DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
A Comforting Apocolypse, Protocol Game Series 69
by Jesse B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2022 10:49:28

The Protocol games are already a fantastic way to run a single session Rpg, but this expanded version is a great improvement on an already excellent format. The charts change as the story progresses, allowing the designer to guide a more specific play experience. I'm looking forward to more of these. I highly recomend giving it a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Comforting Apocolypse, Protocol Game Series 69
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

basura
by Ty L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2021 16:03:12

I sat down and played a game of basura today on discord and had a blast. It is a one GM and one player game. It took a bit less than 2 hours to play even taking into account mandatory rpg miscellaneous chat.

It is a simple game where you play an old gunslinger in the “Wild” West with just a few traits and stats who comes into town and has to deal with the consequences of his sins.

My character’s name was Emil Müll known as Basura whose traits were Focused, Tired, and Ugly. He has a giant scar that splits his lip whenever he grins or frowns and disconcerting eyes with one being blue and the other violet.

The other stats used in the game are Sin, Fatigue, Fame, Consequences, and Drama.

The game is framed as a Western “movie” with various scenes determined by cards drawn by the GM that are starting points or inspiration for what happens in the game. You use up to five d6 as a player with 2d6 being the base roll and can spend Drama points to get extra dice and/or spend your trait like my Focused mentioned above.. The game is quick and fast in design and is only a handful of pages. As a player you are told to stop reading a bit past halfway through the first page leaving the rest for the GM.

In my session my old tired gunslinging killer arrived into town passing a local who recognized me and was frozen with fear before basura arrived and went to the saloon starting the adventure.

There are many possible ways to go and things that could happen from there depending on what cards the GM draws which are used as inspiration to frame the scene as the GM and player collaborate together to describe what happens.

As you make decisions and face problems in the game you build up or decrease your Sin, Fatigue, Fame, and Consequences until the PC meets their Fate.

I heavily recommend the game for a fun one shot over the internet. The great thing is about micro-games like this is you can just drop into them and play and have no obligations. Sometimes it can be tough to get games in because of schedules and children and everything and a quick and dirty one shot is a relief. The story is tightly framed around a concept so there is very little burden for the player or gamemaster and since you use playing cards to build each scene the gamemaster has basically no real prep either to do which is freeing for those of us who might hesitate to run something that requires work to setup. I spent five minutes making my character and most of that was to make a name that was a play on words once translated.

Now that I’ve played it that means that I have to run it. Check it out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
basura
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hellhound Caves: An Endless Dungeon, Levels 1 and 2
by Ty L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2021 12:10:54

Hellhound Caves is an endless dungeon that so far has a handful of levels written and drawn up that you can drop into most any fantasy campaign.

I would have put the maps first to introduce the setting and the maps are really good.

It doesn't spare any introduction assuming that you can figure out what it is. It would be neat to have some ecology discussion as an intro but that is just because I try and imagine my dungeons as things either made for a specific purpose whether recently or in the ancient past or something that sort of evolved over time like ancient caves or a blending of the two. I ran a game a long time ago in which the dungeon was made by sentient titanic worms hundreds of thousands of years ago that hunter gather goblins had moved into and built a civilization in for example and a retreat when the aggressive and genocidal elves went on the rampage.

I liked the descriptions and the occasional gm prompts sprinkled through the text.

We don't know why they are called the Hellhound Caves but it would be easy enough to throw them in or as a totem of some sort etc.

Use of the term scimitar is a bit of a bugbear of mine in that it just means non-european sabre and is thus a sort of meaningless term and prefer specific terms if you don't use the generic sabre like tulwar or shamshir or kilij. But, I do sadly understand that scimitar is probably here to stay thanks to D&D.

There are nice litte personalizing touches in the room descriptions that help them come to life and give something for the players to chew on.

I think it would be cool if the maps were all collected and printed as battle maps for minis at some point with some sort of discount for people who bought the pdf's.

I look forward to throwing this into one of my fantasy games sometime soon. I think I would have the fungal maze connect to the feywild because mushroom rings as gates to the fey is an ancient trope and to the shadowfell like if there was a graveyard where the sentient creatures of the caves deposit their dead and maybe other realms so you could use that room as "room 1" and have the PCs start there as they enter from another plane or world. This would be great as they PCs might not find out they are on a different world until they escape the caves and see the sky with two suns or three moons etc.

Speaking of ecology I could totally see the fungal maze supplying the food for most of the animal life there along with fish from the waters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hellhound Caves: An Endless Dungeon, Levels 1 and 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deathreach: The Beginning
by Deane B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2021 16:50:38

This is an amazing start to what promises to be a highly detailed and creative campaign setting. The writing is top notch and I am truly excited by the "living" nature of the campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathreach: The Beginning
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deathreach: Traitor's Bay
by Shirley L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2021 10:12:00

The best games, at the end of the day, tell a good story. A good story has a good beginning, and some ideas for the journey along the way. Deathreach has an introduction PDF and a follow up Traitor's Bay PDF that are exactly that, a landscape for your imagination to flourish, giving you ideas to launch your game and play your next good story!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathreach: Traitor's Bay
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deathreach: The Beginning
by Shirley L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2021 16:29:05

The best games, at the end of the day, tell a good story. A good story has a good beginning, and some ideas for the journey along the way. Deathreach has an introduction PDF and a follow up Traitor's Bay PDF that are exactly that, a landscape for your imagination to flourish, giving you ideas to launch your game and play your next good story!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathreach: The Beginning
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

basura
by Shirley L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2021 07:36:20

I played this with jim as GM and me as Basura. There are not a lot of rpg games for two people out there and if there were, I think they would be challenged to stand up to this one. It was engaging, time flew by, and it was a lot of fun! I was on my toes, waiting to see what scene the cards would throw my way as I endeavored to find absolution as Basura, and when that was not possible (this time) trying to see if I could possibly get out of the situation, or was this to be Basura’s final showdown? I am anxious to GM for the next Basura. When he says the game is really that good, it really is. that. good!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
basura
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fairview
by Ronald J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2021 19:59:33

This is another well done game setting from Postworld Games. There is lots of potential in these pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fairview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Party Wizard
by Ronald J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2021 21:51:41

This was an entertaining and funny read. Frankly the adventure would never work with my old gaming group. But reading the game does create a lot of story ideas. The game is free (errr pay what you want) so grab it, read it, laugh. It might be perfect for your gaming group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Party Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hellhound Caves: An Endless Dungeon, Levels 1 and 2
by Ronald J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2021 21:04:00

This is exactly what the description says. This is Levels 1 and 2 of a much larger Dungeon. The maps are excellent and the writing is good and interesting. I am sure more energenic Dungeon Masters will have no problem whipping up the stats for the creatures. Good Stuff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hellhound Caves: An Endless Dungeon, Levels 1 and 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Life on Mars, Protocol Game Series Custom
by Timothy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2021 19:53:18

I'm a Ray Bradbury fan, so this Protocol game was enticing to me, and I after playing it, I can recommend it. Life on Mars is zero prep, needs no GM, and has lots of opportunity for dramatic scenes. The characters we made, all knew their roles in transit to Mars, but the power structure shifted dramatically when we actually arrived on Mars. We discovered that we had lots of reasons to flee Earth, but had brought many of those same problems with us to Mars. Our game ended with hope for humanity, that life on Mars would bring salvation. The story you play will be different based on the characters you choose and the people who play. Highly replayable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Life on Mars, Protocol Game Series Custom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Skyrise, Protocol Game Series 17
by Timothy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2021 19:30:19

I want to say, I was reluctant to play a game, where no one looked like a hero to me. On my first read through, I saw average people or even, less than average people. Is that even a thing. We played Skyrise, one evening when our regular game couldn't get a quorum. Protocol games are zero prep, and we busted this out. After character generation, I was shocked at how each person was indeed a hero. The characters were the light of humanity shining in a dark world of greed and indifference. This session of Skyrise that we played comes back to my thoughts from time to time, reminding me how courageous the least of us can be. I hope that you have roleplaying experiences that challenge and evolve your perspective. This game deserved a review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skyrise, Protocol Game Series 17
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

King for a Day, Revised Edition
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2021 21:16:54

Did I just pay a 10er for a 400 page detail-fest full of meaning and plotlines? this could literally be the best deal on DTRPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King for a Day, Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alphabet Soup, GM Advice Document, 100 Mundane Magic Items
by Jeremy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2021 19:44:22

This author must have a great sense of humor. Many of the items are honestly useful for PCs, and even if not, the descriptions are usually entertaining.

I've actually used this book a good bit. At first it was just a way to fill rooms with underpowered treasure (low level adventure). Then I got the idea to make them ancestral heirlooms. Items with humble appearance that grow in power as their owner gains level. So, thanks for your help in my games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alphabet Soup, GM Advice Document, 100 Mundane Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chebyshev Function, Protocol Game Series 6
by Tomer G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2020 15:08:38

A great scenario to run as a first Protocol game. I've played this system (Protocol itself) a few times at game cons, sometimes with Jim Pinto running. It's simple, elegant, and has DNA that's much more similar to a fiasco and prompt-based story game then a traditional RPG (D&D, etc.), and that's very much my jam.

Specifically, Chebyshev Function leads us to tell a great story similar to many media forms of "teenage supers running from big government agency", and to that end the chosen Locations and story prompts worked exceedingly well, given they appear to come randomly, but felt like they seemelssly drove the direction we went. I highly recommend this on it's own, but doubly so as a good intro to what Protocol does very well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chebyshev Function, Protocol Game Series 6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 113 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates