DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Survivalist's Guide to Spelunking
by jeremiah h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2022 03:22:46

*****Great book!!!! The PDF is bookmarked and has links to jump back and forth when they refer to other rules for quick reference. I especially like the rules for setting up camp, tracking food and resting in harsh environments. IMO the rules could be used for overland travel too just depending on the location of the PC's. The rule for tracking food is simple and I really like how the players can choose to burn HD to go farther and farther into the unknown depths all while risking there lives. This is a great supplement for 5e but works great for all systems and the other great part is you can use what u want and throw out the rest. This deferentially streamlines what to do when they want to rest and short rest in harsh environments. I have not looked over the old version by TSR but I will I haven't had time yet. What I like also is these rules add grit to the game PC's aren't jus gonna travel forever with out going back to civilization or using their resources with care. I like that the ppl that wrote the book play FRPG's a lot so they know what works and what doesn't after countless hrs of playing I'm sure. For a current updated resource for traveling long distances over harsh environments look no further this book should be ur first choice. I give it 5 stars!!

Update 5/12/2022 I had time to look over the old TSR guide and as I did find it useful I like Survivalist's Guide to Spelunking better as I play a lot of 5e. The mapping section in Survivalist's Guide to Spelunking I can see myself using compared to the older method presented in the TSR book. This book out the gate needs no adjustments for 5e, I like that. Every time I look over the PDF or pick up the book I find something new to read about the game. I especially like the chapter on light and sources of light underground. I like the idea of the rest pently as I like to run a grittier game. Streamed lined rules for finding and setting up camp. If ur looking for rules for an underground campaign this is ur book. I wish I had this book when I ran my underdark campign it would of helped me without a doubt. Great PDF super fast to navigate. Crytal depths ahead my friend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Survivalist's Guide to Spelunking
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mini-Dungeon Monthly #1
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2022 19:40:59

A collection of five short adventure scenarios for D&D 5th Edition. Note that while the product uses 5E rules, some have elements that feel more like earlier editions of D&D (such as the loot in The Exposed Nest).

All five scenarios have fairly interesting premises, with The Exposed Nest being particularly original. However, while they are completely able to be run as is... most are so slim that it's on the DM to really make them interesting to play. (This is most noticeable in Temple of the Fallen Phoenix and Survive: In a Vampire Hive, which both feature multiple encounters that are functionally identical.) I'm also not sure the adventures would be as challenging in practice as their suggested level would suggest (particularly Survive).

While these issues are objectively fairly minor, they are more of a problem for a product that costs as much as this does. So if you're interested in this, best to wait for a sale or bundle. (If this was much cheaper, I would have likely rated it higher.)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon Monthly #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mini-Dungeon #097: Trade is our Sword
by JEROME M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2022 00:10:13

Perfect for any Underdark/Darklands campaign. This is easily dropped into any campaign involving the Underdark and makes for a good one-shot encounter. It's a simple setup with a nifty map filled with a few secrets and surprises. I grabbed this to help me come up with something for one session of my Rise of the Drow campaign and it was very easy to use. I literally bought it two hours before the session, read it over and was running it two hours later. The pdf is comprised of two pages with one containing a map. The only drawback would be that there are no creature stats, just the names. If you're like me, you have all of the bestiaries already, if not, you can just pull up the stats online via the d20PFSRD.

AAW has carved a nice little niche for themselves for gamers that want more Underdark adventure.

Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #097: Trade is our Sword
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A00: Crow's Rest Island
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2021 14:14:02

I regret to say that I found this adventure very disappointing - even as a free offering.

The layout is difficult to follow. There are several boxed sections with different symbols attached, but nowhere is it explained what these symbols mean. Other AAW adventures contain the same symbols, so perhaps they have a key available somewhere as its own document, but there's no link to it. After some effort, I was able to guess the meanings, however. We have: Read aloud text (but see below), combat encounters, treasure, and some kind of broad "information for the GM".

The text - outside the boxed sections - is primarily written in third person, addressed to the GM. However, several times, it suddenly switches to addressing the players, as if it were read aloud text, despite not being in a box. To put it mildly, this is rather confusing!

Speaking of confusing, the adventure also fails to explain where a critical combat encounter comes from. The party has a dialogue with some crow-related spirits, we get some read-aloud text (properly boxed) describing a longhouse the PCs can now see, there's a nice illustration...and then suddenly a box saying "10 kobolds". No explanation of where they came from. The text just says that "The PCs should find themselves with their backs to the longhouse with a larger body of enemies pushing at them, forcing them into the longhouse for safety". Were the PCs supposed to have been running from these kobolds since the start of the adventure (the first encounter is with another, smaller, group of kobolds)? Or do they emerge from the woods after the encounter? Either makes sense, but I honestly have no idea which one the writer intended.

There are several other areas which have similar failures to explain things. Near the start of the adventure, the PCs are with the crew of a ship, seeking shelter from a storm on the eponymous island. We're told that "In the end, the captain will be sending [the PCs] off alone to venture into the woods to seek shelter". This is never elaborated on, and the PCs instead get led into the wood by a crow spirit that only they can see. I don't know if the GM is expected to improvise the scene based on that one line (in which case, I would need to understand why the captain gives them that instruction) or whether it's an editing glitch from an earlier version.

This crow spirit also has its own issues - the text just assumes that the PCs will follow it, and gives no guidance on what to do if they don't. I understand that some level of player buy-in is necessary for a published adventure, but this spirit shows up part way through the adventure, while the PCs are in the middle of helping with another situation, and after it's been repeatedly emphasised that the island they're on is haunted by dangerous crow spirits that they should be afraid of!

The treasure found in the adventure has no value listed for it. It's listed as things like "various woodcarvings", "furs and pelts" or "damaged longsword". However, this is no mere set dressing - it's explicitly offered to the PCs for helping the spirits!

The plot of the adventure is also problematic. There's an elaborate backstory, which the players never get to find out. Then the whole of the first chapter is essentially a cutscene for the GM to read out, with one place where the players are generously allowed to wander around the ship and look through a spyglass. Quick summary: PCs are on a ship, when a blizzard comes up. The captain decides to seek shelter, but the only place nearby is the eponymous Crow's Rest island, which is haunted for unknown reasons.

On landing, everyone starts unloading supplies (for some reason), and the PCs may or may not be sent off by the captain to find shelter (the text is unclear, as discussed above). They see a white crow sitting on a stack of supplies, which for some reason (never explained, even to the GM) no one except them can see. The PCs follow it, and after a brief skirmish with some kobolds, it turns into a human ghost for just long enough to ask the PCs to follow. Which they were already doing, but whatever. The crow/ghost leads them to an ancient longhouse, where we get a long infodump which still somehow only explains part of the backstory: the inhabitants of the island were attacked by kobolds and a summoned devil, and to protect their souls from that devil, the local druid did a ritual binding their souls to the land. Once the infodump is done, a larger group of kobolds show up out of nowhere, and the PCs are forced into the longhouse. Fortunately it has a protection from evil effect meaning the kobolds can't enter. They then take shelter from the storm while the kobolds place them under siege. No mention of what the rest of the crew do for shelter, since the PCs can't exactly go back for them. The longhouse is missing one of the components for the ritual, which is why the spirits are still around; they ask the PCs to retrieve it. The PCs fight off the kobolds - the spirits help by scaring the kobolds, but no mechanics are given for this. After a disappointing "puzzle" which involves doing exactly what the spirits tell them to do, they retrieve the missing item, return it, and the longhouse disappears. Finally, they have one more encounter with an ice construct made to look like the summoned devil (but which isn't that devil, just to make things more confusing), and return to the ship. End of adventure.

A skilled GM could run a good game from this, but only by using it as rough inspiration, changing the plot and inventing large amounts of content to cover the gaps in the adventure. Which rather defeats the purpose of a premade adventure. This is free, so by all means have a look at it - but don't expect to get much out of it. Not a good advert for AAW, sadly.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
A00: Crow's Rest Island
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(5E) A00: Crow's Rest Island
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2021 10:56:42

An adventure for four 1st level PC's using 5e D&D rules. This is very colourful with maps of a viking longship, 3 maps of part of a land mass and a village. I really liked the quality of the maps.

The adventure itself contains only 3 encounters with mainly the same antagonists, which is a bit disappointing.

Four 1st level human adventurers are provided, enabling it to be played quickly.

Overall I think it's worth the purchase for the maps alone, but would have liked more meat to the encounters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) A00: Crow's Rest Island
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(5E) C02: Goblin Cave
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2021 09:42:39

From the same author as Algoran's gem and has the code C2, which has me scratching my head as C1 was for 3rd - 5th level characters and this is for 1st level?

This feels more like a modern adventure than C1 as there is a village briefly mentioned, although no map, provided. Next there is an area map which for some reason does not show either the village of Svor or the Goblin cave.

The cave of the title has 9 locations all with an encounter or trap, so a tough dungeon for 1st level characters.

There are 2 maps of the goblin cave, one without locations marked.

Slightly disapointed with this after the excellent C1.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) C02: Goblin Cave
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(5E) C01: Alagoran's Gem
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2021 09:30:23

A single level dungeon with 29 rooms/encounter sites and a nasty sting at the end. Thoroughly enjoyable!

The booklet contains 2 coloured maps of the dungeon with one unlabeled, a definite improvement over the old style blue and white maps!

The only criticism is that there is only one way throught the dungeon it feels a bit too much like being led by hand.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) C01: Alagoran's Gem
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(5E) U01: Dark Days in Stoneholme
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2021 12:59:19

I'm not able to write reviews with "contructive elements". Best I can do is say my players enjoyed playing this with a party of dwarves (+1 elf, always that one player). They are interested in coming back for more of this trilogy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) U01: Dark Days in Stoneholme
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mini-Dungeon Monthly #1
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2021 18:17:35

In working my through the scenarios in the book, I'm enjoying myself. The adventures I've read have been 2 pages of text with a map, so they are a breeze to read and understand. I like the format. Some of the scenarios have been too ambitious for the pagecount, though, so I wanted a little more, but I get that they wanted to keep it short. Lots of fun adventures in here, and they are rich with further story and adventure ideas.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon Monthly #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

5E Mini-Dungeon #150: Thin Ice
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2021 17:39:25

It is exactly what it says it is, a short, interesting dungeon. With all the mega-modules WotC puts out, this was a nice change of pace. There are story ideas in the material that you could easily flesh out into more adventures, but it works just fine as a short jaunt.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
5E Mini-Dungeon #150: Thin Ice
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mega Map Pack 1 [bundle] [BUNDLE]
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2021 15:41:29

This purchase is a total rip off. 99-95 spent and I will not use a single map. The quality is total garbage. Never make this purchase.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mega Map Pack 1 [bundle] [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rise of the Drow: Collector's Edition
by Tim H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2021 11:26:25

One of my favourite campaigns so far, I admit I had a lot of fun with my players as a DM. We may have nearly had a few TPK's during the harder encounters but the players loved the game so much we couldn't wait for our next session.

The whole theme is quite amazing, and the breakdown from exploration to dungeon, to underdark and even some choice diplomatic encounters rounds up to cover lots of things for players to do. My only criticism was that some encounters are built straight for a fight and when the players decide to run or con their way out it's very unexpected.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rise of the Drow: Collector's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mini-Dungeon Tome (5th Edition)
by D. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2020 00:36:40

This appeared to be a great value but as they say if things seem too good to be true . . .

I have spent a good amount of time with this book and have ran 10 adventures from it to date. I applaud the attempt at providing an abundence of content, but much of it is quite amaturish in regard to the adventure/dungeon design. A number of the descriptions don't make sense and are blatently confusing. I feel like I have to start from scratch with barely any foundational work laid for a number of them. Furthermore, if you peruse this book much in one setting it seems there is a lot of duplication with repeated monster use.

You should know some of the dungeon adventures in here are yanked from at least one other product from the publisher and these seem to be lacking context as they steer you to said product. This means you're given a scenario that is missing set up and potential follow up.

At least one adventure (The Kabandha's Request) literally gets droped mid-sentence in a room description. The next page is a different adventure. Seriously? This is just one example but there are others that lead me to believe little energy was spent on proofreading. I wish I spent more time with the PDF before I chased down a physical copy online. A bad double purchase stings doubly bad. Lesson learned.

I'll give the digital version a couple stars for the map pack. If it were only a map pack and at a lower price probably 4 stars. But be advised this does not deliver quality wise on the adventure design. In spite of the book's promise, I would plan for some prep without wich many of the offerings will be a lackluster game session as the percentage of well written scenarios appears quite low.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon Tome (5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

VTT MAP PACK: Caves 2
by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2020 14:49:21

These work great in a VTT program like Roll20. Very easy to upload. Great quality. Lots of versatility. I like that there are "unlined" maps.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
VTT MAP PACK: Caves 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(5E) C01: Alagoran's Gem (Fantasy Grounds)
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2020 04:09:45

I don't usually do dungeons but I like this one - nice one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) C01: Alagoran's Gem (Fantasy Grounds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 437 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates