DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
LONE: A Gamemaster and Solo Roleplay Toolkit for Zweihander RPG
by Adrian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2022 09:06:31

I just started a Zweihander solo campaign and I picked up this supplement. I'm loving it. Easy to use. The tables are great because they really get the creative juices going. I also love the fact that the creator has taken all the monsters from the massive bestairy and created seperate tables based on how challenging the monster is. Plus the page humbers for each monster is referenced in the chart. The NPC tables really flesh out your characters, giving them names, professions, descriptions and motivations. It even has tables that help you roll up a dungeon, wilderness or village location. Highly recommended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LONE: A Gamemaster and Solo Roleplay Toolkit for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hunters Moon: Grim and Perilous Jump-Start
by Darren B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2022 19:29:57

It was short and to the point. I nearly peed myself reading it.

Plenty of things you can add to this adventure to flesh it out if the captives escape.

Great antagonists.

Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunters Moon: Grim and Perilous Jump-Start
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cities Stories: The Feast - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
by Sebastián G. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2022 20:41:31

I ran this adventure once and was really fun. What I like the most is that gives you a solid central frame to work (the main plot), but leaves the fringes of the story open and kind of vague, which makes it a good fit for Game Masters that enjoy to tinker on published stories or want some open space to improvise events adjacent to the plot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cities Stories: The Feast - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forever Winter - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2022 02:21:52

The core concept is interesting, but the scenarios are linear in the extreme, dull, and lack the 'grim and perilous' nature of Zweihander. There is only one map for one of the scenaros, a rather simple and poor piece of work depicting five areas/rooms. This is odd, IMO, given the deadly nature of the game system. All in all, not worth $10.

The publisher has chosen to attack my review, which I had editted to be fair to the product. I have been using this site, and posting reviews, for nearly 20 years; I have posted countless five star reviews where deserved, and only posted reviews after a careful examination of the product. This product is third rate, sloppy, and unfocused; the quality of writing is as immature as the publisher's reaction to criticism.

It also has, despite the publishers claim, only two other written reviews, plus a number of anonymous five-star rewards. I expect there will be a sudden surge in anonymous five-star awards here very soon.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Forever Winter - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
There is an associated map uploaded as a digital file for "A Witch's Desire."
I typically wouldn't respond to a review like this. However, this person's history is to give as many 2-star reviews as they can. First, they comment on lack of maps, but when corrected they change their review to how the map was poor. Then, "the lack of 'grim and perilous' comment makes me think they have not really read much of this book. Fat of the Lamb may be the most grim and perilous adventure every conceived. I am usually very willing to accept criticism, and there are some linear adventures here, but not all certainly. But this product has 7 5-star ratings and then it has this one. .
Customer decided to change the review from 2 to 1. Nice. You can see I clearly say "ratings", not reviews. Continue on doing your good works.
* Sigh * JD S. continues to edit their review over and over when corrected. This one is still incorrect, however, as I never commented about reviews at all. Anyway, this title has been in the top 5 of G&P Library for 3 years, has (at the time of this response) 7 5-star ratings, and has had many happy customers. I suggest asking around on the Zweihander Discord as there are many people who have used it in their campaigns. As I mentioned, I almost certainly would not usually respond. But this person is known to leave poor reviews on a wide range of products when it does not appear they even read them, at least not fully. I expect that may change their review again after this post, but this will be my last comment. Happy gaming.
Art Pack: Flames of Freedom (Flames of Freedom Library)
by Jay H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2022 20:11:19

This art pack contains all the art for FoF. It is an incredibly handy resource.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Art Pack: Flames of Freedom (Flames of Freedom Library)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dust - Campaign for Zweihander RPG
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2021 21:45:28

Reads like someone's summary of their homebrew campaign, with plenty of white space to fluff up the already low page count. The firearms section takes up a great deal of space, and seems to have been written by someone who has never handled an asctual firearm. No new professions or creatures; some new creature traits. No actually setting, just some ideas for createing a setting.

Overall, largely useless.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Dust - Campaign for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Plague, Famine & War - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2021 21:38:02

A bland, predictable plot, B&W maps of fair quality, and a new type of mutants whose members are virtually identical insofar as combat stats. And despiute the pdf being rendered printer-unfriendly by repeated pointless clip art and decorated margins, no image of the new creatures are provided.

All in all, a medicore product at best.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Plague, Famine & War - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Grim & Perilous Book of Monsters - Monsters for Zweihander RPG
by Ari W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2021 11:49:31

This is not only great, but absolutely necessary. Zweihander is an amazing RPG but it's missing a managerie of monsters/NPCs to fight and this book helps build that out. The only problem? There aren't more. Here's to hoping there's more focus on cool monsters/NPCs in the future! Great job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grim & Perilous Book of Monsters - Monsters for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Leather, Steel, Blade & Bone - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2021 04:23:54

Awful, clumsy name.

But for $9.99 it is a good value for a pack of interesting optional rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leather, Steel, Blade & Bone - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Entreat The Darkness - TTRPG Safety Tool For Zweihander RPG
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2021 19:48:55

As a GM, I tend to throw all kinds of monsters and such at my players - even those with phobias. I look forward to using this tool to give my players a voice in what terrible things cross their own personal boundries and how to handle this in an inclusive way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Entreat The Darkness - TTRPG Safety Tool For Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER: Concise Rules Reference - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
by Anthony D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2021 05:18:39

It is a good attempt at condensing the rulebook, particularly those relevant parts in the GM section. However, it lacks the combat actions and conditions so has minimal value to share with players. A shame.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER: Concise Rules Reference - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Doom Within Candlehome
by Lilith G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2021 12:54:04

Perfect adventure for new players who need an introduction to the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Doom Within Candlehome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Old Road - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2021 04:47:47

Last week, I soloed my way through The Old Road – Adventure for Zweihander RPG. The RPG system I used was Legend Core from Mongoose ($1 at DriveThruRPG – 242 pages). I used the Solo Adventurer’s Toolbox as the solo engine. – My six characters were escorting a caravan. It was a relaxing start with interesting people to talk to and beautiful scenery to look at. During this time they found rare mushrooms and a plain gold wedding band. But things got serious when the Cult of the Mind’s Eye attacked. My group was able to kill four acolytes and a cultist priest. However, Jon was captured and taken away. The adventuring party took the time to heal each other, and then they started to follow this new trail. They avoided the one trap and found the grotto. Here, they were able to kill four more cultists and their leader. This time a trap was triggered, but the effect was cancelled by a successful saving throw. They cast more healing spells, explored the rest of the grotto, and found a ruby ring with a strange seal. All six characters survived and the quest was completed. - - I need to point out that this Legend rulebook does not include any monsters. So, I took out the “monsters” in the module, replaced them with cultists, and changed the “theme” of the “dungeon”. - -Try out this fun adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Old Road - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Six Shooter: Grim & Perilous Adventures in the Old West - Chapbook for Zweihander RPG
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2021 00:25:13

While Zweihander material is usually high quality, this chapbook is phoned in.

The author(s) research is terrible; for just one glareing example, for a work set in 1876 the book focuses heavily on flintlocks, which had been out of mainstream use for 40+ years, ignores percussion systems entirely, lists several rare or non-existant weapons (the 20-year-old Volcanic arms system, of which only 2000 were made, for example), and then, for the golden era of the fixed-cartridge revolver, gives the player a single generic 'revolver' entry.

The entire period setting material is of like quality: superficial at best, factually wrong at worst. The famous Zweihander focus on historical tone is glaringly absent from this work.

It reads like someone's homebrew conversion notes, and feels like Red Death Redemption was used as the sole research material.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Six Shooter: Grim & Perilous Adventures in the Old West - Chapbook for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi JD, I'm sorry to hear that this was your experience with Six Shooter! I do admit in the author's note that I am not a scholar of the American West, and being a role-playing game sourcebook I tended to focus on fun over historicity. That being said, I'd like to address some of your concerns both for your sake and that of other potential purchasers! - The campaign hook is set in 1876, but the work as a whole is meant to cover the "Old West" more broadly. Given that, I chose to put enough focus on flintlocks that groups who prefer an earlier chronological setting wouldn't lose out. From the section on flintlocks: "Flintlock weapons are the most anachronistic firearms in common use. Though still produced and respected, they are quickly being outpaced by more modern designs". - As to rare and non-existent weapons, this is where the fun over historicity point comes in, and I felt that these would be entertaining options for players who want to go outside of a purely historical setting. I will concede that revolvers are not covered in as much depth as a historian might like. I did take a more reductionist approach, simply differentiating by number of chambers in the cylinder, and I will take your comments into consideration if I revisit this period in the future! - In terms of the period setting material, I erred on the side of brevity and stuck to the condensed format of core Zweihander campaign hooks. This is, of course, not enough space for a detailed account of the American Reconstruction period, and while I did my best to highlight key elements, I apologize if the depth you were looking for was not there. I appreciate the feedback and hope your future experiences with Zweihander are more positive.
ZWEIHÄNDER: Concise Rules Reference - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2021 09:49:27

As advirtised. My only complaint would be that a print-friendly version would be nice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER: Concise Rules Reference - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 74 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates