DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mutable Deceptions, Vol 1: Jazz Age Newspapers
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2020 13:22:24

One of the best article tool that i bought to make game prep. Helps a lot



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutable Deceptions, Vol 1: Jazz Age Newspapers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scenario Upgrade Pack: "In The Shadows"
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2020 11:40:06

Yes, yes YES! Fantastic pack and completely essential for running In the Shadows in 7th edition without doing all of the math yourself, even giving suggestions how to combine aspects of the original adventures and contrast them with mechanics from 7th edition i.e. Giving an option to resist the seduction attempt in In the Shadows (which isn't necessary for the story).

Disclaimer: I have not read through all of In the Shadows yet or the Scenario upgrades, largely the titular In the Shadows as I am planning to run it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scenario Upgrade Pack: "In The Shadows"
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Convicts & Cthulhu
by Craige C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2020 11:56:09

Dear Reader, Convicts and Cthulhu is 94 pages plus covers and PC sheets. Also the Contents are hyperlinked to the page. No Index. I paid 4.50 for this pdf as suggested. I was not disappointed. Convicts and Cthulhu is highly detailed as a source-book for Call of Cthulhu. It is set in 1800's Sydney Cove, Australia, near the beginning of colonization by the British. There are many mind-bending illustrations anda fabulous wealth of text, setting out what life was like during this period. Really outstanding was the attention to detail provided by the authors! There are six types of boomerangs shown in illustration. The effects of drunkenness are also featured, no really and right next the the effects of various levels of literacy! You could pay zero dollars for this masterpiece of role-playing but come-on chuck these guys a bone it won't hurt you. This was a labour of love for the writers and there are NO typos. Great read. Personally, I hope they do a similar source book for 1920's Melbourne so I can thrown them another bone. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Convicts & Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Convicts & Cthulhu
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2019 14:56:59

In addition to literally everything you need to play a Coc game in Colonial Australia bar the dice, this book provides excellent, historically-based story seeds in as well as an introductory adventure. The horrors of simply staying alive as a convict or native in the early penal colonies are neither sensationalised nor toned-down, there's no unecessary gendered language in the rules, and the sweet historical accuracy comes with rules for getting drunk on your rum ration, other people's rum ration, bathtub rum, smuggled rum etc.

If it lacks anything, it's guidelines on how to stat a kangaroo, because your players will interact with the wildlife in the least-informed fashion possible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Alex, Thanks for your wonderful review of Convicts & Cthulhu. In the 3+ years since we released Convicts & Cthulhu we've been contacted (and met) many gamers who have really enjoyed the level of historical-accuracy and research that we put into the writing of this setting. Seems like you are of a similar mind, which is great to hear. BTW we put the same amount of rigorous research into our PDF supplements for C&C, all of which are available here on DTRPG also (I think we may be one of the few game publishers to ever cite academic papers and history PhD theses in our bibliographies :)) On the subject of a lack of kangaroo (and other Australian fauna) stats ... hmm, yes that is definitely something that's missing from both Convicts & Cthulhu *and* Chaosium's sourcebook on Australia. There were some CoC 7e stats written for such things in early drafts of the latter book; contact me directly via email (dean [at] cthulhureborn.com) if your players take your C&C game places where they would be important.
Mutable Deceptions, Vol 1: Jazz Age Newspapers
by Johnathan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2019 19:32:17

Probably my most-used prop-making tool. The ability to create realistic newspaper clippings that are tailor-made to my senarios is fantastic! I regularly use this to create "better" versions of newspaper clippings from published modules.

Would love to see this for other eras like Victorian London!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutable Deceptions, Vol 1: Jazz Age Newspapers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mark Morrison's Deadwave
by A. M. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2018 22:53:13

The download was flawless, and the one thing I really found OK or better were layout & roleplaying stats. Deadwave delivers a crude & obvious horror, alike Zombie-Apocalypse, escaped lunatic killer, or monster-hunter aka gut-the-nextbest-orc kinda crude & mindless kinda storyline. The author insists that vengeance (revenge) and hatred are powerful, but fails to make any true connection to the Cthulhu mythos AND does not even reach the prose, game mastery, or detail level and considerations of roleplay we got from Chaosium in the first edition of the Call of Cthulhu roleplaying game. Same with Trail of Cthulhu, as again ir has a much better grasp on what roleplaying actually means.

Others may like the concept, but I think it is completely misplaced in Call of Cthulhu, as there are games focused on the quick, mindless, and brutal kinda violence-worship. Well, actually I would still consider this too dumb and ill-prepared, when coming as a WoD-Slasher idea or with raging Sith thugs wielding red lightsabres... Bad work, to me not even worth a real review.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mark Morrison's Deadwave
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mark Morrison's Deadwave
by Haydn B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2017 17:49:53

Deadwave is a great little adventure that can slot in nicely into just about any campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scenario Upgrade Pack: "The Stars Are Right!"
by Haydn B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2017 00:58:58

An outstanding resource for anyone wanting to run The Stars Are Right using the current edition of the rules and setting it in the present day.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scenario Upgrade Pack: "The Stars Are Right!"
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Convicts & Cthulhu: Ticket of Leave #6
by Perry T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2017 01:39:04

Another smashing low cost Ticket of Leave.

Highly recomend all Convicts & Cthulhu materials



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Convicts & Cthulhu: Ticket of Leave #6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deluxe Handout Pack: Island of Ignorance
by Perry T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2017 12:49:57

Cthulhu Reborn have excelled themselves in creating a fantastic set of handouts to complememnt the excellent Golden Goblin Press "Island of Ignorance – The Third Cthulhu Companion".

Highly recomended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Handout Pack: Island of Ignorance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Convicts & Cthulhu: Ticket of Leave #2
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2016 18:58:02

Full disclosure: Australian colonial history and Lovecraft are two of my hobbies, so how could I fail to love this setting?

This second scenario for Convicts & Cthulhu outlines the Great Power politics between France and Britain, especially around the Revolution and Napoleonic Wars. The source material is well researched and the writing clean and clear aside from a few editing glitches.

Essential reading for lovers of historical gaming, RPGs and fiction.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Convicts & Cthulhu: Ticket of Leave #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Geoff Gillan's The Machine King
by Bruce R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2016 13:50:55

Very well done module. I haven't run it yet but, it is extremely thorough with lots of attention to small but important details. I would have gladly paid for this excellent package



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Geoff Gillan's The Machine King
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Convicts & Cthulhu: Ticket of Leave #1
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2016 21:24:23

The sheer authenticity of Convicts & Cthulhu makes it a truly excellent source book for setting the scene and one that is engagingly written. The underlying historical research is amazing -- this is more early Australian colonial history than entire classes of Australian children learn! -- and sufficiently gritty to make you wonder what was going on in the backstreets of Sydney at the time. Forked lightning frozen in the sky, violent and inhuman murders from one end of the colony to the other, prophetic visions, rumours of undiscovered cities, the birth of would-be unicorns...all true -- or, at least, all actually reported as having occured. C&C makes for a fascinating read from that standpoint alone. The production standards are good with detailed maps and illustrations of a high quality. The location descriptions and details are well conveyed. The scenario hooks on offer are extensive and there is helpful advice on character classes and skill sets appropriate to the era. The Aboriginal contribution to the history of the time is not neglected and everything from weapons to Yowies (the Blue Mountains sub-species, anyway) is covered. With this book in hand, early colonial Sydney is the place to be when it comes to bringing on the Shoggoths.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Convicts & Cthulhu: Ticket of Leave #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Geoff Gillan's The Past Is Doomed
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2016 05:04:30

This is a creepy adventure full of ambience and oddness. It has an unusual but appropriate feel for a cthulhu scenario. Certainly worth getting to check out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Geoff Gillan's The Past Is Doomed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Convicts & Cthulhu
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2016 17:03:29

This is a great Cthulhu setting and being Pay What You Want, the price is right. There's one free adventure available which is worth getting. Cthulhu and 19th century Australia go along great together!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Convicts & Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates