DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Tequendria: Fantastical Roleplaying
by Judd G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2020 09:15:38

USR meets Lord Dunsany makes for a charming, cool, evocative game. Dunsany is one of the giants on whose shoulders Tolkein stood and his works are dreamy and picaresque. This game does that justice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tequendria: Fantastical Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In Darkest Warrens (Ultimate Edition)
by D J B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2020 12:52:03

This is the game you pull out of your pocket in the pub and play it with a couple of post its and a d6 or just off your phone. Simple but effective rules in just a few pages and a setting included, it's minimalist gaming done right.

Currently playing in play-by-post over Discord. It's a lot of fun and the simple structure holds up well at the virtual, text based table.

Great stuff, 100% recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens (Ultimate Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In Darkest Warrens (Ultimate Edition)
by Juan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2020 19:47:18

Stop looking for the perfect rules lite RPG... IDW is the one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens (Ultimate Edition)
by Tns S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2020 06:22:02

Perfectly packed bundle of fun, fast-paced good ol' gaming with a refined and modern flavour. Perfect for a zero-prep session, with an easy character generation system and a pregenerated environment that makes for a quick setup, but also great for a longer campaign, with a great character advancement and a whole bunch of advanced options. I loved the layout and how organized everything is, making it perfect for printing and handing out to players making it able to play almost right away.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens (Ultimate Edition)
by Pablo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2020 17:22:35

So this is most likely the rules-lightest D&D-like fantasy game (aside from its previous version). IDW gives a lot of freedom and simplicity for fantasy roleplay, but it still has enough mechanics, options and monsters to go around. In fact, even the first half, without the advanced rules, is enough for smooth gaming. Especially for straightforward theater of the mind style combat: when using the basic movement with only a 30ft move for everyone, all you have to do is remember if there are enemies beside you or not. This version has been further tweaked and balanced, with a lot of extra stuff covered as the advanced rules for you to choose. Very tight and inviting. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens (Ultimate Edition)
by Malcolm W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2020 02:49:45

Look, it's great. It's a whole game, plus an evocative starting town and a delicious starting adventure - all packed into a few pages. The rules are elegant, the options are plentiful, and it all oozes tone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
English Eerie: Rural Horror Storytelling Game for One Player
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2020 13:50:21

A small and occasionally tense single player RPG. Great as a writing prompt and I HIGHLY recommend the candle as it really puts you in the mood. Put yourself in a secluded part of your house at night as you work on it night by night.

My ONLY Criticism is I really wish there were more than three scenarios/ideas included since it is very easy to expend those, and if you are more of a player than a GM, it's a little sucky to only have three potential scenarios, and only one that's in the traditional "Ghost house gothic" mode, albeit it IS a very good one.

Requirements for the game: A deck of cards, a notebook and a candle. Meant to be played over one night or revisited over several nights.

EDIT: Oops, I haven't played this in a while so I mistook and said three instead of five.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
English Eerie: Rural Horror Storytelling Game for One Player
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the great review Chris. I agree, I prefer playing over multiple nights by candlelight. Just a quick one - there are five scenarios rather than three. However I am working on more - it's just taking me a while :)
English Eerie: Rural Horror Storytelling Game for One Player
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2019 21:14:33

I've just played my first session (used the second scenario) and I LOVED it! Lights off, playing by the light of a flickering oil lamp, I lost myself in horror journalling for over a hour. I have little enough interest in creative writing per se, but I was happy enough to do what I was told and I was delighted to find an immersive story unveiling itself before me. The game mechanic is light, but is appropriate to role-playing a character who is perhaps not entirely in control of the horrific situation in which they find themselves. Fantastic! I hope for more scenarios to come out soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Gits
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2019 17:53:03

ThisisanothergreatlittleganefromScott creatinglittlecharactersisaddictive



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Gits
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon Gits
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2019 23:14:02

Elegant micro rpg that extends on a lasers & feelings style split by adding knacks, which I think is a nice touch. Very much in the same vein as games like tunnel goons and such, which is a compliment and there can never be too many of these. I did feel that the magic items at the end were a little forced, some gave too much unnecessary detail ("15 minutes") etc. while others gave too little (no way to resist the mind control smoke one?) etc.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Gits
by Tarcisio P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2019 07:04:21

Mr. Malthouse loves small systems, and so do I! I have been playing his "Stickynote Quest" since last year, and it was a big surprise to see this Dungeon Gits, a small game even better than Stickynote Quest! Amazing, full of possibilities...I use RPG as tool to teach kids and teenagers at school, and Dungeon Gits is exactly what I need. I strongly recomend it to everyone. If you want a fast set of rules to a one-shot session, Dungeon Gits! If you are tired of the necessity to read hundreds of pages before rolling the dice, Dungeon Gits. And if you want to know an elegant and clever RPG, Dungeon Gits!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Village on the Hill: A Peaceful Storytelling Game
by Aidan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2019 02:02:55

This is a lovely, straightforward game about being helpful spirits around town. I run a RPG club at my local library and this is a perfect "my first RPG" for young kids to enjoy a storytelling game they can understand and that doesn't have combat baked into its core. I think it might not have enough for RPG-afficionado adults to dig into so wouldn't recomend for that crowd, and there are a handful of typos to straighten out, but over all great work!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Village on the Hill: A Peaceful Storytelling Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

English Eerie: Rural Horror Storytelling Game for One Player
by Esteban M. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2019 08:29:01

This game feels like something in between a game and some rules for creative writing. I don't mean this in a bad way, I think it's great! But if you don't like writing, this might not be for you.

I have only played two of the provided scenarios, and it does take a good while to play each (if you play/write one chapter per night, it will take you over two weeks to play through a single scenario), but it was really fun to play and see how the story developed.

In theory the scenarios should be replayable, because you don't use all the prompts, they don't have to come in the same order, you don't know if the obstacles are going to be overcome or not, and the text of the prompts is vague enough that you could take it to mean slightly different things every time you play. But in practice I wouldn't expect you to want to play the same scenario more than twice. Possibly only once.

All in all, a pretty good solo game. And also a pretty good creative writing exercise :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
English Eerie: Rural Horror Storytelling Game for One Player
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

USR 2.0 (Unbelievably Simple Roleplaying)
by Dave R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2019 16:01:28

I have been using these rules to play a full-on fantasy campaign and I have to say they are working remarkably well. The party have escaped an evil temple, got drunk, found an underground city of ratmen, had a run-in with a demon, got drunk, been sent on a holy mission, got drunk, aquired a ship, got it wrecked, got drunk (pattern forming here) and been attacked by orcs in a forest because the wizard couldn't keep quiet. The rules are simple enough that I can make NPCs and enemies on the fly. I don't spend time looking up tables or puzzling out what the rules mean, I can just get on with GMing.

Everyone is having fun. It is actually a great ruleset.

It is very crunch-light which may not be to everyones taste, but for throwing the players into a ripping yarn it's great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
USR 2.0 (Unbelievably Simple Roleplaying)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In Darkest Warrens
by JM H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2018 21:34:41

This is a great little dungeon crawl game - remarkably complete considering it's all on two sides of paper, including a starter dungeon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkest Warrens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 93 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates