DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Magical Kitties Save the Day 2nd Edition
by Aidan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2022 00:16:09

Currently my favourite cat game by a margin (and you bet I've made a beeline for them). It makes it both easy AND fun to play a magical kitty.

Two comments: I found the play time was closer to 105 minutes than my usual 150 for one-shots (including character creation). I don't think this is a bad thing but worth noting. I would really have loved some random tables for creating plots - for such an innovative game it was frustrating that it relied on prewritten stories or ST planning. Although it does have quite a lot of prewritten material available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magical Kitties Save the Day 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Furry Pirates [digital]
by Jeremy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2022 00:04:33

Note this is a pirate game with a furry gloss. The book reads like the furry part was a second thought. Most of the book seems to be timelines and a bit of history. Character generation is very simple after reading the rules two or three times. It is very simple to overpower a character. Most is realistic to the time and magic seems to be an afterthought. I just made it very rare so things like the witch trials (are mentioned in the book) make sense because if it is common than why make it illegal.

The system is easy to break and it is interesting telling a player you healed but still might die (I said somewhat realistic). It was fun to play, but easy to make players feel smaller in larger ship battles.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Furry Pirates [digital]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Arasaka Brainworm (Cyberpunk) [digital]
by Kristijan Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2022 14:17:45

This book is incredibly detailed. It features several drawings of locations important for the adventure. And most importantly, it leaves you with a lot of room for customization, for both Referees and Players. For instance, you can choose which mode of transport you use to get to your destination, and the book describes how that choice changes the adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Arasaka Brainworm (Cyberpunk) [digital]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Oddities and Endlings
by Katherine C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2021 13:10:33

Oddities and Endlings is probably one of the best statosphere splats out there right now. Clocking in at a highly ambitious 200+ pages, it's full of optional (but well-integrated) rules, excellent rituals for use in a campaign or session, otherspaces, artifacts and identities, and even a whole campaign setting, itself very well put together and cohesive.

Ben Hammond only has one other splat out on statosphere--Me, Myself, & You, which is itself one of the best loved splats on statosphere already. Oddities and Endlings really feels like a labor of love that the author spent a boatload of time, attention and care into creating in order to make a splat as good as any officially published content.

The formatting also looks great, so kudos on that. If you like Unknown Armies, this splat is an extremely worthy purchase, especially if you are running a long-form campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Oddities and Endlings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seven Strongholds (Penumbra OGL 3E) [digital]
by keith w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2020 01:12:02

excellent material. the locations and characters are perfect not for running as a canned adventure but dropping into a game or building a larger adventure around them. super excited to drop one of these into my next game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Seven Strongholds (Penumbra OGL 3E) [digital]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unknown Armies Third Edition Book One: Play [digital]
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/22/2020 23:59:57

Unknown Armies is one of those books that would survive a bookshelf purge after a post-New Year’s viewing of “Tidying up with Marie Kondo”. It sparks the same kind of perverse joy on reading that puts me in the same bewildered headspace as I felt after I’d finished Grant Morrison’s “The Invisibles”.

I feel that it has something to do with how the Unknown Armies team of writers were able to tap into the “just maybe…” school of thought, those weird plays of imagination when you entertained, even for just a fleeting moment that if you wanted something enough, reality would play by your rules for once.

The outcome is a mechanically clever, easy-to-run game whose rules tie in strongly with the themes. There’s no fat in the mechanics, it does exactly what it needs to do, then it gets out of the way, letting players experience (second hand) the depths of madness and sacrifice necessary to manifest their wants on the world.

I’ve mentioned before on twitter that Unknown Armies deserves to be required reading in a “How to write an RPG” seminar, and I stand by those words. I highly recommend Unknown Armies for any GM, even if you think it might not be your thing, you’ll find something to amaze you in these pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unknown Armies Third Edition Book One: Play [digital]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Over the Edge 3rd Ed Preview: Sad Mary's
by Krisse T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2019 13:19:37

When I was younger, I liked the first and the second edit. Almost month ago I purchased Over the Edge 2nd edit book and At Your Service suppliment for it, as 2nd hand books. And I have been mesmerized by these awesome books full of awesome ideas and whole lotta dark and twisted humour. These are actually better than I remembered them to be. Now I'm thinking about getting the 3rd ed game book and the new coming supplement for it. And this preview finally settled the Question: "Shall I buy these at all or later.." as a "HELL YEAH, I gotta have the 3rd Ed plus the supp. I loved everything about this Preview: Graphics and the layout are top-notch quality, the text are well-written and the whole concept kept me interested from the starting line till the Sweet 'n Sour End ;-) This truly IS better than I expected, which is a LOT. I just looove it, and I humbly thank You for the preview and for da all cool products. Keep up the Good Work! Wishes, Krisse, devoted fan 8-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Over the Edge 3rd Ed Preview: Sad Mary's
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Streetfighting (Cyberpunk) [digital]
by Ryan K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2019 19:23:01

No copy paste. Good adventures. Just no copy paste...sad.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Streetfighting (Cyberpunk) [digital]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Over the Edge Third Edition [digital]
by Philip H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2019 13:29:11

This is an exceptional RPG. The original was scary, weird, innovative and clever. What makes the 3rd edition such a finely honed machine is the authors 30 years of writing and games design experience. You should buy this just for the precise and clever narrative mechanic (and the baboons)!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Over the Edge Third Edition [digital]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unknown Armies Third Edition Book Three: Reveal [digital]
by Alejandro V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2018 00:27:38

Was expecting more:

I'm new to Unknown Armies and became quickly interested in the setting after reading Book 1 and hearing great things about the system. When I saw this supplement advertising itself as an add-on filled with more information on the world, I bought it thinking it'd give me more NPC's, Schools of Magick, and plot scenarios. While it did contain many blurbs of info (usually in small paragraphs and at most a page), it hardly offered anything mechanical, or more than a handful of ideas to throw into a campaign.

For instance, it tells you a quick paragraph about the existence of Urbanomancers, and Narco-Alchemists, but it doesn't tell you how they work at all. I found most of the info later in the self contained second edition, until I was later told that they were written for the third edition in Book 5.

This disjointed information makes it difficult to run a complete game, and overall I would advise those interested in Unknown Armies to skip book 3. However if you're a veteran to the universe and are willing to make most things from scratch or just want to hear about the latest rumors happening in the modern world. I'd give it a light recommendation.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Unknown Armies Third Edition Book Three: Reveal [digital]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mechanomancy Redux
by Matthew G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2018 17:49:10

It provides a system for making Mechanomancy work in UA 3rd Edition, which is half the battle, since it's much easier to adjust an existing system than create one from whole cloth. [edit] But it's not complete - three ways to generate a Major Charge are listed, but the 'sanity' option isn't actually detailed; the restriction on how minor charges work isn't present, although it's referenced by implication in the description of significant charges. Also it includes the Lonesome Lunchbox example from 2nd Edition, which simply doesn't work under the rules - not then OR now. The appearance and editing of the product are professional, so I'm giving it one star - this is better than nothing, although you shouldn't try running a game or adjudicating decisions with it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mechanomancy Redux
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unknown Armies: Paris, TX vs. The 333rd Reich
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2018 15:38:11

This setting is super cool. Has good add ons, a fun story going on inside it, and some creepy new monsters to deal with. Id recomend it for anyone after something very unique and weird. There was an error in the first version of the pdf but the creator was quick to respond to notices on it and fixed it too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unknown Armies: Paris, TX vs. The 333rd Reich
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unknown Armies: Breaking Through: The Strygomancer
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2018 15:35:30

Creepy, gross, and over all really cool. A class that will burn itself to the ground fast but it will be a wild ride along the way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unknown Armies: Breaking Through: The Strygomancer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

UA3: Examinaturgy
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2018 15:32:35

I wanna like this one, it has a very good core idea to it and I like the idea to it greatly. It just doesn't work that well. The charging method is ridiculously slow that puts them leagues behind other adepts, and their spells are far more costly then the should be given how hard it is for them to charge. Having almost all their spells require being related to their exam or studying at the moment leaves them so limited in use. Its a cool flavor that someone could try to use as a challenge to play, but over all I can't see myself or any player I know using it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
UA3: Examinaturgy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

33 Rituals
by Corcu F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2018 10:13:17

Really cool rituals. They really are powerful, so be careful and dont hand them out to your PCs, make them pay something for adquiring them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
33 Rituals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 43 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates