DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Delta Green: Iconoclasts
by Tim Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2022 07:20:34

"Iconoclasts" is a Delta Green campaign set in Mosul, Iraq in 2016 during 3 months of brutal occupation by ISIL. I've run it and it took 6 sessions for my group to complete. I consider this Arc Dream's mini-version of "Masks of Nyarlathotep" with opportunity for lots of deadly combat and a race against the clock versus one of cosmic horror's great villians (and one of history's most evil fanatic cults-ISIL). It's one hell of a premise and the writers have created a frightening and unnerving sandbox. The 4 scenarios are well-written and researched with lots of random encounters and interesting NPCs. The artwork is top-notch creepy and even includes a couple of maps (a rarity for a DG scenario)!

There are also several new rules and tables that help determine the results of your agents' investigations and attempts at spycraft (these invaluable tables should be useful for future DG scenarios as well). It also includes a nice selection of several pre-gen characters, although you can easily use your own PCs if they adopt the skills and languages suggested by the writers. This would be a great intro to Delta Green and the beginning of a DG campaign (as long as it starts in 2016).

Unfortunately, there's some issues that keep it from being truly great and the Handler will need to do some work to fill in the blank spaces. The artifact (ancient amphora) central to the story needs more details how it interacts with the world (can it ever be destroyed?). There should be more unnatural enemies in Iraq to encounter so that your group stays on edge and doesn't get bored (I placed ghouls stalking the streets of Mosul at night). There also needs to be more maps/floorplans (random bombed-out buildings, Kirkuk airbase, agents trailer HQ, etc) and damage/stats tables for airstrikes and drone-strikes (assets your agents will inevitably call upon).

With some more time in the oven (or reworking by a diligent Handler), this could be an even more frightening, thought-provoking and atmospheric campaign (think "Apocalypse Now" meets "The Mummy" meets "Green Zone") that has players deal with the increasing barbarity and insanity of war as they journey deeper into Mosul and closer to the unnatural.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Iconoclasts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Reverberations
by Tim Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2022 08:05:48

The accusations of racism directed at this scenario and the antagonists known as the “Tcho-Tcho” are ridiculous and silly. In modern horror EVERYONE is on the menu. EVERY uncomfortable subject is always in the story background. The creators of Delta Green should be congratulated for going out of their way to adjust Lovecraftian horror and place them in modern context. The Tcho-Tcho are only Asian-American in appearance…not culture or language. Far away from a white-nationalist fantasy, the writers made them smarter and more resilient than humans of any color. It would only benefit to have Chinese or Vietnamese-Americans in your group to run this scenario. “Reverberations” is a good starting-point for a campaign against the Tcho-Tcho or if you have DEA agents as your DG characters. Otherwise there are better DG introductory scenarios out there. It’s a short criminal procedural investigation that takes a sharp turn into cosmic horror. It can be set in any city or town in the US. There are several interesting NPCs to interact with to keep the investigation moving. It's a good scenario but could have been great. There are no maps for the buildings, no pics of the main NPCs and the final baddie is an ill-fitting choice. So you will still need to do some work as a Handler to really make this scenario frightening and memorable. In the end YOU are running the RPG at your table and if you don’t like elements of the game…change them! If you’re going to look for political or social triggers (without reviewing the actual material) than adult TTPRG’s aren’t for you.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Reverberations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Iconoclasts
by Schaeffer B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2022 00:16:20

I worked USAF intelligence in Erbil back in 2015. Reading this source book made me make a sanity check IRL.

You've done it again Delta Green. 10/10.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Iconoclasts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by Andreas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2022 12:30:30

One of the greatest systems of all time. Amaaaazing scenarios.

Although, it is kinda heavy if you are not a native english-speaker (or really good at english). There is a lot of verbigeration going on ontop of a lot of very official-sounding fancy words. The text (in both the rule books and scenarios) could have been trimmed down a lot in my personal opinion. I often see the writer use two or even three adjectives to describe something. And often the adjectives are just synonyms of each other. They over-explain/over-clarify sometimes and that just makes it confusing.

So the real horror from this game is trying to translate the 35 page scenarios into your own language. ~Sincerely, a Swede.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
by Jose A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2022 13:36:28

Just finished running this with my group and I must say it was AMAZING. Not only is the book crammed full of an amazing campaign that will befuddle and terrify players, but it is also laid out well that running this complex adventure isn't more ardous than any other linear story. Even if you're not sure if you're going to run this, I urge you to get this book, it's an excellent read through and can provide ideas for many other adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Iconoclasts
by Gilles D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2022 05:06:14

This is a mini campaign in 5 linked scenarios. The length of the campaign should vary according to your group but 8 sessions should be the minimum.

The campaign takes place in the middle east in a region controlled by ISIL and you will need to deal a lot with these guys while at the same time containing force of even greater evil.

I must say that the campaign as two strong points going for it: a) It is very well researched and very thematic. There is always something going on in the background while your agents work on their mission. It makes the environment very dynamic and the campaign fully alive. b) It is very much sand-boxy and actually super easy to run once you understand the how it works. So your players should have a lot of lattitude to explore and interact with the setting

I do not think the campaign is too long and it is actually something that people can value because there are good chances that you will finish it.

The setting is extremely interesting and will give you a glimpse of Mosul under ISIL. Oddly enough, I did not find the paranormal story as interesting as actually infiltrating such a dangerous extremist organization (if your players choose so), but that's me.

I was planning to run Music from a darkened room (which is a very strong scenario) but after reading Iconoclasts, I immediatly opted to run it instead. The setting, culture, tensions and environment are extremely well described in the book and make it even more challenging for the agents to accomplish their mission.

I think that with Iconoclasts, Arc Dream has upped their game even more with an even richer form of narrative. A success in my opinion and I can't wait for them to surprise us or have more of this in their next modules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Iconoclasts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sea Demon's Gold (5e)
by Gabriel R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2022 19:28:57

This was the first module I ran for my 5e group. Great mix of sword and sorcery and Lovecraftian horror.

My only reservation is that the bit where the PCs get thrown overboard and caught in a current is way underwritten. (I ended up simplifying it but as written it basically says "make up a bunch of cool stuff here.")

Nonetheless a great module and would gladly run again with a new group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sea Demon's Gold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2022 07:10:14

Possibly the best CoC/Delta Green campaign ever written. Worth every penny if you're into the Hastur/KiY mythos.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
by Geoffrey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2022 16:17:51

This is an incredible campaign! It has all of the things that make Delta Green such an engaging game - investigation, creeping cosmic horror and dread, tense character decisions and dramatic death spirals, but it also moves beyond that into larger exploration of storytelling, reality, and the nature of gaming itself. Besides the thematic elements, Impossible Landscapes is an incredible and intuitive game to run. The digital handouts and detailed descriptions of NPCs and locations give Handlers all the tools they need to bring it to their physical or virtual tabletops. This is a richly designed campaign that will have Agents hooked from the very beginning as they attempt to unravel its secrets and mysteries. I've run it twice and each time was a really fun experience. I can't recommend it enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Iconoclasts
by Shawn P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2022 04:59:35

Don't get me wrong, the writers for Iconoclasts have definitely did their homework.

Creating a large sandbox for ISIL in 2006 with great information is well done and thought out. With all sorts of various political groups vying for controls with NPCs of varying political and personal motives to fulfil.

While the immense content is great to read up along with the creepy horror behind this campaign... it feels like it can overstay its welcome.

Personally I feel like a lot of the experience gets muddled down by a ton of paper work to facilitate the espionage and requisitions needed to get the job done and even so a good majority of the work feels like it's really on the Keeper to keep things running and adapt well on the fly while taking into account all of this info.

It also feels like a good majority of the adventure is a logistical project management system while the horror is viewed through a macro lens instead, diminishing any dread or shock value you're likely to accrue.

If your playgroup loves to micromanage and prep for the long haul and as the keeper you're cool with keeping track, this can be considered. Aside from the initial introductory scenario, I highly doubt I'll be able to sustain the adventure for mine.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Iconoclasts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Iconoclasts
by Guillem G. d. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2022 14:56:49

As usual with Delta Green material, a brilliant piece of art...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Reverberations
by Wy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2022 20:50:50

The scenario has the players investigating the drug trade as fake DEA agents, and features the Tcho-Tchos; An embattled asian ethnicity that "are not human and never were...are an utterly unnatural, predatory species." They are made up entirely of evil indivudals, and the leader of their politcal advocay group, the CAAA, is a member of a flesh eating cult.

As you can see, it is shockingly racist, and reads like a white-nationalist conspiracy theory.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Reverberations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by Jayson O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2022 23:07:37

I really love this system. It's so different from pretty much every other sytem I've gotten to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2022 18:47:37

Fucking amazing. That's all I can say. Rich, deep and satisfying. Transcends the conventions of roleplaying to become a great work of wierd literature.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Handler's Screen
by Sang N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2022 00:45:17

Until I get the actual sliders, Ill leave it at 1 star, how did I get a diffrent game when I wanted this one? More in discussion...

Edit: The thing is getting fixed, will update this later!

REEDIT: They guys over at DrivethruRPG corrected my order! I am happy to say that these slick as hell and will be using these as a guide!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Handler's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 292 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates