DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
One Page Number Six : Second-hand Gear
by B.A. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2020 22:41:24

There is a charm to these items and some inspiration for quick plot hooks. After buying two to check it out, decided it was worth my time and money to get the bundle.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Page Number Six : Second-hand Gear
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hexed Places - Five Pack #1 [BUNDLE]
by Zarathustra O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2020 17:49:50

This is an absolutely superb series. each hex can be plugged into an existing campaign without too much or too little undo influence on the campaign....just enough to give superb character to any hex map. try just one and you wont be disappointed. i WOULD like to see many more of these and am waiting for hex bundle number 3. i would like to see more forested hexes produced as well...or at least a product detailing the creation system of hexes like these! i would certainly buy more if availiable. thanks for a superb product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexed Places - Five Pack #1 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for your kind words. I appreciate them. I'd love to do more of these. Unfortunately, real life/job constrains my time more than I'd like. Your suggestion for more forested hexes is noted! Thanks again -- Mark, PBE Games
Hexed Places - Ash Wood
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2019 12:25:36

A MUST-BUY FOR SANDBOX GAMERUNNERS -- Please see my review of Five Pack #1 or #2, identical reviews of the bundles containing these products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexed Places - Ash Wood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hexed Places - The Gray Ribs
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2019 12:25:24

A MUST-BUY FOR SANDBOX GAMERUNNERS -- Please see my review of Five Pack #1 or #2, identical reviews of the bundles containing these products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexed Places - The Gray Ribs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hexed Places - Bitterblack Forest
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2019 12:24:43

A MUST-BUY FOR SANDBOX GAMERUNNERS -- Please see my review of Five Pack #1 or #2, identical reviews of the bundles containing these products. I have no idea what the complaint is with it being zipped only, and the idea that you'd knock off a whole star, or two as the guy said he almost did, is a headshaker. Whatever, you can see that the author replied affirmatively, but the problem now is that, because this buyer can't handle a zip file, you get multiple items in the download, which is way more annoying to me as a frequent buyer than having to unzip.

Whatever. These products are uniformly great. No wasted space, great, solid ideas, each booklet can be the jumping off point for a whole campaign that could last you months.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexed Places - Bitterblack Forest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Andrew -- thanks for your kind reviews. To clarify for those who have not yet purchased Hexed Places, the zip archive contains all three files that are available individually, you can download either the zip or the separate files and end up with the exact same stuff. If anyone happens to find a Hexed Places that is missing a zip or individual files, please let me know! That's a mistake on my part and I'll correct it ASAP. Thanks again Andrew, I'm glad you're having fun with Hexed Places!
Hexed Places - The Sharp Hills
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2019 12:19:05

A MUST-BUY FOR SANDBOX GAMERUNNERS -- Please see my review of Five Pack #1 or #2, identical reviews of the bundles containing these products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexed Places - The Sharp Hills
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hexed Places - Denshi Ferry
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2019 12:18:54

A MUST-BUY FOR SANDBOX GAMERUNNERS -- Please see my review of Five Pack #1 or #2, identical reviews of the bundles containing these products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexed Places - Denshi Ferry
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hexed Places - Crescent Lake
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2019 12:18:40

A MUST-BUY FOR SANDBOX GAMERUNNERS -- Please see my review of Five Pack #1 or #2, identical reviews of the bundles containing these products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexed Places - Crescent Lake
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hexed Places - Two Fang Gap
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2019 12:18:28

A MUST-BUY FOR SANDBOX GAMERUNNERS -- Please see my review of Five Pack #1 or #2, identical reviews of the bundles containing these products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexed Places - Two Fang Gap
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hexed Places - The Bogwood
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2019 12:18:13

A MUST-BUY FOR SANDBOX GAMERUNNERS -- Please see my review of Five Pack #1 or #2, identical reviews of the bundles containing these products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexed Places - The Bogwood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hexed Places - Fen Fields
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2019 12:17:55

A MUST-BUY FOR SANDBOX GAMERUNNERS -- Please see my review of Five Pack #1 or #2, identical reviews of the bundles containing these products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexed Places - Fen Fields
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hexed Places - The Sand Coast
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2019 12:16:23

A MUST-BUY FOR SANDBOX GAMERUNNERS -- Please see my review of Five Pack #1 or #2, identical reviews of the bundles containing these products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexed Places - The Sand Coast
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hexed Places - Five Pack #1 [BUNDLE]
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2019 12:14:21

A MUST BUY FOR SANDBOX GAMERUNNERS

Please note that this is the same review as I posted for Five Pack #2

I've bought both bundles, and have read through most of them, so 10 in all. Each of these is short and sweet and most definitely worth the price, and I'd say several dollars more if you compare to the general value of what you get for $2-3. I'll just cover this in bullet points because I'm not going to write up a big review and edit it:

  • I've yet to come across one bad idea.
  • If you're not sure about the concept or structure of hexcrawl books, give just one of these a shot. Download the free Compendium, which describes each booklet, and choose one.
  • These are written in DnD, but they'll be good for any fantasy game that has a random-monsters angle to it or which needs a wilderness.
  • The structure is a breakdown of one six-mile hex into its component one-mile hexes with >> A. General description of the six-mile, with history of what makes it special. B. Rumors. These are all solid and logical. C. Location callouts. Each six-mile will have about four to six one-miles called out, and they are tight, to the point, but not so short as to be like "thanks, I guess I'll do all the work then". It's about the purpose and the inhabitants. Good people, bad monsters, good monsters, bad people, cursed locations, interesting nature, they're all in there. D. Random encounter table! Awesome. Linked directly to the theme and population of the Hexed Place, of course. Great stuff. E. Extras: Here is the boom. Not every idea here is totally original, which is great. Let's have a bit of familiarity with our gonzo, okay? This is really what I was thinking of when I said above "Yet to come across a bad idea." Major NPCs, Major new monsters, Major treasures, all of course linked to the Hexed Place and totally logical to the inhabitants and history. F. And of course what I should have put first, the maps. Maybe you don't like hexmaps with their definitive symbols and such. I would expect a lot of people don't. To me, they're a tool. No one map can convey all relevant facts about a place. You know when you try to communicate elevation AND vegetation in one map? Then add politics? It's usually almost incomprehensible. So maybe think of hexmaps as an "Map of Dynamics and Vegetation". That is a stupid phrase, but I can't think of a better right now. "Factors & Flora" or something.

    Anyway, these products are an example of excellent design and excellent, concise, imaginative writing. I will be planting these six-mile hexes in my bigger map and making a campaign that is impinged on by the NPCs, monsters and locations described here. Can't give it a more heartfelt thumbs-up than that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexed Places - Five Pack #1 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hexed Places - Five Pack #2 [BUNDLE]
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2019 12:13:28

A MUST-BUY FOR SANDBOX GAMERUNNERS

Please note that this is the same review as I posted for Five Pack #1

I've bought both bundles, and have read through most of them, so 10 in all. Each of these is short and sweet and most definitely worth the price, and I'd say several dollars more if you compare to the general value of what you get for $2-3. I'll just cover this in bullet points because I'm not going to write up a big review and edit it:

  • I've yet to come across one bad idea.
  • If you're not sure about the concept or structure of hexcrawl books, give just one of these a shot. Download the free Compendium, which describes each booklet, and choose one.
  • These are written in DnD, but they'll be good for any fantasy game that has a random-monsters angle to it or which needs a wilderness.
  • The structure is a breakdown of one six-mile hex into its component one-mile hexes with >> A. General description of the six-mile, with history of what makes it special. B. Rumors. These are all solid and logical. C. Location callouts. Each six-mile will have about four to six one-miles called out, and they are tight, to the point, but not so short as to be like "thanks, I guess I'll do all the work then". It's about the purpose and the inhabitants. Good people, bad monsters, good monsters, bad people, cursed locations, interesting nature, they're all in there. D. Random encounter table! Awesome. Linked directly to the theme and population of the Hexed Place, of course. Great stuff. E. Extras: Here is the boom. Not every idea here is totally original, which is great. Let's have a bit of familiarity with our gonzo, okay? This is really what I was thinking of when I said above "Yet to come across a bad idea." Major NPCs, Major new monsters, Major treasures, all of course linked to the Hexed Place and totally logical to the inhabitants and history. F. And of course what I should have put first, the maps. Maybe you don't like hexmaps with their definitive symbols and such. I would expect a lot of people don't. To me, they're a tool. No one map can convey all relevant facts about a place. You know when you try to communicate elevation AND vegetation in one map? Then add politics? It's usually almost incomprehensible. So maybe think of hexmaps as an "Map of Dynamics and Vegetation". That is a stupid phrase, but I can't think of a better right now. "Factors & Flora" or something.

    Anyway, these products are an example of excellent design and excellent, concise, imaginative writing. I will be planting these six-mile hexes in my bigger map and making a campaign that is impinged on by the NPCs, monsters and locations described here. Can't give it a more heartfelt thumbs-up than that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexed Places - Five Pack #2 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeons in Blue - The Master List
by Jason T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2019 16:12:45

This review is for the Dungeons in Blue tiles in general, not just The Master List.

Simply put, they are very excellent for use in my game. Instead of a VTT I use them in conjunction with a laptop & projector and the quality is perfect for that. I assemble several tiles in GIMP and edit them as needed (add things here, remove things there, a dash of color to spice things up) and add a black layer over the top that functions as my fog of war. I simply erase bits of this layer as the party progresses through the dungeon and it works excellently. I really appreciate the GM tiles being separate as I put things like secret doors as their own layer in GIMP and leave them as not visible until the party discovers them; it works like a charm. While I do not yet own all of the tile sets (there are a lot!) I do own several dozen of them and plan on getting more. The range of options is great and I really dig the old school flavor as I am old enough to remember when all dungeons were blue.

These are worth the price, but one thing to look out for - during the recent GM sale the prices of individual tiles were cheaper than the prices of the same tiles as parts of bundles. So look around if there is a site-wide sale going on as you may be able to find an even better deal.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons in Blue - The Master List
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for your kind words, Jason. Much appreciated. The bundle/single pricing thing is a "feature" of DriveThruRPG's sales, and it's probably as frustrating for publishers as it is for customers. I know I cringe when I see bundles selling for more than the individual products they contain. It's definitely worth reviewing bundles before purchasing in all cases! Thanks again for the positive review! Happy gaming! Mark - PBE Games
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates