_Geomorphic_Map_VIETNAM_Serie_for_all_Modern_Skirmish_Games_Rules(01)" It's only a minor inconvenience, but if you buy a stack of these $2.60 maps and unzip them, you will be spending some time figuring out which is which...

The map is attractive and has good potential to do the job, but it is not clear if this series of Vietnam themed maps is meant to work together, or if it is intended that the various maps can be connected in any way.

The maps are sold as ideal for skirmish games and the small size, the equivalent of a single slice of a typical chit style wargame board reinforces that idea.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
VN Hamlet 2 / Jungle Map VIETNAM Serie for all Modern Skirmish Games Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello ! All the maps (26 x 12 hexagons) are geomorphic, that is they can juxtapose of all the sides (in the same width or the length), there is only the specific maps (river, creek....) which juxtaposes according to the map (river, creek,...) By 2 sides and 2 others are free. It is thus possible to create one big map with various grounds according to the players and the set up scenarios. BATTLESPROJECT MAPS
VN Hill 1 Map 2 VIETNAM Serie for all Modern Skirmish Games Rules
by Thomas R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2013 16:00:01

This is supposed to be "Maps VN 02 M1". When you unzip any of this publishers maps the naming convention is really inconvenient: "1_x_Geomorphic_Map_VIETNAM_Serie_for_all_Modern_Skirmish_Games_Rules(02)" That's only a minor inconvenience, but if you buy a stack of these $2.00 maps and unzip them, you will be spending some time figuring out which is which...

What really rankles is that this particular product is not delivered as described.

Maps VN 02 M1 "element of HILL 1 ( contains 5 NEW maps )" does not contain five maps. There are only four pages. The "3 x Bunkers , Sandbags, Zone Landing for helicopter, concernita wires" are not included.

The feature "3 LEVELS = 5 meters ( - or + ) by level ( your choice )" is not apparent and is unexplained, so is misleading.

Might have been worth it if it came with all the details it promised.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
VN Hill 1 Map 2 VIETNAM Serie  for all Modern Skirmish Games Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello ! A map is divided into 4 sheets to be printed. These 4 sheets will be to stick on a support(cardboard, mdf,....) to have the map as a whole. It is true the title of maps " 1x geomorphic map........ " is not enough retailed, but it is of general order for all the rules of game! The titles recent maps are more precise. In the case of this map: the various levels are locatable by colors different from the ground. I shall soon make a Terrain Chart of all the grounds of maps at present taken out. BATTLESPROJECT MAPS
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates