DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Thief of Kasar
by Charles I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2018 21:13:17

Fun little adventure. I died the first time, I would like one more paragraph of your body is taken out and given to the dogs. I sort of feel bad for the Pyra. Would have liked to have chance to snub Bix. My only complaint is that I would like the file hyperinked.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thief of Kasar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Thief of Kasar
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2018 10:22:08

Given its brevity, there are a surprising number of different possible approaches (and hence replay value) to this thieving mission (which becomes an assassination). Would be improved by a persuasion/talking option in the climactic encounter, given Pyra's motivation for the original theft.

Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quill: Shadow and Ink
by angela q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2018 10:43:20

A great thanks for this cosmic horror campaign; this is really a good solo & fast game about writting



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quill: Shadow and Ink
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quill: A Letter-Writing Roleplaying Game for a Single Player
by angela q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2018 15:53:39

Just sit and write :) (and share your text on the G+ community)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quill: A Letter-Writing Roleplaying Game for a Single Player
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tequendria: Fantastical Roleplaying
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2018 17:45:07

A fantasy world based on the dreamy fairytales of Lord Dunsany. Not your tyical hack n slash. A must have for those interested in new and unique fantasy lenses.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tequendria: Fantastical Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SHATTER6 Open Roleplaying
by John F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2018 09:24:35

In a sea of homebrews and heartbreakers, this is another Trollish Delver gem that does what it says it does skillfully, unpretentiously, and with an invitation to create awesomeness of your own. It's exactly the lite resolution system I needed right now, so I'm very pleased with the effort!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SHATTER6 Open Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SHATTER6 Open Roleplaying
by Martin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2018 22:52:03

A solid effort for a 2 page RPG. It doesn't really bring anything new to the table, but it makes sense. A viable alternative to something like FATE Accelerated, and a little more robust than something like Wushu or Laser & Feelings.

My only criticism is that the "class" box feels extraneous. It's basically the same as a High Concept in FATE, but has no mechanical attachment to anything.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SHATTER6 Open Roleplaying
by Paul D G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2018 19:09:52

Beautiful. Simple. Intuitive. There are so many things this ultra-lite system could handle. 10/10.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SHATTER6 Open Roleplaying
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2018 11:56:25

Much like a system I have been working on. No character classes, hit points or other endless bookeeping and need of looking up rules every move. Very flexable, very good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tequendria: Fantastical Roleplaying
by Tarcisio P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2018 13:35:05

Here's one of the most creative and unique fantasy scenarios in the RPG world. It's amazing how much Tequendria can do in just over 77 pages. All available classes are extremely unique, and the magic system is very simple, effective and perfectly matches the kind of world that is described. The game was inspired by the writings of Lord Dunsuny as well as by the painter Sidney Sime works, and it is possible to be said that the author was able to create mechanics that capture exactly the "aura" of these insightful works. In summary, an essential book for anyone who wants medieval fantasy seen with other approaches. In fact, everything that Scott Malthouse produces has a seal of assured quality; not only is this RPG very good, but also all the other games created by the author!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tequendria: Fantastical Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quill: A Letter-Writing Roleplaying Game for a Single Player
by Jim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2018 04:39:33

This review is a summarised version. You may read the rest at Swords & Stationery.

Quill: A Letter-Writing Role-Playing Game is a gem that really surprised me. It's fun, but more importantly, it is an amazing tool for academic writing purposes, perfect for weaker writers and students with dyslexia. By itself, it's not perfect, but it's a genuine trove of ideas that mean well and work well. Plus, it's PWYW. Easily 5 stars from me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quill: A Letter-Writing Roleplaying Game for a Single Player
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quill: A Letter-Writing Roleplaying Game for a Single Player
by Rafael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2018 05:49:17

This is an extremelly inovative game. When one hear about "solo RPGs", usually people are jsut talking about "Choose you adventure"-like titles. That's not the case here; Quill is really a solo RPG. I find really enjoyable creating a character with some backstory (usually a single paragraph), and aftwerwards, comming up with how the results of the letter changes this character. I believe that chaining stories while maintainign the same character would be really cool. I'm looking forward to do that soon.

All in all, Qull is a creative writing exercise, mixed with RPG. It's really enjoyable, and I intend to keep on playing it regularly onwards.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quill: White Box
by Ovy O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2018 19:20:52

Quill White Box

I think the word "Box" preceded by a color (white, red, blue or black) should be used in the role-playing world in the same way a dark mischievous and omnipotent demi-god's name should be used within his realm. That two-word combination, dangerously weighed down with hundreds of nostalgia coins, instantly transports us old-school gamers somewhere between the late 70's and the early 80's. In short if you name your game "White,Red,Blue, Black Box" you better be ready and willing to back it up- like pulling a sword from a stone. While many many old school systems fall far from this responsibility, "Quill White Box" by Scott Malthouse has not. While Quill took first person writing to the realm of medieval courtesy and etiquette, "Quill White box" supplements these rules for full fantasy gaming. In Quill you earn points for using words from a list called the ink pot, hopefully scoring points at the end of each paragraph. In Quill, various medieval scenarios are given as well as characters (like the monk and the courtesan) with class points in penmanship (how well your letter is perceived), language (how the character uses the words) and heart (the emotion the writer has placed in the letter). Going over the rules I couldn't wait to start writing a letter. I started by writing a letter to a grieving father about their son's body being found on or about my recedences and barely scored seven points, a neutral reception to my letter. Since then I have not dared try out the scenario where one writes to the King. Quill White Box takes these basic rules and trebuchets them into the realm of old-school fantasy. For those that have written under the hand of Quill rules, White Box is a true blessing, introducing gold rewards with marketplaces to spend your gold. Items in the marketplace such as King's Parchment, magic ingredients and holy water propel your letters to gracious reception by its fictional recipients. The key to Quill and its White Box is immersion. Almost like LARPing, the letter writing takes you as far as you take it. Being a die-hard dungeon crawler, I confess I crave a way of having a good old-fashioned dungeon-romp. But, since Quill and Quill White Box are heavily supported by its community on Google+, with members posting created scenarios, it's just a matter of time before someone creates a dungeon-crawl scenario to "play-write". When that happens, no doubt I will either post them here, or retreat into my cloisters, a reclusive monk writing letters to the imaginary characters. I can't say right now which one I would prefer.

Conclusion: "Quill White Box" is an old school supplement to the very successful solo writing rpg "Quill". With it, writer/players will take their letters from humble medieval beginnings to the darkest lands of sorcery, swords and magical items. Its simplicity relies on its rules while its depth relies on the player- thus it deserves the title of 'White Box'.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quill: White Box
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quill: White Box
by Tarcisio P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2018 14:13:37

When Quill was released, I knew I was facing a very unique product. The game presented a totally different approach to what we were used to when it came to RPG, both exotic and, in its genius, quite simple. After all, it was a solitary experience where anyone could play and have fun. This "Quill White Box" unites two worlds that used to walk separated: a totally alternative and narrativist approach to a totally Old School footprint. The result was, once again, a brilliant product that captures the climate of adventure and exploration that we found in the first RPGs. For me, it's like uniting the best of all worlds: An approach focused on the story and development of it, a nostalgic mood and still the possibility to play whenever I want, however you want. Here we have the basic classes of the first editions: Fighters, Thieves, magic users, dwarves, elves ... each with its peculiarities translated into mechanics within the game in a very creative way. The way it is written also deserves attention; au In short, a RPG more than special, that all should know, such originality. For those who still don't know the game, it is simple to explain: you have to write a letter, with a very specific purpose, to a very specific recipient (we have many different scenarios and situations). You have 3 attributes, wich ones will be tested in order to achieve a specific score. The higher the score, the better will be the results of the message.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens
by Sébastien G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2018 09:50:28

Perfect game in a minimalist form of OSR gaming. Use only one 6 sided die give to the rules a smooth taste. I think it opened to campaign gaming. In my opinion, In Darkest Warrens taster better than Black Hack or Maze Rats and it's very thin with many possibilities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 79 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates