DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Gun Opera
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2004 00:00:00

This is a pretty good system, all in all, with a good basis in real-world physics. While I haven't had a chance to use it in any of my games yet, it does seem easily adaptable, even to games not given as examples in the rules (Cyberpunk, Fuzion, and D20).<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Offers a nice, fresh alternative to weapons, for those who prefer grittier, tougher, meaner combat.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Maybe not enough examples of weapons.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gun Opera
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang Vol. 3: US Army Future Combat Systems
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2004 00:00:00

Covers the XM-29 and its developments as well as anyone could ask, given the changing situation and the level of information that is public knowledge. The indexing and some of the stat blocks are a bit garbled.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang Vol. 3: US Army Future Combat Systems
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang: Mini Bang 4 - CAWS & Other Automatic Shotguns
by John A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2004 00:00:00

These rules for shotguns do a very good job of mirroring reality. I like the way the d20 shotguns were handled, firing at three different range zones with different effects at each zone. Although more complex than other d20 shotgun rules, these do a far better job of reflecting reality than any other rules I?ve seen.

The book is also useful as more than a gaming book. It is a good resource of information on automatic shotguns in general, containing a lot of information about the design, operation, history, and nuances of each weapon. Someone who was not a gamer at all would still find a great deal of value in this book. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The way d20 shotguns were handled. Very realistic and well balanced. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There is a little too much technical data yammering on about the reasoning behind the rules. It is useful to have that sort of information if you plan to do something with it, but for a gaming book, I found it a little too technical. There were also several minor grammar and punctuation errors and typos, one of which left me totally confused about the meaning of the sentence. The layout also had a few errors. There is a mysterious blank page in the middle of it, and only the first 4 pages are numbered.

Also the use of ?meters? instead of ?feet? when discussing d20 rules was a little annoying. Even on the table detailing the d20 range zones, ?meters? is used instead of ?feet.? You?ll have to get a calculator to figure out where the range zones are in d20 with these rules. And then you?ll have to fudge them a bit. For example, the middle zone ends at 25 meters, which is 82.02 feet, or 16.4 squares. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: Mini Bang 4 - CAWS & Other Automatic Shotguns
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
by Sigurd L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2004 00:00:00

The book makes for a very entertaining read. It is a good roleplaying supplement for any modern setting featuring gunplay.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Most of the guns presented are relevant to a modern action setting, and I see myself using them in my gaming. Good photos of the guns. Lots of good background material on the various guns - in terms of developmental history, where and by whom they were used, and their advantages / drawbacks. Technical information is clearly and accurately presented. The chapter on ammo is very useful.

<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The product didn't contain material about any of the guns pictured on the cover. Detailing three different .22LR submachineguns and two .22LR machineguns was a waste of space. Nobody outfits their hero or villain with that kind of weapon, unless they're playing prison guards or totalitarian police agents facing massed soft targets.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 2
by Sigurd L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2004 00:00:00

Yes! This is how it's done. A mix of weapons both modern and venerable. Some are new, but look cool and show promise. Others are battle-tested and found across the globe in various settings. All are suitable for arming your heroes or villains, for sheer looks or gritty utility. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Great background material, and good translations of real-world stats into gaming stats. Descriptions of the newer weapons are hard to find. This supplement lets me put them right into my setting. The older weapons are workhorses that can be found in the hands of virtually any hood or guerilla. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: What is it about cover art and ARP? The gun on the cover is the FN F2000 assault rifle,which is not detailed in this supplement. But it was very well described in Big Bang Vol.1. Go figure. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang Vol. 3: US Army Future Combat Systems
by Sigurd L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2004 00:00:00

Ooh Mama! Cutting edge combat firearms and support weapons from the most technologically advanced fighting force on this planet. Although not yet deployed in the real world, these weapons will change high-tech conventional warfare in the years to come. But you, the GM, can let rip right now! Richly detailed and well statted, these weapons can be plugged-and-played right into your campaign. This material will be hard to find anywhere else. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Great background, well written, by someone who likes their guns. Good gaming stats, easy to use. The most modern and innovative guns (not actually) available today, so far not described in any other gaming format I've seen so far. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Whine whine whine ... no, wait. There is nothing to not like about this supplement. Except that there is not more of it. Go ARP!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang Vol. 3: US Army Future Combat Systems
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang Vol. 5: Grenades of the Cold War
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2004 00:00:00

It does what it does for a good price. This is a product that people who love to have finicky weapon stats and long detailed descriptions of weapons will love. I certainly did.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Well organized, good price.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some more use of PDF features would help in organizing this product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang Vol. 5: Grenades of the Cold War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Kyuujinjouhoushi: The Action Hero
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2004 00:00:00

Although unbalanced, this is a nice idea. Obviously this product is in need of some polishing, some playtesting, and perhaps some "variants" for different sorts of approaches.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: It's got an interesting idea at its core. The price is right.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It isn't well-balanced with other classes and definitely needs polish.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Kyuujinjouhoushi: The Action Hero
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
This class represents the archtypical Action Hero from movie. How often have Arnold, Sly, Kurt, Jet, Jackie, and the rest played movie heroes that are balanced? This class is quite over-the-top in the manner appropriate for a cinematic game. And while a little rough around the edges, it is by no means as shallow as the backstory of most action heroes.
Big Bang 2003 Collection
by Joerg M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2004 00:00:00

A lot of bang for the buck :) Really nice real world info on the guns. Very good to flesh out characters who use guns. Has some editing problems with the weapon data provided (e.g. Vol.3 XM-307 25mm Crew Served Weapon is surely not 9mm Parabellum, is it?) and with missing bookmarks (e.g. in Vol. 2)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang 2003 Collection
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang Vol. 6: German Small Arms of WW2
by Sigurd L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2004 00:00:00

This is a great book if you like trivia about several obscure German firearms of WW2. But if you, like me, wanted the low-down on the most commonly used German firearms for use in your campaign, then this book is a waste of money. Richly detailed is the Volkespistole and the Luftfaust, the latter only a prototype weapon. Notably missing are the mainstays of the Wehrmacht arsenal - the MP38/40, the MG42 and MG34, as well as the Bergmann MP18 and the late Sturmgewehr 44. I'm deeply disappointed. Had I bought this unseen in a shop, I'd have taken it right back and demanded a refund.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang Vol. 6: German Small Arms of WW2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
It is unfortunate that you feel so disappointed about your purchase, Sigurd. However, with three competing lines of products (Wierd War II from Pinnacle, Hell on Earth from Bloodstone Press, and World War II Heroes from SteelMagic Studios), we felt it would be best to steer clear of duplicating their efforts in this particular book. To that end, we focused on German experimental and paramilitary weapons, areas that have not been covered in competing products. Future volumes will expand into the more common areas of coverage that you would prefer to see.
Modern Kyuujinjouhoushi: The Mystic Hero
by stefan s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2004 00:00:00

Good value. Excellent presentation. Relatively printer friendly graphics. God damned clever game design. I can't think of anything really negative to say. The tips for incorporating the talent trees with out the class are excellent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Kyuujinjouhoushi: The Mystic Hero
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Bang Vol. 7: Covert Weapons
by Phil W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2004 00:00:00

WEll, I didnt read tha advert properly and I aws expect ing a whole bunch of suppressed hi-speed, low-drag weapons the sort of which you see on Navy SEAL movies, the soprt of thing I already have but as I like the series...

However I was pleasantly surprised to find this book covers concealable and improvised weaponry, plus proof that Cyberpunk's Polymer Pistols in bright "fashion-colours" were actually manufactured. Cool!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Big Bang Vol. 7: Covert Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gun Opera
by Dan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2004 00:00:00

Good ideas to be found here but unfortunately three things aren't.

Non-firearm ranged weapons. Javelins are here, but only as melee weapons. You can't throw them. Bows aren't even mentioned.

The mentioned "advanced reference card" isn't here. Didn't appear in the patch either. Maybe soon.

and last, (and the reason I'm writing this here) is there is absolutely no contact info given for contacting the designers to get these matters addressed. A hint there for any PDF sellers...

I own every installment in the Big Bang series and plan to continue this trend. But unless these issues are addressed in a patch (and not an additional product) I will give very serious thought before buying any other products, including the "companion" program promised for this system from this seller.

A pity too. They do good stuff usually.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gun Opera
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Okay, I'll address these issues. 1.) Javelins are included because they are also usable to some extent as melee weapons. Hand-powered projectile weapons fall under the same rules of physics as bullets. So if you know the weight and velocity of those hand powered projectiles, then you can figure out the sort of damage they will do. 2.) The advanced cards were dropped from the product design during playtesting. They were little more than the basic cards on a 4 x 6 index card format, and the playtesters found numerous issues with the cards, ranging from clutter and disorganization during gameplay to cost and availability issues for both paper stock and laminating materials. If you really want the advanced cards, I suppose I could dig up the files and dump them into a PDF for you. 3.)Chalk this up to publisher apathy in regards to consumer apathy. I've been selling for nearly 15 months here on RPGnow, and to be honest, You're the first consumer who wanted to contact me over issues they have with a product. I've also been publishing for more than 10 years and all the times a consumer wanted to contact me in that timeframe can be counted on one hand. On the other hand, the response email address gets 2-3 spams a day at this point. After awhile, one just gets tired of providing information no one seems to use, y'know? Anyway, RPGnow does provide forums through which you can post messages for the vendors. While not every vendor reads them, I do visit them about 3 times a week.
Modern Kyuujinjouhoushi: The Mystic Hero
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2004 00:00:00

I've always thought kind of character type was perfect for introducing magic into a modern style campaign. Heck it could even be used for a low-magic campaign. Well worth the money. I look forward to more stuff like this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Kyuujinjouhoushi: The Mystic Hero
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Kyuujinjouhoushi: The Psychic Hero
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2004 00:00:00

Definitely a worthy add-on for d20 Modern. I like that this particular piece can be so easily blended in an existing campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Kyuujinjouhoushi: The Psychic Hero
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 107 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates