DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Dave S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2022 15:42:17

The rating is both for content and the POD product:

The content is concise and generic - which is exactly what I was looking for. Surprisingly, I found that even though I used many of these basic, common-sense soloing procedures before purchasing the book, the formalized sheets and processes were a helpful jumping-off point for me to create more specific tables for my various game systems.

The POD copy was my second physical purchase from DriveThruRPG. It was a soft copy, and is comparable to what I would puchase from my local game store. I also, previously purchased the Ironsworn harback POD. I believe they were both processed by the same company? Both products were professionally done, and took only a few weeks to arrive on my doorstep.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Role Playing
by Troy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2022 13:00:41

Lots of cool ideas in this book. It's worth reading and works well at the table - though I have developed a far simpler version of it for my own use. My problem is the "pinup" style illustrations. Lots of large-breasted women in impractical clothing and no off-setting men or anything to make it a "style." It's just kind of gross and inappropriate. I would never want someone next to me in a waiting room or on a bus looking over and seeing some of the art. It's time to either take it out or commission something more tasteful, IMO.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Troy. Thanks for your review, and I agree with you about the art. It's taken me awhile to update the book, but a revised version has been posted as of June 5, 2022, with mostly new artwork. There are some minor text changes as well, although no rules or mechanics of the game have been changed. For those who have purchased Mythic, you should be able to find the 2022 revised file in your Library already.
Mythic Magazine Compilation 1
by Daniel D. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2022 03:46:34

The content is excellent, but the packaging was lacking. I ordered the hardcover book and payed the extra cash to get the premium experience. Sadly all corners of the book were severely damaged on the way to Germany due to a flimsy tight fit cardboard wrapping instead of a more soft / protective bubble wrap inside. I won't return it from Germany back to the UK, but unless they change the wrapping of ordered books, I will stick with digital only. What a shame - I love good prints and a nice hardcover book.Just to emphasize this: The content of this Compendium is truly excellent!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Magazine Compilation 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator
by oliver o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2022 13:53:26

Super simple to use and helpful to make an adventure on the spot. The Fate Chart is extremely useful and the heart of this booklet. Only the tables for the Event Meaning are a bit "mythic" (which might as well be intended). I prsonally would like them to be a bit different, so I jut modifyed it myself. Great product, 100% recommendation



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Location Crafter
by Shane F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2022 14:02:15

An interesting concept but one that I haven't really found helpful. I've tried it a couple of times and decided it doesn't add much to the solo experience.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Location Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Adventure Crafter
by Shane F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2022 13:59:30

This is another one of the solo tools that I would say is a "must read". At first I used this a lot but as time has gone by I liked it less. The danger is that the play can feel "railroaded" and each scene is created arbitarily. Also, I dislike being told that one of my PCs has betrayed someone or acted on a dice roll. I play the PCs and the system should react to them, not take control of the puppet strings. I now use it solely for generating ideas and it is excellent for the task. I particularly like the way that NPCs can be organisations, or objects. A useful tool without being a core item.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Adventure Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Magazine Compilation 1
by Keith D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2022 05:49:25

Just received the hardback book and it's realy nice. I'd put off buying the individual pdfs waiting for a book and it was worth the wait. The price put me off for maybe a minute but holding it my hands I'd say don't cut corners on the next volume and I'll be jumping to get my hands on it. If there was a compilation of GME, Variations, and crafters I'd have that too.

For someone whose eyesight suffers, the print font, size, and white background are a godsend, I can read this easily in leven ow light where I really struggle with other publisher's overdesigned, overly glossy books.

So far I've only skimmed the book but i can tell the content is actually full of content and no filler. I'll be reading and rereading this for years.

And finally, there's some beautiful, atmospheric artwork in it. I'm a sucker for the lone, almost a silhouette, figure against a powerful background of the elements, great magic, huge landscape sort of thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Magazine Compilation 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Adventure Crafter Deck
by Valdus C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2022 12:07:47

I almost did away with solo rping all together with the adventure crafter, it is easily the closest thing I have ever ever seen to write with dice- a divine fusion of writing and role-playing. It is a glorious glorious thing, especially for the writer and plotter at heart.

So why did it lose a star? I think this deck should have been LARGER! So much information is packed into these teeny tiny cards, that my OSR eyes can barely make out what it says!

Other than that, it is genius given to us for mere baubles!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Adventure Crafter Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Wow, thank you for the kind words! I understand about the small type, I had quite the time fitting all of that information onto playing cards. I had wanted to go full tarot size, but that about doubled the cost so I decided against it. Still, perhaps a tarot size option wouldn't be such a bad idea.
Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Shawn M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2021 23:16:14

The Mythic Gamemaster Emulator is a unique product: a tool that enables cooperative GM-less roleplaying experiences, a system for playing an roleplaying game by yourself, and it even works as a low-prep method of GMing a traditional game.

The revised artwork in the late 2021 update is a most welcome change. Easily the most negative thing I've read in reviews of this product has been about the previous editions crude and off-putting artwork and now that's gone - replaced with gorgeous imagery.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator Deck
by Lisa A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2021 09:09:06

Excellent product quality on the printed set. There were some issues with the pdf download formatting, but the creator fixed that issue.

As far as using the deck with all the interrupt, altered scenes, chaos factor and learning to ask the right questions, just dive in. I cannot suggest anything else. Yes, you might spend all day trying to get that first encounter, figure out how to set it up and then actually fight or talk your way through it. I cannot help on the details because I've used the deck with three different systems to test it out.

Needless to say, a lot of the mechanics land on the system you are using. I can only suggest you have methods of generating simple encounters for the "level" of the character(s) you are soloing. I've worked it with AD&D 1st, BRP, Hero and a bit with Adventure Awaits (which is virtually a hack 'n' slash itself).

So, get it, try it. If need be try it several times until it starts clicking.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Adventure Crafter Deck
by Nicolette W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2021 01:36:28

This seems super cool, but is genuinely unusable unless you also own and have read/understood the book. Full disclosure: I bought the book at some point as well but it seemed way complex, and I've used and enjoyed the Mythic GME deck, so I thought this would be similarly easy to use, but I guess I'll have to go read the full book. The manual for these cards explains well the set-up of the cards and how to use them to generate the plot points and turning points or whatever, but completely fails to elaborate on what a turning point is or how the crafter is really supposed to work. I think the manual should either be expanded to make the cards truly stand alone, or they should more clearly show that you need to also own and use the adventure crafter book in order to use them. If either of these things happen I'll glady add more stars to my review.

Edited: Just read the description and it looks like it does say now that it requires the book, not sure if I missed that when I bought these or if it didn't say that yet. Rating 5 stars but in my heart it's 4-4.5 because I really really wish the Adventure Crafter manual would include all the information so I wouldn't have to flip back and forth. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Adventure Crafter Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Nicolette, thank you for the review. I can understand your frustrations with how the rules are spread out. Yes, you do need The Adventure Crafter book to make use of the Deck. Please note that there is a bundle available so you can get the deck with the pdf version of the book for free. The bundles can be found at the bottom of the product listing.
Mythic Game Master Emulator
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2021 06:58:11

This is a unique solo RPG set of mechanics applicable to any genre. Where I found it a bit hard to comprehend personally I see it as a big step forward in solo roleplaying or even group play as it takes out the need for a GM, handling the grunt work itself. You still need to be creative to make it fun, but that is not a big deal. Basically a vastly expanded set of rules similar to a "Choose Your Own Adventure" from those classic books.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Georgios A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2021 02:54:25

I got this because I really enjoy playing RPGs solo, and I wasn't dissapointed.

I enjoyed the oracle, with integrated random events, though for me what really stood out was not the oracle, but the Scenes mechanic. This is what sits at the heart of Mythic and gets an adventure going. I revolved my game around this, and then let Mythic take over.

A neat book, dense with information. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Magazine Volume 6
by Dominic M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2021 11:55:31

I'm really impressed by the ongoing development of the Mythic system for us solo RPG'ers! Great to see consistently high quality support, and some fresh new ideas to try out. In this issue, the Mythic Mysteries framework is a great way to make crime investigation scenarios work better than they would in the regular Mythic rules, with a more logical structure provided to ensure your mystery makes sense. The timing is ideal for my current campaign so I was really happy to see this article and the resources provided and I'm going to build it in right away. Excellent work, long may the magazine continue!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Magazine Volume 6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Craig T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2021 20:25:03

Ok so I am long time GM for a number of different systems, dating back to AD&D. It took a little while for me to pick up Mythinc and give it a red hot go with solo play. Currently running a game of The One Ring for myself with 2 main charatcers and Mythic really has given me plenty of twists to existing story lines from some of pre-written adventures I had purchased. It's taken a little while to get going but with a quiet room and my dice, I can tell a story and have a bit of fun with my RPGs sitting on my shelf! Thank you for putting this quality product together!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 126 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates