DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Sengoku: Revised Edition
by Kevin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2004 00:00:00

What more can be said than is said on the product description. As an anime lover I was greatly delighted by the depth of detail the authors go into when detailing how life and events take place in the Sengoku period of Japan. Nearly every aspect of the culture is explained. A good rules system, although I am going to be adapting thier Action! system to Sengoku (I think they have a 2nd Edition that uses Action! in thier upcoming products page) the change is very small as the rule systems are very similar. A great buy for those interested in medieval Japan or in Anime style gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sengoku: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shinobi: Shadows of Nihon
by Jimmy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2004 00:00:00

Well I will be brief in my assessments. Basically this product is a very accurate and historical factbook on the real ninja of Japan. Of course it include a lot about the mythological powers of the ninja but basically it is a down to earth sourcebook on the ninja. I personally would buy it just for the info even if I never played a RPG in my life. It's a textbook on ninja.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shinobi: Shadows of Nihon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

San Angelo: City of Heroes 1.5 (M&M Superlink, Action!)
by James T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2004 00:00:00

Utterly superb! San Angelo is no longer a unique product, but it's still the best. Any number of fictional comic book cities are now available as setting books for various superhero games, but this is the one you need.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
San Angelo: City of Heroes 1.5 (M&M Superlink, Action!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

San Angelo: City of Heroes 1.5 (M&M Superlink, Action!)
by James D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2004 00:00:00

Excellent product. I have v1 for Champions but the layout and formatting is superior in this version. Looking forward to San Angelo 2.0!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sengoku: Revised Edition
by Jimmy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2004 00:00:00

Well I really can't say enough in praise of this game. You might not like the game system(Fuzion) but the information and stuff in here about playing in ancient Japan is absolutely invaluable. That's it, invaluable. Playing there and not having is unthinkable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sengoku: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shinobi: Shadows of Nihon
by Harley S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2004 00:00:00

Decent historical work, but doesn't grab you and hold you.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shinobi: Shadows of Nihon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
by Colin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2004 00:00:00

I downloaded this expecting to be greatly dissatisfied - core rules systems don't usually impress me, but at fifty cents I figured there was no harm.

Wow! Action! is easy to understand, yet reasonably comprehensive. Also, unlike some other companies who are releasing their core rules here at reduced prices, GRG claims to be offering license to use their system for free, a boon to beginning authors.

Action uses a straight forward 3d6+Attribute+Skill roll vs a set DC, and shows some signs of GRG's former association with Fuzion (which in turn had a brief alliance with Hero Games.) You get a set number of points for attributes, and a separate pool for skills, advantages, disadvantages, and in high-powered campaigns: powers.

It's combat system is very well done, though in settings where armor may not be appropriate (modern, or Trek-kish, or similar) it can be brutal.

By itself, Action! may not be enough to run on for GMs used to a small library of information at their disposal. It's a core system, much like GURPS or Champions/Hero, and therefore the GM has to add any detail. (Though it does come with complete and reasonable skill lists for a fantasy, modern and sci-fi campaign.)

I think it's well worth the money!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Action! Classics: The War of the Worlds (d20, Action!)
by Angus M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2004 00:00:00

Okay background on how to run a "War of the Worlds" kind of game, but mainly you are paying for a copy of the story, which is already in the public domain and available at places like Project Gutenburg for free.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Action! Classics: The War of the Worlds (d20, Action!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Thing in Radley Manor (Action!, d20)
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2004 00:00:00

I was not impressed. The adventure is short, boring, and confusing.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Thing in Radley Manor (Action!, d20)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sengoku: Revised Edition
by Angus M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2004 00:00:00

Can you ask for a better bargain? This book is fantastic for anyone wanting to roleplay in ANY system that would touch on Japan (or Nihon-esque) gamesettings, since over half the book is strictly historical information.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sengoku: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2003 00:00:00

Okay I'll admitt that I only picked this up when it was being offered for a penny. I'm glad I did. Its a nice alternative to the slew of d20 material and is open to boot so you can do what you want with the system.

I hope more publishers take advantage of Action! If it can manage to hang around, I think it can fill a niche as a very viable alternative.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Action! Classics: The War of the Worlds (d20, Action!)
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2003 00:00:00

This is everything a PDF RPG supplement should be - thorough, helpful, well-laid-out and well-priced. And about a terrific piece of public domain fiction. I approve thoroughly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Action! Classics: The War of the Worlds (d20, Action!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sengoku: Revised Edition
by John A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2003 00:00:00

Very good, I liked it alot. John J. Arruda



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sengoku: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

San Angelo: City of Heroes 1.5 (M&M Superlink, Action!)
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2003 00:00:00

San Angelo: City of Heroes is simply the best treatment of a modern city that has ever been published for a roleplaying game. In my opinion, nothing else comes close. The level of detail contained within this product is simply astonishing. Even if you don't like superhero games, I still recommend this sourcebook as an example of how to build a modern city for an RPG. In fact, with a bit of work it would be possible to use San Angelo as a setting for other games such as d20 Modern, White Wolf's World of Darkness, or R. Talsorian's Cyberpunk 2020. San Angelo: City of Heroes was originally published as a sourcebook for use with the Champions RPG from Hero Games. This PDF edition converts the setting for use with Green Ronin's Mutants & Masterminds and the Action! System from Gold Rush Games. In some places the conversion isn't perfect and some references to game jargon derived from Champions have slipped past the editors. However, don't let this minor quibble scare you away. If you don't already have a copy of the print version of San Angelo, you should buy this version to get some idea what all of the fuss is about.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
San Angelo: City of Heroes 1.5 (M&M Superlink, Action!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2003 00:00:00

A great product. I love the Action! System and I eagerly await new product to come out for it. I reccomend it to anyone for the flexibility of the system and the amount of support that you can find for it, both in print and in the online community. Also, the people at Gold Rush Games (Mark) are very nice to deal with and take the time to answer the questions of fans.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 111 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates