DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Clifford H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2022 22:04:10

The scan came out beautifully, fun hardcover book to always take a glimpse through during the game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GAZ11 The Republic of Darokin (Basic)
by martin y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2022 15:24:29

Great quality.However,the foldout maps and cut outs are bound within the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ11 The Republic of Darokin (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GAZ10 The Orcs of Thar (Basic)
by martin y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2022 17:50:01

My favorite by far.Thoroughly enjoyable to read.The only bummer is the map is cut up and bound within the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ10 The Orcs of Thar (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GAZ9 The Minrothad Guilds (Basic)
by martin y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2022 17:46:02

Very happy!Although,this can be a dense read.Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ9 The Minrothad Guilds (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Red Hand of Doom (3e)
by Jacob F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2022 01:44:38

Obviously the adventure itself is great, but this was my first time doing print-on-demand and I was very impressed by the high quality of the printing. The book is sturdy, the paper is nice and thick, the text and maps and illustrations are clear, the colours are good, it's all great. Will absolutely be doing this again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Hand of Doom (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Connor D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2022 13:21:37

To echo what everyone is saying, the scan quality isn't great. The text is slightly fuzzy and the page background is off-white, color has actually been printed onto the page where it shouldn't have been. However, its not terrible and after a while you get used to the fuzz. The hardcover is sturdy and has a nice weight to it. For $27, I'd say it was worth it, but I would have paid more for a cleaned up version.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
by Mark O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2022 10:45:55

I got this book (hardcover) on release, and felt it deserved a review now I've had a chance to use it.

Full disclosure, I am a big fan of the Baldur's Gate series (which this take a lot of its lore/cues from).

I think the book overall is great; I love the group patrons, the 5e versions of some classic FR monsters, the 'snapshot' cities with useful and flavourful shops

The thing I think lets it down for a BG video game fan (and why I'm docking it a star, you may feel stronger about the following and consider it a 3, or not care at all and consider it a 5) is the bizarre direction the established characters take, likely just to get them here to 5e, 100-odd years after those original games take place:

  • Vaylgar taking longevity potions, in the video game he has personal (familial) beef with magic users and magic use over life and death.
  • Kivan and Cernd being a couple where the games had zero indication Kivan was gay; his main plot revolved around revenge for his dead wife (Vaylgar was hinting to be gay, but this isn't explored here or on the games other than Cernd of all people making fun of him for it in the game dialogue!) I mean Cernd was just a huge ass in those games, I'm amazed anyone would want to marry him, let alone Kivan.
  • Sarevok in the games knows he didn't need his father/god's approval or help, just his power, and now he's just a shell of a man?

The lead on this was a part of the writing team for those games, so I think we're possibly seeing the direction he would've taken with them had he been sole-creative lead, but for most of us these characters are the game versions, and a 'where are they now?' book.

I don't want to end on a sour note, so I will just reiterate the book OVERALL is great, and if you don't really character about the characters and writing from the BG series, you'll have no complaints here, it's certainly worthy of being an 'official' 5e product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GAZ8 The Five Shires (Basic)
by martin y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2022 14:15:46

Happy with the purchase.The print can be hazy,and the map is in pieces and bound within the book.Still,this is a good buy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ8 The Five Shires (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
by Jose P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2022 04:56:28

Great product. I love all the character stats (so many to play with) and the art in this book. Looking forward to a second journal by Minsc and Boo.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

L1 The Secret of Bone Hill (1e)
by Loren G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2022 14:31:12

Printing of this module was good, text sharp/clear and drawn images are wonderful. No noticeable blurs anywhere in the module. Only issues with this print is: you can see the lines of the old module scans, the placing of the these scans in the module pages are slightly crooked, 2 pages are missing their page number and some pages are too close to the binding - making it slightly difficult to read in some text paragraphs.

Im happy with this product and would recommend this purchase.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
L1 The Secret of Bone Hill (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WGS1 Five Shall Be One (2e)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2022 07:38:37

Quest for legendary lost Barbarian blades, which the PCs get to wield. Some similarities to X4 Master of the Desert Nomads, as there are a number of exciting set pieces, culminating in the infiltration of an orc city (which is the best part). Somewhat linear, but worth the journey.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WGS1 Five Shall Be One (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by jeremiah h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2022 13:06:29

Still one of the best books TSR ever published. The book is a good investment if ur interested in b/x. The quality is decent as the print is a scan of the old book. If u dont want to pay a lot for the original get this as it should last u for yrs to come depending on how well u take care of it. Get the PDF book combo to save money and put the PDF on ur phone so u can look the book over when ur on the go.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Q1 Queen of the Demonweb Pits (1e)
by Adam O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2022 15:15:16

I just finished this adventure, and what can I say...I have mixed feelings.

tl;dr: I would treat this adventure as more of a campaign setting. Take the elements here that sound cool and use them, but I would not recommend actually playing this as written. I didn't have fun with this one.

For context, I didn't run this with the G or D series modules. My game ended with a different reason for the players to go into the demonweb. I also never played AD&D, though I love to go back to classic modules for the sake of pulling some of that old school design into my 5e games.

First, the good (beware ye of some spoilers): There's some really cool stuff in here. I appreciate having an adventure set in the demonweb, with a final fight against Lolth. The way that spell effects are changed by the Abyss is a fantastic touch. I also like the way that the demonweb intersects with itself in ways that don't make spacial sense. These two factors really push forward the context that you're in the Abyss; the old rules don't apply. Lolth's ship at the end is pretty neat, and I like the layout of the spider ship.

But unfortunately there's a lot here I don't like:

Exploration is non-existant. The demonweb is one super-huge totally uninteresting 20 foot wide corridor. Each level looks the same as the last. The most interesting thing is that players (and enemy monsters) can jump off of some parts of the web and land on others where the paths intersect. This is really cool in theory, but in practive the players have no idea where they ended up. Mapping something like that is impossible, and it was probably done that way on purpose to drive the players (not the characters) insane and get them lost. Rooms in the demonweb (what few there are) are stretched hundreds of feet away from each other, meaning that the majority of "adventuring" in the demonweb is going down a corridor, rolling a random encounter every few hundred feet, fighting that encounter, ocassionally coming to a door which you hope is the way up, but it also might just be a room of 30 ogres and they surprise you and you have to fight them. That isn't really "fun" - it's just monotonous. The only cool location the players should visit is the ship at the end. Admittedly, there are seeds of other worlds that Lolth are invading, which is neat! Finally a change of pace. Except they are totally unnecessary to complete the adventure. In fact, the key to these worlds encourages you to railroad the players away and say ”It doesn‘t look like Lolth lives here” if the players get too atttached to the world, or if you can't figure out a way to weave them into the story. So why even have these worlds? Because without them, clerics can't get back any spells above second level. These worlds are on the prime material plane and exist purely for clerics to pray for spells. What a missed opportunity.

Social encounters are vanishingly rare. There are a few places where the characters can meet friendly faces that are willing to talk to them. But none of the random encounters are like that. Most intelligent creatures you meet will attack you on sight because Lolth doesn't approve of interlopers. There's such a missed opportunity here for more social encounters: Driders looking for redemption, demons trying to tempt you, parties of devil spies or agents of rival demon lords coming into conflict with you. The closest you get to that kind of social interaction is the prime material worlds on the fourth level of the web. But I was so drained at that point, I just wanted it all to be over. Those encounters should be peppered throughout the web and not limited to the final rooms of the adventure.

And as for combat; most encounters are honestly really lame. This is the demonweb! Lolth's home base! And most of what you fight is ogres, drow, and giant bugs. Where are the demons?! Why are all of the random encounters fights with giant bugs? And I found most of the encounters are totally meaningingless battles at that. They're mostly fights for the sake of fights; there to pad out the empty demonweb while your players slowly get lost, frustrated, and bored.

Overall, I appreciate this module for the good ideas that are there. And if your group is full of butt-kickers who just want to roll dice and kill things, this adventure might work for you. But I wish there was more substance here aside from killing bugs and ogres. If you're a better DM than me, I bet you can make this adventure shine. But it needs a skilled DM and a lot of polish to bring it to greatness. And I felt the adventure didn't make that easy. So, I can't recommend it



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Q1 Queen of the Demonweb Pits (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Rogues Gallery (1e)
by Todd R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2022 01:48:15

since the issues of this pdf not being teadable for over half the product the rating is about the product and unfortunately its useless.......



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Rogues Gallery (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GAZ7 The Northern Reaches (Basic)
by martin y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2022 09:57:13

Beautiful copy.However,the cardstock buildings and foldout map are cut up and bound within the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ7 The Northern Reaches (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 6487 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates