DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Ewen's Tables Collection
by John K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2022 13:39:00

Seriously the best group of random tables I've ever come across. I've spent hours on several occasions just randomly rolling and coming up with some great names, titles, etc. So good in fact, I ordered the print version. Desperately awaiting the second volume to come out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ewen's Tables Collection
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Back to the Rifter
by Justin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2022 04:36:34

Amazing book. Worth it just for the dissection of the game's fascist apologia, but there's so much more than that. I've been working my way through the PDF for a while but have now finished it and am contemplating getting the POD becasue I enjoyed it so much. If you love Rifts, hate Rifts, or are just curious about this early 90s game that's an artifact of late 70s gaming, get this for yourself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Back to the Rifter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kagegami High
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2021 14:39:03

A few days ago I soloed my way through Kagegami High (168 pages). This d6 dice pool system is described as a comedic role-playing game where you take on the role of Japanese schoolgirls at a strange, surreal high school. I used OSR Solo (DriveThruRPG) as the solo engine. Here are the highlights. So, I started with one character and started the first day: initiation ceremony. The next day was the first day of classes. During the evening, Shigeo was checking out the library and discovered a secret passage. She was trying to avoid detection, but was seen by Izumi. The two of them explored the passage, talked to a spider, and Shigeo was attacked by a four foot long poisonous centipede (there are no creature stat blocks and no rules for poison). Her stress went to zero (there is no dying, you “freak out”). Izumi dragged her out of there and Yoshiko Serene the NPC healed her (check out the attached image of her – artist has the same name).

On the third day, Shigeo bought an occult knife used for occult rituals. She killed a six inch centipede later in the day. On day four, nighttime, Izumi’s roommate was possessed by a ghost. She was acting like she was carrying a lit lantern. My two characters followed her to the docks. Shu then waved her lantern and a ghost ship appeared and came to the dock. She got onto the ship and my two characters got on also. The ship had several adventures and the two PCs just watched. They could not interact with the crew. Eventually the ship sank and the PCs (now three) were pulled under the water. At this same time, the school club, Apocalyptic Death Cult, was performing a ritual with a deep clawfoot bathtub filled with water. Bellatrix reached into the water to pull out Death. They had some questions for him. Instead, they pulled out Shigeo, followed by Izumi and Shu. Cool. The three of them did get into trouble for missing the classes on day five.

Give this a try! One hundred of these 168 pages contain random tables which are perfect for solo play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kagegami High
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Schoolgirl RPG: Complete Edition
by Wayne C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2021 10:16:28

Quick little condensed game with plenty of charts for random character and story generation. This game is great for large groups of anime fans. Not a system to be used for campaigns or serious games, but perfect for a fun diversion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Schoolgirl RPG: Complete Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Small Company Big Mess: A History of Guardians of Order and Big Eyes Small Mouth
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/22/2021 16:28:36

Great overieview of the rise and fall of BESM and Gsurdians of Order. If you are new to this situation, or want to read a tale of how one gaming company can go from the top of their genre to infamy, then this is a good read. If you are looking for a lot of details of the who, what and why, this book will cover some of that, but not everything. Still a very entertaining quick read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Small Company Big Mess: A History of Guardians of Order and Big Eyes Small Mouth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spooktacular: A Cheerfully Spooky Role-Playing Game
by Jerry N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2021 22:30:39

What can I say? It's a retroclone of the classic Ghostbusters RPG. Does a very good job at capturing the feel of the original. Short and sweet. Definitely worth the dough if you want to do some Ghostbusting without spending a small fortune on a copy of the original.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spooktacular: A Cheerfully Spooky Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kagegami High
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2021 13:53:01

This looks like a fun ruleset that worldbuilds through the use of extensive tables. In some ways, it's far more engaging than chapters and chapters of lore to memorize, and it seems as though it would complement solo and small-group play very nicely, since the book acts as a gamemaster in a lot of ways already. My only concern and question to the author is this: can students team up to do a task and how would that work mechanically? I know that Risus has a system that allows multiple characters to fight together, with one person assigned as the leader, and the others basically rolling only for 6s to add to the score. Disbanding costs one or more dice per person, which could be stress points in this system. A simpler approach could be D&D 5E's "help" action where, if a character is suited for the task, they can help another by using the help action and giving the other player an extra "advantage" roll. Perhaps each character helping could allow one die reroll each? I'd like to know how to handle an action such as multiple students working together to open a large, heavy door into a haunted cellar. If forming a team is not possible, another way to approch this might be to assign various aspects to the door that must be solved before it will open, allowing the characters to act as a team, but mechanically individually. I'm rating this a 4/5 for now but will reconsider my rating if I'm able to get a grasp on the teamwork aspect. A big thanks to Ewen Cluney who has been hard at work for many years, providing us with all sorts of zany games, rules translations, and roll tables.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kagegami High
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Back to the Rifter
by Patrick O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 03:38:54

Disclosure: I'm the Ionicsabrist mentioned in the Intro. This is probably all the fame I will ever have.

Further disclosure: Like a lot of my friends, I'm with the crowd that loved the setting, but couldn't stand the system used for Rifts. Add to that knowing someone who was burned during the Robotech Tactics debacle, I was all too happy to see this little gem cross my feed.

This was an enjoyable and well-written critique of both the setting (some parts I knew from following/participating in conversations on Twitter, some parts I didn't) and the system used for Rifts. It was thorough, it was merciless, and it was well researched, especially in addressing some of the parts(1) of the book that haven't aged that well(2).

Even if you are a diehard fan of the system or setting, I'm going to say give this a look. There are points raised in here that do need to be addressed. And if you're only curious and have never played anything by Palladium before, definitely pick this up before deciding whether or not to drop money on the core books.

(1) - Okay, lots of parts need work

(2) - Even by 90s standards, it's kind of cringey when you look back at the Insanity rules, how areas like Africa and India are treated/referred to, depictions of First Nations, and...yeah, a new edition would need a lot of rewriting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Back to the Rifter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dungeon Zone
by Luke W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2018 02:25:57

For fans of D&D played through the exaggerated lens of its fandom down the years. This RPG emulates the joyful experience of The Adventure Zone, The Gamers, or any other D&D story aware that it is D&D game like Order of the Stick.

The system is a PbtA variant which allows for quick play and strong narrative tie-ins that suit the goal well. The book is also filled with D&D easter eggs such as the random Polearm table :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dungeon Zone
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spooktacular: A Cheerfully Spooky Role-Playing Game
by William S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2018 11:59:12

I'm only giving it 3 stars and here's why: It looks like something that would be super fun for parents to play with their younger kids, but really, it's totally not appropriate for them. On the face of the DriveThru RPG description as well as the game's artwork, it sounded like something my kids would enjoy playing and I would enjoy GMing for them. Once I read through the game itself though (after I bought it), I discovered it's clearly not kid-friendly, especially with the language used. It it the fault of the writer? Maybe, maybe not. However, a person shouldn't have to read between the lines of the game description to understand that it's for more mature players. There are subtle red flags as to age appropriateness that now, after I've carefully decoded the description, I see. It states you should enjoy playng it with "friends" (instead of using a teerm such as "friends and family") and that "Green novelty beverages are recommended." What exactly are green novelty beverages anyway? I've idea.... Even a Google search of "green novelty beverage" comes up with ambiguous returns. Bottom line, I wish the game maker would have given a warning as to the content or age appropriateness before I bought the PDF and soft cover book that I'll now never use. Although I'm sure it's an oversignt and not intentional on the wrter's part, it reminds me of cigarette makers trying to market their products to children through playfully cheeky advertisements and marketing that would appeal to kids. Buyer beware.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Spooktacular: A Cheerfully Spooky Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I'll definitely think more about children in the audience in the future. That's a little difficult for me because there aren't actually any children in my social sphere right now, but clearly it's a concern. Spooktacular's tone is more in line with the movies, and BTW "green novelty beverages" is a reference to the green Hi-C flavor tie-in.
Kagegami High
by Derek B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2017 20:15:53

This game is nuts and I am loving it. It should fit perfectly with the zany antics my gaming group tends to gravitate towards. The charts alone are nuts (if you have ever read it, think the charts in the Human Occupied Landfill supplement, "Butter Wholesomeness" but with less emphasis on "edgy" 90s grossout humour).

If you are looking for a truly ridiculous game that is primarily made up on the fly by rolling on numerous different charts for every applicable situation, this is the game for you. It is not something that you or your group will likely take overly seriously...and that's OK! Not every game is going to go into deep politics, heavy emotions, or life and death combat. The rules are very loose and largely exist just to resolve conflicts and move the plot along. If a player wants to do something, its up to them to ask the GM and see if their PC could do it. It will rely HEAVILY on the players just getting into its bizarre world and running with whatever crazy gets thrown their way. Its going to require the GM to be pretty on their toes, but that can also (in my experience at least) be a very freeing experience. You'll probably not get a very long campaign out of it, but as far as ways to spend a Saturday afternoon with friends, pizza, chips, soda, and beer go, it shouldn't disappoint, and might be a good way to take a break from a more emotionally heavy game of something like "Blades in the Dark", "Unknown Armies", or "Call of Cthulhu".

In terms of absurdity, I'd put this solidly up beside stuff like "Tales from the Floating Vagabond" and "Dinosaurs...in Spaaace". Its worth getting the book just to read, because I've had a good day chuckling at all the random insanity inside (in what other RPG can you generate a character named Wana University who has a television for a head, purple hair (?), and is also a Kamen Rider?).

Setting-wise, the book actually does a great job of throwing a HUGE toolkit of NPCs, locations, factions, and events into the GM's lap to play around with. Also there's a chart to generate over 1200 variations of the author's name. I'm not entirely sure why, but the book also contains a randomized pun generator, so that's just the sort of experience you're in for. Still, it gives you everything you need to bring the eponymous Kagegami High to life and generate a wonderfully nutty world for the players to immerse themselves into.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kagegami High
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Schoolgirl RPG
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:49:43

Well, it does what it says on the tin, I'll give it that.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Schoolgirl RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Entanglements
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2016 23:23:26

An attempt to add the confused tangles of character interaction from Anime like Tenci Muyo or Ranma1/2, to games like Risus, Fate, D&D, Gurps and others. Helps keep the lines connecting the characters straight, until they switch around in manic fashion. Even between characters and things. Not really a game in itself, though it can be. More likely to be used as an add on to other games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Entanglements
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Chosen Visitor - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Taryn F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2015 02:50:37

Don't let the schoolgirl fool you -- this is actually a comprehensive treatment of the "person from earth ends up in fantasy world trope," and lets you play characters much more diverse than Kagome from Inuyasha! It falls short on the actual execution in several ways, though.

First, the moves. Most of them are actually really cool and flavourful, and I like how it's designed to make the character stand out for better AND for worse. A lot of the advanced moves seem like basic, character-defining things, though, the kind that you SHOULD get at least one of starting at level 1. (You don't even get a fighting style at level 1, but you DO get to pester the NPC who brought you here literally whenever you want. And it says you get "useful knowledge [or] a boon" every time, with no drawback.)

So, it's roughly half "a handful of different, well-written tropes based on this concept," and half "a grab bag of multiclass stuff." And most of it you only get through leveling up.

Second, the editing. While the prose itself is well-written and I didn't catch any problems with it, there are some pretty noticeable layout errors. The ones I caught: The "Someone's Got To" move's title is merged with one of the bullets from Revered as the Chosen One, and the second page of advanced moves in the playbook itself is labeled "Gear." These aren't really BIG things, but they give the impression of haphazard work.

I don't think it's unsalvageable, though. At the very least, it makes a good starting point for someone who wanted to make this trope their own.

(Also, it's CC-By-SA licensed.)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Chosen Visitor - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ewen's Tables: Wrestling Stuff
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2015 15:17:04

For its really affordable price, this is exactly what it says "on the tin". For a product, it is maybe a little lackluster - no explanations, no accompanying artwork, just black and white tables of the things it says - wrestler gimmicks, objects, match types, etc. If that, specifically, is what you're getting this for, then there can be no complaints - its a package of tables/charts to be rolled randomly, related to wrestling. And its a good, small variety of a handful of things. 100% accurate.

On the upside, it's no-nonsense "here's lists of things". No time wasted flipping past other stuff when you're looking for tables - that's all this is, around 10 pages or so. On the other, there's no flavor or suggestions or little or no other accompanying text at all. No "hey thanks for getting this, this does x" of any length. Just the tables.

In all, can't complain about it being less than it says - just feels like it could have been stretched out a bit and maybe some explanations or something given. I can read it fine because I understand all the stuff with explanation, but even if the author has a differing idea or it includes aspects I don't normally think of, I wouldn't know, in some item, because it's just the tables. I normally hate "fluff" in rpgs and stuff, but a tiny bit would be nice to give it depth.

FINAL: Remarkable in that there aren't any wrestling stuff that isn't part of a larger, more expensive game. Unremarkable in that that's all this is with no context or other info. Rock solid but lackluster.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ewen's Tables: Wrestling Stuff
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates