DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Delta Green: Iconoclasts
by Schaeffer B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2022 00:16:20

I worked USAF intelligence in Erbil back in 2015. Reading this source book made me make a sanity check IRL.

You've done it again Delta Green. 10/10.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Iconoclasts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by Andreas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2022 12:30:30

One of the greatest systems of all time. Amaaaazing scenarios.

Although, it is kinda heavy if you are not a native english-speaker (or really good at english). There is a lot of verbigeration going on ontop of a lot of very official-sounding fancy words. The text (in both the rule books and scenarios) could have been trimmed down a lot in my personal opinion. I often see the writer use two or even three adjectives to describe something. And often the adjectives are just synonyms of each other. They over-explain/over-clarify sometimes and that just makes it confusing.

So the real horror from this game is trying to translate the 35 page scenarios into your own language. ~Sincerely, a Swede.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
by Jose A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2022 13:36:28

Just finished running this with my group and I must say it was AMAZING. Not only is the book crammed full of an amazing campaign that will befuddle and terrify players, but it is also laid out well that running this complex adventure isn't more ardous than any other linear story. Even if you're not sure if you're going to run this, I urge you to get this book, it's an excellent read through and can provide ideas for many other adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Iconoclasts
by Gilles D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2022 05:06:14

This is a mini campaign in 5 linked scenarios. The length of the campaign should vary according to your group but 8 sessions should be the minimum.

The campaign takes place in the middle east in a region controlled by ISIL and you will need to deal a lot with these guys while at the same time containing force of even greater evil.

I must say that the campaign as two strong points going for it: a) It is very well researched and very thematic. There is always something going on in the background while your agents work on their mission. It makes the environment very dynamic and the campaign fully alive. b) It is very much sand-boxy and actually super easy to run once you understand the how it works. So your players should have a lot of lattitude to explore and interact with the setting

I do not think the campaign is too long and it is actually something that people can value because there are good chances that you will finish it.

The setting is extremely interesting and will give you a glimpse of Mosul under ISIL. Oddly enough, I did not find the paranormal story as interesting as actually infiltrating such a dangerous extremist organization (if your players choose so), but that's me.

I was planning to run Music from a darkened room (which is a very strong scenario) but after reading Iconoclasts, I immediatly opted to run it instead. The setting, culture, tensions and environment are extremely well described in the book and make it even more challenging for the agents to accomplish their mission.

I think that with Iconoclasts, Arc Dream has upped their game even more with an even richer form of narrative. A success in my opinion and I can't wait for them to surprise us or have more of this in their next modules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Iconoclasts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sea Demon's Gold (5e)
by Gabriel R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2022 19:28:57

This was the first module I ran for my 5e group. Great mix of sword and sorcery and Lovecraftian horror.

My only reservation is that the bit where the PCs get thrown overboard and caught in a current is way underwritten. (I ended up simplifying it but as written it basically says "make up a bunch of cool stuff here.")

Nonetheless a great module and would gladly run again with a new group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sea Demon's Gold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2022 07:10:14

Possibly the best CoC/Delta Green campaign ever written. Worth every penny if you're into the Hastur/KiY mythos.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
by Geoffrey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2022 16:17:51

This is an incredible campaign! It has all of the things that make Delta Green such an engaging game - investigation, creeping cosmic horror and dread, tense character decisions and dramatic death spirals, but it also moves beyond that into larger exploration of storytelling, reality, and the nature of gaming itself. Besides the thematic elements, Impossible Landscapes is an incredible and intuitive game to run. The digital handouts and detailed descriptions of NPCs and locations give Handlers all the tools they need to bring it to their physical or virtual tabletops. This is a richly designed campaign that will have Agents hooked from the very beginning as they attempt to unravel its secrets and mysteries. I've run it twice and each time was a really fun experience. I can't recommend it enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Iconoclasts
by Shawn P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2022 04:59:35

Don't get me wrong, the writers for Iconoclasts have definitely did their homework.

Creating a large sandbox for ISIL in 2006 with great information is well done and thought out. With all sorts of various political groups vying for controls with NPCs of varying political and personal motives to fulfil.

While the immense content is great to read up along with the creepy horror behind this campaign... it feels like it can overstay its welcome.

Personally I feel like a lot of the experience gets muddled down by a ton of paper work to facilitate the espionage and requisitions needed to get the job done and even so a good majority of the work feels like it's really on the Keeper to keep things running and adapt well on the fly while taking into account all of this info.

It also feels like a good majority of the adventure is a logistical project management system while the horror is viewed through a macro lens instead, diminishing any dread or shock value you're likely to accrue.

If your playgroup loves to micromanage and prep for the long haul and as the keeper you're cool with keeping track, this can be considered. Aside from the initial introductory scenario, I highly doubt I'll be able to sustain the adventure for mine.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Iconoclasts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Iconoclasts
by Guillem G. d. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2022 14:56:49

As usual with Delta Green material, a brilliant piece of art...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Reverberations
by Wy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2022 20:50:50

The scenario has the players investigating the drug trade as fake DEA agents, and features the Tcho-Tchos; An embattled asian ethnicity that "are not human and never were...are an utterly unnatural, predatory species." They are made up entirely of evil indivudals, and the leader of their politcal advocay group, the CAAA, is a member of a flesh eating cult.

As you can see, it is shockingly racist, and reads like a white-nationalist conspiracy theory.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Reverberations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by Jayson O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2022 23:07:37

I really love this system. It's so different from pretty much every other sytem I've gotten to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2022 18:47:37

Fucking amazing. That's all I can say. Rich, deep and satisfying. Transcends the conventions of roleplaying to become a great work of wierd literature.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Handler's Screen
by Sang N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2022 00:45:17

Until I get the actual sliders, Ill leave it at 1 star, how did I get a diffrent game when I wanted this one? More in discussion...

Edit: The thing is getting fixed, will update this later!

REEDIT: They guys over at DrivethruRPG corrected my order! I am happy to say that these slick as hell and will be using these as a guide!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Handler's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: Kali Ghati
by Trevor D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2022 09:20:19

My gaming group has met consistently for several years. We tend to play D&D. They generally aren’t open to new systems, but it’s my personal goal to bring new games to the table. In the last two years, we’ve tried five new systems. Each has been a good experience, but none have stuck. Delta Green was number six.

Preparation

I picked up Kali Ghati and read through it. It seemed like a good scenario. It is presented linearly – go to a base in Afghanistan to investigate a missing agent. Progress to the nearby town. Finally, search for the hidden village.

I then listened to a live play of the scenario where the author Shane Ivey is the Handler. It’s on Spotify and the folks who do it are Red Moon Roleplaying. That was extremely helpful and enjoyable. They didn’t do either of the combat scenarios, but it was still excellent. I took notes simplifying the adventure into 5 encounters. 1 – FOB Turner 2 – Quluj Khel 3 – Ambush 4 – Kali Ghati 5- Temple.

With the Need to Know quick-start rules, the adventure scenario, and the live play podcast, I felt prepared to run a session with only about 5-6 hours of prep time, most of which was listening to the podcast on my commute. Such a minimal time investment for a new scenario and new system was excellent!

Bringing it to the table

For ease, we used the 6 pregens in the adventure (yes, all 6 of my players showed for both sessions!) They were good characters that we all enjoyed.

We played through the whole scenario in two sessions, stopping the first session after the ambush. The initial arrival, investigation, etc was straightforward. The players adapted quickly to thinking vice rolling. They moved well between scenes and their decisions were their own.

The push towards Varjita mountain and Kali Ghati led to the ambush. That scene was awesome. Only 2 of the 6 pregens had a rifle, the rest only pistols. They had not thought to ask for rifles before. It led to a few sanity rolls for violence and was a gentle introduction to that mechanic. It also allowed a quick introduction of lethality, but on an NPC (the poor gunner in the 2nd MRAP). I didn’t offer them army NPCs. They enjoyed just trying to survive and were quite creative about it.

That first session took four hours. I thought it was a good first session and the group was high on the intensity of the fire fight.

We started session two with them moving on to Kali Ghati. They engaged the villagers in some unexpected ways, but the descriptions in the scenario module equipped me to improvise.

With guides from the village, they went up the mountain to the underground temple. An epic fight broke out and the big nasty thing awoke. The PCs ran madly for their lives. It was glorious levels of insanity, death, and chaos. The players were freaking out and absolutely loving it. When the ones who lived managed to get out of the temple, I described the loud cries of ecstasy from the village. That allowed them to choose another combat or run. They decided to go down the side of the mountain away from the village and called for evac from there.

Conclusion

As I wrapped up the session, two of them asked for closing scenes to reflect on their decisions, sacrificed bonds, and breaking points. The whole table was into it.

Three of the players liked it plenty but would rather have stronger PCs and stay with the d20 system. They are the ones who have gone patiently with me into other RPG lands but always want to return to D&D.

The other three players approached me a week later. “That was the best RPG session I’ve ever played in,” one said. The other two agreed. They want a smaller, regular Delta Green session just the four of us. Looks like I’ve finally found a new game system that might stick for a while!

Personally, I loved it. The system and the adventure are both very well done. I’m excited to take the smaller group on more investigations/adventures. Kali Ghati was a fantastic starting point and a very well written adventure. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Kali Ghati
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
by Jonathan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2022 13:40:57

This is an amazing product. The rules system is very intuitive and well explained. The art and writing is absolutely fantastic. The agents handbook gives players exactly what is needed to craft fun indepth characters and is laid out in a manner that works great for newbies. The handlers guide is out of this world. Fantastic writing that really makes it a page turner. It works both for entertainment value and as a means to craft all around better gameplay for your agents.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 290 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates