DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
HARP Bestiary
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2022 01:04:09

The BMV of a cat is 13 and the BMV of a domestic pig is 24. ???



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
HARP Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Rolemaster Classic Spell Law
by CHRIS G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2022 20:00:01

I'm really intrigued by the Rolemaster system and the RMC reorganization and streamlining is a great way to enter the system. I do with the electronic version was hyperlinked and that the print version had a much expanded glossary/index. It would also have been nice for all the optional rules to not be embedded within the regular rules. It's harder to parse the core rules when you have to skip multiple paragraphs (sometimes pages) to get to the next regular rules section.

Chris



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Classic Spell Law
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
ERA for Rolemaster
by Alfred C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2021 21:14:42

The system is not put well together Help menus do not give a detialed explanations and they are missing from the combat section altogether Trial and error is niot a good way to learn a program

I could not add characters already made and could not save system generated characters becuase of "unspecified" errors Something was missing from the options but the program did not say what

the combat screens were cryptic to use with no explanations or help menus

One the ICE Forum I found you tube links to how the program worked - that were dead - no video

One of the previous reviewers had it down - if you wish to spend A LOT of time learning how the system actually functions it may be beneficial to you

I programmed my own spreadsheet to work more intutitively than this And maybe it does not have all the options this program SAYS is has - at least my spreadsheet is functional



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
ERA for Rolemaster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
ERA for Rolemaster
by Daryl F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2021 17:11:34

Running Windows 10 and Fire Fox, both with the latest updates. Initially many icons refused to load, though they did work when you clicked where they were supposed to be. Also the bottom tabs on the character summary (bottom tabs? why bottom tabs?) didn't load their respective pages. I could still see the full character summary, though. When I tried to go back and edit some of my choices there were many minor glitches and issues with the navigation and graphics.

One person suggested I try Chrome, which I admitedly have not tried. The documentation this comes with, while lacking, does specify that it should work in Fire Fox. Had it said it was only supported in Chrome I wouldn't have given it a second look. But I did, and when I tried it a second time the application failed to load any characters at all; not my test one and niether of the default ones it comes with. This was just after I installed the recent Windows updates, but I can't say for sure that this was the cause or not.

Regardless, the software was too buggy and unprofessional for me to spend any money on. I'm sure for those who can get it to work it is likely a huge time-saver. And because the base software is free to download, you can see if you are able to get it working or not before you buy, which is nice. Unfortunately I can only rate it based on my own experience. Maybe when RMU comes out they will update this and it will be usable.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Star Strike
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2021 23:53:55

This is a great deal on a full tactical space combat game. There are three different levels of gameplay you can choose from. From the rules-lite "Basic" to the more fleshed-out "Standard" and then up to "Advanced".

These rules all build on the previous level, so by the time you understand the Standard Game, you can probably handle the Advanced Game's few rules add-ons.

The Basic Game rules get you going really fast. Still there's some reasonable granularity; for example there's a "Scale" section that tells you how to play the game without a hex grid, using rulers and protractors. There's also a random pilot generation chart.

The Basic Game includes helpful examples for acceleration, turning, firing ranges, damage, etc.

There are three scenarios included for the Basic Game. The first of these is a solo-play scenario, called "The Drones Shoot Back!" in which you play a cadet on a training exercise, with simulated damage only.

The second Basic Game scenario is a two-player, square-off scenario. Fight to the finish.

The third scenario is a team free-for-all. The three scenarios seem like a logically-ordered, helpful ramp up to a better understanding of the game for everybody who will be playing.

The Standard Game builds on the Basic Game. This is appreciated. It's not a completely separate game by any stretch. It adds various new pilot characteristics, new crewmembers, more starcraft, weapons, movement and damage rules, etc.

The Standard Game includes four scenarios. These include just enough background and setup detail to feel substantial and non-generic.

There are also guidelines for designing your own scenarios. The scenario design guidelines include an interesting cost-bidding system for determining who will attack and who will defend in any given scenario (low bidder attacks; high bidder defends), and the outcome also determines how many cost-points each side can use to build their forces.

The more complex Advanced Game rules aren't a huge departure from the Standard Game rules because they build on those rules, but they include things like advanced movement (with new "attitude indicators" for vertical turns) & firing and e.g. an "Interior Flame Control Chart", plus a table showing what information your sensors were able to discover.

The advanced game also uses the pythagorean theorem to determine range to target, but then it clarifies that this is mainly if you want to do the math. You can use a chart instead. It's a forgiving game in that way. You can talk about the depth of the game, but don't ever say you were forced down that path!

Optional rules include some interesting stuff. There's electronic warfare, like cloaking and jamming of weapons and comms. There's also optional momentum movement, reverse movement, and hyperspace movement rules.

Finally you have various warhead capabilties and optional payload items like mines, space hazards, auto cannon fire, and more.

At this point you'll also find optional "cross-grain movement and firing" rules, if you find 60-degree angles too restrictive for turn increments.

Starcraft construction and cost: This is a really cool part of what is included in the game. You can build some pretty epic spacecraft.

Determine your craft's mass, volume, hull type, armor, drive capabilities, armaments, HUD, payload, comms, sensors, EW capability, deflector screens, reactor power, fuel storage, control points, crew, main computer, crew work stations, crew quarters, passenger accommodations, life support, recreational facilities, dispensary, sick bay, labs, workshops, security stations, fighter bays, shuttle/vehicle bays, cargo hold, atmospheric streamlining, landing gear, radiation shielding, and back-up systems. The designer will need to "juggle numbers" to completely fill the volume available, so it's kind of a neat exercise in that way.

There are helpful worksheets and examples given here as well. Lots of templated spacecraft are included.

Additionally you'll find computer rules, repair rules, rules for integrating with Space Master, boarding actions, etc.

The Tables and Forms book (in addition to the color counters) is also included, with quick-reference charts and resources.

The PDF is a good quality scan, it's readable and the illustrations are great. There's a bit of an homage to Star Wars on page 43. If you wanted you could probably OCR your own copy and get a reasonably searchable PDF with a few minutes of effort.

There are a few typos but nothing I've seen that's too distracting.

Overall the game is worth checking out if you are into tactical space combat and would appreciate a dial-a-crunch system, or a system that can grow more advanced along with you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Strike
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Spacemaster 2nd Edition GM Book
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2021 00:14:51

At this price a NO-BRAINER purchase. The cover may not look as good as the combined edition with a kid shooting a laser pistol, but the interior is the same and contains tons of neat illustrations, charts, and helpful gaming information. Recommended for sci-fi gamers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spacemaster 2nd Edition GM Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Spacemaster 2nd Edition Player Book
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2021 00:14:08

A neat book at a very reasonable cost. The cover may not look as good as the combined edition with a kid shooting a laser pistol, but the interior is the same and contains tons of neat illustrations and information. Recommended for sci-fi gamers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spacemaster 2nd Edition Player Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Rolemaster Classic Character Law
by CHRIS G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2021 19:40:01

Considering using this system. The hard copy and the .pdf are both well done. Haven't had any issues with it. However, it is a struggle for a first time user of the system to parse through everything as the system as presented (e.g. rolling up a character) is not done in a linear fashion. You have to keep flipping back and forth between different sections of the rules and, at best, that's pretty awkward.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Classic Character Law
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
ERA for Rolemaster RMC Combat Companion
by Nicholas R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2021 05:51:52

You will need to spend time with the tool and re-watch the videos to fully understand how this works, but having done so I have found it greatly speeds combat whilst retaining the rich template of combat results / criticals / spells / weapons that makes RM so much fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ERA for Rolemaster RMC Combat Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
ERA for Rolemaster RMC Spell Law
by Nicholas R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2021 00:29:42

This is a brilliant product, and I've bought all the expansions for RMC. What it's done is encourage me to seriously work with Rolemaster again for the first time in decades (not since RM2).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ERA for Rolemaster RMC Spell Law
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
AutoHARP Fantasy
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2020 01:08:04

Have tried everything to get this to work. Been to Iron Crown. Tried the advice on the Soulforge site. Giving up. It would be one thing if this was only happening to me. But in looking at the comments, there are a number of technical issues with this prodcut. Sorry, but I just feel like a product I have to spend more than a few days trying to get to work isn't worth my time or a good review. Hope things get worked out.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
AutoHARP Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Shadow World: Emer III
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2020 18:35:20

Thought I would try one of the Shadow World books in hard cover - I have several in soft cover and they are very nice quality . I am impressed. I wasn't sure it would be worth the extra $$, but if you can afford to pay the extra, I recommend it. It is very nice quality printing and binding. Another great product by Terry Amthor, in such a nice book. I love it. I will be ordering more! Mark



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow World: Emer III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Shadow World: Eidolon: City in the Sky
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2020 03:44:52

A beautiful upgrade of one of the best SW modules. Terry has outdone himself, providing lots of new content!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow World: Eidolon: City in the Sky
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
ERA for Rolemaster
by Mathieu V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2020 07:53:19

Since I discovered ERA, the time spent on character creation has been reduced dramatically; the traditional way is ideal for understanding the system but takes a very long time.

The combat menu is a bit difficult to understand at first. Of course there are the videos but the creator English language is a bit difficult to understand and he speaks very fast; A manual containing the same information as the videos would have been appreciated.

Also, the exported Character sheets for printing are really beautiful.

ERA is a great tool for my games of Rolemaster. Thank you Maximiliano Tabacman for creating this great tool and taking the time to update it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ERA for Rolemaster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
ERA for Rolemaster RMC Character Law
by Duane C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2020 18:15:18

MUST have better documentation and more videos with examples of how to use the system. There are several videos, but they are so minimal that it leaves one with more questions.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ERA for Rolemaster RMC Character Law
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 162 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates