DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by Anthony D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2018 09:16:33

You can find my full review on Sticky Bunton by following this link.

But for TL;DR:

If you are a fan of Warhammer or related Grimdark adventures, then you absolutely cannot go wrong with this game. It's one part OSR, one part 21st Century update to a classic genre, and overall an excellent addition to a gamer's collection.

The game is a bit daunting for new or unprepared GMs, though, and as an OSR retroclone, it possesses a number of the problems of that era of gaming.

Overall, it's a good game with solid support, new products to expand on it, and really scratches that itch for a good grimdark game. Pick it up if you're a fan, dedicated to the genre, or a GM that loves the resources this provides, but sidestep it if you aren't a fan of grimdark or rules-heavy games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Ron S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2018 07:21:19

As somebody mentioned in another one of the Reviews this particular book is more or less ripped straight from the bowels of the Warhammer 40k franchise. It's a bit embarassing. There's certianly a niche and a desire for games such as this one but with the 4th edition of the warhammer fantasy game coming out soon I was really hoping that you folks would step up your game and create something all your own and unique. You've only changed the setting of choice and instead of renaming/copying the Warhammer Fantsay trappings you've done it again with Warhammer 40k. Not impressed by this product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by W C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2018 09:31:05

700 pages of tremendous work. This book is a labor of love and it really shows. Also great value for money, particularly if you pick it up during one of their frequent sales. This is a much better version of Warhammer Fantasy that the ones put out by Fantasy Flight games, and very compatible to adventure modules made for Warhammer Fantasy versions 1 and 2. If you like Warhammer or any other kind of gritty fantasy, just get this, you won't be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Todd E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2018 20:09:01

So much potential. It's got a Heavy Metal/2000AD/Dune/Rogue Trader vibe that really makes me want to read more. The spice must flow! Instead though, it's 6 pages of very cool background/character archtypes and the rest is weapon and gear descriptions. No joke. I'm looking forward to the full release, if it happens. I hope it does.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by Richard V. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2018 09:43:34

I've had so much fun reading through this book, and the creative ideas are flowing. Now to just convince my players that it's not scary and to no be afrade of the 700 pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Cameron G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 12:00:09

This feels a lot like it wants to be Dark Heresy, and I love Dark Heresy, but it feels more related to that than it does to Zwëihander, I know Zwëihander is, at the end of the day, a Spiritual Successor to WHFBRPG, but I'd prefer something a bit more Dune and a bit less 40k-but-not-GW.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Guy R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 08:27:26

It isn't that this is bad - but it does feel a tiny bit "lacking", in the sense that beyond the general aesthetic I couldn't really make much of the setting or any new rules intended to be in it (Vehicle rules? Space combat? Enviromental hazards found in space? Hacking?). The equipment list is neat to have (I suppose it's the first thing many people would look for in a new science fiction game...), but there, too, it just didn't feel like there was enough "content" to judge. At the end of the day, the only criticisms I can give about this are pieces of equipment I'd have liked to see and didn't (off the top of my head: Terminator armor, guided weapons/missiles, more heavy weapons in general, maybe a vehicle?), but that by itself, I think, could be taken as some. The art is really good though, and it's nice that you've managed to find something that's evocative of Warhammer 40K while still feeling distinctive on its own. I'd definitely be interested in a fuller, more complete book.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Witchhunter's Stat Hat - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by adam r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2018 09:22:08

A hilarious April Fools joke that ended up being an actual product! It is both fashionable and functional.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Witchhunter's Stat Hat - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Cards - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Luc B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2018 13:09:52

These cards are not very useful. They require to look up in the Zweihänder core book for more information on traits associated with the monster. Why bother with buying cards if anyway you have to look in the manual for a definition of the keywords on the cards? Might as well print the monster page in the Zweihänder book.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Cards - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by Martin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2018 05:54:27

I haven't actually played this yet, but I can say that.... It looks great, it's well written and it's full of great ideas for really grim and perilous gaming. I particularly enjoyed the bestiary, which features original takes on a wide range of traditional fantasty creatures, which I'm sure will make it across to all kinds of games I'll run in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GM Screen - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Jacob W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2018 10:58:26

I like having information on the fly if needed while playing. This screen can help anyone new to running Zweihander as well as veteran players. The art on the front of the screen is fantastic as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM Screen - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Cards - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Jacob W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2018 10:55:05

Beautiful card, nice quality of print and art. Great for seeing info on the fly while running a game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Cards - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by Jeramy T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2018 08:48:20

Okay, I just purchased this game last night on PDF after playing WHFR 2E with some friends. I have been playing RPGs for a long time and not really played WHFR until last night and loved it, so when snooping online, I saw this game read the preview and realized what I was staring at. I then read the review on RPG.net (I saw the same guy review here) and purchased the PDF.

Coming from a background of GM and Playing many awesome RPGs I have to say the Zweihander is exactly what I've been looking for in a game. It has a refreshing take on traditional Fantasy RPG races, the d100 system is easy to grasp, all the attributes seem to be a little higher than WHFP, and it is Grim and Perilous like the book boldly states on its cover.

I'm still combing through the volumous tome and will be purchasing the hard copy when I get a chance. But if you have not played this system here are some things you can look forward to... at least these are things I've found refreshing in a game.

1) You roll for everything, Race, Gender, Archetypes (which determines starting profession) Attributes, Professions (Class/Careers), height, weight... I will personally let players make a choice in some areas, probably picking two choices between (Race, Gender, and Achetype) the other they roll for. 2) Not all races carry all the same abilities. What I mean by this is that not all elves can shoot bows and fight, and not all dwarves swing axes and wear platemail. Each race has a chart and you roll for the trait you are born with. This applies to humans as well... and Gnomes are miserly little people which is AWESOME!!! 3) It is deadly but heroic your characters will get bloodied and maimed, but they can wear those scars with pride and should they survive they would be the old retired guy in a tavern telling-talls while ordering another round with his nub.

I was looking at purchasing WHFP 2E and was extremely excited when I realized what this was. Glory to the Authors for their work, as a long time gamer who is late in discovering the system it was a Fate point well spent!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by Norbert P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2018 13:48:38

If you are a fan of Warhammer fantasy rpg....do yourself a favor and pick up Zweihander....you will not be disappointed.

If you have questions...check out my review: https://youtu.be/kBse1NFKS4Q



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by Wesley B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2018 09:47:44

Of all the editions of Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay, 2nd edition was by far my absolute favorite. It was a sad day in my life when that edition was finally brought to a close and was no longer officially supported. I figured that was it. Game over. My collection would end there. I didn't care for the direction the FFG took 3rd edition. The weird dice, etc.

About a month ago (November of 2017), I was trying to organize a WFRP2 campaign amongst my gaming group. I logged back in to the old StrikeToStun forums to look for some inspiration. I was surprised to see that the forums still existed. Then I noticed this thing called "Zweihander". I took a look at it with mild trepidation. A heartbreaker game? Was this just someone's attempt to make a knockoff? I wasn't sure what I was looking at. So I downloaded the early access pdf here at DTRPG and began reading.

Holy Mother of Sigmar, I was blown away! The love and admiration for the source material is heavy on every page. I was instantly in love with this game called "Zweihander". As I read more and more, I came to the realization that what I was looking at, was truly the magnificent legacy of WFRP. The attention to detail, the grim and perilous mechanics. It's all mind blowinging awesome! Daniel Fox has created nothing short of perfection here. You can feel his passion and admiration for the genre in every passage of text. The artwork is breathtakingly grim and gorgeous. If you are a fan of WFRP or grimdark gaming in general, you owe it to yourself to pick this up. I bought the PDF and the POD. This is fast becoming my favorite RPG of all time. Buy this book! Grab your Zweihander! Gather your companions! Grim and Perilous Adventuring awaits!

My biggest regret is that I did not know about this game during the Kickstarter. So now, my life goal is to obtain one of the Kickstarter copies of the corebook as well. Once that happens, I can die happy.

Thanks for the hard work and dedication, Daniel Fox! You, good sir, are awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 45 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates