DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
DDA4 The Dymrak Dread (Basic)
by ARTUR F. W. J. - C. 0. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2022 14:57:30

A good entry module, although not very original in 1991. The scan is pretty descent, but this version has no map and this is serious.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDA4 The Dymrak Dread (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon+: The Barber of Silverymoon (5e)
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2022 00:40:22

A weird but fun little adventure that makes great use of the fey monsters and lore from Volo's Guide to Monsters. Also includes a bunch of equally weird-but-fun new magic items throughout. A well-designed adventure that would be a good choice for a one-shot... and best of all, it's free!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon+: The Barber of Silverymoon (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Will and the Way (2e)
by Martin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2022 05:32:17

Great quality print, The pages are clear amd readble. The cover is a great glossy print full of colour, I was unable to buy a copy back in the day but I'm glad DrivethruRPG do things like this. Also this book is a great expansion of psionics and psionic powers not just for the 2E Darksun setting but can slot into any 2E setting that has psionic. It greatly expands the powers and provides far more utility to the psionicist



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Will and the Way (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Caves of Shadow (3.0)
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2022 22:47:24

This adventure scenario is so basic and cliche it made me cringe just to read through it. I guess if you are a first time DM and your players are absolutely new to RPGs and you wanted something extremely basic, maybe it would be useful for you.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Caves of Shadow (3.0)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

To the City of Brass
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2022 22:44:22

This adventure, as presented, would require a considerable amount of work to turn it into something useable at a game table.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
To the City of Brass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

I2 Tomb of the Lizard King (1e)
by Guy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2022 08:36:41

Great quality print. Everything was ver clear and well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
I2 Tomb of the Lizard King (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
by Nicholas R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2022 08:50:20

Sigh. Okay, I'm not doing a review of the AD&D2e PHB, I'm doing a review of THIS AD&D2e PHB compared to other printings. (Which is why I gave it 3 stars instead of 5, and IDK that it earned that much). So, I've played this game for many year, and owned and read it and WANTED to play before I could find someone willing (Satanic Panic, remember?) for longer. I'm comparing this version with: 1st printing, revised 1st printing, revised 2nd printing. I THINK a few things were changed here compared to what I'd read previous, enhancing MY understanding of the way bows are supposed to work, but that, like many other areas, is unclear because THE RULES IN DIFFERENT SECTIONS DIRECTLY CONTRADICT THE RULES IN OTHER SECTIONS, and none of them are labeled optional. The Armor section of Table 44 (the costs of Armor) is still a mess, several opportunities at clarification and cleaning up directly contradictory or incosistent rules were not taken, and Table 63 (range and duragion of light sources) is possibly THE MOST MESSED UP I HAVE EVER SEEN IT. And the Encumbrance rules still suffer from someone dragging and dropping in the wrong place BUT differently than in the 2nd printing of the revised version (it was actually correct before that printing). HOW?!? I understand when TSR is woefully understaffed and a new printing comes out that, while fixing some errors, SOMEHOW manages to introduce NEW ERRORS. Actually, no, I don't understand how that happens, but there it is. I mean, when they changed the whole format, some of that could be excused, but then they introduced MORE errors. But THIS! I thought this would be getting the whole modern treatment by editors who cared about their work. I was looking to pick up Unearthed Arcana becasue it was re-edited and included compiled Dragon articles, etc. and was the most complete version. So I assumed they at least edited the other "Deluxe" editions.... I was apparently mistaken. They really missed a golden opportunity here to show some love to their old skool folks and maybe get some business out of them - even an interest in newer product, considering how many similar design philosophies were behind 2e and 5e.

SO: i LOVE 2nd ediiton. It has a very good mix of the best parts of all the previous editions, and you can see the influences on later editions clearly when you read. If it takes you forever to make a 5e character, and you feel a little straight-jacketed by being basically forced to pick Personality Traits, Ideal, Bond, Flaw (which you can always tell your DM and they can let you ignore that), then maybe this is right for you. You will see a lot familiar. But realize, because they seem not to have edited, the DM WILL have to make some judgement calls on the way certain basic rules work, because the rules directly contradict each other on several points, and the book has plenty of errors (many of which are, at least, glaringly obvious, like Table 63). Also a couple of tips: there are no rules for non-Thieves or non-Dwarves to find traps because they either can't, or its up to the DM to decide based on your desription of what your character is doing to attempt to find them. Druid Wildshape works by giving you all the physical attacks and movement and such listed for the animal in the Monstrous Manual, but you use the Druid's hit points at the time they change shape (plus 1d6x10% healing it mentions). Also, they should have edited the "languages of woodland creatures" Druid ability to be consistent with The Complete Druid's Handbook and give the Druid bonus NWPs to spend on these (and ONLY to spend on these). If you already play 2e and have books in good shape, don't count on this to clear up anything, so... I mean, if you need more of them, its probably cheaper than eBay to pick up this P.O.D.. It is, disappointingly, only in softcover, but I have had problems with two out of three hardcovers coming from Lightning Source, so that's not necessarily a bad thing. I plan to pick up a few more myself for players when its in my budget to do so. But this doesn't solve the problems of inconsistency and lack of clarification of certain things. I think they just reprinted the last version they had on file.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook, Revised (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legends & Lore (2e)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/16/2022 15:42:24

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2022/06/one-mans-god-legends-lore-2nd-edition.html

For this review, I am considering the hardcover book published in 1990 and the files from DriveThruRPG. 192 pages. Color cover and inserts, black & white and blue interior art.

My history with Legends & Lore is a complicated one. Deities & Demigods was my very first AD&D hardcover purchase. I was playing a Cleric in D&D B/X at the time and wanted to expand his role in the game. I thought a book of gods would be a great in. Plus it was mythology that got me into D&D to begin with, so it was a natural choice for me.

Like many at the time I also, rather immaturely, chaffed under the name change of "Deities & Demigods" to "Legends & Lore" feeling that TSR was bowing to the smallest, but loudest, contingent of people criticizing the game. But I would later buy a copy so my collection of AD&D hardbacks would be complete. Fast forward a couple of years and now AD&D 2nd Ed is the new game on the block and there is a new Legends & Lore out. This time I did not mind the name, maybe because I was now in college and saw that it fit the content better. I recall sitting in the apartment of my old High School DM and his cousin was there (he lived in the apartment below) and we were discussing the new L&L book. I can't say the discussion was very favorable towards the new book.

Before I delve into that, let's look at the book and I'll bring up that discussion as it pertains.

Legends & Lore was written by James M. Ward (who gave us Gods, Demi-gods, and Heroes and Deities & Demigods) and Troy Denning. This book has the advantage of being the one that is most in common with three different versions of the D&D game. The book is called revised and updated, and it is certainly that, but there are plenty of similarities between this book and the 1st Edition one.

This book contains 11 different mythologies, down from the 17/15 of the previous edition. This was one of my first points of contention with the book back in 1990. Where were the Babylonia and Summerian? The Finnish or the Non-humans? One could have easily combined (and made a good argument for it) the Babylonian and Sumerian myths. Combined they still were not as long as the Egyptian myths cover.

My second point of contention, and even then I knew this was a very weak leg to stand on, is that the stats were gone. Oh sure there were brand new stat blocks for worshipers and what the gods can do and there were the stats for their "Earthly" avatars, but the long, and let me just say it, Monster Manual-like stats were gone. Yes. These are not supposed to beings you can, or even should, hunt down to kill.

My last complaint, and again this one is weak, is that so much of the art was reused for this edition.

Granted sometimes the older art was used to great effect. Other times, less so. Thelb K'aarna art for Cú Chulainn? Nope. Not buying it. They would have been better using Moonglum.

The book does though do a very good job to laying out the powers of Greater, Intermediate (new to this edition), Lesser, and Demi- Gods. Power common to all gods are discussed and powers they grant to their clerics, in general, are discussed, with the details of each god. Ok. So this means each god takes up more space. That explains some of the loss.

There is a solid human focus here and that is by the design of the book since they are drawing more from history.

Each of the pantheon/myths is presented in more or less of the same format. We get a covering of the myths and an explanation on where they come from. There are some new spells listed and some new magic items. We follow with the Gods, usually the most powerful first working our way down to demi-gods and ascended heroes. Where appropriate there are also monsters and sometimes maps/plans of centers of worship. Pyramids for the Aztecs and Egyptians, temples, and so on.

Also included with each god are the duties of the priesthood and what their requirements are. These will include alignment, ability score minimums, Weapons the priests are allowed to use, armor restrictions, what spheres of clerical magic they will have access, what other powers might be granted, and whether or not they can turn or command undead or even have no effect on them at all. This is the forerunner of 3rd Edition's Channel Divinity power for Clerics.

The myths include American Indian, Arthurian Legends, Aztec, Celtic, Chinese, Egyptian, Greek, Indian, Japanese, Newhwon, and Norse.

One Man's God

Now I want to look at each of these and see how they would fare using the lens of One Man's God. Or, to put it easier. Are there any demons here?

American Indian

Covers some similar ground (as all the myths do) as the original Deities & Demigods. No monsters here, but a lot of heroes.

Arthurian Legends

No gods at all here, despite how important Christian mythology, especially around the Holy Grail, is to these tales. Only a note that "Authur's deity remains distant and unapproachable." The Grail is mentioned as a magical relic, but not much more about it. There are only two monsters here, The White Hart and The Questing Beast.

Aztec

Aztec myths are full of demons and demon-like creatures. What does 2ne ed give us? A paragraph about how the mythology is lacking in fantastic creatures. Sorry, not buying that one.

Celtic

Now Celtic myths have monsters, and I have talked about many of them before, but only a very few could be considered demons in the AD&D sense of the term. Here we get a lot of gods and only one hero, Cú Chulainn.

Chinese

Again China has tons of creatures that could be called demons in the AD&D sense. The Neglected Ancestral Spirit could be considered demonic. But are they AD&D demons? I am going with no.

Egyptian

Not sure I am liking that blonde-haired, green-eyed version of Isis here. It is likely that our first concept of demons came from Egyptians. Well.,, I would argue they came from the Sumerians who would then influence the Egyptians. Also, Egyptians have a ton of gods, so no monsters at all in this section. Not even Apep and Ammit.

Greek

Many of the primordial titans of Greek myth would get new life in Roman myths and then get ported over to Christian mythology. Geryon is one notable example. As far as Greek myths go this one has the gods a bit better organized. The Furies or Erinyes are now "Lesser Gods" which tracks with some myths and here their alignment is Neutral. Among the monsters are Cerberus (NE) and the Gigantes (CE) which are bit like the primordial versions of the giants. These work great for my Hüne which are bit like demons.

Indian

One of Kali's great powers is her ability to scare away demons. It's why she is put at the head of armies. Does this book give us any? Sadly no monsters are mentioned here.

Japanese

This one feels a bit more research than the original D&DG. While no demons, the god Amatsu-Mikaboshi would make for a reasonable devil or some other type of fiend; a unique, Prince level one. He is a rebel god and would not submit to the other gods, so there is a bit of Lucifer in him. That and the fact he is called the "Dread Star of Heaven."

Nehwon

Our odd one out since it is not a world myth but rather the creation of Fritz Leiber. Again Tyaa could pass for a demonic queen in many settings along with the Birds of Tyaa.

Norse

The Norse gave us fire and frost giants and many of those primordial giants are quite demon-like. Lots of heroes here, as to be expected, and some monsters. Garm and Fenris Wolf could both be considered to be like demons as well.

In the end this book represented a paradigm shift that was not just part of AD&D 2nd Edition but happened along with it. Even future books that dealt with gods handled them a little different than this, but along the same paths of evolution.

What was the outcome of my story about talking with my friends about this book? Well if you see the image of the cover I used, well that is my own book. I didn't buy it right away, in fact it was many years later before I picked up a copy of Legends & Lore. Strange that a book that was really one of my first purchases for AD&D would in the very next edition become one of my last.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legends & Lore (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

I10: Ravenloft II: The House on Gryphon Hill (1e)
by martin y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2022 09:55:13

Quality paper with a quality scan.The colors are vibrant on the cover.Very happy with the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
I10: Ravenloft II: The House on Gryphon Hill (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

I6 Ravenloft (1e)
by martin y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2022 08:56:43

Happy with my purchase.However,the scan of the cover preserves the wear and tear of the original.The colors on the cover show fading due to rubbing.That being said,the interior is excellent crisp and complete.As with the others,the map is cut up and bound within the book.Nice to have a clean copy at a reasonable price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
I6 Ravenloft (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GAZ14: The Atruaghin Clans (Basic)
by martin y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2022 13:02:11

My least favorite of all the Gazeteers,but I'm happy with the quality of POD.Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GAZ14: The Atruaghin Clans (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

AC1 The Shady Dragon Inn (Basic)
by martin y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2022 10:43:27

Great scan.A little hazy and wavy in spots,but it's nice to have a clean copy of this.Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AC1 The Shady Dragon Inn (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Frontiers: (SFAC3) Zebulon's Guide to Frontier Space
by David P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2022 13:28:39

It's fine they never finished the set (was originally ment to be 3 books) and i doubt they will anytime soon. it's an alright read but probably will never be implimented



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Frontiers: (SFAC3) Zebulon's Guide to Frontier Space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Frontiers: (SF3) Sundown on Starmist
by David P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2022 13:26:58

had a little trouble reading it and the final area is much longer than i would expect. I think it has great potential as a launching point for a campaign but should run just fine



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Star Frontiers: (SF3) Sundown on Starmist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Frontiers: (SF AC-1) Official Character Record Sheets
by David P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2022 13:25:14

it's what you expected



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Frontiers: (SF AC-1) Official Character Record Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 6519 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates