DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Blasphemous Abominations - The Lich
by Matthias S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2021 08:45:15

I like the book, typos aside. There are a few things I have to ask though because they seem to be missing:

  • On Page 18 it states that the character has to make 10 consecutive Constitution Saving Throws, and the number of successes determines the result. What is the DC?
  • On Page 15, after the red textblock, the text mentions the Necronomicon. There seems to be no item called that. Is that intentional or was it forgotten? Or is it a seperate book created by you?
  • Page 17 references the Enchantment of Sacrifice which should be in Appendix 2, but there is only the Enchant an Item Spell. Same applies to Enchantment of Death. I understand the premise of the Enchant an Item Spell, but I have difficulty following the text here, since it seems to rely on the reader to understand that the caster needs to use that Spell to enchant Items with Death and Sacrifice.

I will look into the Necronomicon Problem myself now after writing this, but I hope those questions could be clarified if it isn't too much of an issue.

Aside from those issues I highly recommend this great supplement. Especially because of the chapter that gives advice on how to build a Lich NPC. 4/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blasphemous Abominations - The Lich
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cinematic Environs - Wetlands
by Jason K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2020 18:57:46

I caught a livestream on Twitch by the author Davae Breon Jaxon and was immediately taken by his infectious enthusiasm and creativity when discussion the challenges that bringing excitement and danger to encounters and environments that DMs face. This book carries on that enthusiasm and presents it in a fantastic way giving the DM a whole host of ideas and hooks to make the PCs lives hell.

The layout is fantastic and well thought out. The ideas are presented logically with useful SRD content alongside their own creations that seem to be well researched. Options for scaling according to the level of heroism/darkness/challenge in your game are there. Whether you want Grimdark survival in the marshes of your world or a more heroic trapse across a fen on your way to your objective, you have options presented here.
The book chapters are logical with a solid introduction on how to introduce this to your game.

The Types of Wetlands This chapter is a useful way for DMs to improve their descriptions and worldbuilding of locations as much as it is a mechanical tool for setting up environments that are exciting and internally consistent.

Wetland Conditions This part of the book is worth the price of admission alone. Such a rich array of well researched content. I was particularly impressed with the diseases, infections and parasites section which for my game and as a physician myself was really amazing content.

Wetland Hazards These little vignette/location based challenges show a great understanding of the game and really flesh out and present the conditions above in a way that brings it all together.
Even simple ideas such as quagmires present deadly challenges to even well kitted out and experienced PCs and players. The content is gameable and deployable with a short amount of preparation. Potentially I would have liked the various hazards formatted a little more tightly in a statblock style but that's a really minor quibble. It's not confusing and actually really easy to get to the area you need. Mixing and matching elements of the hazards is also fairly easily done however I think a pdf that's indexed with a table of contents that was hyperlinked might have helped a little.

Appendices the rest of the content is just as good with appendices for monsters, items, languages, random encounters and a new background which is always great to see.

Overall this is one of my favourite purchases from DriveThruRPG already. If you're looking to spice up your Wetlands, lean into the mire and the muck, the bugs and the mud then this is a great option for your table!

Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cinematic Environs - Wetlands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cinematic Environs - Desert Wastes
by Hans P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2020 20:24:41

Was very pleased with this content, as it fits right in with a desert campaign I am creating. Planning on using almost everything contained within in my setting. I really like the additional equipment options, and look forward to using some of the hazards to break the cycle of pure combat with exciting and dangerous monster based encounters. Even if you are just planning on having your party travel through a desert area, would recommend some of these to really add some depth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cinematic Environs - Desert Wastes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cinematic Environs - Aquatic Depths
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2019 07:53:57

Do not waste your time, just BUY THIS NOW!

If you are looking to improve the seafaring/water aspects of your 5e game, this PDF is the starting point you are looking for. I had a printed version of this PDF given to me (for free) by a friend to aid my development of a "ghosts of salt marsh" campaign. (prior to which I had been combing through every detail available to me on the subject (from 2e through current titles on DM's guild) and after reading it I immediately PURCHASED IT! and left this review to tell you... THIS IS WHAT YOU ARE LOOKING FOR!

I made many changes to my game that differ from this and I am using a few, more specific, detailed or better rules than this PDF offers that I feel are better suited for my version of the campaign... but it took a lot of unnecessary work! what you have available to you with Cinematic Environs Aquatic Deep for its price is worth every penny and alone will improve your approach to seafaring.

I have much respect For Davae Brean Jaxon as a result of this publication and am extremely grateful for his input. I believe most DM's will feel the same way.

running a Seafaring? Start here! not running a seafaring campaign but suddenly have the sea to consider? start here! want to be a better DM? have this at your ready.

I have nothing left to say. it isn't perfect. it isn't "all inclusive". but for 5e games, it has what you are looking for.

In the future I will be looking into whether or not the author has anything to say on any subject related to my campaigns



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cinematic Environs - Aquatic Depths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blasphemous Abominations - The Lich
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2019 13:49:14

I really appreciate the creative spin on an old creature.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blasphemous Abominations - The Lich
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Pipeline: Book of Handouts
by Perry T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2019 14:20:57

Beautiful quality set of printed handouts for a quality scenario.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pipeline: Book of Handouts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gothnog's Notorious Potions & Poisons - Fifth Edition
by Chase P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2019 21:33:28

For what I got in the physical copy of the book, this wasn't worth it. Maybe if I got the book on sale and just the pdf version, but I'd say that most everyone could give the physical copy a hard pass, as nice as the printing is. The contents of this book are nice but they are over prices given certian alternatives available on the net now. I can go to the DMs Guild and find at least two other pdf docs that have just as many posions, minus all the fluff that this book has. The only reason this product isn't rated lower by me is that it doesn't just give you a list of posions, it also gives yo things like processes to creat phylactories and the ways to improve posions in the game, that are not currently present. All in all, wait for the product to go on sale before you purchase it, but also don't be afraid to look else where for good products, there's a lot more out there now in comparision to a few years ago.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gothnog's Notorious Potions & Poisons - Fifth Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Wish granted! I appreciate the feedback, and I hope you get a lot of use out of it. On a side note, I do plan on updating this book in 2019 with some new content and a few minor corrections. Anyone who purchased this one will have access to the update for free. Alex (aka Captain Gothnog)
Strange Harvest - A Fifth Edition Adventure
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2018 18:52:51

I really enjoyed this adventure. As a noob GM, I found it very well organized, easy to follow & run. Great story, plenty of choices for the players and they all had a good time playing this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strange Harvest - A Fifth Edition Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wild Magic!
by Christian K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2018 13:16:58

Was running "Gates of fireStorm Peaks" 2nd edition module and wanted a more diverse update for some of the 'warp effects' in the module. I purchased the Classic Modules Today: The Gates of Firestorm Peak (5e) from Mark Stout, but it had no converstion of that material. So I bought 'Wild Magic' instead, and it was just what I was looking for. I'm sure I'll have even more uses above & beyond after this module. Looking forward to the updated PDF with card art included.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wild Magic!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gothnog's Magnificent Cantrips - Fifth Edition
by Wesley J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2018 09:57:28

The Gothnog collection is worth every penny and I highl recommend that you buy the whole collection. The publisher does great work, but Gothnog collection is the best works and now a staple in the games I run. My players use it just as much as the original spells.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gothnog's Magnificent Cantrips - Fifth Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Extraordinary Extras - Fifth Edition Quick Reference Sheet
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2017 10:49:29

Excellent selection of tables and what-not, laid out very professionally. At $0 this is almost a must-have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Extraordinary Extras - Fifth Edition Quick Reference Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Extraordinary Extras - Sacred Service
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2017 10:46:57

Nicely done set of tables to roll on or to pick from, to define a divine spellcaster character or to generate divine spellcasting traditions for a setting. The new death domain option at the end of the document seems well thought-out and balanced. Looks great on a screen but printing in b&w makes it a bit murky but still totally usable. It would be nice to have a more printer-friendly version, though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Extraordinary Extras - Sacred Service
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Extraordinary Extras - Arcane Ancestry
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2017 10:46:29

A well thought-out set of tables to roll for or pick different quirks and traits to define a character or to create magical traditions for a setting. The aetheric magic variant rules at the end of the document seem well done, too. Looks great on a screen but printing in b&w makes it a bit murky but still totally usable. It would be nice to have a more printer-friendly version, though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Extraordinary Extras - Arcane Ancestry
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Critical Hits
by walter M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2017 20:14:23

Great addition to those "deadly" campaigns a devious DM may desire to run. I have, over the years, accumulated different methods of critical hits/failures and i can tell you its a very hard thing to balance. Ive played through with these a couple of times now and they are right on. Adds a level of excitement to the adventure. As a player, I enjoy the constant threat of death. I want my decisions and actions to be more accountable, so I love using these.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Critical Hits
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cinematic Environs - Survival
by walter M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2017 20:09:21

Very detailed and I love that part of it. Saves a ton of my time as a DM trying to come up with similar concepts. I know alot of hard work and creativity went into the creation of this and its much appreciated, thnaks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cinematic Environs - Survival
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 61 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates