DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2022 22:31:21

A really useful addition to any game set in a medieval-esque period, whether it's a real-world fantasy game or a typical D&D game. Easily incorporated into any sword & sorcery game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 2 (Medieval-Authentic Adventures)
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2022 22:29:42

This collection of OSR, medieval authentic adventures is perfect to add to any "realistic" game of Euro fantasy, and can easily be inserted into most D&D games or Pathfinder for that matter. A nice collection of intriguing and insightful adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 2 (Medieval-Authentic Adventures)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 2 (Medieval-Authentic Adventures)
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2022 13:13:59

Awesome book full of great, challenging adventures for use in any OSR, or really any sword and board RPG. There are over 20 scenarios, and I've already dropped a pair of these into my home game. Huge value for the money, and the adventures are excellent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #100: Star Adventurer
by Kyle W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2021 22:58:17

This is a good game. I am normally not a fan of D&D style rules, but Star Adventurer fixes a lot of what I dislike. I like the hit point progression being flattened out to a single point per level for non-combat classes and 2 points per level for frontline classes. The random table for leveling up is really interesting. As is the "race" of your character being an archtype instead of a lengthy list of races and their modifiers. Overall, this is a tightly written and well thought out OSR game and well worth buying.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #100: Star Adventurer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2021 11:46:24

This is a tricky one to review - I really like RPGPundit as a, well, as a pundit, and subscribe to his YouTube channel. I thought Lion and Dragon was fantastic, a really good re-imagining of old school D&D in a genuine medieval setting. The L&D magic system is really great.

Old School Companion is a mixed bag. It's basically a collection of stuff from the RPGPundit's regular "...Presents" series of PDF products. I can't quite make up my mind if the content if this book is basically inessential, or if it just doesn't really fit with my personal DM style/game requirements.

There are some new classes and crit tables - these are decent, especially the Archer class as a variant of the original Fighter. Some of the info about the clerical order is also useful, even if like me you use Catholic Christianity as the basis for your game's religion rather than L&D's "official" Sol Invictus cult.

However, a lot of the content of the book seems, while interesting, not really a lot of use. There's a lot of material about real world magic like the Goetia and tarot and so on. This is all correct (the Pundit knows his occult) but I can't really see it being much use in game, the original L&D magic was pretty comprehensive and if you wanted to know about the Goetic demons there are plenty of places online you can print off a list of them. Similarly with the tarot - i can't imagine having a fully detailed tarot session in game, you'd just hit the high points that were relevent to the adventure and crack on. But then again, maybe that's just me. I know about the occult as well, so for someone without that background all this might be gold.

I have a similar problem with some of the mundane stuff towards the back of the book about costs of housing, travel times and so on. In my games, this kind of stuff is never really that important and while I expect it's well researched it just doesn't really seem to justify the page count to me. I am aware though, that as an Englishman, a lot of this "medieval authentic" stuff is just stuff I know from being English and growing up in England and having an interest in history. For an American reader, for example, this sort of information could be exactly what they need.

So there you go. The book is nicely designed and put together (although not as nicely as the original L&D book which was something special), but what you get out of it is probably dependent on your baseline knowledge of history and the occult, and how much crunch you like in your games. But the Pundit is still a top chap so I'm still giving it 4 stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #100: Star Adventurer
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2021 12:10:25

My very first RPGPundit book purchase. Was not disappointed. Not a large title, but a complete game all the same. Made some characters and immediately was impressed with how easy it was for me to pick up the system. I do not have any previous OSR experience.

Would buy it again. Great value for the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #100: Star Adventurer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by Matt T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2021 20:11:40

I highly recommend this if you plan on doing a spelljammer-like campaign. Rules for flying craft, generating random floating islands and fun locations that are pulled from random genres. Guarenteed to find something useful.

My favourite part is the occupations for the Hipster Elves, they give off a Paranoid RPG feel with comical player backgrounds that would be fun to RP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #100: Star Adventurer
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2021 21:27:26

Very flexible and adaptable to most Space Opera settings. This isn't a product that spells everything out for you in microdetail, but rather gives you the tools to customize it to any setting. Personally I plan to use it to run a Babylon 5 campaign, which - using OGL Mongoose Games' Babylon 5 RPG as source material - will give a smoother and faster game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #100: Star Adventurer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2021 17:48:08

Gonzo Fantasy with detailed content and great fun!

'The World Of The Last Sun' is an old school gonzo-fantasy compiled from lots of material from RPGPundit's other work.

There's a whopping 275 pages of content here! Due to the material being built up slowly over a period of time, nothing here feels like filler. Every single one of those pages is packed with unique content and belongs in this book.

My prior experience with RPGPundit's work was with 5E, for which he consulted on and his Realistic 'Lion and Dragon' medieval RPG ruleset. I was glad to see that this is every bit as well written as Lion and Dragon (These days a lot of products on the market are in desperate need of an editor in this regard!). The Setting and style however is very different, and is a credit to RPGPundit's versitility.

The author definitely seems to have great fun writing this, and there's a heavy dose of humour throughout all 7 chapters, as we have come to expect from these Gonzo style RPGs.

The layout is good, and the artwork is of a high quality - with probably just the right amount so that it doesn't ever get to the point where it overshadows the actual content.

There's probably a lot of content in here that someone could probably lift for a non-Gonzo game, such as a 5E campaign too. There's a lot of good random tables, characters, factions and locations that could transcend a setting here.

Overall I was very impressed with this work. I know the author has made enemies within the more mainstream RPG hobby on Social Media for his outspokenness. But despite all the negativity directed at him, his work keeps selling and gaining traction. The reason for that is that it's very good and the guy is the real deal when it comes to writing RPGs and Settings. 'World Of The Last Sun' is evidence of that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by Rafael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2021 07:49:01

Content: vast and flexible to any campaign Artwork: great Fun: unequivocable Value: excellent

Summary: you should consider acquiring this, in PDF or printed form.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by Felix V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 20:02:32

Great book! I was having difficulties converting modern weapons into a ancient famtasy setting and this book became an invaluable resource to add to my collection. worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by felipe m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 18:46:38

Exceptional content.

You'll find charts in here for use in any setting, not just the Last Sun setting, which btw is endlessly imaginative. It's Vance's Dying Earth with an even more gonzo sense of humor and adventure.

Did I mention the book is hilarious? It is. I found myself laughing at least once per page and not just giggling either, full blown (oh crap my coworkers can hear me) laughter.

Ever needed to stock that NPC herbalist's shop with something real interesting, jump to page 138 and start reading, it's worth the price of the book all by itself...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 17:16:39

I did not really know much about Gonzo before I started watching RPGPundit on YTube, when I saw that there will be a full book filled with Old-School and Gonzo... I am a simple man - I bought it :-) I do not regret it! The book is very well made and as for the content it is everything I expected from the RPGPundit - professional, well made, and very well designed.

Even if you are not into that sort of thing, you will find things in there that you can use in your normal DND 5e games (with a beat of tweaking).

Highly recommend giving it a go!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: World of the Last Sun
by Brad M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 16:54:11

This is a great resource if you want to run a gonzo game. Even if you aren't wanting to run DCC, there are some new rules to enhance your game and random tables that can help you generate a lot of cool content (my favorites are the random floating island generator and the random junk table for wasteland travel); you could fit content from this book into any OSR game or really any system without too much work. If you aren't looking for new mechanics or random tables, I found a lot of the world lore to be very fun and think it makes for a good read if you're looking for inspiration or just a fun read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1
by Jean-Francois B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2020 10:18:05

As background: I have Lion & Dragon and Cults of Chaos

TOSC is the kind of the book that each $ put on it, is weighted in ton of materials.

The book itself / design: at the same level than L&D and CoC; Clear design, and classical illustrations (historical and supernatural ones) on point.

The writting: as usual w/ RPG Pundit, the writting is clear, well made, non PC/SJW and the whole is refreshing and easy to read, compared to productions made by Chaosium & Co (yes I criticize but I have a pretty good amount of materials from Chaosium to be able to judge it).

The content: the book has 6 main parts:

  • additional characters classes; pretty standard for an OSR sourcebook but of course full of historical medieval context, which is less standard and in line with L&D
  • Special Rules: not a lot of them, which is good, but interesting ones like mass combat and crossbows/longbows
  • Spellbooks and Grimoires: again in line with the medieval vision on how magic is used, this part expand it greatly with very detailed content of 8 grimoires.
  • Astrology and the Arcana: other ways of magic
  • Medieval Life and Activities: this one I loved it particularly; outside of the medieval description of life activities, there are a good amount of encounter tables, where each entry could be a scenario hook for a sandbox/open play. It is colorful in context and a nursery of ideas to expand on them. The 55 pages of this section worth the book IMHO, even if the spellbooks / astrology / and the supernatural ones are pretty interesting too.
  • Last but not least the section about the Supernatural, especially about the Realm of the Fae. It also contains list of additional cursed artifacts and again, supernatural encounters that again can be scenario hooks and drives for the theatre of the mind.

In all, a very pleasing book that, even if you don't play to L&D, is packed with medieval elements usable for many settings.

Keep up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents: The Old School Companion 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates