DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids Pусский - Маленькие Герои - Russian
by Alex A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2019 08:32:44

Прекрасная отправная точка в мир настольных ролевых игр для детей, новичков и всех, кто интересуется жанром!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids Pусский - Маленькие Герои - Russian
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Для новичков игра действительно отличная на мой взгляд.
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids Pусский - Маленькие Герои - Russian
by Dzmitry M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2019 02:51:31

Отличный перевод. Ранее играл с детьми в английскую версию, но несколько мешало, что все планшеты были на английском, что сложно для детей. Теперь же могут они и сами читать свои способности и др. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Спасибо за отзыв. Буду стараться перевести как можно больше приключений и дополнений! )
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids Français - Fantasy RPG - Creator's Guild French Francais
by François L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2019 11:59:02

Excellent jeu, clé en main. J'y joue depuis sa sortie en 2012, j'ai testé plusieurs différents groupes d'enfants et le résultat est le même : Un plaisir guaranti!

Bien heureux de le voir en français maintenant :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids Français - Fantasy RPG - Creator's Guild French Francais
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids Français - Fantasy RPG - Creator's Guild French Francais
by Axel R. 5. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2019 06:08:23

Cela fait maintenant 1 an que nous jouons régulièrement à Hero Kids avec mon petit garçon de 6 ans. Au début les scénarios des livres et puis rapidement nos propres aventures. C'est en réel plaisir de voir les aventures créé par mon petit garçon progressé de mois en mois. Je n'aurais jamais pensé avoir un MJ de 6 ans. Les règles sont vraiment accessibles et facile à prendre en main pour les enfants. Je recommande donc chaudement Hero Kids et avec la version française plus aucune excuse pour les francophones.

It's been a year now that we regularly play Hero Kids with my 6 year old boy. In the beginning the book scenarios and then quickly our own adventures. It is in real pleasure to see the adventures created by my little boy progressed from month to month. I would never have thought of having a 6 year old MJ. The rules are really accessible and easy to handle for children. I highly recommend Hero Kids and with the French version no more excuses for Francophones.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Jordan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2019 14:26:51

Well, I tested it out on my niece and it seemed to work well enough for her, she managed with the advanced rules just fine. In fact the advanced rules quickly became necessary, as the wanted her princess to have powers, which requires the intermediate level rules, and she said she wanted to try and open one of the barrels in the first room, which requires some of the "advanced" rules. I was planning on just doing the first room of the "Basement O Rats" adventure that came with it, but she stayed interested long enough to want to do the next 2 rooms as well, and then said she wanted to make her own game, so I let her do that.

I changed the story of "Basement O Rats" a little, which is easy to do since the story is very simple; just one short paragraph at the start of the adventure, and one equally short paragraph at the start and finish of each room. This makes it easy to customize, adapt, and make stuff up on the fly. I think more adult pen and paper games could learn from this.

I made the story more princess focused, and she seemed to appreciate this. I had made Flame Princess (Adventure Time reference) and asked her if she wanted to play as her, or if she would rather make her own character, and she wanted to make her own (whom she called Pumpkin Princess), so I took her through the character creation process without too much trouble, by asking her a series of questions about what sort of princess powers she wanted to have. She seemed to want me to make a character to play as too, not wanting Pumpkin Princess to adventure alone, so I used Flame Princess as my avatar and we set forth to rescue our princess friend, Ice Cream Princess. Other than that we kept the story line the same.

Since I was only expecting to play the first map, that was the only one I had copied out in pencil. She helped me draw the other maps as we played them, adding innovative features like barrels of ice cream horded underground by the giant rats, and holes in the ground that we needed to jump over. I think my having a character to play as actually helped her understand how to play the game, even though making your own character is normally considered a faux par for the "GM" in pen and paper games (and for good reason) it was what she wanted, and it seemed to work.

I followed the books advice about having the baddies run away when defeated, rather than being killed, but she often declared that she had killed them anyway ¯_(ツ)_/¯

Having finished "Basement O Rats" in two sessions I am quite happy with how it went.

The base rules are indeed very simple, with lots of optional extra rules for older children that can be added on in a modular fashion as and when they are ready for it.

All you need is a copy of this book, at least one d6, a pencil, an eraser, and some paper.

5 extra d6 will make things go more smoothly.

A printer plus the pdf version of this book will save some time if you or the players don't like to scribble things out by hand too much.

Has helpful advice on keeping young players with short attention spans engaged.

No addition or subtraction, everything is done just by comparing dice, a very elegant system.

Uses a grid system to measure distances, so you will either need to draw a grid on a sheet of paper (doesn't take long) or print and play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Andrew O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2019 06:36:29

Hero Kids soft cover book.

Compact, concise with simple rules. The manual has stood up to a eight year old playng with it. Lots of available add ons and campaign material so games can be just pick up and go with minimal prep. Useful with low attention span players, be they 10 or 45.

Very much does what it promises.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by DD W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2019 20:01:58

Hero Kids is a huge hit in our house and has been for years now. Easy to get kids on board, easy on the adult running it, and simple enough for kids to run themselves. Got my brother-in-law a copy and hooked the nephews too.

Rules work well for a surprising range of ages since they give just enough structure without trying to constrain everything. I've run for 8 year olds and 3 year olds (sometimes together) and everyone has had a great time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Mike C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2019 09:33:22

I love the concept here: It's simple and inexpensive and a fun place to introduce role-playing games to kids. I gave it four stars because if you've got kids who want adventures, then just buy this and get started. It's the best start I know of for this group. It's better than a game with plastic minis, in my view, because you can affordably face so many different creatures.

But it could have been better. I'd love to see it get a minor update.

Wizards and Warriors only

There are no rules in the system to make a fast-talker, a thief, or a beast master. It would have added some variety to have skills to disarm traps, pick locks on treasure chests, talk a monster into trading his treasure for some of your lunch. (Maybe there are expansions for this; I haven't read them all yet.)

Girls and Boys

It's great that the warrior can be a girl or a boy. It's flat-out disappointing that the brute, rogue, healer and knight don't have male or female options. Can you guess whether the healer is a boy or a girl? Yeah, it's a girl. And the knight's a boy.

Art

The character and monster stat cards are on a parchment colored background but the illustrations are in black and white. And they're PDFs, not JPGs.

If the intent is for the players (kids) to color their own heros, it's more difficult because the cards are PDFs and have to be converted to JPG before you can open them in a paint program. And it's more expensive to print the cards because of the parchment background. It could have all been grayscale (color it yourself) or color (print and go). This is the worst of both.

And why not color the monster cards and monster paper minis? There are pirates, snakes, large snakes, rats, snakes, spiders, more than a half-dozen of each, all 1" tall. It would have been great to have these in color.

Even the maps are in grayscale.

When you set up for a session the game looks very gray.

Setup

This is a minor annoyance, really, but the monster cards don't have cut-out borders on the page, so it's left to you to make them the same size. I wish the paper minis had cut lines instead of borders, or perhaps thicker borders, so that cutting them out didn't leave fragments of the lines and make my cutting work look sloppy.

I also wish the paper minis didn't go quite so close to the edge of the paper. This makes it really difficult to print them larger. For example, if your kids have plastic minis from the game store for their heroes, and you print the skeletons at normal scale, the skeletons will look absolutely puny. It would have been nice to print them about 20% larger. You can't do that because art is too close to the edge and the edges (legs and feet) get cropped. Being able to print larger would have helped show off the detail in the art, too.

Overall

I genuinely like this better than expensive competitors like Mice and Mystics (and even HeroQuest). Paper minis enables Hero Kids to have a larger variety of creatures to encounter, and creatures of many different sizes. The stories in this are better (the prose is more concise), and the rules are cleaner. This means you get to play faster without spending much time in the rulebook. It's a game I like to bring to the table with kids. I just wish it were more attractive.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Valerio P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2019 03:29:38

This game is just... Wonderful! The first attempt with my children, this Sunday, took us just about twenty minutes of playing, and they didn't want to stop. I just improvised a couple combat encounters for them, very straightforward, with a bit of "story connection" between them, and they were completely excited.

I'm so happy I've purchased the full lot, I have so much to work with, and the initial reaction from my children seems to point out that they will love this hobby, just like daddy does!

Thanks a lot for this great small game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2019 13:24:53

I'm afraid I've not played a roleplaying game for years, but my 9-year-old daughter found my old dice, asked me how they worked, and she was entralled with the idea—so I poked around the internet to see what there was nowadays and i settled on HERO KIDS. My two younger kids were hooked from the beginning of Basement o' Rats. My 11-year-old, initially disdainful, got interested and asked to join in—we had to contrive a way for her to join in partway through. The combat was exciting enough, and they got into it, but their favorite part was the side trip to the chamber with the pool, where they had to figure out how to extricate a small treasure chest from amidst magically frozen rats, without getting trapped and frozen themselves. I also decided the mushrooms there would be useful magical ingredients and were safe to eat, but made the characters glow blue the remainder of the adventure, which tickled the kids. In all, you've roped in three kids, 7 through 11, who had a blast with their first RPG, and one dad who had a blast with them, and got to roll some serious dice for the first time in ages. I highly recommend the bundle for grownups whose professional life doesn't leave lots of time for creating—the adventures are a lifesaver.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Josh D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2019 00:33:25

This has been great, I play with my 5yo son and my 3yo daughter. It's quality time for us and a bit of time alone for my wife. My daughter is the one that is constantly asking whether we can play more HeroKids on the weekend! If you're a parent, just buy the bundle - great value for money on an hours to $ point of view.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Dan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 11:43:04

This is a great system—not only for introducing young kids to RPGs, but also for enabling families with young kids to play RPGs together. The system is simple enough for very young children to be able to play, but has enough detail that older kids can enhance their characters' capabilities as they understand more.

All of the player characters (many fun pregenerated options are included) have a special ability. My kids have latched on to these; each is excited about their character's special strengths and functionality. The enemies also have well-concieved special abilities, so there's some exciting variety in combat even though the combat mechanic is very simple and easy for all to navigate.

The published adventures are a lot of fun, and always include enough detail to help inexperienced DM parents narrate a compelling story for the kids. Of particular note are the maps. They're done simply but very well. They're nice to print out and keep around for reuse in other adventures in other systems.

That's all enough to make this a great system; but to sweeten the deal, the prices are very reasonable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by DANIEL R D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2019 12:36:26

Simple, objective, upgradable, replayable, PERFECT! Awesome to play with kids but I cannot deny that I am playing with a group of adult friends and we are having a lot of fun. LOL



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Steven H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2018 13:26:01

Great product! I was wanting to introduce my 9yo to tabletop RPGs and this was a perfect way. She grasped it quickly and wants to play every weekend now. I will be buying the rest of the modules now I guess! Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Edward C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2018 18:11:19

This is absolutly fantastic for younger kids getting into rpg's, i started by getting my kids (3, 4 and 8) to choose a hero out of the coloriong book, a seprate free download, aand got them to color in there heros as we played (a helpful distraction at times for the younger 2) I had my 8 year old help the 3 year old at times but he is definatly keen to play more, and all 3 kids already feel a connection to there heros and each others, (one encounter i may have KO'd one of their heros causing them to get a little upset....but they worked out they could use a potion on him to get him up again) Things are easily modifed to suit your needs with age diffrences ect. and the book has a few tips on running a game with younger players. Im so glad i found this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 91 to 105 (of 272 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates