DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2023 09:39:15

I got Hero Kids a few days ago and I think it's a great product for kids. The rules are simple and easy for even little ones to use. And the book has so many good strategies for you to use when GMing kids. I found them to be very helpful since I usually GM for adults. Those alone made the book worth it for me. There is also some scaling complexity which I like for when my son gets older. The encounters also scale by the number of players you have, which makes things very flexible. This is a great system for any parent GM to pull out at a moment's notice and improvise a game on the fly. However, it is lacking in a few ways. First, there are no real rules for making monsters. That may be in another book but the intent seems to be for you to buy the supplemental adventures. There does not seem to any equivalent of a bestiary or monster manual to buy either. That's disappointing since my kid's favorite thing to do is fight dragons and I have to buy an adventure that has them. I'm pretty sure I could reverse engineer the process but it shouldn't be needed. Second, I would love even a small amount of equipment/treasure to give out rewards and make my own encounters. Again, the intent seems to be for you to buy the supplements which is not typical of other TTRPGs. Every TTRPG I've played has had rules for equipment. I'm glad the supplements exist but I shouldn't be pressed into buying them when I bought the core system. Finally, there is next to no representation or diversity in the artwork. All the heroes are white and the same is true for the NPCs. I do see the company addresses that a little with the additional Hero Card supplements but again, no one should have to buy supplements to have a hero that looks like them. Even with the supplements there is exactly one black PC (the drow does not count) and one (maybe two) brown PCs. There are no characters who are East Asian-coded. I want all my son's friends to feel welcome at my table and feel like they can be a hero just like they are. It's disappointing to see that the artwork does not reflect those values.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Coloring Book - Heroes
by tyrone r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2023 20:59:36

The only reason I bought this coloring book is because I have a coworker who loves to color. This may sound negative, but the Heroes Coloring book is 94 pages of diabetis inducing Kawaiikos and thier pets. I had to quit skimming after 24 pages before I went into insulin shock, and I'm not diabetic. That having been said, I would still highly recommend this coloring book. The kids, and kids-at-heart will love it. The Adults, maybe not so much.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Supplement - Coloring Book - Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Jarrett [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2023 22:37:17

“Just as much fun as a video game” - Leo, 8 “WHAT DO YOU MEAN WE DON’T HAVE TIME TO PLAY HERO KIDS TONIGHT?! WAAAAAHHH!” - Henry, 5 (after playing basement o’ rats and 3/4 of Tomb of the Lost King) We played Friday night and Saturday. They talked about it all weekend. I’ve got some prep to do! Incredibly good value. Tip for paper minifigs: cut out a row, fold in half, (blank side in), then fold tabs out. Glue w/ a gluestick. Cut between each figure. A sm square of cardstock on bottom.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - The Delian Tomb
by Corey W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2023 01:03:09

The artwork and storyline are absolutely fantastic. My kids will love this scenario!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - The Delian Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - The Delian Tomb
by Joel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2023 10:02:35

Love this! Just picked it up, and I cannot wait to play this with my kids. I read through it, and it looks amazing. My son has been wanting to have some of his friends over to try Hero Kids for the first time, and I know that they are going to LOVE this module. Very detailed with well done maps. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review! I hope your kids love it :) I definitely tried to put some love into the maps. If you check out the Hero Kids facebook group and search there you might be able to find some free maps of similar quality that I put out for a couple of the official HK adventures. I think I did Base o Rats and the Wizards Tower one (I forget what it was called - might just be Wizards Tower). -- Matt
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - The Delian Tomb
by Mike B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2023 08:20:06

Check out this fantastic port of a much-loved adventure from D&D. Matt Colville, one of the best "How to DM" people out there made The Delian Tomb as an into to running and playing TTRPGs, and the port of this adventure into Hero Kids is PERFECT!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review - I'm really glad you liked it! I had a lot of fun sanitizing things, like making Bess a sassy teenager and making it that they were going to feed her to the monster they summoned rather than sacrifice her as part of the ritual (all in a comical way). Actually, when I ran it for my kids the thing that scared them the most (surprisingly, for me) was having to fight the skeletons at the end! That twist took them by surprise, haha. Thanks again for your review!
pixel_trans.gif
Onyx Sky
by Lars H. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2022 11:39:40

Halliday puts so much heart and soul into his creations, and his aptitude for details and eloquence is an inspiration - and so is this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Sky
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2022 19:12:29

So I pulled the trigger on this game a while back and never ended up using it. Started my kids on basic D&D instead, but it was a close call. I looked pretty hard for a game I wanted to run with my kids and found the majority of games designed for kids were just downright awful and underestimated the kids ability and was very clearly what an adult thought someone elses kids would like. Hero kids isnt like that, it allows them to go on very similar adventures to what the grown ups are doing at the table, and the game resolution system is very simple and leaves most of the content up to the gm. I also liked that the game doesnt preach "the message" or anything weird from whats going on in the real world and focuses on allowing kids to enjoy these games that their parents might. If I was going to pick a game oriented towards kids, it would be this one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by DD W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2022 09:59:00

Absolutely the best way to bring kids to the table. Kids hate prep. Rules confuse them (they want to make their own!) Let's not even get to kid's attention spans. Hero Kids gets everyone to playing fast and keeps things moving. Art is solid, adventures are good, and plenty of goodies to print and hand out for everyone included.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by George S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2022 09:02:17

The kids loved it! Easy to understand and follow the story and play the game. Kids between 4-7 yrs old.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Mike B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2022 23:00:18

Hero Kids is an INCREDIBLE system and I HIIIIIGHLY recommend it!! As an elementary school counselor, I use Hero Kids with the young children I work with; the mechanics are simple and accessible, the art is WONDERFUL and SO kid-friendly, and the adventures are VERY GM-friendly.

I recently had the opportunity to run Basement-o-Rats for a friend and his young son. Working with littles, I fully expected him to lose interest after 30 minutes or so ... two hours later, he was BEGGING to start the next adventure straight away!!

The corebook is extremely affordable (also -- the bundle price is even better!!!). DMs, GMs, storytellers, parents, mental health professionals, teachers ... this is SO worth picking up! Plus -- the creator constantly puts out new materials, publications, blogs, and is very responsive to questions and suggestions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Mike B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2022 22:19:33

Hero Kids is an INCREDIBLE system and I HIIIIIGHLY recommend it!! As an elementary school counselor, I frequently use Hero Kids with the young children I work with; the mechanics are simple and accessible, the art is WONDERFUL and SO kid-friendly, and the adventures are VERY GM-friendly.

I recently had the opportunity to run Basement-o-Rats for a friend and his young son. Working with littles, I fully expected him to lose interest after 30 minutes or so ... two hours later, he was BEGGING to start the next adventure straight away!!

The corebook is extremely affordable (also -- the bundle price is even better!!!). DMs, GMs, storytellers, parents, mental health professionals, teachers ... this is SO worth picking up! Plus -- the creator constantly puts out new materials, publications, blogs, and is very responsive to questions and suggestions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Joel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2022 20:56:25

Absolutely LOVE Hero Kids...and more importantly, so do my kiddos. Very easy for anyone to pick up, and really great encounters for them. Cannot recommend highly enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Brecken Vale Gazetteer
by Erik W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2022 04:36:26

An absolutely fantastic supplement to an already fantastic game! The Gazetteer is smack full of geography, culture, hooks, npcs, beliefs, encounters, conflicts (active and brewing) etc etc. It is a wonderful sandbox addition to Hero Kids, letting GMs and players expand on their adventuring and exploration, hinting at bigger things just beyond the corner without holding your hand. Every location gives the reader a story of their own, complete with myths, adventurehooks and history, every npc the same. Even the gods themselves have storyhooks attached to them, both small and grand. The illustrations are from ok to good, the maps simple but outstandingly exciting. The Brecken Vale contains so much as to give players tons and tons of adventuring, and when the need arises there is always the great unknown to explore, just beyond the edge of the map. I cant wait to let my kids and their friends loose in the Varld!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Brecken Vale Gazetteer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Shawn S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2022 15:03:57

Exceeded my expectations! My 7 year old daughter LOVES the game - which isn't as surprising as the fact that all of us "ADULT" TTRP gamers sitting around the table LOVED it too! Rules light and imagination heavy! Simple and perfect = Simply Perfect! Worth far more than you'll pay for it, but I highly recommend you pick up the entire bundle (https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/115827/Hero-Kids--Complete-Fantasy-PDF-Bundle-BUNDLE?manufacturers_id=4846) because it also is worth far more than the modest price and can get you up and playing in no time. Thank you to Justin and his team at Hero Forge for adding enjoyment to our weekends!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 272 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates