DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $
 Publisher















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2015 12:36:29

The Dashing Hero... is amazing. Possibly to-amazing, but.. Dungeon World isn't about balance.

The thing is? This was the perfect class for our party's disillusioned paladin to change to after he reached level 10. He lost his faith, but he was still a hero. And honestly? This is a high quality play-book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Guest Star - A Dungeon World Playbook for Extra Players on Game Night
by Nicholas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2014 17:28:02

A playbook (It's a class for DW) made specifically for people who just show up for one session? Brilliant! Good execution as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Guest Star - A Dungeon World Playbook for Extra Players on Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
by Nicholas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2014 11:34:06

Short Version: Inverse Worlds is a good book and worth the money for any fan of Dungeon World. Its player facing content is a major step up from the core classes as the focus on higher fantasy gives the classes moves with more "oomph." It has a great deal of GM facing content to make adjusting to its setting a breeze and helps greatly for those who keeps to DW's model of "No preparation." Perhaps its best decision is removing the cruft DW had by trying to be D&D.

Long Version: Inverse Worlds is a good book and worth the money for any fan of Dungeon World.

Its player facing content is a major step up from DW's classes as the focus on higher fantasy gives the classes moves with more "oomph." Here are some examples of what some of the new playbooks are like.

The Mechanic is of particular note. Making a class all about being a bloke in a mecha and having it be both fun, balanced, and effective (I was playing one in a one shot, recently) is a nice surprise. It has a lot of versatility in its design, but never becomes overly complicated or too versatile. You can build the type of mecha suit you want, with little fuss, have it be effective, and not be unbalanced. Also, the Megas XLR reference was sweet!

The Captain, for example, is an airship pilot that gets a free airship and means to get it back if its lost (I've seen another review comment on the means negatively, but the point of the abstraction, in my mind, is to avoid the class losing a key resource because you are low on gold: you could, for example, view the abstraction as pulling in favors, some stashed away savings, etc.). Despite what one might think, having an airship is surprisingly undistributive when you have it and non-crippling when you don't. Outside of its airship, the pilot is great at trading and navigation. In the case of the later, it can make travel safer which is a nice considering how much adventures do that.

The Collector can best be described as a "the bottomless bag." The classes main shtick is that it can pull items out of its bag to help in a situation. Thanks to DW's (Really AW's) system, this is kept in check by a series of well thought out limits that keep the move useful, but not overpowered. I can't help, but feel the Collector is Inverse World's answer to the the thief and, if so, it's a fun and, possibly, innovative take on the idea.

I'm not going to go through every class in the book like this, the above was just to give you an idea for what the playbooks are like. The book also includes The Golem, The Walker, The Latern, The Survivor, and The Sky Dancer. There wasn't a class I disliked in this book. It was a good selection.

The Compendium classes (think Prestige Classes without all the requirements, just do a thematically appropriate thing within the game itself to unlock) are fun, but I would have liked to see more of them. While I get Compendium Classes are tied very tightly to a setting so people tend to want them less, I still think they are a cool concept and really help tie characters to the world.

As a fan of balanced classes, the playbooks are a nice change of pace as some 3rd party playbooks that try their hands at higher fantasy tend to be poorly balanced narrative-ly (In DW, disparity more comes from how classes affect the narrative than their actual numbers since it is a low numbers game). Inverse Worlds successfully avoids this issue of balance.

It has a great deal of GM facing content to make adjusting to its setting a breeze and helps greatly for those who keeps to DW's model of "No preparation."

It has an Instant Island Guide which makes creating a new island for your players fast even during midgame. It has a few premade areas you can implant around your players if need be. These areas even have some custom moves to make them feel distinct. Setting wise, the book does a good job of telling you about the world, not individual places. By keeping to the overall picture, it makes it easier to build the IW setting around my ideas for the game than build my game around the IW setting.

In regards to the setting, it's a fun and cool idea for a setting. If this were a novel, I wouldn't call it original, but, as a TRPG, the setting stays away from a lot of tropes that makes alot of TRPG settings same-y and does a good job of backing up its setting with mechanics (like the playbooks and a slew of near gear). The vehicles rules keep it simple -- which is inline with the system -- and are a fun addition to the DW format.

Rules were given to fit your favorite ideas from the supplement in your normal DW games that might be hard to convert. For example, rules to use the Captain in a setting without airships. It's a very smart addition and, honestly, a necessity for a book calling itself a supplement.

Perhaps its best decision is removing the cruft DW had by trying to be D&D.

While alignments were just a way to get extra XP, they had some limitations to them thematically and felt restrictive. If I like the XP trigger for lawful, then my character is going to have to be a lawful character. The replacement with Drives -- which focus on smaller aspects of the player's world outlook instead of the all encompassing nature of alignment -- allows players to choose XP triggers they like without having to conform all their behavior to a particular set of beliefs. My Captain can be a roguish and chaotic figure, but has Responsibility and Respect for his crew (a common thing in fiction) so protecting them gives him XP. In DW's alignment system, I'd likely have to be a lawful character to get that XP trigger.

Race to class restrictions are gone. You can now play any race with any class unlike DW system that was emulating old school D&D. In place of racial moves, each class has their own special moves which feel more thematic as a result.

DW made the mistake of trying to be a different game that it was not, IW tries to be its own games.

Like I said before, IW is a good supplement for DW. It capitalizes on DW's strengths and removes some of its weaknesses. Its content is good on its own, but could fit into your regular DW game if you just want to take your favorite things. Visually, it's a bit minimalist, but, for an independent developer, that could be forgiven. If you didn't like DW because it was too simple, too focused on narrative, lacked crunch, or any reason similar to that, you probably won't like IW. If you didn't like DW because its classes were a bit boring and it tried too hard to be D&D, you might like IW.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
by Eltup E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2014 04:51:40

Almost every page of the book has something useful at the table, which is my standard for these things. I appreciate the non-specificity of the setting because the book itself gives you the tools to make it specific to your table. The playbooks themselves are of a very high standard, though I've only run one session of the game, I have no complaints about their design. Docking a star for two reasons: there's not much advice for developing inverse world specific fronts and I wish the island creation worked better with the steading rules in Dungeon World.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
by Mikael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2014 01:33:44

Very light-weight in content and lazy layout (lot of empty space). Great idea, but hardly passable execution. There are other that delivered much more and better content on the same KS budget. This is rated in my book as a KS that just barely cleared the failed mark.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Inverse World Accelerated
by Stacey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2014 22:33:46

An evocative setting, great character ideas, and a very nice and well written version of the Fate Accelerated Rules. I love the stunts and i really like the focus on exploration and discovery. Im am looking forward to introducing my players to the Inverse World.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inverse World Accelerated
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
by Jacob E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2014 22:01:50

If Inverse World's goal was to create a world that could capitalize on Dungeon World's strength, then it succeeds with flying colours. If Inverse World's goal was to make me giggle with excitement and my mind bubble with idea, then damn, did they ever get that right.

I really like Dungeon World. The elegance and simplicity of the system really hammers home what roleplaying is all about, and I think it works well as a catch-all D&D system. At it's core, Inverse World is basically the same game, but replace "Appendix N" with more modern fantasy fiction; Last Airbender, The Legend of Zelda, Bastion, etc. While none of the ideas in Invells is particularly new or exciting, the combination of the elements makes the setting distinctive and eye catching. It really feels like you're stepping into some new world that isn't just D&D fantasy again.

The class playbooks are just... fantastic. Far removed from Dungeon World's roots, the don't feel like the familiar fantasy archetypes like the Fighter or the Wizard are, but they are archetypes. They drip with flavour. The playbooks tip the game into familiar, but not common territory. Mechanics or Golems aren't something never seen in fantasy, but it clearly isn't classic D&D tropes. This is what really sells the world of Invells, I think. It's not yet another world of Fighters and Wizards, Dragons and Mind-Flayers. It's a world where your Merfolk person likes to walk on walls, or your winged-human keeps a pile of junk that is some how useful, or your metallic goblinfolk battles with the scars of his destroyed life.

Overall, the content is good. The writing is clear and easy to understand. The mechanics are familiar if you've played Dungeon World (while adding a few tricks here and there), and it's all easy to plug-and-play with any other DW derived games. I've heard some complaints about the amount of content for the price. It's a little thin compared to Dungeon World, which is cheaper, but I think the price isn't that much to ask when it has at least as much content as a $40 release from a big publisher.

The art is all top-notch, beating out a lot of other books with it's execution (especially Dungeon World itself). I think the biggest point to made here is the types of people you see. They are very varied, and not just because some are fish people. You give people of different colours, but also ages, sizes, shapes, and some that look like fish. It's not just enough for a game to say you can be whatever you want to, a game has to follow through to get that kind of inclusiveness. Inverse World succeeds.

This is a must buy if you love modern, quirky fantasy, great art, inclusive RPGs, or just plain like Dungeon World. Serious. Buy it. Right now. (do it).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Inverse World Accelerated
by Kyle S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2014 16:39:58

The original Inverse World DW book was perhaps my favorite supplement for that game, and I am glad to see that it made the transition to the FAE system unscathed. The setting is one of the most interesting I've seen in a long time, bringing in inspiration from a wide array of sources (literature, video games, even things like pop music). Specific to the FAE version, moves from playbooks have been replaced with a slew of stunts that are all pretty great. I'm eager to get a chance to play this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inverse World Accelerated
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Guest Star - A Dungeon World Playbook for Extra Players on Game Night
by Manuel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2014 23:27:38

This is the funniest thing I've seen in a while, maybe because we've been re-watching our way through the various Star Treks. It's not just a joke playbook, though, this would indeed be fun to hand to a guest player, and give them a chance to be useful in a single session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Guest Star - A Dungeon World Playbook for Extra Players on Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Clock Mage - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Ninja D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2014 16:14:41

I'm playing a clock mage now, and every single thing you can do with this playbook is completely awesome. This is my new standard for what a good playbook looks like.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Clock Mage - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon World Alternative Playbooks
by jungwoo c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 08:11:31

Awesome!

i love your Mage and Priest. this two classes are very cool. and Mage's spell focus is fantastic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World Alternative Playbooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Jeremy F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2013 08:29:58

We've had problems getting campaigns going. We'll have about 2 sessions and then they falter. Last week, we started up another section and one of my veteran players was looking longingly at The Dashing Hero. He was hesitant to pick it. When asked about the hesitation he responded "I'm saving it."

The Dashing Hero gives the player so many tools to dive into the adventure, with a focus on getting the Dashing Hero into the action. While the other players, each of whom had characters with flight, were wondering how the Dashing Hero would quickly get from the ground up to the third floor our Dashing Hero simply laughed with confidence as he laid out a Plan of Action – a large desk had been installed in the nearby third-floor dormer, and the rigging was still there. With the flip of his rapier, the Dashing Hero was on the rooftop and ready to deal with the kidnappers.

While some may find these abilities to make such sweeping declarations overly powerful, I welcomed it. The session became richer as I got to thinking "Now why would the desk have been installed today…" This was a detail that never would've surfaced without handing more narrative control to the players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon World Alternative Playbooks
by Matthew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2013 01:50:35

A really well written alternative classes play book, I really enjoy the flexibility of the spell casting, the only problem for me is it isn't complete, Black Magic, the damage dealing spell ability for the Mage asks the player to chose tags, however some of the tags don't exist in normal dungeon world rules and haven't been defined in the play book. I would be happy to give it 5/5 were it complete and those tags defined.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World Alternative Playbooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dungeon World Alternative Playbooks
by Oskar Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2013 19:28:53

I cannot really judge the Templar and the priest as no one of my group has played them yet. But what I can say is that my friend is having the blast of his life playing the mage, the burden of the spell list has been lifted and its the best thing that could have ever happened.... the roleplay value is through the roof, and the constant side effects provide you with interesting and funny moments, ranging from unintentional cave-ins over burning forests to angry bees. Your imagination defines the limits on this package. If the Templar and priest are only have as fun to play... 4 $ is a steal...and from what I've read they are (I'll update this as soon as I experience them in action)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 31 to 44 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates