DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Dungeon World
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2020 14:36:56

Ok, so I haven't actually played this yet. But I've been reading through the book and trying to understand it. I am new to table top RPG's but I'm super, super keen to play. I just need to find some friends willing to play.

Any way, having looked at D&D I thought: "ugh, too confusing." Then I came across DW and I knew this would be the one for me.

I love that it's the fiction that drives the game, you don't take turns in battles, you take turns telling the story. And the biggest thing is that You play to find out what happens. You're not trying to drive a pre-written narrative.

I can't wait to play this and see what happens!

I also love the way it's written, there is so much in there that spikes your imagination. You'll be coming up with your own ideas as you read it.

The artwork is cool too, it speaks of advetnure, fun and fancy rather than hardcore and serious. Kinda like Terry Pratchett!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon World
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2019 14:46:13

Dungeon World is far from perfect but I could not rate it less than 5 stars simply because few books have ever had a more profound impact on my time as an RPG player and GM. As written, Dungeon World has a lot of quirks and oddities - some moves certainly feel better than others - but it heavily succeeds in what it sets out to do and that's to make a narrative forward game aimed at heroic fantasty stories. I would definitely recommend grabbing Perilous Wilds, which I think does a good job improving on some base rules and classes, and allows for really freeform storytelling. Abstracting things like journies and travel can feel weird, but it can actually lead to more organic and better told stories, as you have freedom to tailor it to the narrative needs and beats that you are in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Kaladorn O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2019 03:30:17

Dungeon World represents a very different approach to FRPing than most of the traditional FRPs (Runequest, Thieves World, D&D, BRP, and the list goes on). It differs in that it operates somewhat like a chain story or improvisational theater; You are encouraged to find out things about the world and the characters in play rather than fleshing out a setting ahead of time, the characters seem to have the initiative and a good chunk of the agency in terms of what an adventure will look like and how it will unfold, and the GM is primarily executing the role of the improv partner - when presented with a piece of information, it isn't denied but instead one asks 'and then' or 'yes but' or 'and because of that'.... you work with what the players give you.

Mechanically, they call the actions players take as 'Moves' and the GM responds to moves to add drama, ratchet up the excitement, and to create new things for the players have to handle with their next Move, which again triggers a GM response.

I've not actually played it, because my group can often need prodded to action and a game that requires for them to take narrative control at times and to lead the story is just not something that I feel would succeed. So, a caveat then to my recommendation of this interesting game product: If you have a party that naturally would lean into the role of story drivers, then you have the right group for Dungeon World. If you have a quiet and generally-only-reactive group of players, then perhaps Dungeon World is not for you.

The other caveat I would say is that you do need to have a discussion with your players so that they understand they have a responsibility to make the story interesting but also one not to wreck the story by narrating things that conflict dramatically with previously established campaign facts or setting (too greatly anyway) and they should add interesting things but be aware of the possibility of creating something incoherent if everyone is adding wild, different things that don't work together. It might be better to focus on one character's backstory or his motivations and goals in a scene or adventure more than just everyone throwing in stuff like mad. That would maintain a coherence to narrative that may be more satisfying.

I'd recommend owning this game even if only to see a very different way to run an FRPG session. It's not like any other FRPG I've seen and I suspect it would take some getting used to, especially for experienced DMs and players of other gaming systems that are more 'GM presents the setting and key events, players react'.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2018 06:17:13

Literally changed the way I approach Role-Playing Games. While this game may not be for everyone, I would insist that everyone wishing to improve at playing or running RPGs at least read it, as there's surely something to learn. Can't recommend this enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Rudy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2018 19:02:39

I won't waste time reviewing this product as it's been reviewed to death. Chances are, if you're here then you already know what Dungeon World is about. Let me say that if you're on the fence, DON'T HESITATE AND JUST BUY IT. The gameplay is very fun and satisfying, and if you get the bundle the GM's guide is just chock full of great info that can actually be used to enhance just about any other RPG system. Hands down a great buy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2018 22:22:09

If you like D&D but feel it focuses too much on game mechanics and not enough on story, this is the game for you. While it preserves most of the feel of D&D, especially old-school flavor, it does so by sweeping away most of the crunchiness and getting to what matters most while still recognizably paying homage to its source material.

In my mind, if you redesigned D&D for streaming, it would basically just be DW.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Robert E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2018 16:21:05

Some notes and suggestions.

  • The game itself is topnotch. Excellent system. Well written. Five stars. Buy it.
  • The e-book version, which is greatly appreciated, has some wonky graphical issues and missing headers (I'm using Google Play Books), but it reads fine.
  • A number of downloaders are confused by the multiple files. Although it seems pretty straightforward to me, maybe some explanation is required. I would, however, eliminate the "all files" zip archive since DriveThru zips the files anyway.
  • If there is ever a second edition, I recommend having the cover artist do the interior illustrations as well.

None of these quibbles diminish my wholehearted enthusiasm for this book. Enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Why C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 23:50:36

I love using this system to introduce new folks to the world of tabletop RPGs. Fast and fun, while still retaining a familiar flavour that even seasoned gamers can enjoy. Dungeon World nudges the unique Apocalypse World resolution system into more comfortable territory, making it a solid way to shift traditional gamers into a more narrative system as well. This book has everything you need to run a game-- any game-- with minimal prep and maximum enjoyment. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Theodore S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2018 11:21:20

Im new to the system but not roll playing games and I found this to be a breath of fresh air. This is such an easy setup, simple rules to get new folks to game and a very fulling move and pacing system that I've fallen in love with. I'm not sure I can go back to traditional D&D any more...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by gabriel o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2017 06:18:53

Just played my first ever session as a GM with a group that had never played an RPG before (myself included) and we all loved it, it's the day after and the entire group are already asking me when out next session will be!

The rulebook makes starting very easy for new players but I can see how easily it can have more complex levels added to it, I highly reccomend Dungeon World.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by James R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2017 16:02:33

Great game so far.

We have only run one session, but very keen on continuing. It plays fluid and instrinsically keeps interest in a way that some games don't.

Some transitioning awkwardness came from falling back into D&D routines, but I'm sure with a bit of experience these can smooth out. The game coaches you through a lot of this implicitly anyway.

The rules are a bit squishier than I am used to, and I'd say if you like games like Torchbearer, Dungeon World might be a stretch.

It very much looks like a smaller publisher's game, as while the art is nice enough, it is clear they haven't poured money into artists, so don't expect Pathfinder-style art. But this publishing style also allows for a more conversational book, which makes a lot of sense, considering the nature of the hobby.

In short, liking it a lot. Not a revolution in gaming, but if you like D&D, or similar games, and you're sick of pausing the game to do some research because someone decided to grapple, you should definitely check this out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Gary C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2016 15:22:28

Dungeon World is such a light free system. I'm using it to introduce my brother to rpgs, because it's simple to learn and full of possibilities. I loved hearing it played on Friends at the Table, and having tried it for myself now, I like it even more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Tomer G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2016 11:43:34

If I have to run any sort of game that feels anything like Dungeons and Dragons, it's going to be Dungeon World. This is the perfect RPG that has all the elements of classic D&D lore and feeling, and for whatever reason just exudes the flavor I felt playing D&D as a kid 30 years ago. Additionally, it's a great starter system for anyone familiar with classic RPGs, but looking to get into the Apocalypse World style of GMing and games. The book reads partly as a how-to for the system itself, but so much of it actually reads as a how-to for GM-ing in general. The advice here is great for running almost any role playing game. Absolutely fantastic game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Jaan E. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2016 13:05:24

Dungeon World is one of the best indie RPG's out there. It combines celver mechanics with a strong poetry layer that darws you in. It is also a very diverse game playbol both by pepole who never played a RPG in their love as well as pepole who have played RPG's for most of their lives. It takes the best parts of Apolcalypse World and adds it's own flavour to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
by Joshua F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2015 17:18:34

Been playing since ad&d1e. These rules support what I always wanted out of the tabletop experience. This is a great entry point to tabletop, easy to learn and fast ro set up, it is deeply satisfying for veteran players as well. Cheap enough to be an impulse buy, but after using it online I wanted a physical copy. The approach to running a game directly translates to any system, and has flatl out made me better GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 54 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates