DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Marseille - PDF
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2022 00:46:37

Definitely one of my favorite Achtung! Cthulhu adventures, this begins the characters explorations into the Dreamlands. A very trippy and surreal adventure ensues and the private player hallucination handouts seems especially fun and evocative. As usual the details of the adventure are well thought out, potentially open ended for adventurous DMs and certainly having the option of leading to further sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Marseille - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
by Thomas G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2022 12:29:49

Five Parsecs is the game I never knew I always wanted.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Gamemaster's Guide
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2022 11:23:12

The secrets of the Secret War - a Mephisto review

Achtung! Cthulhu Gamemaster's Guide

The Achtung! Cthulhu Gamemaster's Guide represents the second half of the rulebook for the Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 Edition. It focuses on gamemaster topics and thus on the mythos background and the opponents of the player characters. Thus, the various power groups – Section M, Majestic, Black Sun, Nachtwölfe, Deep Ones, and Mi-Go – are presented in detail, whereas in the Player's Guide, there were only a few snippets of text about these power groups. The descriptions are not only very detailed and give a good impression, but also the story arc throughout the war, and thus the complete metaplot is outlined. Not only are existing adventures referenced, but upcoming events are also touched upon so that the game already presents its larger plot as an overview in this basic rulebook. The entanglements of the power groups, their secrets, development, and connections provide a lot of potential for exciting stories. After all, this background chapter already makes up the book's first quarter.

The second chapter is about the secret weapons used in the Secret War. Here, the developments of Section M and Majestic are found side by side with the occult artifacts of the Black Sun, the Atlantean technology of the Nachtwölfe, and the bizarre devices of Deep Ones and Mi-Go. Even though the primary focus lies on weapons – from swords cane to the Pufferfish grenade to the sniper rifle – one can find other practical items. But, of course, most items are difficult at best for the player characters to acquire – and much of it comes from the arsenal of their enemies. The next chapter explains the subject of magic. While the magical traditions of the Allies are touched upon once again, the focus here is on Mythos magic, which is organized according to three Great Old Ones – Cthulhu, Nyarlathotep, and Yog-Sothoth. Then, again, there is the division into combat spells, which are quick to cast and are indeed primarily geared toward combat, and rituals, which allow for broader applications but are also significantly more difficult. Inevitably, the usual Mythos books are also showcased, which can serve as a source for combat spells and rituals.

The game master chapter addresses not only beginners because here, in addition to the basic concepts of game management, the game mechanics of Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 and their possibilities are demonstrated. There are tips on how to design a scene, as well as a summary of the most important rules and ideas and examples of rule concepts like Truths or the use of Threat. A little less than the second half of the book is devoted to the heroes, villains, and monsters of the Secret War. Here, you will find typical character profiles for soldiers of different units and key characters' backgrounds and game stats, from Badger and Ariane Dubois to Exarch Reinhardt Weissler and Mina Wolff. Thereafter, the book dives into a number of Mythos creatures. While Deep Ones and Mi-Go are presented in particular detail, the usual suspects like Ghouls, Serpent People or Sheehad are not missing. In the end, some of the Great Old Ones, Elder Gods, and Outer Gods are presented. Their statistics are not missing either – some of which are less impressive than one would expect, as the game system simply has hard limits regarding statistics. The question whether you really need game stats for the Great Old Ones is about as old as the different Cthulhu roleplaying games.

Like the Player's Guide, the Gamemaster's Guide offers a very well-done rulebook that provides the gamemaster with everything about the Mythos that is deliberately withheld from players in the Player's Guide. Particularly, the presentation of the power groups, their history, and also their development within the scenario is convincingly presented. Equipment and spells are coherent, and the chapter on gameplay provides good, concrete tips that are not only aimed at beginners. Whether you require the sheer amount of character profiles of various allies and enemies is something everyone must decide for themselves. However, the various Mythos creatures and gods provide a valuable cross-section, even outside the primary opponents in Secret War.

It is also noticeable in this book that Achtung! Cthulhu has ramped up the pulp factor and toned down the horror to make up for it. Here the heroes are better equipped to withstand the horrors of the Mythos. Contact with its creatures and magic spreads less madness and corruption. Compared to the previous editions, the real World War II takes a bit of a back seat, and with its archetypal characters, the game shows itself more as a pulp story or action movie. Thus, the officers of Section M showcase bravery and integrity; the scientists are somewhat cerebral and unworldly, while their opponents are either brutally repulsive occultists or sexy, cold-blooded schemers.

From my point of view, this new direction fits perfectly with Achtung! Cthulhu. On the one hand, the game distances itself somewhat from World War II and thus does not trivialize the actual horrors but provides a background against which fictional pulp heroes and villains can engage in action-packed confrontations with the Cthulhu mythos.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Gamemaster's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Player's Guide
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2022 14:56:15

Pulp heroes in the Secret War - a Mephisto review

Achtung! Cthulhu Player's Guide

The Cthulhu mythos against the backdrop of World War II – that is the setting of the role-playing game Achtung! Cthulhu. While the war is raging in Europe and worldwide, the "Secret War" is taking place behind the scenes. There, the agents of Section M and Majestic try to stop the plans of the occultists of the Black Sun and the Nachtwölfe. Achtung! Cthulhu focuses on six power groups in the Secret War. The Black Sun is a Nazi occult organization that wants to use the magic of the Cthulhu mythos and the power of the Great Old Ones to win the war and advance its own goals. The Nachtwölfe have split off from them to use the technological achievements of Atlantis and the powers of the Blauer Kristall. Both face opposition from the British Section M and the American Majestic, who fight the occult forces with their agents – soldiers and competent civilians. Finally, the Deep Ones and the Mi-Go are the Mythos factions, alternately allies or enemies of the other groups. It is up to the player characters, who belong to Section M or Majestic, to defy the forces of the mythos as pulp heroes and thwart the sinister plans of their enemies as agents.

With the end of the licenses for the Call of Cthulhu role-playing game, Modiphius has brought the setting of Achtung! Cthulhu to the in-house 2d20 system and accordingly re-released the two core rulebooks Player's Guide and Gamemaster Guide. Not only was the rules base adapted, but the setting and focus were also realigned. While the first edition of Achtung! Cthulhu was very focused on playing soldiers and on the historic war, now the player characters are pulp heroes who can be soldiers, but also professors, occultists, and other people who have stumbled into the mythos. Power groups are also more focused, so clearly Black Sun, Nachtwölfe, Mi-Go, and Deep Ones are prominent as enemies (and sometimes allies).

Accordingly, the Player's Guide introduces the six major power groups with brief glimpses in the form of notes and rumors to give a quick impression of the setting but not reveal any secret knowledge.

The central part of the book is the introduction to the 2d20 system. The 2d20 system relies on players rolling two to five d20 to a target number calculated by attributes and skills for tests. Each d20 that beat the target number counts as a success, and some tests require more than one success. The rule is that a 1 is always a critical success, and a 20 is a complication. For each excess success, the player also generates Momentum (see below).

The other type of dice used is the six-sided Challenge Dice, which are blank on two sides, show the effect symbol twice, and offer the values 1 and 2. These dice are used for damage – called stress in this case – with the effect symbols triggering special effects.

Two fundamental game mechanics are Momentum and Threat. Players generate Momentum with good rolls, which can be used to buy additional positive effects for the corresponding roll – e.g., saving time, more information, etc. Players can also save Momentum for the group. The game master, on the other hand, collects Threat to bring special difficulties into play. Players can offer Threat to the game master if they are lacking Momentum.

Another game mechanic is Truths and Complications, which are reminiscent of aspects from Fate and represent a description that has gameplay implications. Complications are Truths that are a hindrance for the player characters. Both go into the calculation for tests.

A final tool for players is Fortune, which can be used to turn d20 to 1, pay for rerolls, and provide other benefits.

The game explains the rule mechanics for combat with initiative, zones, action types, and damage. Achtung! Cthulhu uses stress for damage – both physical and mental – which is quickly removed. However, if a character suffers more than five stress at once, or if his stress counter is completely filled, then an injury results, which has adverse effects as a Truth which is not so easily removed. Three injuries mean defeat. A player can save the character from death or permanent scars by voluntarily admitting defeat, similar to Fate. Scars occur when a physical or mental injury does not heal completely, and the character is affected in the long term by, for example, an amputation, drug addiction, amnesia, or paranoia.

Character creation is done in several steps based on archetypes, nationalities, and backgrounds, which define the majority of the selectable character stats. Thus, an archetype like Commander gets different attribute improvements and skills to choose from than an Infiltrator. This also defines selectable talents. The nationality determines the languages, while the background – as a former profession – clarifies other selectable statistics. Characters are thus created through several steps according to the player's ideas. Thus, as a result, a character can be an occultist from France who used to be a criminal and is defined by having been raised by a cult. Unlike previous editions, the focus on military characters is toned down and mixed with "classic" Cthulhu characters. To further refine the characters during the game, the book offers a large arsenal of talents, each linked to specific skills offering further advantages. Of course, two chapters are also devoted to equipment – primarily weapons and vehicles – with certain qualities defining equipment effects in play. The important thing here is that characters do not so much buy equipment as they get it provided for the mission at hand and have to apply for it accordingly. More exotic items are harder to obtain in this regard. The final topic is magic, which is divided into two sections. Battlefield Magic consists of spells that can be used spontaneously and are aimed primarily at combat situations. Ritual Magic has broader (and deeper) possibilities, but is correspondingly more elaborate. It is noteworthy that there are several magic directions: Celtic magic, rune magic, and ESP skills, which theoretically work the same, but each offers its own sets of spells. Magic-wielding characters can also be traditional mages, researchers, or dabblers, which results in minor rule changes. Traditionalists can only learn spells of their tradition, researchers are more flexible but have a harder time with spells, and dabblers always learn spells in a flawed version first. At the end of the book, there is some background on the military and their units, as well as sample stats for military personnel.   From my point of view, the 2d20 edition of Achtung! Cthulhu made some noticeable changes from the predecessors – not only by changing the mechanics. Player characters have become more pulp action heroes than World War II soldiers, and the new character creation makes it straightforward to create customized yet consistent characters. The rules are coherent, well explained and fit the setting. The stress rules also make this Cthulhu background a little less threatening than classic Cthulhu: dangers lurk here as well, but with a voluntary surrender, a player can always save their character. The use of magic is also pulpier. In addition to Mythos magic (which is not mentioned in this book), other magical paths are introduced, inviting you to create a magical character and use it actively with combat magic. This change is a departure from the classic approach of dangerously corrupting magic in the Mythos universe. The rulebook is well written, has a great layout and the new illustrations are worth seeing. Even though the book continues to offer information on the World War and everyday military life, this info is nowhere near as dominant as in the previous editions.

In my view, Achtung! Cthulhu with the 2d20 edition not only provides a well-defined rules, but the shift in focus away from the reality of World War II towards the more fictional pulp approach is a clear improvement for playability from my perspective. The simple magic without the evil aura of the Mythos is almost a bit too pulpy for me, but the seemingly lacking horror of the game is only to be expected for the Game Master's Guide anyway…

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Conan: Adventures in an Age Undreamed Of core book
by Mord4k G. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2022 09:01:02

My only complaint about this game is that there are a few classes that I think of as pretty "core" to the setting and ttrpgs as a whole that are in a suplemental books



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan: Adventures in an Age Undreamed Of core book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Trek Adventures: Back to Reality Supplement
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2022 11:28:17

Into the anomaly and back - a Mephisto review

Back to Reality

In Back to Reality, the plot fits a typical Star Trek: The Next Generation episode. The crew of players is to explore an asteroid belt that is not only extraordinarily dense but also shows strange quantum signatures. Due to the anomaly, it is necessary to fly a shuttle into the asteroid belt and obtain samples by hand. What starts as an exciting field mission quickly evolves into a fascinating anomaly that comes up with a dilemma for the player characters.

Back to Reality offers a good mix of story and challenges for the players to solve with both dice rolls and the right decisions. Even if the location for the finale is somewhat vaguely sketched, the adventure picks up on typical TNG themes that have also appeared in episodes of the series. From my point of view, Back to Reality is a fitting and engaging adventure in the world of Star Trek TNG.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Back to Reality Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
by Max M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2022 13:07:37

UPDATE on 4/15/2022: After finishing my run as a GM on this, I can safely say that unless the rules for Spread were misunderstood by myself and one of my players, shotguns are completely broken and your players who pick that and Gun Nut will wipe things out within minutes. Even when increasing the difficulty of enemies, my players had no time at all killing things. The game is not balanced very well in many ways and there definitely needed to be simplification. It does many things well, but it does many things poorly and I don't think I'll be playing it or running it again in the future. Everything else still stands below,

So having began a first session as a GM with it this past Sunday in a custom homebrew setting of New Orleans, and also as a first time GM, it's a hell of a game to try and run and for everyone to learn on the first go. However, everyone had a lot of fun and after working some of the kinks out, it's a lot of fun to run, too! I do have some quibbles with the book itself that keep it from being a full 5.

  1. No published errata means that both the PDF and hard copy are full of errors (Glowing One's base stats for health are incorrect, as an example) and also some rules are seemingly made more obtuse than they need to be (NPCs have Wealth 1, Wealth 2 -- but there's one paragraph in the NPC section that mentions what wealth is and it's basically you roll a d20 equal to the value next to Wealth. Well, why not say that up front?)

  2. When it comes to looting, there is no table within the book itself that gives you what sample values there should be for a generic type of location. An example is given for it but no where in the book is it listed. Instead, it has to be found in the GM Guide they sell, which is incredibly stupid and forces you to buy another product. Luckily, one of my players found a table online made in Google Sheets that lists these values and automatically calculates the dice rolls (and it came from Modiphius' own forums no less).

  3. I do not like the emphasis it places on Fallout 4. While a great game and great frame of reference, the Fallout universe is wide and expansive with multiple locations that could have been mentioned to detail the lore of the world. As is, all you get is the Commonwealth. What about the NCR, Vault 13, New Vegas, the Capital Wasteland, Appalachia? Just including anything more would have added so much more to it.

However, I will say that the constant exchange of AP is very fun and has made for many great scenarios already. I have a guy playing a Luck based character, a Ghoul fisherman focused around strength, a slick-talking mercenary, and a stealthy ex-Raider turned town bodyguard and everything meshes really well. What worries me is that the Dune core book came out in 2020 and errata wasn't made for that officially until January 2022, so if there is anything for this game, I'm afraid it might be long off.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Void: Core Book
by Alexander N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2022 11:39:04

I´d given this book 4 stars alone on the setting and artwork. The game mechanics are, however, also great, so 5 stars it is!

Black Void scratches that old TES: Morrowind itch, that I have had since gamed that ancient classic religiously back in the middle ´naughts, with it´s mystical alien landscapes, vaguely middle-eastern to south asian inspired architecture, spirituality and cultures.

Spice things up with a good dash of cosmic and existential horror, with bronze-age humanity being cast in the role as cosmic refugees on the shores of Llyhn, a city that just might be the bastard child of Mos Eisley and R´yleh, and now has to struggle to survive in.

Throw in a facinating character creation system, that allows you to play as anything from a humble street-begger to a magical human-djinn hybrid, and I could not be more pleased!

Negatives: It´s a big book, and sometimes you have to flip back and forth between chapters for clarification on some of the more involved systems. Bookmarks are your friend here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Void: Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: The Romanian Imperative (PDF)
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2022 13:03:40
Zeppelins in Transylvania - a Mephisto review

The Romanian Imperative

When a zeppelin of the Nachtwölfe appears in Romania on a secret mission, it's time for agents of Section M to investigate. So the player characters first travel to Belgrade and head towards Transylvania, where enemy troops are gathering. Not only should they find out what the Nachtwölfe are looking for in a dilapidated castle, but ideally, they should also destroy or capture the Nachtwölfe's zeppelin...

The Romanian Imperative is another adventure for Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20, telling its story in three acts. It begins with the journey and risky smuggling attempt across the border. After that, it's a matter of getting an overview of the situation, scouting out the activities of the Nachtwölfe, and making undetected contact with the recruited workers who are supposed to dig up something for the Nachtwölfe. In the finale, it is up to the players to decide whether to take the risk and target the zeppelin facing a dangerous enemy.

The adventure tells an exciting story in several well-staged scenes. The freedom of how the players may proceed in the latter part of the adventure - especially since a frontal attack is certainly not a promising idea - is also a great element. The fact that the Mythos elements remain in the background does not detract from the tension at all. The Romanian Imperative thus offers an exciting adventure for a few evenings of gaming.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: The Romanian Imperative (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Player's Guide
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2022 15:41:29

I’ve always been a big fan of Modiphius’s 2d20 system, and have played and loved games like Fallout and Conan. I’ve been meaning to check out A!C for a while, but have always been turned off by the price. I’m not sure why, for this game out of all the 2d20 games, they chose to make the barrier of entry so much more expensive. Not only do you need two books instead of one to actually run this game, but those two books are usually much more expensive than any of the other single core books. It doesn’t make any sense considering: A. All of the subject matter here is public domain stuff and B. this game is inherently going to have a smaller player base than something like Fallout or STA because it is a much more niche setting. You would think Modiphius would want to make the A!C books cheaper because of this, not more expensive. While this criticism has nothing to do with the quality of the product itself, it is something that really irks me.

But of course, we should talk about the actual game itself. All of the 2d20 games have varying levels of complexity, and I would put A!C somewhere on the upper end; closer to the high crunch of something like Conan than the low crunch of something like Dishonored. Overall, this is a pretty standard take on the 2d20 system and there’s nothing here that really changes up the formula, but I think that’s a good thing. The 2d20 system works really well as-is for this kind of subject matter. And I absolutely love the subject matter. The whole dastardly-occult-Nazi-cults-fight-two-fisted-pulp-action-heroes setting is just fantastic.

If you like the 2d20 system, you’ll probably like the gameplay of this game. If you don’t like it, you probably won’t, as it doesn’t do anything to shake up that system at all. If you’ve never played a 2d20 system before, I’d recommend you go into it with an open mind. Concepts like “truths” and “zones” might seem a little weird at first, but they start to make sense as you play the game. And, as a side note, I think this book does a better job of explaining what exactly truths are than any other 2d20 book. Which is ironic because some of them, like Dishonored, rely on truths in order to function much more than this game does. But I digress.

That said, I have some issues with the content of the book. The layout and asthetics of the book are all pretty solid. The art that is in here is really good, but I wish there was more of it. The book does a generally good job at explaining the 2d20 ruleset, but drops the ball when it comes to certain mechanics like extended tasks. That whole section is badly explained and really needs a re-write. There are some minor typos throughout, and unfortunately, this book contains one of the most glaring typos I’ve ever seen in an RPG book. It tells you at one point that melee attacks are made using “Agility + Fighting,” and then later says that melee attacks are made using “Brawn + Fighting”. While it is true that technically your GM could have you roll with agility for melee attacks, 9/10 times you’re going to roll with brawn, so this is a pretty glaring error and I don’t know how it made it into the final product. Overall, really not the best explanation of the 2d20 rule system, but not the worst.

The character creation section, though, is quite good and provides a lot of neat options for players to choose from. The combat and magic sections are pretty good, too. One of my favorite unique mechanics to this system is the stress track, and the way that physical damage and mental damage (insanity) are basically combined into one type of HP.

So, overall, while I wasn’t exactly blown away by this book (which, for the asking price, I feel like I should have been), I think it’s a very solid 2d20 game with a very fun theme. If the idea of pulpy WW2 Cthulhu mythos antics appeals to you, I think you’ll like this book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Liminal: Ghosts of Glencoe
by Junka S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2022 11:24:35

The preliminary research on the land was difficult, but we had a fun game.I enjoy being able to feel the shadows of multiple factions. It is a very attractive stage. After playing, we were immersed in the memory of "hidden world" Glencoe.

I feel as if I have made a sightseeing trip to a distant place, which is not easy to do nowadays. It was a very magical trip.:)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Liminal: Ghosts of Glencoe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu Audio Adventures: Ep.1 S.1: A Rude Awakening
by Ed S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2022 04:40:36

For 40 years, Old Time Radio cranked out thousands of mysteries, crime dramas, and supernatural thrillers without any cursing in the scripts. This is just as good as those, so there's no need for that "...S.O.B.!!!..." two minutes in.

Keep up the good work! I'm looking forward to buying the 10 part series when it's released.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu Audio Adventures: Ep.1 S.1: A Rude Awakening
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Trek Adventures IDW Year Five Tie-In PDF
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2022 19:14:01

This is an absolute must-have for any Year 5 fan, or anyone running an Original Series game. I love that they brought in Gary Seven and Isis, and the Tholians as a playable race is brilliant. The art and graphic design are top notch as always. Even if youre not a fan of the comic, or not running TOS, a lot of these options are availablem for all eras.

five tribbles out of five.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures IDW Year Five Tie-In PDF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2022 21:42:27

I'm a GURPS guy and not terribly fond of the d20 in general. However, this game seems quite interesting. My group is going to, after our current game goes on its break, give this a try. It looks interesting. It has a lot of similarity to D&D 5e, but, really, in a good way. The short description is 2d20, roll low, success-counting. Each die is read separately and can generate its own successes. Successes are counted compared to a required number of Successes. Extra Successes build up Action Points which can be used to do other things. Damage is handled with specialized d6’s, but, they’re easy enough to emulate with normal d6’s. It’s like every other 2d20 system out there. Just a bit more crunch added. But, honestly, not enough crunch. But, take that with a salt-mine, I am a GURPS guy, after all.

Mechanically, the only thing I really have a problem with is the horrible "area-based" combat. It barely worked for FASERIP Marvel back in the 80's, and it doesn't work for this game. In one scene, you can shoot across a city block, in the next, you can't shoot across a room. Areas are bad. It doesn't fit for Fallout--they need to spend some time and get an actual movement/range system. Me, I'm going to be cribbing from D&D. I thought about cribbing from GURPS, but other than using hexes, D&D is a better fit.

Beyond that, the book has a bunch of errors that have been reported, but haven't been corrected yet. I did reach out to the publisher and they told me that since the game hasn't gone into full release yet, they haven't updated anything. I deeply appreciate that they took the time to answer the question of internet guy. But, the decision to not update is a bad look for the developer. If they're asking for money, this shouldn't be selling the play-test documents. At least, not without saying “hey, these are the playtest documents, if you go here you can give us feedback.” At the very least, they should have an official errata document bundled with this indicating that they are aware of the error, and will be correcting it in the future. One of the best “source books” I can suggest is getting the Fallout 4 GOTY Strategy Guide and using their cost/weight information for anything that seems hinky (because it’s probably typo’d or two columns in a table have been swapped! I’m looking at you Powered Armor table!).

All in all, the game looks interesting. Experienced GMs will have no problem fixing the bugs in this game. Much like the CRPG Fallout 4, this game will be made much better with community-provided Mods.

ETA: I'm docking my review by two stars as they said, in September, that errata was due to be out by the end of September, and nothing came out. They've been radio silent here for five months. The book is more than six months old, and looks like there is no, further support for it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
by Ivan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2022 03:44:38

This book is horrible. For a start, it's not a Fallout roleplaying game, its a Fallout 4 mimic that supports role playing. Just before I continue, I wanna say I have nothing against Fallout 4, I hundreds of hours in it. The game tries to stick to the vibe of Fallout 4 to the point of which it shoots itself in the foot. The skills list is missing essential skills that need to exist, it looks like it belongs in a vido game, not a TTRPG. The 2d20 system initself is agressively meh, i didnt enjoy it but this is a review on this book not the system in general, but, its way too simole and just feels small. Also, as per standard with Modipheous, the editors are useless, at least in regards to explenations and layouts, however, I will admit that this is a gorgeous book. Like serious eye candy, but as much as I love the looks, its edited poorly and thease things cancel out. This game does nothing origional whatsoever in the Fallout universe, I already have hundreds of hours institute interaction, popegun use and crafting. If you've played Fallout 4 you do not need to own this book, if you have not, go buy that instead of this book. I hate this book so much, I paid like 30$ for it or something ridiculous, and am prob gonna delete it permanently from my library, just so I don't have to be reminded that it exists.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 460 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates