DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Wired Neon Cities - Minimalist Cyberpunk Roleplaying
by Marco R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2021 08:05:52

There would be a lot to say about minimalism design. Sometimes it's a little bit more than dewign excercise. In TDG gamee I feel tuere's passion and a significant will to provide a playable and customisable experience. The great thing about this game is how easy is to get it is and how easy to hack it feels. I can imagine this going on thru various runs and personal development. I would probably add some twists to make this reliable in the long run (noting fancy, just a few stunts and some modern twists), but the game has presented just works as is. So, easy 5 stars here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wired Neon Cities - Minimalist Cyberpunk Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beneath Dark Elms
by Thomas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2021 01:28:57

We played through this in about 10-12 hours, me beeing an inexperienced GM. We had a lot of fun. It's a scenario that doesn't take itself too serious, it's quite lighthearted/slightly absurd. Each location is briefly discribed with short bullet points, no walls of text to read through. It's basically an enclosed sandbox where players visit a number of locations to figure stuff out. My players only concern was the piling on on a list of quests, but that was mitigated by not using all of them. As all descriptions (both locations and characters) are brief, there is both opportunity and necessity to flesh it out yourself. If you enjoy roleplay opportunity, this offers a lot. If you enjoy tactical combat encounters, I don't think this will scratch that itch. Only minor comment I have, there are some magic items of which to me it is unclear what they are meant for, or how players should assess their usibility. But that is really minor, loved this scenario.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beneath Dark Elms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In Darkest Warrens: Magnificent Artefacts
by Zardoss D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 09:23:10

Great supplement for the Darkest Warrens game. Would be great if something similar existed for the other settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens: Magnificent Artefacts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In Darkest Warrens: The Adventurer's Guide to Excavation and Plunder
by Zardoss D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 09:21:49

A greta supplememntation for the darkest warrens system. I used soem of the ideas for my campain. I would appreciate if the additional classes would also be adapted in a new version to the ultimate rules!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens: The Adventurer's Guide to Excavation and Plunder
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In Darkest Warrens
by Zardoss D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 09:19:17

I´m now a fan of rules light games for a long time. The simple reason ist that I´m around 50 years old, have a job family etc. and don´t have the time left I had when I started pen andpaer roleplaying games soem where in the 80s. But we still meet from tme to time and play a round. But of course we need something simple more fit to single shots.

So I was looking around and unfortunatly rules light is a wide varity! So I found darkest Warrens some time ago but never got the time to introduce it. But now Covid 19 hit the planet and we stoped our meetings unstead somebody suggested to play a nice pen and paper round over Discort.

And for this Darkest Warens is the perfect system, the rules are so easy that you don´t have to exlain alot or look something up in some kind of tables etc. But ist has enough potential to play even some kind of campain.

The new Ultimate edition is even better than the original one. So we had several evenings know and all apprciate that it is possible to concentrate on the story and the atmosphere and have areal rules light system.

I would apriciate three things:

  1. If there will be a an Ultimate edition of the other settings
  2. of course if there will be more adventures and material for all the Darkest Warrens, Wirded Neon Cities etc.
  3. If there will be a postapocalyptic setting for this system in the future


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In Darkest Warrens (Ultimate Edition)
by Zardoss D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 09:17:08

I´m now a fan of rules light games for a long time. The simple reason ist that I´m around 50 years old, have a job family etc. and don´t have the time left I had when I started pen andpaer roleplaying games soem where in the 80s. But we still meet from tme to time and play a round. But of course we need something simple more fit to single shots.

So I was looking around and unfortunatly rules light is a wide varity! So I found darkest Warrens some time ago but never got the time to introduce it. But now Covid 19 hit the planet and we stoped our meetings unstead somebody suggested to play a nice pen and paper round over Discort.

And for this Darkest Warens is the perfect system, the rules are so easy that you don´t have to exlain alot or look something up in some kind of tables etc. But ist has enough potential to play even some kind of campain.

The new Ultimate edition is even better than the original one. So we had several evenings know and all apprciate that it is possible to concentrate on the story and the atmosphere and have areal rules light system.

I would apriciate three things:

  1. If there will be a an Ultimate edition of the other settings
  2. of course if there will be more adventures and material for all the Darkest Warrens, Wirded Neon Cities etc.
  3. If there will be a postapocalyptic setting for this system in the future


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens (Ultimate Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wired Neon Cities - Minimalist Cyberpunk Roleplaying
by James K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2020 15:43:30

There's just not enough here. You can be rules light, sure, but there's no real setting here either. If you're going to be rules light, they should be innovative. If you're going to be setting light, it should be evocative. This is neither.

I'm a pretty big 80s junkie and I was looking forward to a bit of post-cyberpunk retro-futurism in a rules light package with enough actionable content to make my own lore around the framework. It failed to inspire on every level. It didn't make it to the table.

Maybe someone else will appreciate it more than I would? The only good quality I can find is that it's short, so you can see the whole thing top-down and decide if it's for you without a lot of investment.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Wired Neon Cities - Minimalist Cyberpunk Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

English Eerie: Rural Horror Storytelling Game for One Player
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2020 13:55:37

Really wonderful- please see my corresponding entry under the 'Discussion' tab!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
English Eerie: Rural Horror Storytelling Game for One Player
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

USR 2.0 (Unbelievably Simple Roleplaying)
by Joaquim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2020 02:19:03

It is a flexible and simple system for any setting. Definitely a must have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
USR 2.0 (Unbelievably Simple Roleplaying)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

USR 2.0 (Unbelievably Simple Roleplaying)
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2020 16:25:30

I have been using these rules to play a full-on fantasy campaign and I have to say they are working remarkably well. The party have escaped an evil temple, got drunk, found an underground city of ratmen, had a run-in with a demon, got drunk, been sent on a holy mission, got drunk, aquired a ship, got it wrecked, got drunk (pattern forming here) and been attacked by orcs in a forest because the wizard couldn't keep quiet. The rules are simple enough that I can make NPCs and enemies on the fly. I don't spend time looking up tables or puzzling out what the rules mean, I can just get on with GMing.

Everyone is having fun. It is actually a great ruleset.

It is very crunch-light which may not be to everyones taste, but for throwing the players into a ripping yarn it's great!

PS. We ended up getting a 2-year campaign out of this. We had a mix from very experienced players to complete newbies. It all worked amazingly well. Great fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tequendria: Fantastical Roleplaying
by Judd G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2020 09:15:38

USR meets Lord Dunsany makes for a charming, cool, evocative game. Dunsany is one of the giants on whose shoulders Tolkein stood and his works are dreamy and picaresque. This game does that justice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tequendria: Fantastical Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In Darkest Warrens (Ultimate Edition)
by D J B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2020 12:52:03

This is the game you pull out of your pocket in the pub and play it with a couple of post its and a d6 or just off your phone. Simple but effective rules in just a few pages and a setting included, it's minimalist gaming done right.

Currently playing in play-by-post over Discord. It's a lot of fun and the simple structure holds up well at the virtual, text based table.

Great stuff, 100% recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens (Ultimate Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In Darkest Warrens (Ultimate Edition)
by Juan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2020 19:47:18

Stop looking for the perfect rules lite RPG... IDW is the one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens (Ultimate Edition)
by Tns S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2020 06:22:02

Perfectly packed bundle of fun, fast-paced good ol' gaming with a refined and modern flavour. Perfect for a zero-prep session, with an easy character generation system and a pregenerated environment that makes for a quick setup, but also great for a longer campaign, with a great character advancement and a whole bunch of advanced options. I loved the layout and how organized everything is, making it perfect for printing and handing out to players making it able to play almost right away.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens (Ultimate Edition)
by Pablo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2020 17:22:35

So this is most likely the rules-lightest D&D-like fantasy game (aside from its previous version). IDW gives a lot of freedom and simplicity for fantasy roleplay, but it still has enough mechanics, options and monsters to go around. In fact, even the first half, without the advanced rules, is enough for smooth gaming. Especially for straightforward theater of the mind style combat: when using the basic movement with only a 30ft move for everyone, all you have to do is remember if there are enemies beside you or not. This version has been further tweaked and balanced, with a lot of extra stuff covered as the advanced rules for you to choose. Very tight and inviting. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 102 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates