DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Big Bang Guide to Firearms Special Edition Revised
by Dionel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2003 00:00:00

Well, the guild helps you get different weapon. But the guy seems to try to add to much stuff to the game that is all ready being supplied. It's read cool to learn about differnt guns, but it takes to long to look for any guns.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang Guide to Firearms Special Edition Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Gamer's Cookbook
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2003 00:00:00

The recipes in here are good stuff: fast, cheap stuff that you can feed the ravening hordes that come to your house every other week or so. You certainly can't beat the price -- my only gripe, if you can call it that, is that there is nothing here that really satisfies the junk food craving that sits at the heart of most gamers. Another time, perhaps?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Gamer's Cookbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
by Peter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2003 00:00:00

Overall a well done series. I personally dislike the D20 modern firearm combat system. This product helped make it more bearable. There's alot of info here and I highly recomend it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang: The Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Special Edition
by Peter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2003 00:00:00

A very good addition to the D20 system for all those GMs looking for a more realistic approach to D20 firearm combet. I'm not completely thrilled with the D20 firearm combat system but this product helped make it more palatable for me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: The Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Special Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 2
by Peter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2003 00:00:00

This is overall a good product.

The only problem I had was that the first 35 pages or so are duplicated in the Big Bang Revision file as well. Both files are about 110 pages long so there is about 75 pages of different material, but the duplicated pages did frustrate me because I went to get a copy printed out and paid for them when I didn't have to.

If you enjoyed the other Big Bang products you will enjoy this one as well.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang: RPG Guide to Firearms Sampler
by NH H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2003 00:00:00

The content was decent, but the layout left a bit to be desired. It's worth it as a free download. Perhaps the versions that you have to pay for have a better layout?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: RPG Guide to Firearms Sampler
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang: The Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Special Edition
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2003 00:00:00

Like the ad copy says, this gives real world and gaming information on weapons -- not just guns -- used and being used during the war in Iraq. As with all Big Bang products, one of the best features is a short history of the particular weapons. In this case, this includes biological weapons - one of the best short pieces I've read on the subject. (Wish some of our briefings during Desert Shield/Storm had been this short and to-the-point.) And you might find the paragraph on "Ghost" Munitions most informative -- particularly if you're a gamesmaster seeking some diabolical ideas.

As before, the photos are much appreciated. A few are grainier than we've come to expect from this series. And the first edition covers only real world data, D20 stats, and CyberThriller (as yet unreleased) stats. The updated edition is supposed to have Fudge stats and more weapons information. It's something to look forward to.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: The Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Special Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2003 00:00:00

I like this book. There is a lot of description and information aswell as some new rules for specific bullets and calibres.

My only concern is that it says that there are over 100 guns when in actual fact there are only 30ish there. What makes this 100 guns is actually varied statistics for the various calibres of the same gun. This does provide over 100 entries in a stats chart but I do find it a bit misleading as I only consider it to be 30ish guns. I guess its up to you how you wish to interpret the claim.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
by Kevin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2003 00:00:00

I like this product because it presents game stats as a seperate item to the main body of info and with each weapon having its own page (i.e. you don't have two weapons sharing one page), you only have to print out the stuff you want. This also makes updating a hell of a lot easier as the author doesn't need to reformat the entire book and the user doesn't have to print out pages featuring weapons they have previously printed out. The author has also been quite happy to include good, clear pics to show what the weapon looks like.

Also, having spent some time in the army, I get irate at game books that don't bother to research the facts. I figure that if I can go and buy a book from the local bookshop that gives me plenty of factual info, why the hell can't a company producing support products for their rpgs get the same info. Maybe I'm too picky but if I've spent money on an rpg product that ends up being less professional than what I could do myself, then I've wasted my cash. I did NOT have any such complaint with this series, in fact, I look forward to other titles in this series and only hope the author can get the time to put out more of them soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: The Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Special Edition
by Kevin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2003 00:00:00

What follows is the comment I left regarding the first book of this series, Volume 1 :-

"I like this product because it presents game stats as a seperate item to the main body of info and with each weapon having its own page (i.e. you don't have two weapons sharing one page), you only have to print out the stuff you want. This also makes updating a hell of a lot easier as the author doesn't need to reformat the entire book and the user doesn't have to print out pages featuring weapons they have previously printed out. The author has also been quite happy to include good, clear pics to show what the weapon looks like.

Also, having spent some time in the army, I get irate at game books that don't bother to research the facts. I figure that if I can go and buy a book from the local bookshop that gives me plenty of factual info, why the hell can't a company producing support products for their rpgs get the same info. Maybe I'm too picky but if I've spent money on an rpg product that ends up being less professional than what I could do myself, then I've wasted my cash. I did NOT have any such complaint with this series, in fact, I look forward to other titles in this series and only hope the author can get the time to put out more of them soon!"

Too all of that I would like to add for this product:- At last, one book that gives me the biggest compilation of RPG-7 ammunition, 40mm low velocity ammunition (for M79, HK69, M203 etc type launchers) I have seen for a long time and some seriously thoughtful game rules for chemical weapons (because my opinion on the rules applied by D20 Modern to chemical weapons is for the authors of D20 Modern to get gassed and see what REALLY happens)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: The Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Special Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
by Kris S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2003 00:00:00

An great resource, Well laid out and easily understandable. I found the pictures of each weapon very helpful. If you use any modern weapons in your game this is very helpful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang: The Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Special Edition
by Kris S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2003 00:00:00

Very informative and a excellent resource for any modern game. I found the WMD Chemical Weapons useful for my terrorist game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: The Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Special Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 2
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2003 00:00:00

Even better than Volume One. We finally get some of the better H&K guns (though I'd still love to see the short-lived VP-70 covered) and some of the wilder spy and criminal variations.

History is shared as well as technical specifications -- and the method of communicating this data is also improved. And though I see no real differences in the D20 OGP coverage (which caused a hullabaloo at rpg.net), but hopefully all D20 fans should be happy now. Fudge rules are clarified; Fudge requires decisive game mastering and this hard data makes for quicker decisions.

Any complainst? Not really. There is some condescending towards Action! and Guns, Guns, Guns on the first page of the introduction. Dana is knowledgable enough about his subject and presents his information so well, that he may be forgiven this bit of cockiness.

Big Bang intends to continue presenting firearms of the world on a periodic basis. If Dana is taking requests, I'd request a volume on historical guns of America (from pre-Revolution through the Wild West) and one on Famous Fictional Firearms. This will depend on whether Dana knows those as well as the 20th (and now, 21st) century arms he has covered so far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Runic Weapons
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2003 00:00:00

This is for someone who wants to try osmetbing different with magic item creation and powers. It can be used as a base on which you can expand with only a little bit of your own imagination. I found it useful for magic in settings which are not your straight forward d20 settings.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Runic Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Runic Weapons
by Mike L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2003 00:00:00

This is a set of home rules, and it shows. Still they present some very interesting possibilities and for that I'm greatful. I'm always looking for material to take the game to new and interesting places. I'm also supremely unsatisfied with not only the way itmes are treated in the DMG, but the rules for creating new items as well. My hat is off to this publisher for fueling my ideas on this topic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 91 to 105 (of 107 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates