DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Ascendant
by JOHN [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2024 16:48:40

Initially all of my time with Ascendant was theory crafting. From reading the book and messing around with creating characters it seemed to me that the game was heavy on the front end (character creation) but that all of that work on the character would translate to a smooth adjudication of gameplay.

After playing a bit I am happy to say that my prediction panned out. I found the gameplay (as a GM and a player) to be rather fluid and quick to resolve without getting mired down.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascendant
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ascendant Rogues Gallery
by Sullivan [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2024 17:16:49

I like ascendant as lot as a system for a supers game. One problem with running any new system is getting players to make their characters; the examples this book gives of general archetypes and specific characters are both pretty usable for this, as is the brief advice on what options exist to customize a given example, or recommended tips for playing a character built like that. All the in character worldbuilding and background stuff is also cool, and useful as the setting doesn't (yet) have a massive backlog of comics to draw on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascendant Rogues Gallery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Auran Empire Primer
by Matthew [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2024 13:44:15

An interesting introduction to the Auran Empire campaign setting. I would like to see an expanded sourcebook that covers the entire setting in detail, but what is here is enough to get started running ACKS in the Auran Empire.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Auran Empire Primer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ascendant
by Bence [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2023 10:31:44

Ascendant is simply the best superhero game out there - while I also enjoy other games in the genre, this is the most well thought out and complete system of all, with a precise and scalable mechanic, which is still easy to pick up and play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascendant
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ascendant Rogues Gallery
by Julio E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2023 11:59:37

The first thing I noticed when flipping through the book is the difference in the art from the core rulebook. The more sexual and violent art that was in some parts of the core book got dialed back here, which I think was for the best. The overall quality of art was improved as well, the inking and coloring especially is way cleaner and pops better. Very high production values here, great job by the art and design team.

The text itself is interesting and fun to read, but particularly importantly -- it's very USABLE for players and DMs. Chargen is probably the single part of Ascendant that my group found slow, and this book looks like it'll be a huge help for that. There's a chapter of hero archetypes with ready-to-play characters and easy ways to customize them.

Then there are chapters that describe the organizations and characters in the Ascendant setting (and there are some very cool characters in that roster). Each character has a classified report that can be given as a player handout, statblock, advice for the GM on how to use the more complicated characters in combat, and a story hook which can be quite detailed -- a lot of them even have very high-quality maps.

Good book if you want a fun book of lore to read through, great book if you want usable PCs/NPCs to speed up an Ascendant campaign, or even just as a collection of interesting concepts for comic heroes and villains.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascendant Rogues Gallery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Capital City Casefiles #2: Served Cold
by Julio E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2023 09:37:00

Nicely designed module, it's clear a lot of thought went into ease of use for the DM with the formatting and design. The maps are absolutely gorgeous, some of the best I've seen and frankly I wasn't expecting to get maps at all with a module like this. Really top-notch production values all around.

The scenario itself shines most with its investigation portion--it's got a huge number of clues at its different sites for the PCs to discover and try to piece together fast enough to head off a murder. I really like that it has a timeline of events that happen in conjunction with the players' actions, especially for what happens if they are too slow. The different xp rewards tied to how well the PCs do is also nice, it will be interesting to see if my players are more focused if they know they are getting "graded".

As far as improvements? Maybe making the stars for the Clues bullet points color-coded to match the type of clue, unless that's ends up being too busy visually. But that's a minor thing. This module is good bang for the buck and I'm looking forward to running it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Capital City Casefiles #2: Served Cold
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ascendant Rogues Gallery
by Mark C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2023 04:20:35

Rogues Gallery is the first expansion for Ascendant, and at half the page count of the core rulebook adds a ton (10 SPs) of great new content, including over two dozen pages of new superpowers and real-world equipment to use (hoverbike anyone?) As the name suggests, the bulk of the book is given over to new characters, including nine templates for street-level characters, which is great for getting new players into the game - although Ascendant plays fast and smooth, the sheer number of options when it comes to building a character from scratch might be intimidating to new people. It's worth bearing in mind though that despite being intended for new players, all nine of these characters are solidly designed and will perform well.

Besides these starter builds, there's the six founding members each of the Russian Spetsikhotron team and the Chinese Soaring Sabres, with both of these teams intended to be able to deal with the high-level ascendants of the USA's Star-Spangled Squadron. For lower-level threats there are six members of Dark Emerald, a mercenary company that makes great use of ascendants. After that, there are 12 members of ascended terrorist organisation Exodus, ranging from the global threat that is Maximum Leader to the street-level walking bundle of chaos that is Momentum Mori - in short, a wide range of threats for your players to battle against. That's not all though - Autarch has also included nine additional ascendants of various power levels, and a dozen minor templates for everything from yetis to the final girl in all those slasher movies out there.

So besides all the new characters and kit, what else? Well first off, the clear layout and design is identical to that found in the Ascendant core rulebook, and the interior artwork is fantastic too. Everything is in full colour and full of energy. In keeping with tradition, Rogues Gallery also includes tidbits of in-universe lore in the form of news articles and leaked documents, plus full background notes for all the characters (Rootkit's being my favourite for aesthetic reasons). Whether you're playing in the official Ascendant universe or your own world of superheroes, Rogues Gallery has plenty of great material to add to your game, and I heartily recommend it for Ascendant GMs and players alike.

In short, it's another case of Autarch hitting it out of the park with Ascendant.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascendant Rogues Gallery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Adventurer Conqueror King System
by Zachary [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2023 13:12:54

Friend showed me it, I enjoyed as a player so much I bought it and ran it myself. Great common-sense system for both the players and GM



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer Conqueror King System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Adventurer Conqueror King System
by Nathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2023 04:09:41

Very good updating of the BECMI/Basic engine, with superb integrated domain and economic management, that's also excellently scaling. No quadratic wizard, linear fighter issues - it's not "magic superheroes" but all classes get to shine all the way through in various different and interesting ways. Assumed setting is a "pseudo fall of magic Rome" as the various factors behind the collapse start rolling, and will suck players in. Also exceptionally reskinnable and easy to port, with good GM support (and seemingly infinite expansion via Axioms articles etc) which can be used or not used as desired.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Heroic Fantasy Handbook
by Sam H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2023 03:21:50

The HFH adds or customises tonnes of features of ACKS to give you an experience at once more heroic - there's a vaiety of rules making characters just that bit more survivable - and more darkly sorcerous, moving from Vancian magic to a more mythical, Swords and Sorcery model of involved casting, rituals, and charm-like trinkets. Typical of Autarch, this is stuffed full of genuine game material, not fluff. Its only drawback is that some of the rules within are rumoured to be incorporated into the upcoming ACKSII revised ACKS system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Fantasy Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Adventurer Conqueror King System
by Sam H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2023 03:14:47

A MONSTER of a system that still plays fast, crisp and light at the table. Combat, injury, grand campaigns, you can go from a ground level adventurer to a crusader King and play balanced, working rules the whole way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer Conqueror King System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
ACKS Domains at War: The Complete Set
by Sullivan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2023 23:13:08

Good book. war game rules at different scales that are compatible with OSR or b/x style games. well thought out, detailed to a useful level for simulating battles ranging from the scale where we are just barely beyond individual soldiers to much more complicated things. The mechanics for the different scales line up properly so by comparison it does seem more like zooming in/out than changing rulesets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ACKS Domains at War: The Complete Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
By This Axe: The Cyclopedia of Dwarven Civilization
by Julio E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2023 09:02:36

What a fun to read and gorgeous to look at book. Most of the way through the book but I've already asked our group's GM about running a dwarf-themed campaign next... I really want to roll up a dwarf machinist! The automaton rules are just too cool. The sporecaller is also calling to me though with that power that lets him make explosive mushroom zombies--awesome stuff! Great book all around, even the stuff I didn't expect to be interesting like the dwarven mining rules were an entertaining read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
By This Axe: The Cyclopedia of Dwarven Civilization
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Axioms Compendium Volume 2: 9 - 16
by Nathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2023 03:54:32

Really useful "grab bag" of ideas, background, world building, player side new & revised classes and DM side systems and subsystems. If you're an ACKs player you will find a lot to justify buying this; if you're not an ACKs player but run other OSR games, it's all very portable. If you're not an OSR player then there's still some good tidbits and things to mine for ideas, and if the whole shebang is too much you can always cherry pick the individual Axioms as fancied!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Axioms Compendium Volume 2: 9 - 16
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
By This Axe: The Cyclopedia of Dwarven Civilization
by Nathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2023 03:50:18

Like Dwarves in RPGs? This is your book. chock full of interesting things about them, their culture, history, economy, vaults, legends, characters, gear and magics! If you're an OSR player of any kind it's usable virtually out the box, if you're a player of other D&D's there's a lot of stuff to plunder anyway. Buy this ACKs, you won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
By This Axe: The Cyclopedia of Dwarven Civilization
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 123 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates