DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Demonplague
by Luc R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2018 20:10:40

Disclosure, I never made it past the first module. When running this campaign I felt a bit overwhelmed. Maybe its just because I'm a new DM but there were so many interesting NPCs, subplots, and encounters that I really didn't feel I did justice. If you are going to run this campaign I suggest you check out the podcast (I think there might be a youtube series) of this module being run. It will really help you understand how the characters and events interact with each other.

All in all, it is a great and very expansive campaign. As long as you don't get overwhelmed by how much is within this book you will have amazing sessions with your friends.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Demonplague
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Demonplague
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2018 11:19:33

I received both the hard and soft covers for this book, and the quality for the print product is excellent. The font is large enough for my aging eyes and the B&W graphics are excellent. Lots of combat maps to play on, plenty of charts to generate a sandboxish hexploration campaign make this book an excellent campaign to run.

Even the railroad and the megadungeon were of excellent quality, making them easy to read and to run. Having backed the kickstarter, I also received the digital assets, and these, being the same as the print product were excellent. The only thing I could ask for from this already peerless product are VTT icons in jpg or png format for the custom monsters, but that is it.

I cannot recommend the Demonplague enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Demonplague
by Cory G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2018 08:18:04

I just received my hot-of-the-presses copy of The Demonplague. It's awesome!

I've been boasting to all of my buddies about how cool it is and showing them how efficient Johnn's character/plot driven campaign planning approach is. It's something I'm trying to do with my current Rise of the Runelords campaign which is tricky because it's very linear. Having said that, it can be done and it really (really) makes the game so much more rich for everyone involved. More and more I'm spending less time planning and giving more agency to the players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Demonplague
by Ian G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2018 08:17:58

John and James totally deliver in this amazing hardcover. A timer that advances the plot behind the scenes, in-depth motivations for NPCs and BBGs, awesome artwork and a coherent theme really bring this adventure together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Demonplague
by Sarah K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2018 22:02:38

I don't know how to rate this, given that I've never rated anything here on DriveThru. The system is odd. Bad to Good on a scale of 1 to 5 . . . The Demonplague is pretty good, so without firm conviction I give it a 5? I'm currently running this for a group of 3 and you can follow our progress here: https://thebusybasilisk.wordpress.com/2018/11/29/lemons-and-lemonade-or-heroes-of-luna-valley-session-1/

One of the creators, James Intracuso, is running it on Twitch as well and it's going to YouTube on the Don't Split the Podcast channel.

It's “a clever mix of classic D&D adventure, sandbox, and hexcrawl in a post-apocalyptic setting you can easily drop into your world” to quote the Kickstarter, which I backed because Johnn Four. It opens in a town, which has a world-threatening story, several intown crises, a map and a bunch of NPCs with quests, secrets and problems. There's nothing not to like, really.

The adventure is cut into managable sections and the PC's are coaxed to go rescue goods and people from two locations and make friends, enemies and gather knowledge before heading out to the 3rd to confront a necromancer who experiments on the living for the greater good.

And that's just the first part of four.

Part 2 is a continuation, where choices and outcomes of part 1 affect the changing face of the valley the PC's live and adventure in. It's a 4 part (?) McGuffin hunt that takes you to some neat places.

So far so good . . . Part 3 is where the oddness starts. As written, it's an exploratory hexcrawl full of random tables and encounters. Every so often, you're instructed to runa a particular encounter and level your PCs. I will start using this portion as soon as I run out of cool random encounters from part 1.

Part 4 is a dungeon crawl to reach the BBEG. The dungeon is coolish, but not amazing. I'm hoping that between the beginning and the end I get enough awesomeness to include at the finale.

So why this instead of some other adventure? Education, maybe? The first 2 parts are pretty great world-building around the PCs. Part 3 is more randomness than I've ever used and looks like fun. And I'm just hoping that part 4 doesn't let me down. Combat and dungeon crawling will never be my favorite part of the game, so maybe I'm biased and you should ignore me. Cool people and places? That's my favorite part! Interaction with the world and its inhabitants. Here, Demonplague shines pretty brightly and that's why I'm running it.

If you're on the fence, do check out James' game, which is easily searchable on YouTube under Demonplague. That will tell you what you need to know:)

Another selling point for me is 5e (an easy system to run and play) and the brevity. Your PC's level rapdily and I expect to finish this well within a year, which, for a campaign, is pretty good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Demonplague
by Dean G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2018 20:00:24

A complete 1-20 level campaign. Plus side quests? Unbelievably well put together and a great book for any adventurer's collection!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Demonplague
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2018 13:47:02

A lot of work went into this product. You can tell that Johnn and James poured the maximum amount of effort to make a wonderful book. If you have any trouble you can always reach out to the creators themselves.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks Ian.
The Demonplague
by robert s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2018 12:21:35

It's a well thought out and fun adventure. Starts with back story and includes plenty of options for multiple scenarios. It includes detailed information on NPCs and plenty of options to use the NPC in many ways. It gives suggestion to be used in the D&D official compaigne as well as tips to use it in any custom world. Includes new monsters and fleshes out a new area including history of the people and how the events play out in relastion to the main antagonist. Me and my players are enjoying the rolepaly opportunities presented by the interactions with the different groups and NPCs. I enjoy that the plots can easily be played out over several sessions or one after another. I am enjoying the fact that you get enough information, details and suggestions to run it as is or to actually use as a starter for a campagne/group with a long term antagonist. I recomend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the great review Robert.
The Demonplague
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2018 11:33:15

Great adventure and setting. If you need more convincing check out the live play podcast over at dont split the podcast!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review Sean.
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by Rob B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2017 14:12:32

an awesome resource for city style gaming. Lotsof great ideas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by CHRIS C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2016 21:40:33

This product is a wealth of inspiration! The arrangement and the details make it valuable information that I will turn to again and again. I'm a first time DM and this product is perfect for starting a campaign. It offers the chance for PC interactions and cooperation under the circumstances in the chosen plot hook. I think the random generator for the hooks is an excellent idea. I like that the hooks are collected by submissions, making a rich variety of ideas. I highly recommend this product to new gamers especially but to experienced gamers as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM Mastery: NPC Essentials
by scott a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2016 13:35:00

NPC Essentials is a great addition to any GM's library! It would also work great for anyone writing a book and needs help fleshing out their characters. If you struggle with making your characters come alive, this book will help you give the characters the backgrounds, traits, flaws and secrets they need to help you roleplay them as fully fleshed characters. It can also help your players flesh out their characters :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM Mastery: NPC Essentials
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Roadside Encounter Ideas
by Troy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2016 21:30:14

I've been running a solo campaign using Mythic, and this set of 200 encounters came in real handy generating a response to "does something odd happen during today's travels?"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Roadside Encounter Ideas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by William S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2016 16:09:35

Not too bad if you can get past the hideous layout. Lots of decent, if slightly boring city encounters. These of course will be improved by a DM who tailors them to thier own settings and campaigns.

Because of the layout and the work needed to use this material I give it 3 out of 5 stars. The price is right.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2015 12:54:53

This is absolutely brilliant. Too marks. I am running 4 campaigns at the moment, Dark Sun 4e, two 5e Eberron and Dark Ages Runequest. I randomly pick 4 or 5 of the hooks from this each week and I find I am set up for time being, sometimes I don't have to do much more than drop in a few names and the players do the rest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 82 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates