DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
San Angelo: City of Heroes 1.5 (M&M Superlink, Action!)
by Jonathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2004 00:00:00

I found this is an excellent book. Not only is it usable with M&M Superlink and the Action! System, but its adaptable to any super hero role playing game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
San Angelo: City of Heroes 1.5 (M&M Superlink, Action!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dragon's Gate (M&M, HERO, Action!)
by Judas Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2004 00:00:00

Highly detailed, with a bevy of well-realized NPCs and groups. The "Chinatown" here is a living place, far more than just stats and descriptions; there are potential plots and conflicts everywhere, and plenty of ways for your characters to get involved. Highly recommend.

Besides, you know you want to play Big Trouble in Little China.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dragon's Gate (M&M, HERO, Action!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gunslingers: Wild West Action!
by Judas Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2004 00:00:00

Extraordinarily well-researched and comprehensive, in the style we have come to expect from Gold Rush Games. Extensive price lists, glossary of Old West terms, common names of the period, timeline, maps, populations statistics? you name it, it's there. There is even illustrations of the weapons, so if your character packs an 1861 LeMat cavalry pistol you know what his shootin' iron looks like.

Any game set in the Wild West, regardless of system or addition of extra elements, would benefit from this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslingers: Wild West Action!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sengoku: Revised Edition
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2004 00:00:00

I found this book to be awesome. If you like feudal Japan, you will like this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sengoku: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Action! Classics: The War of the Worlds (d20, Action!)
by B. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2004 00:00:00

This is a neat product, and I'll tell you why I think so.

First of all, "The War of the Worlds" is a classic story. Hard to resist on that basis. If you haven't read it, the H. G. Wells novel is included, in its entirety, in the beginning of this sourcebook.

Second, the world of the Martian Invasion is a great time and location for a game. It has plenty of the stuff that makes role-playing great: evil--really evil--bad guys who just keep coming and coming and coming, and whose threat continues to change and evolve over the course of time; a simpler age with lots of flavor and plenty of background material; a quest with a fairly clearly defined goal just out of reach on the horizon (sometimes WAY over the horizon); and a bunch of NPCs to help and hinder you along the way. Action! is a pretty well-thought out game system, too, but you could easily use this as a sourcebook for other systems.

Third, the original reason I really got this book: there is a small but significant section which ties this work into one of the best games of the last few years: the "Monster Island" game system from Firefly Games. "Monster Island," the original game, lets you create and fight various giant monsters (like Godzilla or King Kong), and "Escape from Monster Island," the sequel, lets you create a human fighting force to combat the monsters you learned to create in the first game. Now this sourcebook allows you to create Martian forces and turn-of-the-century human forces and fight them against each other or against giant monsters. Pretty cool, huh? Let me tell you, Kajiro, Tigan and Honu had their hands full when the Martian fighting machines came through the trees with their black smoke and heat rays.

In short, it's cool, and the price is right. For whatever reason you might think it's cool, I would recommend this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Action! Classics: The War of the Worlds (d20, Action!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sengoku Character Sheets
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2004 00:00:00

Very clean, well organized character sheets with a different character portrait for the front page of each (and a blank one if you want to draw or paste in your own). The only downside is if you are playing a female character - there is not a lot of choices among the included sheets if you're not the artistic type.

Still these beat the heck out of a bunch of looseleaf paper and the price is certainly right for an infinite supply of character sheets.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sengoku Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gunslingers: Wild West Action!
by massimiliano t. b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2004 00:00:00

Very easy to play; good artwork and interior cover. It can be used with a wide variety of rpg based on skills



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gunslingers: Wild West Action!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

San Angelo: City of Heroes 1.5 (M&M Superlink, Action!)
by Jacob G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2004 00:00:00

On th whole a lot of work went into this city supliment, but it just wasent my kind of supliment. It was only an OK supliment.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
San Angelo: City of Heroes 1.5 (M&M Superlink, Action!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
It would be helpful to us if you could provide a bit more detail about the reasons for the score you gave the book (especially for such a low score).
The Dragon's Gate (M&M, HERO, Action!)
by Lee P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2004 00:00:00

WOW! This (along with San Angelo) is by far one of the best settings I have ever seen. Rich detail, interesting characters, multi game system stats... This one is worth every penny!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dragon's Gate (M&M, HERO, Action!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sengoku: Revised Edition
by Max C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2004 00:00:00

Quite simply the best Japanese rpg ever released, brilliant scholarship. To be honest, I hate the Fuzion system but even despite that this book is a treasured part of my collection and has been frequently referred to in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sengoku: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sengoku: Revised Edition
by T. J. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2004 00:00:00

This game is so good, I kicked my grandmother in the face. But no ordinary kick to the face, oh no. It was a half-hour-long, badly dubbed battle in the plain of honor, as clouds darkened the night sky and rain and thunder flashed all around, with our swords clashing as we also considered things of honor and morality, until with one final parry, I sent my grandmother's sword asunder and landed the facial blow.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sengoku: Revised Edition
by Anio .. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2004 00:00:00

From start to finish, this is a top notch product.

This product goes from history to daily life to magic, all without breaking tempo or leaving any area untouched. The amount of cultural information is staggering and presented in an entirely RPG-friendly manner, providing highlights for areas that gamers are likely to be involved in ranging from crimes and duels to trade and travel. Without compromising the integrity of the historical and cultural information, the Fuzion system is effortlessly slipped into the setting and, even if the Fuzion system isn't your cup of tea, there are several pages of conversion information for many other systems.

The artwork is good, adding to the flavour of the product without being intrusive. The charts and sidebars are clear and easy to find. The ever-important indexing, referencing and table of contents is superb (an area many gaming companies barely give a cursory glance before publishing). Distances are converted into Imperial and Metric, along with the authentic-feeling Sengoku terminology. And O, the terminology ! Pages of name lists for men, women, surnames, first names, upper class, middle class, lower class, titles for priesthoods, titles for the military, titles for workers and peasants. All these things, completely rich in authenticity and clearly explained.

I've never been someone to just buy the latest product from a company because I already own some of their other products, but Mark Arsenault and Gold Rush Games might have just changed that.

I can't wait for more !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Village of Briarton (Action!, d20)
by Duncan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2004 00:00:00

I felt the overland maps could have been better, but everything else was top quality. Loads of detailed NPC's and plot hooks. This is, perhaps, at its most useful for DM's starting a new campaign as a starting village for the PC's. There is just too much good stuff for this to be a 'passing through' adventure. Overall this was definitely worth the money, just mildly disappointed with the overland maps. The floorplan maps were fine.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Village of Briarton (Action!, d20)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Thing in Radley Manor (Action!, d20)
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2004 00:00:00

A fairly uninspired adventure. No map of the manor. Pass on this one and buy something else.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Thing in Radley Manor (Action!, d20)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dragon's Gate (M&M, HERO, Action!)
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2004 00:00:00

The Dragon's Gate details the Chinatown district of San Angelo. And when they say "details" they mean details - this book is about two thirds the size of the original San Angelo, but it feels like GRG have crammed even more into it. It follows the same structure as most superhero citybooks, dividing the setting up into different fields of interest (e.g. the business scene, the martial-arts world etc) and manages to put across a very convincing picture of a living, breathing Chinatown filled with real people. It also details not one, but three different tongs, covering prominent members, criminal activities and their sphere of influence. Finally there are a half dozen heroes and villains statted out. The layout is very polished and clear, obviously designed for printing with minimal bordering in light grey tones that shouldn't do too much damage to your ink cartridge. Now on to the negatives. To start with GRG have decided to make the first page of this PDF a full page, landscape format advert for San Angelo 1.5. This is irritating, (in the same way as DVDs that autoplay trailers or adverts before the main feature) and to be honest I imagine most of us buying The Dragon's Gate are already San Angelo fans anyway, so it's kind of redundant. (I could live with this as a page at the back, but at the front it's annoying). DG is designed for Hero/Champions and has character stats for Action! System and Mutants & Masterminds. I was expecting this material to be integrated into the main text in the same way as SA1.5. But no, the Action! and M&M stats are all filed away in an appendix. Having to flick back and forth between the character description in the main text and the stats in the appendix is disconcerting - not a dealbreaker but it makes the book a little harder to use, especially on screen. Dragon's Gate does a very good job of bringing a chinatown to life. But it just doesn't feel particularly superheroic. I would have liked to have seen a lot more Chinatown based supervillains than the three presented. As it is, it would make an excellent setting for a non-powered or low-powered martial-arts or gangster based campaign, or for a cinematic game like Feng Shui or Hong Kong Action Theater. If you're running a conventional supers game set in greater San Angelo, unless you have a reason to make Chinatown a major part of your campaign then you probably don't need Dragon's Gate. If on the other hand you want a living, breathing contemporary Chinatown as the primary setting for your game, then the Dragon's Gate may well be just what you're looking for.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dragon's Gate (M&M, HERO, Action!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 111 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates