DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
SUPERS Revised Edition
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2019 15:42:49

I have bought Supers Revised Edition last year and at first I had difficulties reading it, maybe it was the layout, the art or whatever. The thing is I have read it since and even run two playtests and my players really enjoyed this game. My experience so far is with 20D characters, the superhero power level.

The game engine use a D6 mechanics not unlike the system used in Ghostbusters, Star Wars and Men in Black but the game is simpler because it doesn't use pips (+1, +2), there is no wild die (it is an optional rule) and the scale is simpler (normal human is 1D not 2).

The strengths of this game for me are these ones :

  • Characters are easy to create with a budget of creation dices low enough for not feeling overwhelmed but sufficient enough for not feeling constricted by a budget limit
  • The gamut of character creation is diversified enough to create plenty of different character concepts and to adapt characters from other game systems
  • The game system is easy, roll you pool of D6 dices (usually 1 to 6) add the results and beat a Target Number, either a TN decided by the Judge (the game master, name in this game) or decided by the defense chosen by the opponent. If the TN is beaten by 6, it is a Major success and by 12 a Superior success.
  • The game is versatile, you can attack and defend with various powers, resistances and aptitudes depending on the situation
  • You have several ways to get hurt, you decide which resistances is lowered when hit by a blast for instance depending how you decide how it affects you narratively

The game fills all my requirements for a superhero RPG. Still I don't feel thrilled by it, I suppose this is a lack of experience with it so I think the next test run I could do with it is run a superhero campaign ;-).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SUPERS! Revised Edition Judge's Screen
by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2018 22:09:15

Love this screen! The pages fit perfect in my universal 4 panel landscape GM screen. Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS! Revised Edition Judge's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Omega Files
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2018 23:04:58

Did someone say "Pat Zircher art for US$5?!" Are you kidding?! YES!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Omega Files
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Enemy Strike File: Sea Devil
by Antonio M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2018 21:57:33

The Sea Devil is the perfect hook to start a marine related campaign. Great addition to tye Strike Files!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enemy Strike File: Sea Devil
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scene Stealers 1: Black Ice
by Antonio M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2018 21:24:54

If you want to run a game using SUPERS! Revised Edition, Black Ice is an excellent introductory escenario. My players enjoyed the story and they had the oportunity to deepen their knowledge of the system. Believe me, it has it all!

Scene Stealers 1: Black Ice has been the starting point of our campaign, and taking unto avcount its success with my group, we will try more instalments of this series



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scene Stealers 1: Black Ice
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Omega Files
by Quinn M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2017 22:28:32

First, if you told me all these characters came from some 1990s comic? I'd totally buy into that. The art just has that look, IMHO. Truthfully, the art is better than a number of comics I read back then.

The text layout on every odd numbered page is too crowded on the right side of the page (the text is too close to the art border). It made it harder for me to read things. That said, I liked the blurbs on character personality and combat tactics, plus each character wearing a badge insignia as part of their uniform gives them a solid team look, despite the very different costumes being worn.

I like Paladin as the classic Superman type, Thunderhawk has a cool look. I'd give her a Tradeoff with her Super Strength (less lift, more combat) so she has 3D in combat. She does not have an obvious defense (it could be her Athleticism or Life Support depending on the attack type), but she can hit the ENTIRE enemy group with her Weather control attack Area Effect.

I also liked Alloy, but would like to see full art for him, not just a head bust. He does seems a bit underpowered for looking like a brick-type character.

It would be good to see The Garrison team vehicle, the Osprey, with actual stats for Supers Red. I could puzzle it out from the data that is given, but I'm kinda lazy. :)

There is a half dozen Plot Seeds, based mostly on the character background details to round things out.

I'd give this a 4 out of 5 stars. A good value for the money. Also, the Odyssey Design Group robotic horse logo is just flat out cool.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Omega Files
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M.e.r.c.
by Brian K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2017 13:14:00

A good selection of villians, and plot hooks, that can be easily dropped into any game. Great art and characters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
M.e.r.c.
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M.e.r.c.
by Quinn M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2017 14:37:25

Where do those villains get all those henchmen? If there is a demand, there WILL be a supply -for a price.

I think that sums up the idea behind the M.E.R.C. sourcebook (M.E.R.C. by the way stands for Military Enterprises and Research Corporation). It covers the origin and organization of a company formed to profit from supplying heavily armed troopers to those willing to pay handsomely for such services. In fact, you can hire different levesl of troopers and even some super villains, You are given details on the corporation, including the Board of Directors, the expected stats for the three levels of Troopers, and some stats for several super villains. You also get stats on some vehicles the Troopers commonly use.

The art is almost all done by Joe Singleton, and is up to his usual standard -quite good.

There are a number of organizations and other villains named in the book (but no art/stats), which will apparently be detailed in other sourebooks. The name dropping does give the feel of an active, living world. Who knows what the Omega Syndicate is up to lately, or if that villain Hardware is busy plotting his next move? Speaking of which, there are over a half dozen plot seeds thrown in to stir the imagination of the GM (or 'Judge' in Supers terms).

Bottom line? For the price you get some quaility art and writing. Sure, I had a few detail questions about how M.E.R.C. operated, but there is enough here that anyone can pick up the ball and run with it (to use a sports analogy). I will be adding a lot of this material to my ongoing Supers campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hostile Intent: Akula
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2016 18:45:57

This is a cool, well-thought out designed bad guy for your V&V game. The inclusion of Plot Seeds, along with notes on Personality and Tactics really fleshes it all out, making this a very solid investment of your 99 pennies. Get it, and encourage more cool indie stuff for V&V.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hostile Intent: Akula
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SUPERS Revised Edition
by Brian K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2016 10:39:33

System really captures the feel of a comic book, with players trying nw ideas and the system being flexible enough to handle comic physics! Quick character creation, with enough rules to be functional but space for the players to really define their characters. Pick it up, throw some dice.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Enemy Strike File: Der Jager (Mutants & Masterminds)
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2015 05:31:33

Second in the M&M series of character transfers from the Icon system, this issue continues to populate a super-world by detailing Der Jager, a hunter of men. The character starts out hunting terrorists (for money for those who like their villains motives black and white) and finds a thrill in hunting human prey. Equipped with suitable weaponry he decides to set up elaborate “games” where his target will be given a chance, all be it a slim one, to “earn” their continued existence, by proving themselves a worth prey. The hunt is his motive and he will target hard targets such as the heroes as well as other criminals and of course his services are for sale provided the hunt can provide a suitable challenge.

This is a well thought out hunter character, the artwork of De Jager is excellent (though I'm not as fond of the artwork for his wolf Loki I'm afraid), has links into the Earth-Prime Universe such as being an enemy of Raven and comes with a series of suitable plots, quotes and traits that work well for the character. Der Jager's PL 10 build is appropriate as a foil for your Batman-type hero or possibly de-powered superhero on an individual basis or as part of a team who would take on a group of heroes by dividing them up to try and conquer.

Well worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enemy Strike File: Der Jager (Mutants & Masterminds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Enemy Strike File: Permafrost (Mutants and Masterminds)
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2015 10:57:12

Originally released as an original Icons build, first thing to note is that Permafrost includes a herolab file (which should be considered the standard these days) even though the producer fails to mention that in the main blurb.

The package details a fairly basic ice-based character whose origin is just as basic "former research scientist, who was conducting cryogenic research, when a lab accident caused his equipment to explode, covering him with a strange brew of experimental chemicals."

That isn't a problem as it makes it very easy to adapt the character to fit your gaming universe and what I especially liked was that he was German not American - I know its only a small matter to change the country of origin but its nice to see the beginnings of a world being detailed.

Artwork consists just the one image - reprinted three times, the character details such as origin, combat tactics, personality & character traits (predictably cold and calculating) Quote and plot seed (not quotes and plot seeds when only one of each is offered) and the character sheet for a PL10 character.

This is very much a what you see is what you get with this first M&M3e strike file and that is not a bad thing. I really look forward to see what else is produced by them in the future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enemy Strike File: Permafrost (Mutants and Masterminds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The A.D.E.L. File
by Clint S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2015 16:23:03

This is a terrific product with high production standards - good writing, editing and art, and some really great ideas! Well worth the cost!

I will be using a lot of the advantages, disadvantages, enhancements and limitations in my games. And I especially like the rules for Relics! Top Notch, Hazard Studios!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The A.D.E.L. File
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Supervillains (SUPERS!)
by David J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 02:06:34

This is a collection of supervillains (plus Bug) with dynamic vivid characterization and description that more than make up for my lack of knowledge of what the stats mean. I have no idea how I came to buy it but having read it, I'm satisfied I got a good product. Although, seriously guys, Adonis is the Greek god of beauty. It's also nice that all of the villains come with with enemies in their backstories to help fill out the universe.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Supervillains (SUPERS!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SUPERS! Revised Edition Judge's Screen
by Steve R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2015 16:55:56

Just what I wanted from a GM screen for this great little game. Given that the game is fairly rules light, you might think there wasn't much call for a screen. I'm happy to say that the screen admirably captures all of the necessary tables and then uses the remaining space to provide something really useful, summarised versions of the archetype characters from the game. I have a feeling that this will be a very useful resource when you need to call up some enemies on the fly. The artwork is familiar from the covers of the game and looks really nice when dropped into the customisable GM screen. All in all, great value and just what I wanted from a screen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS! Revised Edition Judge's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates