DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ballers: Folio Edition for ZWEIHÄNDER #GrimAndPerilous
by Raymond W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2018 19:24:00

When I first saw the Blitzballer profession in Main Gauche I knew it was something I wanted to play. When I then somehow rolled it by sheer random luck of the dice I realized it was awesome but the talents painted a picture of a more well-rounded player even though you only picked a single position. That same day Ballers: Folio was released and after looking at it with my usual high scrutiny I knew out of all the G&P Library supplements that this was one I needed to immediately implement as standard in all of my games.

This supplement fleshes out the Blitzballer profession in a way that alters 6 of their 20 advancements based on the position you choose for your character to play. It also introduces the rookie alternative which hybridizes blitzballer with a 2nd profession to show that your character became a Blitzballer but is still a lucky rookie with a luck based professional trait instead of a more focused one. The rules to hybridize the rookie with another profession are fully detailed and can be used in many other situations in which a character of the basic tier has storyline reason to shift from any one profession to another before completing the first. It only applies to basic tier so it keeps it only relevant during the point in which a player has little choice of their character (if you go full random). This system can be used entirely for the rookie style of Blitzballer with little to no effort if you would rather not implement it as standard for all professions.

Finally, it also created a new academic basic profession and several new Expert Professions to advance your Blitzballer into other positions or improve their already existing strengths.

This supplement is a steal for only 2 dollars and the fact that the dev reached out to me to let me know he’s willing to talk with any fans and listen to feedback tells me he is dedicated to making good products. This is only part 1 of Ballers and I look forward to seeing how the rest turns out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ballers: Folio Edition for ZWEIHÄNDER #GrimAndPerilous
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ballers: Folio Edition for ZWEIHÄNDER #GrimAndPerilous
by Ashley H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2018 15:28:15

I love PROFESSION TRANSFER and if one of my players wanted it I would implement it without hesitation. the rest of your work is all good setting stuff



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Folio - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Taylre G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 22:31:26

"Form Fillable" PDfs are locked and unable to be filled. Concerns have been raised in the discussions, nothing has been done about. Still advertised as form fillable.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Character Folio - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Road: Folio Edition for ZWEIHÄNDER #GrimAndPerilous
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2018 09:01:56

This is certaily an intriguing start for the supplement. I liked the golems as a mysterious enemy, the scattered signs of their former influence are really atmospheric. There is a good number of different regions the characters can hail from. And I definitely want to learn more about the Javians.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Black Road: Folio Edition for ZWEIHÄNDER #GrimAndPerilous
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER - Vorpal Mace Landscape Character Sheet #GrimAndPerilous
by Trentin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2018 02:18:07

Super clear, nice layout, easy to read - easy to use! Easy on your printer! Nicely done character sheet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER - Vorpal Mace Landscape Character Sheet #GrimAndPerilous
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Art Pack (Professions A-Z) #GrimAndPerilous
by Craig T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2018 06:25:53

Really well drawn sketches useful for a character portrait or blog work all wrapped up in one ZIP file. Each character sketch is a single archetype for a profession in general bordered by a pencil drawn frame saved as a JPG format file. There is one single street scene included. Most of the costumes are Medieval (late 1500s) in nature, although some would be more applicable to the periods up to the 1800s. As such they won't in general appeal to someone looking for artwork for a high fantasy, although, there are a few sketches that could be used in these settings.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Art Pack (Professions A-Z) #GrimAndPerilous
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Early Access
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2018 12:03:14

War Hammer FRG with a twist and a d100 system. Solid work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Early Access
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2018 07:17:25

The included sample setting, or "campaign seed" as it's called, is clearly a riff on 40k. But criticizing a sci-fi supplement for a Warhammer Fantasy heartbreaker for being too much like the sci-fi version of Warhammer Fantasy is missing the point. And besides, the included setting is just a sample. Just like Zweihander itself, you use this information to make your own world.

The bulk of the material is weapons and armor and other gear like cybernetics. There are included rules for things like automatic weapons and corruption gained form cybernetic implants. Some of the terminilogy was cumbersome, like weapon modes of Semi, Semi-Auto, Full-Auto should have been Semi-Auto, Burst, Full-Auto to keep them more in line with not only the real world but with the terminology you'll find in other games, but that might be bordering on the pedantic. There are a few pages of examples of turning existing Zweihander professions into their Dark Astral equivalents, but I would have liked to see a few more (though they covered most of the 40k equivalents). There is some black and white sketch art throughout the book that evokes that 40k/grimdark feel quite well. There are a handful of typos, but nothing that prohibits comprehension. I'd love to see it expanded to a full product, but what we have here is enough for any GM who's already comfortable with running a Zweihander campaign to run a grimdark sci-fi campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by Anthony D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2018 09:16:33

You can find my full review on Sticky Bunton by following this link.

But for TL;DR:

If you are a fan of Warhammer or related Grimdark adventures, then you absolutely cannot go wrong with this game. It's one part OSR, one part 21st Century update to a classic genre, and overall an excellent addition to a gamer's collection.

The game is a bit daunting for new or unprepared GMs, though, and as an OSR retroclone, it possesses a number of the problems of that era of gaming.

Overall, it's a good game with solid support, new products to expand on it, and really scratches that itch for a good grimdark game. Pick it up if you're a fan, dedicated to the genre, or a GM that loves the resources this provides, but sidestep it if you aren't a fan of grimdark or rules-heavy games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Ron S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2018 07:21:19

As somebody mentioned in another one of the Reviews this particular book is more or less ripped straight from the bowels of the Warhammer 40k franchise. It's a bit embarassing. There's certianly a niche and a desire for games such as this one but with the 4th edition of the warhammer fantasy game coming out soon I was really hoping that you folks would step up your game and create something all your own and unique. You've only changed the setting of choice and instead of renaming/copying the Warhammer Fantsay trappings you've done it again with Warhammer 40k. Not impressed by this product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by W C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2018 09:31:05

700 pages of tremendous work. This book is a labor of love and it really shows. Also great value for money, particularly if you pick it up during one of their frequent sales. This is a much better version of Warhammer Fantasy that the ones put out by Fantasy Flight games, and very compatible to adventure modules made for Warhammer Fantasy versions 1 and 2. If you like Warhammer or any other kind of gritty fantasy, just get this, you won't be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Todd E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2018 20:09:01

So much potential. It's got a Heavy Metal/2000AD/Dune/Rogue Trader vibe that really makes me want to read more. The spice must flow! Instead though, it's 6 pages of very cool background/character archtypes and the rest is weapon and gear descriptions. No joke. I'm looking forward to the full release, if it happens. I hope it does.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by Richard V. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2018 09:43:34

I've had so much fun reading through this book, and the creative ideas are flowing. Now to just convince my players that it's not scary and to no be afrade of the 700 pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Cameron G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 12:00:09

This feels a lot like it wants to be Dark Heresy, and I love Dark Heresy, but it feels more related to that than it does to Zwëihander, I know Zwëihander is, at the end of the day, a Spiritual Successor to WHFBRPG, but I'd prefer something a bit more Dune and a bit less 40k-but-not-GW.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Guy R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 08:27:26

It isn't that this is bad - but it does feel a tiny bit "lacking", in the sense that beyond the general aesthetic I couldn't really make much of the setting or any new rules intended to be in it (Vehicle rules? Space combat? Enviromental hazards found in space? Hacking?). The equipment list is neat to have (I suppose it's the first thing many people would look for in a new science fiction game...), but there, too, it just didn't feel like there was enough "content" to judge. At the end of the day, the only criticisms I can give about this are pieces of equipment I'd have liked to see and didn't (off the top of my head: Terminator armor, guided weapons/missiles, more heavy weapons in general, maybe a vehicle?), but that by itself, I think, could be taken as some. The art is really good though, and it's nice that you've managed to find something that's evocative of Warhammer 40K while still feeling distinctive on its own. I'd definitely be interested in a fuller, more complete book.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 53 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates