DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
by Jesper S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2022 13:04:15

Securely packaged - and overall - very satisfied, however the colors are too dark on the front cover and the text inside the booklet are not 100% sharp - especially on gray background (i assume this is due the scan of the original?) Nothing that takes anything away from the item, except the 5th star :-)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
B10 Night's Dark Terror (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Manual 3 (4e)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/04/2022 10:45:20

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2022/07/monstrous-mondays-d-4th-ed-monster.html

To begin with, I was and am a fan of 4th Edition Dungeons & Dragons. I know it was not everyone's favorite edition, to put it mildly, but there are some really great things about it. For starters, I applaud the design team for daring to try something new and different with the D&D game. Of course, most fans don't want new. They want the same thing, but even for the open-minded D&D 4 was a bridge too far. Secondly, D&D 4 was a masterwork of modular design. You could take out and move around sections of it as you needed. Yes, everything worked together, but many of the pieces could be swapped out for other pieces. This design notion extended to the layout of the books. Nowhere is this better seen than with the Monster Manuals.

To me it seemed that 4th edition took the design elements that had made the Monstrous Compendiums successful; namely one monster per page, and all sorts of information on the monster's habitat, environment, and variations. It is also one of the main reasons I still keep my 4th edition monster books. There is so much information here that I have been using them to inform details in my 5th edition game.

In all cases here, I am considering my hardcover books and the PDFs from DriveThruRPG.

Much like AD&D second edition, the monsters for D&D 4th edition are presented as one page per monster. More or less. Sometimes the monster runs two or four pages, but always a complete page. Where 3e had monsters built exactly like characters, 4e monsters have their own rules, much like how 1st and 2nd Ed built them.

Fourth Edition was most certainly a "miniatures" game or, as it was hoped, to have a lot of online support and content. That did not materialize in the way Wizards of the Coast wanted and strong sales of Paizo's rival "Pathfinder RPG" kept D&D sales low for the first in the history of RPGS. Make no mistake, D&D still sold well, it just wasn't out selling everything else.

That was too bad really. D&D 4 had a lot about it I liked and still like.

Monster Manual 3 for D&D 4e Hardcover and PDF. Color covers, full-color interior art. 224 pages.

This is also the only book of the three that you can also buy as a Print on Demand softcover.

This book was released in June 2010, another year after the MM2. Lolth is our cover girl this time. It would have been interesting to see Graz'zt, but Lolth makes sense too. Eclavdra also shows up in Lolth's entry.

Page for page, this one has a lot more new monsters. Not just new to D&D 4, but new to D&D. These include the new Catastrophic Dragons which I had been looking forward to. There are a lot of new monsters and some additions to MM1 & MM2 ones, like new Fire Giants. That is one of the features of this edition, each variation of a monster needs a new stat-block. To be fair, D&D 3 and D&D 5 also did this a fair bit.

The layout is such, that like the AD&D 2nd Edition Monstrous Compendiums, the D&D 4th Edition Monster Manuals PDFs can be printed out with just the monsters you want and organized in a binder. The modularity of the design is so well planned out that it really makes me want to print out these PDFs and just make my own Monstrous Compendium style binder for it. Sure the page numbering will be wonky, but that would not matter, everything will be perfectly alphabetized. I could even re-integrate demons like Orcus and Lolth back to where they belong under demons.

The art is amazing really. The visual style of the monsters flows from the 3rd Edition monster books to provide a sense of continuity even if the worlds do feel different.

I am not currently playing D&D 4th Edition, but I find these monster books still so incredibly useful even in my D&D 5th Edition and Basic/Expert edition games. They are also just great-looking books.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual 3 (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Manual 2 (4e)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/04/2022 10:45:12

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2022/07/monstrous-mondays-d-4th-ed-monster.html

To begin with, I was and am a fan of 4th Edition Dungeons & Dragons. I know it was not everyone's favorite edition, to put it mildly, but there are some really great things about it. For starters, I applaud the design team for daring to try something new and different with the D&D game. Of course, most fans don't want new. They want the same thing, but even for the open-minded D&D 4 was a bridge too far. Secondly, D&D 4 was a masterwork of modular design. You could take out and move around sections of it as you needed. Yes, everything worked together, but many of the pieces could be swapped out for other pieces. This design notion extended to the layout of the books. Nowhere is this better seen than with the Monster Manuals.

To me it seemed that 4th edition took the design elements that had made the Monstrous Compendiums successful; namely one monster per page, and all sorts of information on the monster's habitat, environment, and variations. It is also one of the main reasons I still keep my 4th edition monster books. There is so much information here that I have been using them to inform details in my 5th edition game.

In all cases here, I am considering my hardcover books and the PDFs from DriveThruRPG.

Much like AD&D second edition, the monsters for D&D 4th edition are presented as one page per monster. More or less. Sometimes the monster runs two or four pages, but always a complete page. Where 3e had monsters built exactly like characters, 4e monsters have their own rules, much like how 1st and 2nd Ed built them.

Fourth Edition was most certainly a "miniatures" game or, as it was hoped, to have a lot of online support and content. That did not materialize in the way Wizards of the Coast wanted and strong sales of Paizo's rival "Pathfinder RPG" kept D&D sales low for the first in the history of RPGS. Make no mistake, D&D still sold well, it just wasn't out selling everything else.

That was too bad really. D&D 4 had a lot about it I liked and still like.

Monster Manual 2 for D&D 4e Hardcover and PDF. Color covers, full-color interior art. 224 pages.

This book was published about a year later in May of 2009. This book also has over 170 monster entries. Some are expanded, like Giants (and I love what they did for giants in this edition) and more demons. This book also gives the impression that many monsters were held back for a second book. Unlike previous books with the same name, Monster Manual 2, this one doesn't feel like added-on monsters. This feels more like the Vol 2 of the AD&D Monstrous Compendium. In addition to some that are expected, there are some new monsters too.

Our cover guy this time is Demogorgon. He and all his minions get 9 pages.

The layout is such, that like the AD&D 2nd Edition Monstrous Compendiums, the D&D 4th Edition Monster Manuals PDFs can be printed out with just the monsters you want and organized in a binder. The modularity of the design is so well planned out that it really makes me want to print out these PDFs and just make my own Monstrous Compendium style binder for it. Sure the page numbering will be wonky, but that would not matter, everything will be perfectly alphabetized. I could even re-integrate demons like Orcus and Lolth back to where they belong under demons.

The art is amazing really. The visual style of the monsters flows from the 3rd Edition monster books to provide a sense of continuity even if the worlds do feel different.

I am not currently playing D&D 4th Edition, but I find these monster books still so incredibly useful even in my D&D 5th Edition and Basic/Expert edition games. They are also just great-looking books.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual 2 (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Manual (4e)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/04/2022 10:45:03

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2022/07/monstrous-mondays-d-4th-ed-monster.html

To begin with, I was and am a fan of 4th Edition Dungeons & Dragons. I know it was not everyone's favorite edition, to put it mildly, but there are some really great things about it. For starters, I applaud the design team for daring to try something new and different with the D&D game. Of course, most fans don't want new. They want the same thing, but even for the open-minded D&D 4 was a bridge too far. Secondly, D&D 4 was a masterwork of modular design. You could take out and move around sections of it as you needed. Yes, everything worked together, but many of the pieces could be swapped out for other pieces. This design notion extended to the layout of the books. Nowhere is this better seen than with the Monster Manuals.

To me it seemed that 4th edition took the design elements that had made the Monstrous Compendiums successful; namely one monster per page, and all sorts of information on the monster's habitat, environment, and variations. It is also one of the main reasons I still keep my 4th edition monster books. There is so much information here that I have been using them to inform details in my 5th edition game.

In all cases here, I am considering my hardcover books and the PDFs from DriveThruRPG.

Monster Manual for D&D 4e Hardcover and PDF. Color covers, full-color interior art. 288 pages.

This was the third book published for D&D 4th edition, though that is a mere technicality since all books were published at the same time in June of 2008. I picked mine up as a boxed set at the midnight release.

Much like AD&D second edition, the monsters for D&D 4th edition are presented as one page per monster. More or less. Sometimes the monster runs two or four pages, but always a complete page. Where 3e had monsters built exactly like characters, 4e monsters have their own rules, much like how 1st and 2nd Ed built them.

Fourth Edition was most certainly a "miniatures" game or, as it was hoped, to have a lot of online support and content. That did not materialize in the way Wizards of the Coast wanted and strong sales of Paizo's rival "Pathfinder RPG" kept D&D sales low for the first in the history of RPGS. Make no mistake, D&D still sold well, it just wasn't out selling everything else.

That was too bad really. D&D 4 had a lot about it I liked and still like.

The 4e Monster Manual is 288 pages with over 170 monster entries. Many entries have multiple monsters. For example, there are three different types of Aboleth, six types of kobolds, and seven types of orcs. Along with the stat blocks, we get an idea of the role each monster plays in combat, like Controller, Brutes, Skirmishers, or Leaders, and what tactics they can employ. All the monsters have Lore with appropriate DCs for learning more about them or what a particular die roll will bring up. The monsters also include plot hooks and ideas for using them in adventures.

Some interesting changes happened in 4e. For starters, some major demons, like our cover guy Orcus here, got their own entry outside of the demons category. He also had major henchmen listed with him.

Also, a conscious effort was made to redesign the cosmology of D&D. The effect here was to have Succubi now listed as "Devils" and not "Demons."

This caused some interesting in-game fluff with books like Erin M. Evans' "Brimstone Angels" trying to explain this "in-universe" from the perspective of the Forgotten Realms. This lives on in 5e with succubi as now independent evil outsiders. Other changes were made to various monsters, Daemons/Yugoloths we moved over to the demons, including making them Chaotic Evil. This might have messed with ideas of the Blood War, but there is no reason why there needs to be continuity between editions, it is just nice.

One of the things that irritated some people was not the monsters it had, but the ones it did not have. It particular Demogorgon is nowhere to be found and many of the named devils are also not here.

The layout is such, that like the AD&D 2nd Edition Monstrous Compendiums, the D&D 4th Edition Monster Manuals PDFs can be printed out with just the monsters you want and organized in a binder. The modularity of the design is so well planned out that it really makes me want to print out these PDFs and just make my own Monstrous Compendium style binder for it. Sure the page numbering will be wonky, but that would not matter, everything will be perfectly alphabetized. I could even re-integrate demons like Orcus and Lolth back to where they belong under demons.

The art is amazing really. The visual style of the monsters flows from the 3rd Edition monster books to provide a sense of continuity even if the worlds do feel different.

I am not currently playing D&D 4th Edition, but I find these monster books still so incredibly useful even in my D&D 5th Edition and Basic/Expert edition games. They are also just great-looking books.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGA2: Black Opal Eye (Basic)
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2022 06:07:24

This adventure - produced for the RPGA - includes an interesting backstory, and has a very well-structured design. (One nice touch is that the adventure can be run alone, or as a sequel to the previous RPGA adventure, and there's material supporting both.) These advantages, plus some inventive challenges, elevate what otherwise could have been just another dungeon crawl. However, a little more plot would have helped, and things get a bit too complicated in the latter half as far as traps and puzzles. (I'm also not sure there are enough clues for players to figure out the "best" ending.) This could make for a good game, but be prepared to make adjustments for your particular group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RPGA2: Black Opal Eye (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

X11 Saga of the Shadow Lord (Basic)
by martin y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2022 09:21:53

Quality of the scan is good.It's great to get clean copies of these modules at decent prices.Thank the goddess for drive thru rpg!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
X11 Saga of the Shadow Lord (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

O2 Blade of Vengeance (Basic)
by martin y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2022 09:17:35

The scan is a little hazy,but it's nice to get a clean copy at a resonable price.Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
O2 Blade of Vengeance (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-18 The Mysterious Isle (5e)
by Ryan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2022 09:10:45

This is a great adventure! Very interesting encounters in a dynamic setting. It's definitely heavy on combat, but since underwater combat more of a unique experience it prevents it from getting old.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-18 The Mysterious Isle (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WG9 Gargoyle (1e/2e)
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2022 06:45:09

An adventure for AD&D 1st Edition (but billed as 2nd Edition compatible) in the Greyhawk setting (not that it's especially relevant to the plot). This lighthearted scenario has the player characters hired to help a pair of gargoyles find their stolen wings - a premise apparently based on an art error from the original Monster Manual. Unfortunately, while the adventure is adequately well-designed, it's trying too hard at times to be funny (did we really need so many random accident tables?) and much of the progress seems to depend on players doing things in just the right order. (The players also have very little direct influence on the finale.) Note, the adventure clearly intends for you to use the pre-generated characters in the book, so it might require some adjustment for original PCs. Not a bad adventure, if you're looking for something sillier, but this feels like it could have been executed better. (Originally posted on Goodreads)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WG9 Gargoyle (1e/2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Player's Option: Heroes of the Feywild (4e)
by Ryo T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2022 09:39:04

The definitive product on all things Feywild. I have purchased the majority of all things Fey on both DMG & DTRPG and this is the stand-out product. Too many times the Feywild is toned down and becomes, in my view, too childish with its focus on 'happy' fairytales. This book scratched the itch for something deeper. It focuses on out-of-the-box quirkiness rather than the more beige/bland version we got from The Wild Beyond the Witchlight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Option: Heroes of the Feywild (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDA4 The Dymrak Dread (Basic)
by ARTUR F. W. J. - C. 0. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2022 14:57:30

A good entry module, although not very original in 1991. The scan is pretty descent, but this version has no map and this is serious.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDA4 The Dymrak Dread (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon+: The Barber of Silverymoon (5e)
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2022 00:40:22

A weird but fun little adventure that makes great use of the fey monsters and lore from Volo's Guide to Monsters. Also includes a bunch of equally weird-but-fun new magic items throughout. A well-designed adventure that would be a good choice for a one-shot... and best of all, it's free!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon+: The Barber of Silverymoon (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Will and the Way (2e)
by Martin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2022 05:32:17

Great quality print, The pages are clear amd readble. The cover is a great glossy print full of colour, I was unable to buy a copy back in the day but I'm glad DrivethruRPG do things like this. Also this book is a great expansion of psionics and psionic powers not just for the 2E Darksun setting but can slot into any 2E setting that has psionic. It greatly expands the powers and provides far more utility to the psionicist



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Will and the Way (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Caves of Shadow (3.0)
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2022 22:47:24

This adventure scenario is so basic and cliche it made me cringe just to read through it. I guess if you are a first time DM and your players are absolutely new to RPGs and you wanted something extremely basic, maybe it would be useful for you.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Caves of Shadow (3.0)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

To the City of Brass
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2022 22:44:22

This adventure, as presented, would require a considerable amount of work to turn it into something useable at a game table.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
To the City of Brass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 6529 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates