DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Vector of Infection -A Psi-Watch Sourcebook
by richard h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2019 06:44:31

This is a solid take on a zombie plague for a sci-fi/supers setting. The premise is summed up nicely in the description, with an alien vessel from one of the Psi-Watch setting's nastier species crashing to Earth and letting out an extremely dangerous bioweapon (or an unfortunate combination of several different bioweapons - no one is sure exactly what the original cargo was, so it's quite possible the results of the wreck aren't what anyone intended). The disease from the wreck comes in two flavors - a weaker, airborne strain (dangerous to normal humans, but superhumans are extremely resistant and can shrug off the effects with minimal effort), and the far more potent direct injury/contact variant (which is the one that can infect superbeings and potentially make special infected out of them). In true horror movie fashion, things go pear-shaped immediately as everyone underestimates how fast the disease can spread, and the results are nothing short of apocalyptic. The basic zombie from the disease is Resident Evil/Left 4 Dead type bullet fodder - animalistic, not terribly fast, and extremely vulnerable to damage. How vulnerable? Well, this was made back in the 3.x/d20 modern era, and the zeds still have an explicit critical hit vulnerability that stacks on extra damage. The special infected are a different story. They retain various degrees of intelligence, along with most of their original class/race/superhuman abilities, and stack extra capabilities on top of it. These vary from the traditional Tank/Brute type of heavy hitter up to the Lancer (an undead superhuman with a built-in ranged attack of energized pus). They're decently tough as is, but do require some tweaking. The downsides to this supplement are as much due to editing and rules consistency as anything. Concept wise, things work great, but there are references to Alpha zombies (implied to be a tougher form of the regular zombie but not quite on the level of the special infected) which aren't statted up later. The race that made the bioweapon in the first place is implied to be immune to it, but this is only referenced offhand and is never explicitly stated. The special infected have a couple of wonky bits in their stat blocks that don't really line up with other information in the supplement.

SUMMARY: This is still a great supplement for the price involved. You'll have plenty of stuff to work with here in terms of ideas and mechanics, but some assembly will be required to make it fit for your particular game world. Tweaking it to Pathfinder 1st or Starfinder won't be too much of a problem, and if you still play 3.x/d20 modern it will work as-is. The author has indicated he plans to revisit and update this supplement eventually. If he does, other than cleaning up the rules language and consistency, I'd recommend expanding the types of special infected as well as adding in charts for additional random mutations that can affect both special and regular infected (that way, it covers the ground for the other types of special zombies seen in various survival horror games, with tentacle or blade arms, etc.).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vector of Infection -A Psi-Watch Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Galaxy Command: Heavy Future
by Brad H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2019 12:22:27

This is a really cool book, adding the gritty vibe of Barbarella or Heavy Metal to a d20 Future game. The only drawback is the lack of a table of contents or bookmarks to allow quick navigation through a 137 page book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Galaxy Command: Heavy Future
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Galaxy Command Sourcebook
by Brad H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2019 12:13:18

This is a really fun book with a lot of good ideas that complements d20 Future. The one drawback, which is a problem with all of this author's works, is that there is no table of contents or list of bookmarks for a 90+ page file.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Galaxy Command Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Secret Soldiers
by richard h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2019 03:35:41

This one is a little hard to rate, because the niche it fits is a strange beast indeed. There are a comparatively small number of settings using Pathfinder or some variation to simulate non-swords and sorcery type worlds, at least in comparison to the VAST number of supplements that support a default high magic medieval fantasy setting. This one targets an even more tight niche: superheroes, a realm that 3.x and Pathfinder have always struggled with handling. So, bottom line, there's nothing to compare it with out there. However...with that being said, this book is wildly creative. It provides statistics for a very wide variety of adversaries, from anti-mutant activist humans with guns all the way to godlings and cosmic threats. There's something for damn near everyone in here, and despite having a focus on comic tropes from the 90s there's more than enough love shown to other comic eras that you'll get a smile out of the references (hell, one list of minions outright arms them with Kirby weapons).

PROS:

There's have you evern wanted to throw your PCs up against Dr Manhattan? Or Captain Atom, or Firestorm? Want a quick Ozymandias style mastermind served by legions of self-destructing ninjas, engaged in a war with an evil Superman analogue and his codenamed, tights-clad superhuman servants? These are all options, and there's plenty more. While focused for a modern/superheroic/sci-fi campaign, any GM worth their salt can simply file off the serial numbers and reskin them for their own game. Further, there's a mix of humanoids (and others) with prebuilt class levels alternated with 'monster' statted superhumans (see the Codenames referenced above), which in turn lend themselves to Simple Class Templates or the like. And, on top of all that, there's multiple variants of many different enemies, sometimes reskinning one stat block to function as a different enemy faction altogether. And that's not getting into the templates in the Appendix. Basically, if you're running a game that has modern or high-tech influences, you'll find something useful in this book for you. Oh, monster statistics for vehicles. Want to fight an aircraft carrier? Have a raging barbarian leap from a skyscraper onto an attack helicopter? Got you covered. And on top of all that, there are a handful of enemies that play with the conventions of the genre in interesting ways. The Eugenecist Demons, for instance, are evil outsiders with a specific focus on mutants. That's an amazing idea that exploits the intersection of superheroics and fantasy tropes in a great way. After all, if you had Abyssal legions or the Daemonic servants of the Four Horsemen in a superhero world, there's absolutely no reason they wouldn't have specialists who focused on specific power types.

CONS:

Some of the enemies have problematic abilities. The Fallen Paragon (evil Superman analogue, though the flavor text is really more Supreme from 90s Image comics than Supes) is the standout in my mind - it has an ability that allows it plot-level strength to lift/crush/destroy whatever drama demands it be able to do, which is fine in and of itself. But it also specifies that it doesn't fail combat maneuver checks. That's a HUGE problem, because it means the thing can simply swat weapons out of your PCs hands nonstop. I would probably modify that to 'doesn't fail defensive combat maneuver checks', so it's well-nigh impossible to knock something out of its hand or trip it yet it 'merely' has a huge Strength and Dexterity bonus to its already significant CMB. Similarly, some cyber-implants for various enemies allow outright immunity to a kinetic damage type (bludgeoning/piercing/slashing, though never more than one), which to me is a bridge too far outside of slimes or truly amorphous opposition - I'd probably houserule those into DR/15 against their particular type, which would mean average folks couldn't hurt them but PCs would be able to breach. A lot of the equipment and cyberware references Technology Unleashed (another sourcebook from Skortched 'Urf). You don't necessarily need that book, as the stat blocks give the pertinent information to use the gear (kudos, Mr. Fields), but some references may lose you or not make sense otherwise. Also, these are built more on a D20 Modern/3.x framework as opposed to the Pathfinder Technology Guide setup, so

OTHER "YOUR MILEAGE MAY VARY" COMMENTS:

Mr. Fields is definitely more conversant with 3.x/D20 Modern than Pathfinder, as some of the enemies here are upconverts from those sources. I'm the same way - just too much 3.x material on my shelves to abandon it. But it does lead to some design decisions that Paizo wouldn't do. Again, not a problem per se - things can be altered on the fly without too much trouble. Also, the section regarding using Millitary Installations as an enemy is a little funky. I LOVE the idea of abstracting built-in defenses and hordes of 1st level grunts as attacks and spell-likes, kind of like a giant construct with a built-in swarm encounter and a lot of special abilities, but it feels weird on some level. Might be better served as a sort of event-type encounter like the Manifestations of the Great Old Ones are in Sandy Petersen's Cthulhu Mythos are. But that's an entirely personal observation.

SUMMARY:

It's creative, it's more than a little gonzo, and it should give you ideas for days. This is definitely recommended if you even have the slightest use for enemies above the basic tech level of a medieval fantasy world. Heartily recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secret Soldiers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Weapons for Life
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2018 17:41:00

You do not encourage the practice of christianity in any way.... da fuck? Did the writer thing that 99% of America is Athiest or something?

You despise the "Pro-Life Movement"? So anyone who is remotely upset about abortion, is despicable?

You do understand half the country voted for Trump right?

The first few pages has the author talking shit about 50% or more of the country, very bad move, not professonal at all.

The end result is nothing like the writing of those other two groups, and THE SPACE MARINES ARE NOT THE BAD GUYS! The Space Marines fight things that want to kill or rape people, they aren't in any way connected to the secret police, church, or any of that.

--

Why is the "Lifer Army of God" full of non-humans? You made a faction of strawmen who hate technology, then made a bunch of them not human. There are christian fundimentalist in this world, they are the minority, and they HATE TECHNOLOGY. Everything is a "Affont to God" and a "Abomination".

This is like calling all Germans Nazis, and then thinking Nazis were big fans of interracial couples or labor unions.

Wait wait wait, are you saying that anyone who is "Pro-Life" is a freak and not human?

Wait wait wait, you have hardcore christian fundimentalists who...are zombies? What? You think people who are a pro-god would be okay with black magic?

--

The temporal angels aren't so bad.

--

Why is the art all over the place in quality and style? Can you not stick to like four or five styles? The art in here looks stolen or just bought from random vendors. Did you even commision all of this?

Wait wait wait, some of this art looks stolen from Stars Without Number! Page 68!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Weapons for Life
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Wiccae
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/09/2018 10:22:28

A race for the Otherverse America setting, but can be adapted to other games. The Wiccae would be called "Witch breed" or even "the Sidhe" in some other games they serve the purpose of an off-shoot human race not bound by the same rules that humanity has enforced on themselves over the millenia.

Some good ideas here that can be adapted to other games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Wiccae
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dept. 7 Adv. Class Update: Bar Room Berserker
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2018 23:42:38

Mechanics from elsewhere in the d20 system with a different setting explanation might give an interesting flavour to a modern game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dept. 7 Adv. Class Update: Bar Room Berserker
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fursona Unleashed
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2017 02:06:38

I see a few glaring issues with this product that detract from it enough to spoil my over all enjoyment of it. First and foremost is my own opinio that this needs to be available as a print on demand book as well as a pdf. At 100+ pages this is something I would want to have at a table and be able to flip through pages and jot down notes on paper and then type them onto a computer but this is a realtively minor quibble. The greater set of problems are the overt sexual references and especially the lack of any warning before hand that such material is present in the book.

This is not the first time I have had a problem of this nature with this author's work and I am almost certain it is not going to be the last. Features that would turn a givern a character and thus an entire campaign into a blue movie have absolutley positively NO place in a book like this that should be aimed at a general audience. There is a time and a place for such role play and it is in a venue where dice do not necessarily need to be involved and certainly do not to have some sort of mechanical advantage to the player as well highlight the creep factor they can potentially bring to a given table. In this the 5E version of this series is actually preferable to the orginal and certainly better than this. A part of me wants to contact the man who did that book and ask, beg and plead with even, to revamp for Pathfinder what he did for 5E.

I have been a gamer since the late 80s and while I do collect material of a carnal nature, even those that are made to be used with a popular game sytem they are their own seperate thing and thus easy to keep apart from the whole. In terms of movie ratings something like this which should be for general usage at a given table should be PG-13 at its most extreme and this is a hard R to more explicit ratings. As a GM I would need to go through something like this with a fine tooth comb before I would even think of allowing it be used by my players if I should be ggoing to a convention, I would need to monitor closely what ages I would allow to just pick up and peruse this book given an adventure I would run and generally with this sort of thing I want players to be able to look through game materials to be ble to have good grasp on just what they are getting into. In short for what I want to run this makes my job as the GM a little harder than it should be.

The system itself is not presented in the best form either. With the previous system you would use the different orders as sign posts to make sure you were going in the right directtion. If you have a clear idea as to what you are looking to build and customize a race this will do it after a fashion. This is not somethhing you can do a quick read through to get the gist of the sub system and then go on your merry way. This book is a good but inwieldy toolbox to use so be forewarned.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fursona Unleashed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fursona Unleashed
by Rolland T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2017 18:08:25

Definitely an improvement over the original edition and its sourcebooks. Dropping the Orders in favor of a core Anthro race with a lot of customization options was a step in the good direction, as was dropping many of the more fetishistic build abilities. The addition of new character traits and feats add even more options.

The Furry Worldbuilding options from Fursona I are also absent, but there are racial write-ups and worldbuilding notes at the start of the book, which somewhat make up for it, if you're into that.

It's also more compatible with the Advanced Race Guide racial build system, with some tweaking.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hey, thanks for the nice review Rolland. I excised the world-building advice in favor of the flavor text at the beginning because I felt it made Anthros more concrete and real as a species. I'll be putting out a few short to mid-length campaign guides over the next year or so focusing on different 'worlds' for your Anthros to inhabit. These will make concrete some of the abstract world-building advice in the first edition. CHRIS
Campaign Overlay: Fantasy Firearms
by JEROME M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2016 18:50:43

Armory, Bestiary, Mini-Campaign Setting and Players Guide All-in-one!

Fantasy Firearms from Skortched Urf' Studios is a criminally underrated product. Released in 2010, it has the misfortune of predating Paizo's official take on firearms in Ultimate Combat. This book has apparently been swept under the rug since, but it's time to shout out the praises for this book and let people know that this is one damn fine product that manages to bring Fantasy Firearms into your campaign through a mini-campaign based on the changes Draksmoke makes to your world.

This books offers a bestiary, new player races, new player options, an armory and a mini-campaign timeline that tracks the evolution of Draksmoke weaponry from the first Dwarven discoveries on to Elven additions, goblin crudities and much more! The book explains how the Dwarves were the first to craft the secrets of Draksmoke from the bile of red dragons and used it to create firearm weaponry. From there, the other races made their own innovations and found ways to incorporate firearms into their own adventures. This books shows you how to drop firearms into your world whole cloth. You can adjust all of your races as suggested, or just change the parts that work for your campaign.

The armory section offers a look at Draksmoke weaponry, pistols and rifles. There are halfling, elven and dwarven variations for revolvers and rifles and a few other neat creations that will make your players drool or your GM shiver with fear. As this book beat Ultimate Combat to print, there are variances in the cost, utility, and damage capacity of the weapons with those introduced in Ultimate Combat. This is the sole reason that I deducted one star from this review as the book will take a little bit of adjusting to fit into a world that also uses Paizo's Ultimate Combat.

My suggestions are to adjust the cost up slightly and perhaps consider giving all of the firearms presented herein either a higher misfire number such as 1-5 or remove the ranged touch quality. There are a few different ways that GMs can look at this to make it fall closer in line with the Ultimate Combat firearms.

This book really deserves an "A" for effort and a five star review. It offers so much content in one PDF. I loved the PDF so much, that I had to track down a copy of the hard book for my table! This book is just spilling over with fun ideas from the slick Dwarve-forged Forgehawk Revolver to gunfire goblins to smoke-belcher men to the gun-mage core class to the Unsleeping Riflemen and so much more! It is well worth the reduced price of the PDF and hard copies can still be found for a decent price on the secondary market.

If you're looking to incorporate firearms into your fantasy world, this book gives you everything you need to make it happen. Bring Fantasy Firearms to your world, lock, stock and barrel today!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Overlay: Fantasy Firearms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Otherverse America Campaign Setting
by Marja E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2016 15:10:45

In Otherverse America, Chris A. Field describes a future where the culture wars have exploded into civil war, followed by tense cold war; meanwhile psionics, biotechnology, and cybertechnology have developed.

Otherverse America doesn’t explain everything about the setting. It seems to be aimed at superhero campaigns, rather than harder speculative-fiction campaigns. It often refers to lifechains, without explaining who they are.

Otherverse America includes supplemental rules for campaigns using d20 Modern. The supplemental rules rely on classes, levels, and feats, so it wouldn’t be practical to adapt them to d6 Adventure, Shadowrun, Twilight: 2000 II/Traveller: TNE, etc. I think Technology Unleashed includes supplemental rules for campaigns using either Pathfinder or Dungeons & Dragons, but I don’t know if they would allow people to play Otherverse America.

One big question: does this setting, does this future, have room for people like me? I am a Christian who values bodily autonomy, including reproductive rights. I am queer and autistic. I have chronic illness. I get incapacitated by loud noises and flashing lights, and can’t escape them. (Sometimes it can be nice to escape into another setting, and away from my chronic illness, while keeping the values and many of the attributes that make me myself.) I can’t find enough about whether these “Choicer” and “Lifer” societies use their technologies to accommodate us, or to eugenically and/or morally mandate us out of existence.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Otherverse America Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Black Bestiary Volume II
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2016 01:05:46

Disappointing, especially for the price.

Of the 90+ monsters in this book, there are only about 34 new ones, plus 4 unique kaiju. The rest are either statted-out characters / character types ready to use, or recycled from prevous books by the author. I spotted monsters from the Witches of the Blue Skies, Tournament of Rapists, Black Tokyo:Electric Town, and the Battlechangers setting among others.

There are also a few minor spelling mistakes scattered through the book and, in my copy at least, there's a problem with the layout of page 94 (the Namazu Kaiju) where the picture obscures the text on the left side of the page. It's necessary to highlight, copy, and paste the text into a Word file to make any sense of it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Black Bestiary Volume II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Skortched Urf' Studios Sketchbook: Modern figures #3
by Daniel G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2016 17:27:33

I just purchased this product and was under the impression the art was in a useable format. Is there any chance I could get this art in tiff or jpg or some other format than pdf? While I could just screen cap and grab the art (and likely simply will) I had expected a publisher resource to be in a format used by publishers. Also, uncoloured line drawing versions would have been nice.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Skortched Urf' Studios Sketchbook: Modern figures #3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure Princesses
by Björn A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2015 09:04:29

Chris A. Fields „Adventurer Princesses“ is a curious product, which made me a bit hesitant at first, but in the end, curiosity won.

The strangeness begins with the cover illustration, a manga-style princess in a blue ball gown and a golden crown on her head, which seems to fit in a grimm-style fairy tale but doesn't seem too adventurous. I'm not too wrong with this interpretation but we'll come back to that. The layout of the product is fine with and while I not particularly like all of the interior illustrations that's certainly a matter of taste and it doesn't take away from the product in any way.

The strangeness continues with the categorization of the Adventurer Princess as a race (instead of a class as I had assumed first). So the product starts on the first three pages of this 16-page product with a description of the background of this „race“. Princesses typically aren't of noble blood but most often maidens from the common folk who excel with courage, charisma and leadership abilities. And while they are humanoids with the human subtype, they have different racial traits; the have their own ability modifiers, start with an animal friend who functions like a wizard's familiar, can choose between different skills they get bonuses for, and they get a 3x/day spell-like ability as a bard of the same level.

There are also some alternative racial traits offered, for example the Foreign Princess which enables you to play a non-human adventurer princess, or the Modern Princess to use in a modern setting (immediately Lara Croft comes to mind). For Xena-style characters, there is the Warrior Princess. Other alternatives modify the spell-like ability, the skill choices and look interesting and playable as well.

Next three pages are filled with 19 base character traits. For combat traits, we have the Air Princess (fly as class skill with +1 bonus on skill checks), the Dragon Slayer (bonus against dragon-type monsters) which I really like for how it plays with the normal stereotypes. The Duell Princess gets a magical one-hand weapon from the start and the Tomboy gets bonuses when competing with men (see my criticism at the end of the review).

With the magic traits we'll finally land in the realms of Grimm fairy tales I alluded to at the start. Animal Helper makes Cinderella's doves (or other animals) help with the daily chores and the Fairy-woven Finery obviously comes from the same source (the ball gown even changes back to normal at midnight), while the Little animated Buddy seems inspired by the Disney version of Beauty and the beast (I mean, come on, who wouldn't want a two-legged candelabra as companion – or better yet- an animated snowman). The Ball-gown Parachute does exactly, what he says and the Elemental Birth Sign increases the damage of elemental spell damage. At last, there's the Princess countersong, which enhances the respective bard's class feature.

The social traits encompass the Centre of Courtly Life, the Fairest of them All (Mirror, Mirror...), the Orphan Princess (free Courtier's Outfit), the Rat Princess (which prefers Intimidate over Diplomacy) and the Student of History, who gets bonuses on Knowledge (nobility) and Knowledge (history).

Finally, there are racial traits like the Fairie's Blessing (Little Briar Rose says hello), the mysterious Night's Princess (gets low-light vision) and the Sibling's Bond which creates an especially narrow bond between Little Brother and Little Sister. This trait seems mechanically problematic, because it relates to the psion's sense link ability which is known from 3.5 but has no official equivalent in Pathfinder. Now we have the Dreamscarred version, but as there's no entry in the OGL section 15 and as this version not quite equals it's predecessor, I assume that the author rather meant the older version. I guess one could easily adapt the Binder's sense link ability but if so, that should be clarified in the text.

Now let's return to the fairie tales realm with the racial feat Fairie Coach functioning like Disney's Cinderella version (even transforming the animal friend into two coach horses). It gets even better at level 10 when you get two winged coach horses instead which enable the coach to soar through the air. The second racial feat, the Noble Equipage is a bit more down to earth and may be inspired by Joan of Arc. It's mainly chivalric equipment you get (including a war horse or pony).

And then, there's five and a half pages full of magic items. I won't go into detail too much, but it's 3 armors, 3 weapons and 10 wondrous items, some of them also inspired by Grimms' Fairie Tales. For example, there's the Applewood Bow bestowing resistance bonuses against poisons, or the Princess' basket preparing fine meals from the raw ingredients put within. Another item, the Farie Dust, gold certainly takes its inspiration from Peter Pan (and I let you guess what it does ;) )

Conclusion: I'm still not sure what to make out of this product. I can see the advantage in making the Adventure Princess a race rather than a class, because it enables the author to take inspiration from diverse sources; still, most members of this group are of human stock, so the concept doesn't quite fit into this mechanic. Another thing is about the definition of this „race“. There's basically no need for a category including extraordinary women in a game, which already defines an adventurer as an extraordinary person and makes it quite clear that men and women are absolutely equal in game terms. Which would make every female adventurer to an Adventurer Princess.

This said, I still like the product. I don't think that children are it's main target group but I guess that the fairie tale elements are perfect to introduce them into the game. I can easily imagine my daughter wanting to play an Adventurer Princess inspired by Frozen's Elsa (especially if she is allowed to use an animated snowman as familiar). But even for me as a male adult, who likes to play female characters, the product contains quite some ideas to use in my own games. I mean; what's not to love about Xena, Joan of Arc or Lara Croft inspired characters.

And even if you don't like the Adventure Princess as a race (or even as a concept), the product still contains 16 pages full of rules material to use or be inspired from in your own game, and that for a real fair price. So 3 of 5 stars, because you still get useful material even if I have my doubts about the concept. Should you even like the concept, than add another star to my rating.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Princesses
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Bjorn, thanks so much or the lengthy, super detailed review. My rationale for making the Adventure Princess a race rather than a class is instead of having the concept tied to just one thing, by making it a race you could have Adventure Princess Fighters, or AP Bards, or AP Druids, or any other class combination you liked. I\'d wanted to do something Disney-esque for a long time, but couldn\'t find a way to do it that seemed mechanically interesting. I got the idea to do Adventure Princesses while I was working on a revamp of my Heavy Future setting, and I invented a few new race that was genetically human but so culturally different they had mechanically distinct powers and abilities. I realized if I could stretch the definition of \'human\' to play to the tropes of 70s sci-fi I could also bend the definition to do Disney. Finally, give your daughter an animated snowman and let her go adventuring! That sounds like the perfect use of this book. Have a good one, CHRIS
Black Tokyo -Unlimited Edition
by James G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 19:47:06

I picked this up largely because in the wake of the controversy caused by Tournament of Rapists (from the same author) there was a pretty strong likelihood this item might not be long on the site. I think the subject matter is not unworthy in itself - because actual Japanese erotica is if anything MORE weird - but the execution could have been done better. For example, the text needs more organization and editing. As in, any organization or editing at all. Also, this is the second edition of an older title that was originally modeled around D20 Modern, whereas this "Unlimited" Edition is more like a travelogue of the various locations in the Black Tokyo version of Japan. Thus it doesn't have a lot of the game material (like feats) that used to be in the older version of the book and are now in other sourcebooks for the line. The book is not completely worthless, but the aforementioned issues mean that it's only worth picking up if you're really invested in the subject matter, namely the utter fracking weirdness of Japanese sex culture. Which in this case apparently means not just rape but scatology.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Black Tokyo -Unlimited Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 193 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates