DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Dragonslayer Role Playing Game Sample
by EVAN [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2024 16:12:57

This is the best version of an OSR game that I have ever seen. If you enjoy BX, 1e, 2e, or Old-School Essentials or Advanced, you will love this game. Dragonslayer captures all the best elements of classic D&D and the OSR and refines it into a smooth, thematic system. There are tons of new spells, magic items, and monsters with random tables support each of those elements. The art is exceptionally, too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Role Playing Game Sample
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dragonslayer Role-Playing Game
by EVAN [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2024 16:12:39

This is the best version of an OSR game that I have ever seen. If you enjoy BX, 1e, 2e, or Old-School Essentials or Advanced, you will love this game. Dragonslayer captures all the best elements of classic D&D and the OSR and refines it into a smooth, thematic system. There are tons of new spells, magic items, and monsters with random tables support each of those elements. The art is exceptionally, too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dragonslayer Role-Playing Game
by Matthew [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2024 12:43:49

There are so many OSR-likes on the market, and yet it is still difficult to find one that does 'everything' in terms of a basic D&D feel with enough character detail so as not to feel sparse. Hyperborea and ACKS are my choices for fantasy gaming in the traditional realms. Dragonslayer now comes in equal to those. It achieves a sense of being very much like AD&D but without all the extra weight, and numerous addendums that have gathered over the years. Dragonslayer is not so simplistic as other rules-sets which sometimes lose all feel due to their sparseness. The authors house rules achieve a nice blend of simplicity and flavour without sacrificing elements of classic Dungeons & Dragons. The artwork is superb and conveys the feel of the genre, I particularly appreciate the class and race art. My only criticism would be the absence of a Bard class. It would be nice to see this feature in a future supplement... Overall, a stellar entry into the field, and one worthy of it's title.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dragonslayer Role-Playing Game
by Nick [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2024 09:27:10

Full disclosure: I'm a backer for the product and I'm a OSR gamer. Technically speaking, been gaming since 1981. When Greg announce he was going through with this project, I jumped a the opportunity. My review will be a simple pros and cons list, which is based upon my opinion and expectations. this review is also based upon the PDF. PROS and CONS -layout is excellent. easy to read. hyperlinked pages for ease of navigation.

artwork is excellent. getting some of the older artists mixed in with some contemporary ones makes a great mix of styles, and yet the overall feel is IMO like being time warped back to '81. Fantastic game mechanics are excellent. a carefully crafted mixture of Moldvay B/X and 1st ed AD&D, just like a lot of use did back in the day. Greg's is definitely more polished and has more thought into it. examples are clear and concise for combat, use of minis, etc. character classes are excellent. all of the core classes are recognizable, and yet Greg gave each one some unique abilities. Even the fighter, which gets a cleave attack. basically if the fighter outright kills an opponent, they get an extra attack every two levels of the fighter. Pretty cool, imo. His version of the monk is a really interesting and unique take based upon the Western monastic orders. races are very good. all of the standard races are there. He did add one, the Cyclopsmen, which are OK, but just a little weird imo. If you want a really unique roll-playing challenge, play a Cyclopsman. I guess if I had a CON for the book it's the Cylcopsmen. flexibility of rules is excellent. IMO this is where the games really shines. you want to add a class like the bard? no problem. want to use ascending AC? you can do that too. I think Greg really did a good job of striking a balance between having a core rule set with some minor house rules he's incorporated (crits and fumbles for example), and yet if you want to add or subtract things around the core, the whole thing doesn't come crashing down.

This is my review as of right now. I will add more if possible in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dragonslayer Role-Playing Game
by Michael [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2024 14:42:30

I know, I know, another B/X / AD&D clone. All I can say, is that I feel Dragonslayer was created with 100% love and passion for what happens around the table with your friends and family. No bs, no political agendas, just a great OSR game. It's streamlined. The art is great to downright awesome. Combat has been somewhat modernized, and that's a good thing. As usual, change/houserule and add whatever you want to make the game your own. Want ascending AC? It's extremely easy to do so. I am glad I took the leap and own it. If you are on the fence, I say order it. You will not go wrong with this version of the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dragonslayer Role-Playing Game
by Angela J [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2024 11:47:58

This game is amazing! I love the BX base and the AD&D type things layered on is done exceptionally well but the new added things along with the art and attitude just push this game over the top. I like a lot of other OSR games but this is the one I love! I'm so excited to play it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dragonslayer Role-Playing Game
by matt [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2024 20:56:07

Fantastic! Oodles of evocative artwork. Excellent layout and font choices



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dragonslayer Role-Playing Game
by Jahydin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2024 20:14:58

Now THIS is D&D!!!

Thank you so much Greg. Honestly, I thought you were full of hot air hyping this product up, but you certainly delivered. It's a very crowded market, but this zero compromises, no nonsense version certainly stands above the competition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dragonslayer Role-Playing Game
by DENNIS [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2024 10:23:33

Its a natural 20 ! Beautiful art and a simple rule set that has many options and a tactical depth to it. OSR goodness...make sure you bring your 10 ft pole.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dragonslayer Role-Playing Game
by Matt [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2024 08:09:44

I have thoroughly enjoyed this book. Greg has done a wonderful job of streamlining the old school style of play. He also has added some new elements. His efforts to make races balanced, by limiting levels and limiting stats, are great way to show the reader, what his world looks like as we enter it. The Cyclopsman is a great example. He states the race is rare. He limits the use of the race, by making it only available with certain rolled character stats. If you have rolled the stats and you want to play a Cyclopsman, then you take some racial penalties and get a few bonuses. This is a great and insightful way to keep the race rare. It is very much like rolling a Paladin in the original D&D system. Joey Docil and Kennon James are some of the artist. The art in the book is amazing! The artist are all top notch. If you are a collector of TTRPGs, the art in this book alone, makes this purchase worth it. Having played the game, I enjoyed it. It has a feel of my very first D&D adventures in the 80s. The system matches perfectly, with Greg Gillespie’s mega dungeon titles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dragonslayer Role-Playing Game
by Shadow [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2024 08:55:03

Any excellent RPG needs to have three supportive pillars: 1) Aesthetics; 2) Playability; and 3) Verisimilitude. This particular RPG has all of this qualities. However, so does a mulitude of other OSR rulesets. This ruleset is a B/X-AD&D mashup that has a most excellent aesthetic with art, layout, and concise tight writing. Still, 90% of it is B/X and AD&D copy of Gary's homework. The other 10% of houserules is hit & miss in my opinion. Added features to the characters is a notable high point like cleave added to the fighter classes. A notable low point is the cyclopsman which is a cheesy race that almost no one is going to play.

I listed 20 unique elements from B/X and AD&D in the comment below. The character class section is the best of these elements. In particular, the monk is an improvement over its AD&D counterpart. The sections of spells, monsters, treasure, and magic items are interchangeable with any other classic fantasy OSR ruleset. This is a good thing because any adventure written for Dragonslayer is compatible with any TSR-era D&D along with corresponding OSR retrogames. Plus, the appendices section is also well done with FAQ, sage advice, time wheel, and random tables.

So, why does this ruleset exist? As a OSR ruleset collector, I glad it does just for the excellent artwork alone. Still, it seems like a vanity project in combo with a megadungeon publishing model. POD version is way overpriced and the PDF is on the edge. I am glad I got the PDF but I would NOT recommend the POD unless one becomes overwhelmed by nostalgia and "member berries" (South Park reference). Plus, interaction with the author in a spirit of discussion and debate is difficult at best. The excuse of a zipped file for no preview is weak. It is trivial to create the pdf with front and back cover included.

In conclusion, three stars out of five. One star for the excellent artwork. A second star for being a concise single volume with excellent writing. A final star for being essentally TSR-era D&D. Minus a star for what is new not being substantial. Another minus star for being overpriced for what you get.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dragonslayer Role-Playing Game
by FU B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2024 03:36:44

Amazing art and a new twist on combining B/X & 1e D&D that many people will probably really enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dragonslayer Role-Playing Game
by Steve [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2024 09:21:46

It’s excellent. By far the nicest presentation of old school Dungeons & Dragons since the original books and all in one handy tome!

Edit: I got my printed copy today. It’s lovely. Nice thick paper, good deep blacks and super clean and easy to read. Bravo!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Barrowmaze Complete
by Jacob [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2024 14:29:57

It's a fantastic megadungeon! My only beef is the lack of bookmarks in the PDF; I had to make my own as I read, which made it hard to find stuff I hadn't read yet. But the content itself is amazing; the Barrows almost run themselves



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Barrowmaze Complete
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Barrowmaze Complete
by Jakub [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2024 07:43:36

260 page PDF for $35 with no bookmarks which makes this file completely unusable. I could not think making such a product was even possible. Big let down (as I was very excited to run this module online) and very unfortunate waste of not so small amount of money...



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 61 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates