DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Hard Wired Island
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2021 09:22:33

The best cyberpunk rpg I've ever seen when it comes to nailing the street level ethics of the genre. HWI wears its politics on its sleaves and is about people fighting for a better future against impossible odds. An excellent book all around!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Wired Island
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hard Wired Island
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2021 08:20:26

Angel's Citadel just reviewed this 400 pages of gritty cyberpunk goodness here: https://angelscitadel.com/2021/05/14/review-hard-wired-island/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hard Wired Island
by Zachary K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2021 12:37:44

I'm rating this 5 stars, but consider this more of an impressions after skimming through the book than a super-thorough review.

Pros

  • Abstracts wealth and focusing on the socio-economic impact of cybernetics rather than losing your soul or sanity (THANK YOU!!!!)
  • Socializing and sneaking are just as mechanically interesting as fighting
  • Amazing artwork and cool setting
  • If Apocalypse World is Light Crunch and Pathfinder 2e is Heavy Crunch, I'd say that this is a comfortable Medium-Light Crunch. Some healthy mechanical depth to it but remains accessible and doesn't drown you in math

Cons

  • Artwork is sparse
  • Some of the rules could be more clearly stated/laid out to make referencing easier (I'm still a bit confused as to how many dice I roll on tests, but I'd bet I just overlooked something)

So super good stuff, and a great take on a more hopeful cyberpunk future. Give it a look - I haven't regretted spending any money on this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hard Wired Island
by Arnd K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2021 10:06:22

one of several 'new (synth)wave' cyberpunk games, hard wired island offers a clever, insightful alternative to the traditional neon-lit guns and trenchcoat game. It should provide ample inspiration for anyone looking to play a game about people trying to exist on the margins of a dystopian society, emphasising the human element over the technological.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Breakfast Cult
by Greg B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 21:00:28

Breakfast Cult is an amazing game for playing in an anime inspired school setting. Using supernatural adventures as a framework, the setting information gives you freedom to frame your stories in a variety of ways, letting you slant things to be more comedic or more horrifying. With many prebuilt player characters, you can either jump right into play or have a fully built world ready to go. Being in Fate Accelerated prevents the game from being too much like Calvinball and allows you to keep things in check. One of my favorite games, I recommend to anyone to give Breakfast Cult a chance.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breakfast Cult
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Breakfast Cult
by Sean T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2017 12:38:26

Breakfast Cult is far and away my favorite RPG setting. It takes the solid base of FAE and just lavishes it with such incredible anime everything. Dangan Ronpa and Persona especially, but there's Haruhi and Death Note and all sorts in there. The setting of Occultar Academy is so beautifully realized and incredibly rich without stifling players abilities to add to the world. With 20 sample characters (that can double as player characters) and even more encounters that are all so incredibly characterized I could only ask for more of them.

I'd go on, but I think I'd rather say how in one session of Breakfast Cult, one of my players started rapping, and another told me it was the most genuinely scared they'd been playing an RPG. It's great, I can't recommend it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Breakfast Cult
by William P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2017 19:12:36

Do you enjoy video game franchises like Persona, or Danganronpa? To generic it up a bit, how about teenagers getting into trouble? Occult mysteries? Weird science? Techno magic-with-a-k? Good! Now put all those things into a blender and pouring out the deliciousness that is the Breakfast Cult RPG. Running on the Fate Accelerated engine, BC lets you tell the stories of teenagers with bizarre and poorly understood powers and then watch as they get in way over their heads. FAE is a very flexible system, and works well with Breakfast Cult as you can have characters ranging from occult wunderkind to semi-retired magical girls to Death Note simulacrums. The more inventive and weird you can make your characters, the better, and Fate Accelerated can back you up. The art is also wonderful, a manga-esque style that really helps with the Lovecraft/John Hughes love child tone that I feel is the game's sweet spot.

Even trimmed down from FATE's original form, Accelerated is a bit of a stumbling block for me as I always trip up on the bit where you need short, punchy phrases that work as a character's Aspects. Examples really, really help and some developers I think forget that we are all not as blessed as they when it comes to a descriptive and double-edged phrase for a character. Paul has come to the rescue of those me who struggle with such things with no less than twenty example characters who can do double duty as allies and antagonists or pregen PCs. Best of all, all twenty of them are great with example Aspects to inspire or reskin at your leisure but are just great examples of the type of characters to be found at home in the setting. I'd play them all. (Particularly hoops bamming enthusiast Addison Waite.)

If any of the things the game references appeals to you at all, I urge you to pick the book up. Even if you don't play it, it's a great read and worth your time and money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Chet Reads Breakfast Cult
by Anna J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2016 12:29:02

This is actually both 1. really hilariously narrated and 2. extremely useful for learning the rules. FIVE STARS!!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chet Reads Breakfast Cult
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Breakfast Cult
by Rand B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2016 09:54:31

Breakfast Cult combines the high-school drama of The Breakfast Club with the cosmic horror of the Cthulhu mythos and also with the cosmic horror of Japanese animation. The result is a fun time for the whole family!

Players take on the roles of students at Occultar Academy, a school in the far future where prodigies are taught just enough occult science to advance human knowledge without getting into trouble. Then, they get in trouble anyway.

If you like the idea of being a really good sorceress who would like to be a really good rapper, or a sugar-dependent high school superdetective, this game is for you. If you dislike people with a tentacle instead of a face, people with really big adorable eyes, or fun, this game may not be for you.

Consult your doctor before playing Breakfast Cult. If you hear voices, stop reading Breakfast Cult. Unless they are the voices of your gaming group. In that case, you should help them make a character. The results can only be good for your SAN score!*

  • breakfast cult does not contain sanity mechanics


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breakfast Cult
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Taryn F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2015 16:47:26

Finally, an RPG supplement which understands that fedora-wearing white guys are the REAL oppressed minority! It even lets them bring their Ren Faire sword and armour into the World of Dungeons, and strike away at their Social Justice Warrior foes with either steel or cutting words before retreating to their Google+ safe space.

The only real downside is that, as we all know, Dungeon World is Not A Real RPG. And so the people that this was made for will never know the joke, I mean joy, of True Old School Gaming with a character made just for them.

Fortunately, it's Creative Commons licensed! So a True Old School GM can easily pick up the material and concepts in this PDF, and create an Old School class based on it, with gender- and racial- based prime requisites instead of ability scores. I recommend a d20 Hit Die, double the normal starting gear, and an EXP progression which is faster than any other class', but with class features that stop working if the Edgy Designer realizes that he has an unfair advantage.

Multiclassing with Paladin would be optional, but recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2014 05:28:56

This is the #5 hottest today(26th May 2014)?

If it was actually turned into satire and made to fit into most DW games without making focus on the character force discussion in a certain direction, it'd be pretty cool. Coulda been used to portray veterans turned bards from a time of major racial war or a , but nope has to be google minus, blogging, true gaming bingo bongo what's immersion.

It's too unsubtle for satire and is only like 10 moves long, and the mechanics are kinda misordered. You need at least level 2 to use the class beyond set games, and like level 6 to avoid being That Guy nearly automatically by using this playbook (and why would you that). If someone does manage to take and play this with what can be considered and average DW group without either killing or pissing off the group, in a game not tailored around this playbook, then good on you.

On the other hand, FATE core or accelerated are pay-what-you-want, as is Beyond by Zero Point Information (no association), Always/Never/Now by Will Hindmarch(no association), or even a ponyfinder expansion or two (no association, again). Each of these can be easily used to explore the themes this is trying to, but better and cheaper. Do yourself a favour and celebrate terrible designers by picking up work by good designers and enjoying a good game while laughing at the bad ones.

2/5, some of the moves are kinda cool and I laughed, but so much wasted potential. Keeping the review short to avoid grog.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Darren H M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2014 15:23:01

It makes my half of the FATAL review look like a wet bag of marbles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by John V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2014 11:08:26

A one-off joke based on the stupidity of certain designers, but a hilarious one. Even better, this it is even slightly playable for a more goofy game of Dungeon World.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Tyler B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2014 10:26:19

I give this a single star on principle, as this entire fiasco is essentially a pay-per-view slap fight.

I will never use any of this content in a Dungeon World game because it's so ludicrously topical and trite it may as well be a glorified Facebook post. That they asked for money at all is in insult - professionalism is absent from this.

I am ashamed as a tabletop hobbyist and saddened to see such pettiness and rank immaturity between publishers.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Edgy Designer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/22/2014 13:06:43

Absolutely worth the dollar for the laughs. If you've been in the hobby for any amount of time you've seen people like this; and if like me you roll your eyes right up into orbit whenever they appear, this is a thing of beauty.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates