DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Billy Boy #1
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 21:37:23

Great illustrative style and much enjoyed the weirdo storyline! Thanks to the artist



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Billy Boy #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Retrowood: The Daisy Chain
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2014 03:35:11

A good noirish-styled, done in one, detective story. The art is good, the story moves along well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Retrowood: The Daisy Chain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Retrowood: H.I. Or L.O. #1
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2014 03:34:34

A good noirish-styled detective story. The art is good, the story moves along despite a bit of repetition at the beginning.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Retrowood: H.I. Or L.O. #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Retrowood: All Roads Lead to Rome #1
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2014 03:34:01

A good noirish-styled detective story. The art is good, the story moves along briskly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Retrowood: All Roads Lead to Rome #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Retrowood: The Daisy Chain
by Douglas C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2013 13:18:07

I loved this period potboiler. Although it's clearly cut from a well worn and well known cloth, Mike Vosberg has proven himself as much a writer as artist. I've also recently seen his "celtic witch" work and I'm impressed by what independent publishing has done for his creativity and originality. The details in Retrowood are spot-on and the layers to the plot are perfect.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Retrowood: The Daisy Chain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Farmhouse #1
by Colin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2012 18:42:15

The premise sounding intriguing, so I gamely followed the murky, occasionally-hard-to-follow art through the funeral and homecoming visits until the main character's visit with an old girlfriend. Her first line after greetings is, "Can you believe it's been eighteen years since you took my cherry?" I assume that's plausible dialogue for someone, somewhere, but it yanked me right out of the story. The rest of the scene isn't as bad as that, but by the next scene I gave up and just skimmed the rest.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Farmhouse #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Asylum Press Sampler FCBD 2012
by Bruce T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2012 14:12:40

Trenchcoats, Cigarettes, & Shotguns: Artwork amateurish like done by a grade-schooler with moderate skill. Story seems like someone tried to mix pulps of the 30's with the fantasy craze of the 80's and failed in a big way. The characters lack substance; there is a mere superficial depiction of who the characters are. The story lived up the title of the download; it was a sample of story and character with little depth.

Farmhouse: The art was better than TC&S, but still not very good. Each panel seemed be 2-dimensional and have little depth, even the scene when the interior of the farmhouse is first seen. The story was vaguely interesting and adequately-written. I honestly did not really care about the characters, except for a flicker of interest in Helen. Nice job on the mystery angle with her.

Chopper: The cover was quite good and probably the best part of the whole sampler. The artwork was standard comic-book, which makes the artwork on this story the best in the sampler. The story was interesting. The characterization was average, again making it the best in the sampler.

Black Powder: Sub-par artwork combined with joining the story at Chapter 2 instead of Chapter 1 loses this story points. I was left wondering what was really going on. Why is a pirate in a western story? What did the guy do to the pirate during Chapter 1 to merit the punishment the story began with? Even though references were made to the events that (supposedly) occurred in Chapter 1, there was not enough too understand why the events depicted were happening. This should have not been included or should have been the first chapter of the story.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Asylum Press Sampler FCBD 2012
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trenchcoats, Cigarettes And Shotguns #1
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/06/2012 11:33:15

I ask myself, just based on this title alone, what is there not to like? Nothing, I like trench coats, cigarettes and shotguns, so how on Earth could this book not entertain me? The artwork by Neudorf is great, and it was all summed up at the very end in a GORE-Geous decapitation scene. Of course I am going to point that out, why wouldn’t I. What I liked most about this art style was that it all seemed to be done on wood, using paint. I really enjoyed his technique. There were some panels where I found things to be a little to jumbled, but if you stare at it, you can figure it out just fine.

The story by Brown is really interesting. There seems to be an influential mix of Hellblazer, the Darkness and (insert a detective comic here) in the concept behind this book. The mix plays out very well as the issue goes on and you can consider me intrigued to be on board for more. There were some scenes though, where I thought that the pacing was a little off. Overall this was a great first issue. There was plenty of story build with some great intense action. I plan on being on board for this whole run, and you should be too. This was a great start.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trenchcoats, Cigarettes And Shotguns #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fearless Dawn: Belly of the Beast (Special Edition) #1
by John G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/06/2012 07:26:04

There is a place for Fearless Dawn in your collection. Creator Steve Mannion resurrects all the best elements of the early EC comics . . . the good-girl art, the clever humor, the frenetic panels, and the gruesome creatures. He blends in some modern-day sensibilities (reminiscent of Mike Allred's work) and creates something that will hold up for years to come.

The story is a bit madcap, which matches the art nicely. This book will give you some engaging and fun reading.

It's hard to know exactly when this takes place, but the settings and characters suggest a range in 1935-1945. The writer places us "16 years later" to start the story, staying in that time period throughout. We see Nazis. We see goons hyped up on a super-soldier Combat Drug. And the battleground is that hot spot known as Manitoba.

The book is a lot of fun. I am excited to keep reading this story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fearless Dawn: Belly of the Beast (Special Edition) #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates