DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
by Ben R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2021 16:55:56

This is one of the best 5E products I've had the pleasure to buy. Not the best - many have pointed out typos, inconsistencies, and so forth. But damn is there a lot to love about what's here. UPDATED LORE. The character biographies and the hometowns give so much new juicy Forgotten Realms lore. From a careful reading, you can tell this book's lore is set after Descent into Avernus, which means some of it might provide some cool clues for Baldur's Gate 3, like this tiefling sorcerer trying to get elected as one of the dukes. Really cool inspiring stuff all around. TONS OF HOOKS. The Group Patrons all have great perks and mechanics that can inspire a lot of sessions. Contacts, villains, henchmen, cities, there are story hooks all over this thing. GREAT CRUNCH. Tables galore! Tons of great stuff in each city and group patron. Fences, magic item shops, item crafting, and more just plain old cool stuff. MONSTERS! There's a lot of great monster statblocks in here - and in the old-school style where monsters can cast spells! Love it! - but the one that made this a must-buy for me was the phaerimm. Just great Realms specific content all around. A perfect addition to the Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide and Baldur's Gate hardcovers. GORGEOUS ART. Every art piece in here is to die for. I want to use the characters and monsters in this book because the art of them is so evocative, attractive, terrifying, and beautiful.

I can't wait for my print copy to arrive! A top notch indispensible product for anyone running 5E games in the Forgotten Realms in the 1490s!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
by Albert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2021 10:51:18

Overall pretty usefull. You can either fill out and supplement campaigns you are already running, or make entire campaigns based on what you can find here. I'm not familiar with the Baldur's Gate games as I've never played them, but this book is really helping me flesh out the Sword Coast campaign I'm currently running. Overall, I'd love to see more material like this where I'm provided with fleshed out settings and engaging characters to live in those settings to make the campaigns I run feel more lived in and three dimensional.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2021 07:10:06

This book is an absolute must have! For me, this book was a wonderful ride through "memory lane" as I learned what happened to many heroes and villains from the Baldur's Gate video games. No spoilers but at least one of them is petrified about being petrified again. The writing is fantastic and the "voice" of boo (and sometimes Minsc) is peppered throughout the work. As an added bonus, the author re-introduced the demodand gehreleths. These nasty buggers are close to my heart. Oh and the art is bloody amazing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
by patrick m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2021 19:05:09

while it was alot. it felt kind of lacking at the sametime. I was expecting something more like guy's (howtobeagreatgm's) type of supplement



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
by Aaron S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2021 17:18:27

A pretty cool module, but I think it's price may be based more on its fame & the cost of a color copy job than anything. Just got D1-2 & S4 also. Better modules with larger page count for similar pricing. As a classic of gonzo modules, though, I'd give the content a 4/5.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
X2 Castle Amber (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
by Daniel R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2021 09:21:55

One of the best 5E books I've read. Really great art and a lot of information that I can slip into my own campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Rogues Gallery (1e)
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2021 14:59:25

Useful stuff throughout for AD&D folks to use. I find that the sections starting with Caravans is the most useful, though having those huge blocks of stats is nice as well for reference/quick building characters, even if they're a mess to try to sort through (but if we're not willing to put up with messy tables, we shouldn't be playing AD&D, right?). While I enjoy the concept behind the percentile-based nature of the organization of these earlier tables, it's a pain the butt to try to find specific stat lines for pregens at a certain level. Also, the section for cleric pregens has no header, introduction, anything--there's just a two-page spread of stats from pages 6-7 with no provided context outside of the table of contents. Aside from these minor detractions, this is a pretty solid pick-up for DMs looking for quick ways to get some NPCs statted out (ahem--just in case).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Rogues Gallery (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Domains of Delight (5e)
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2021 17:48:52

I liked the first half. I enjoyed reading it. Constructing an Arch Fey is useful. I like the curses ... The second half feels like a collection of random bits thrown together that can ONLY be used with the Wild Beyond the Witchlight. In my oppinion the first half is good and the second half was left on the cutting floor with good reason. But if you are a DM that loves a wide variety of bits and bobs and handouts while playing and you are running Wild then this might be for you.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Domains of Delight (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Roxanne T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2021 13:42:43

My 2nd favorite adventure of all time. The Kobolds are really fun and deadly. Dropping a fireball on a tier 1 table is always hilarious. I just noticed for the first time it's a 2 hour module though. I have always run it as a four hour module easy as the player get more and more paranoid and slow as they progress. Highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2021 12:04:12

An excellent resource, pulling together all the BECMI (or at least BECM) D&D materials without the patronizing tone of those sets. The additional material on mass battles etc. is helpful. This is however printed from a scan of an original, so the resolution is not as crisp as soemthing from normal print run. This is a little taxing on the eyes, but overal a great value, especially considering what the original printings go for these days.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 22:23:23

one of the best books I have ever used for 5e amazingly good better than sword Coast campaign module by far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Goblin's Lair (Basic)
by Tim N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 20:28:27

Missing 'Red Hand Trail', one of the three scenarios.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Goblin's Lair (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
by Cullem H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 19:15:53

High CR monsters, Archdevils and Demon Lords, monsters with spell slots, multiple factions with actual mechanics, lichdom rules, numerous NPCs, prebuilt settlements with maps and details, and more! As a homebrew DM, this is great!

I will say, though, that it does have a serious issue with typos.The wrong letters in places, periods where they shouldn't be, inconsistent phrasing in the statblocks at times, etc. It doesn't ruin it, and it's still personally functional, I'd just probably rate it at 4.5 stars if I could.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 17:27:38

I reviewed this book on YouTube here.

The gist of it being that overall the book is good. But that the book really needed to flesh out the Cowled Wizards more. Them banning all arcane magic (which technically means more than just spells) actually affects artificers, bards, sorcerers, warlocks, and wizards. The fact that the book doesn't meaningfully address this is a big oversight.

In fact, they are the biggest challenge with running anything in Athkatla. So the book should have at least included them as a patron as a way to let the party operate normally.

The maps are good but their numbering is terrible and it can be difficult to find places because of it.

Suldenesselar's section has inconsistencies over who runs it (is it Irenicus or Ellesime?) and is 90% talking about Shadowfell Suldenessellar .

Ust Natha's section is too small to be much use.

The group patrons and villains are cool. But most of the monsters and many of the patron contacts are just reprinted from Heroes of Baldur's Gate (aka the art and statblocks). A lot of the art also comes from Odyssey of the Dragonlords too apparently.

Then there are the proofreading issues. This book has a lot of typos and oversights. It's really not at the level I would hope for a WotC product.

Also, they haven't responded to a single post on the discussion section. Which makes me think they have no plans to ever update this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Minsc and Boo's Journal of Villainy (5e)
by Aidan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 08:48:53

This is a DnD book purely focused on DMs, and a very good one at that.

The highligh of it is the really good descriptions of factions & cities, with well defined rules on how players are to interact with those factions, that can be applied to any setting. Also has really interesting henchmen & so much top quality art.

I highly reccommend this for any DM



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 6295 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates