DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Brecken Vale Gazetteer
by Erik W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2022 04:36:26

An absolutely fantastic supplement to an already fantastic game! The Gazetteer is smack full of geography, culture, hooks, npcs, beliefs, encounters, conflicts (active and brewing) etc etc. It is a wonderful sandbox addition to Hero Kids, letting GMs and players expand on their adventuring and exploration, hinting at bigger things just beyond the corner without holding your hand. Every location gives the reader a story of their own, complete with myths, adventurehooks and history, every npc the same. Even the gods themselves have storyhooks attached to them, both small and grand. The illustrations are from ok to good, the maps simple but outstandingly exciting. The Brecken Vale contains so much as to give players tons and tons of adventuring, and when the need arises there is always the great unknown to explore, just beyond the edge of the map. I cant wait to let my kids and their friends loose in the Varld!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Brecken Vale Gazetteer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Shawn S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2022 15:03:57

Exceeded my expectations! My 7 year old daughter LOVES the game - which isn't as surprising as the fact that all of us "ADULT" TTRP gamers sitting around the table LOVED it too! Rules light and imagination heavy! Simple and perfect = Simply Perfect! Worth far more than you'll pay for it, but I highly recommend you pick up the entire bundle (https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/115827/Hero-Kids--Complete-Fantasy-PDF-Bundle-BUNDLE?manufacturers_id=4846) because it also is worth far more than the modest price and can get you up and playing in no time. Thank you to Justin and his team at Hero Forge for adding enjoyment to our weekends!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Elvyler E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2022 18:59:15

Hero Kids is a really great way to introduce your children to the world of tabletop RPG's. The rules are easy for children to understand and the setting and scenarios are very kid-friendly. Here's my full review of Hero Kids: https://elvyler.com/2021/01/hero-kids-ttrpg-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2022 12:06:57

Absolutely fabulous for kids. My four year old loves it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Basement'O Rats - Map Pack
by Dario S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2022 15:40:56

Honestly the most amazing colored maps out there. They make the game so much more immersive and are 100% worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Basement'O Rats - Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Laura W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2022 08:47:48

My 5-year-old daughter loves this game! Super flexible and easy to get started, with entertaining stories.

We often play with 3 people (one parent DM, other parent plays a hero) but sometimes it is just the two of us, so I will DM and play a hero but leave all decisions up to her. She will happily play the Basement of Rats adventure over and over even though we purchased the additional adventures. But the repetition is great for learning as she gets used to how the game runs: we have been gradually adding in some of the game mechanics (like health/damage) that we left out initially. I have to keep things moving quickly so right now we do a simple dice roll for every action.

We use Lego people for the heroes (and NPCs when possible), and playing with them keeps her pretty busy while I am setting up the game. We also added in Lego treasure chests with things like magic wands and treasure. I also bought some inexpensive rainbow dice which she just thinks is amazing. At the end the innkeeper rewards the heroes with a treat which is usually a cookie - occasionally we remind her of this to keep her on task and finish the adventure, but usually she is so wrapped up in playing she forgets all about it.

I'm really excited to see how her play style changes because there is room for things to get more complex as she gets older.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2021 18:28:39

Hero Kids is great! I bought this a little while ago and finally sat down and played it with my almost 4 yo. He absolutley loved it. He loves playing with dice anyway and immediately wanted to create his own characters with their own powers, so it was great to have the extra empty stat blocks. He absolutely loved knocking down the paper standee rats on the map and was very worried about Roger. Afterward, he helped to heal the rats with his potions and made them promise to be good from now on and then they invited them back up to the tavern for a birthday party. This was simple and a great way to spend some quality time with my creative child. He actually stayed in his seat the whole time, too. Although, during most of it, he was jumping up and down.

Thank you for making this and we look forward to picking up more volumes. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for an entry level TTRPG for a younger audience. With a little instruction, it was easy enough for a 3 year old to understand and very simple to run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Sky
by Luc L. Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2021 23:07:01

Played in a couple of sessions of this so far and really enjoyed it. Pretty easy system to grasp and handles the tech level that it’s going for pretty well.

Good ability progression means that your characters improve session to session, but not with huge power leaps. More of a gradual skill upgrade, adding new skills as you go.

Would recommend for someone looking for something different in a skill based system, and the world itself felt a bit different from the usual post-apocalypse.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Sky
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Onyx Sky - Adventure - Salt City Dogs
by Thuyen N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2021 03:20:29

I've just run this for my group, and I'm jumping off from this intro story into a longer campaign. This is a good introduction campaign, really easy to get into with lots of easy to run bullet point encounters. My group like a bit more combat, so I added an extra combat encounter just as they reached the market town location (no spoilers). And it's free, so that's a bonus!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Sky - Adventure - Salt City Dogs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Onyx Sky (Free Version)
by Thuyen N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2021 03:20:03

I gave this free version of Onyx Sky to my players to help them create their characters and it has all of the game rules in it. It's not a quickstart, it has the whole system. It's a godsend. And FREE!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Sky (Free Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Onyx Sky
by Thuyen N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2021 03:19:42

We're two weeks in to our Onyx Sky campaign now, and really getting into the system and the world. We've just wrapped up the intro adventure Salt City Dogs, so I'm building on that to continue the campaign as the player's characters head out into the world.

I chose Onyx Sky because we wanted a more serious post-apocalypse game, and without zombies and the goofy mutant stuff that most PA games seem to lean on. I didn't have much of a chance to dig to much into the campaign guide in the book before we started, but luckily the starter adventure gives a good overview of the setting throughout the scenario.

The system is straightforward and easy to build and develop characters. And it's got enough meat for interesting combat and adventuring without getting in the way with too much fiddly maths and exceptions and little edge case rules. One thing though, we're almost at the point where the players characters have d16 attributes, so I've ordered a set of d16 dice from eBay, which hopefully arrive before we're able to play in person again. We're playing online now, so we're using a dice roller which supports custom dice.

A couple of the players have been using the pre-gens, and the others made their own characters, we really appreciated the pre-made characters.

And for $15, there's a lot of content for the money, but I really appreciated that this isn't one of those games with 50+ pages of lore to read before you can even get playing! Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Sky
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Minh N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2021 20:37:39

This was a true joy for our family tonight. I've never played a TTRPG before but always like the idea of it and thought it could be a good idea for my two boys aged 5 and 7. Sure enough they jumped right into it and loved the Basement O Rats adventure. I really loved seeing them use their imagination and teamwork to play through everything. I was able to host relatively well as a complete novice thanks to the rule book and prompts, though i should probablly setup a little earlier next time. Cutting out all the hero cards and monsters as we started was a bit much.

Highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Andrew O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2021 20:15:10

I finally got my hyper-competitive 7 yo twins playing, by teaching them separately. They love it!

I've just taken them down the Basement o' Rats a couple of times. And they object if I deviate from the previous script. I've bought the whole expansion kit now, and am looking choosing the next adventure.

I like the dice system, using an "advantage" style.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Jon m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2021 09:59:56

Great intro for kids into RPG. Easy to play this has all you need to run adventures. I do suggest getting some figures off ebay to add to the fun, or use lego figures like we did!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Wizard's Challenge - A Hero Kids Escape Adventure
by Mike B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2021 16:18:46

This is great!! First of all - - Hero Kids is AMAZING. It's SUCH a great system to introduce kids (ages around 8-14) to TTRPGs.

But, if you're here, I'm sure you know that already! As for this adventure here - - I love it! I've been playing through it with my daughter, and we're loving it. Exploration, puzzles, combat - - this has it all.

I fully plan to use this with my elementary students as well - - - the puzzles are PERFECT for encouraging collaboration and problem-solving!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wizard's Challenge - A Hero Kids Escape Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the nice review! I'm thrilled to hear you and your daughter are enjoying the adventure.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 244 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates