DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
[ICONS]Improbable Tales: Pirates Beyond Time!
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2020 09:26:50

I soloed my way through Pirates Beyond Time made for ICONS. It is available for pay what you want/free at DriveThruRPG. I used The Four Color Hack to play it (3$) and the Mythic Game Master Emulator to solo it. The 3-4 hour adventure (twelve pages long) is for a Game Master and several player characters. I used three superhero characters to play through the five scenes. None of my characters died, though most of them got wounded. Make sure that your characters have a wide variety of powers and skills. This will help quite a bit. Save the world by taking out one supervillain at a time . . .



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[ICONS]Improbable Tales: Pirates Beyond Time!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
that's great! Thanks for the review.
[Savage Worlds]Improbable Tales: Helicarrier Heist
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/22/2020 19:15:17

FINAL THOUGHTS

  • I honestly was not expecting so many random tables. Seeing as how I love random tables, that's a win in my book.
  • I love the options for changing things up a bit, even if I thought the layout of the scenario was fine as is.
  • The legacy characters were a really nice touch, as I wasn't familiar with them or their creators (I'd heard of Green Turtle, but was otherwise unfamiliar), so those sidebars were a great bonus.
  • If you want to run it with Savage Worlds Adventure Edition, you'll have to do any statblock conversions yourself. I haven't played around with the Super Powers Companion and SWADE much to see if anything wobbles or breaks when they are combined.
  • Despite how much I love Savage Worlds, supers gaming, and my Necessary Evil campaign, I'm not super high on Savage Worlds as my default supers system. If that's a stumbling block for you, there are three other systems linked above (ICONS is my preference of those three, not that you asked). That said, I actually can't wait to see what an Adventure Edition-compatible Super Powers Companion is going to look like.
  • The scenario is just what I like in a scenario: A strong skeleton with room for you to hang meat on the bones if you want to tweak it or expand it. And well worth it for the price, too.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2020/01/tommys-take-on-improbable-tales.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Savage Worlds]Improbable Tales: Helicarrier Heist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[Savage Worlds] Loathsome Souls
by Dylan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2019 18:21:33

[Edit: The issues described have subsequently been fixed. Amending review rating to reflect that.]



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[Savage Worlds] Loathsome Souls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
We have amended the file. Wetwo sets of statblocks now. The first one uses Savage Worlds Adventure Edition in conjunction with the Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed). The second uses only SWADE. Sincere apologies for the first take on this product - the author had sent us a "work-in-progress" draft instead of the finished product
[SUPERS]Improbable Tales: Rave of the Dead
by Jay D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2019 02:59:38

My initial review was affected by an issue with the download link that has since been rectified. So, here we go again!

  • Presentation 8/10 - Artwork ranges from good to great, Pontifex Mortis' art is fantastic and the cemetery map is also excellent, the comic is a nice touch and the zombie heroes look great, too! As for the written presentation, it is well formatted and arranged in such a way that quickly finding information is a breeze and pages never seem too cluttered!
  • Content 10/10 - For the price it is surprisingly rich, there are 15 pages, we get a map, various stat blocks for villains and even a section with extra statblocks for vampires, werewolves and skeleton. There are plenty of suggestions throughout the PDF on how to change things up and scale the encounters based on your group.
  • Story 7/10 - The story itself is pretty straight forward, necromancer goes to a cemetery and raises a bunch of zombies and the heroes respond to the threat.
  • Value 10/10 - Can't ask for more for under a buck now can we?

Overall 9/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[SUPERS]Improbable Tales: Rave of the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
apologies - had thought we had solved the file confusion some time in the past. I just uploaded the SUPERS version just now (3/7/2019) with a distinct filename to avoid any confusion on the backend. You should bee able to download it now. Sincere apologies.
[Savage Worlds Adventure Edition] The After - Quick Start Guide
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2019 13:52:40

This seems promising. The premise is a post-apocalyptic Earth several generations after an alien invasion wiped out nearly all of humanity and enslaved the survivors. Then another alien race showed up and the two went to war, further devastating the planet. Then suddenly, they were both gone, leaving the survivors to pick up the pieces. I love that premise, I just wish settings like this didn't always have to include psychic mutants. I'd like to do 3.5 stars, but I can't do 1/2 stars so I went with 4. If not for the psychic mutants I'd have given 5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[Savage Worlds Adventure Edition] The After - Quick Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[Savage Worlds] EXTREME EARTH: A DYSTOPIAN SUPERHERO SETTING
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2018 15:24:31

Nice and imaginative setting, dystopian super heroes is something which appeals to me. The only bad point for me is the absence of bookmarks on that PDF.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
[Savage Worlds] EXTREME EARTH: A DYSTOPIAN SUPERHERO SETTING
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[Savage Worlds] EXTREME EARTH: A DYSTOPIAN SUPERHERO SETTING
by Dennis M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2018 00:21:25

This is the second system for which I have purchased this book in both PDF and 'dead tree' version. I was impressed with the concept of a dystopic supers background and its execution in this product for both systems. The setting is meaty and the reasons things are as grim as they are in 'Extreme Earth' are well-considered and plausable enough for a for a supers setting that dis-allows magic, time travel/control, dimensional travel, among a few other limitations in setting. Firearms are still a threat unless your powers of regeneration are excellent. A limited selection of characters are provided as examples and are usable as PCs. Several campaign models are included. A two-part adventure is also provided. I recommend purchasing this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[M&M3e] The Great Game
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2018 00:32:33

I'll start with the nitpicky little details about "The Great Game." There are a few missed instances of the term "ICON" which reminds the reader that this book was ported over from a different system. A few typos pepper the text, and are more numerous in the last few sections of the book. The most notable one is a recurring one: 'ee' often shows up in spots intended to say 'be.' Overall these are relatively few and won't impact the usefulness of the material in-game. The artwork ranges from servicable to really top notch. The star map is particularly great looking.

As to the setting material, I was impressed. There are a lot of homages being paid to various other science-fiction materials, and it's obviously done with the utmost respect for those. The backstory provided works well as a backdrop or even some ways to account for your player character's motivations and source of powers. Each area has a good amount of detail into their motivations, enmities and rulers, which certainly feels cosmic. An imaginative GM could easily run an entire campaign with the materials and hooks provided. There's certainly no reason you couldn't roll some of these concepts into those provided in the "Cosmic Handbook" but it would take some effort to make it all play well together. If you don't want to use, or don't have that book, "The Great Game" gives you lots of ideas to use and is well worth the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[M&M3e] The Great Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[Mutants and Masterminds]The Super Villain Handbook Deluxe Edition Conversion Pack
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2017 21:05:48

I genuinely hate to post this in some ways, as I consider the Super Villain Handbook Deluxe Edition itself a great piece of work. Unfortunately, I can't feel the same about the M&M conversion pack.

The problem is that either Jason Tondro doesn't have a really good grasp of the system, or he wasn't paying attention to his own characterization of some of the characters when he did the conversion; perhaps he assumed some things you can get by with in Icons would also work in M&M.

They don't.

Before anyone takes issue with what I'm about to say, I know that not all supervillains need to be evenly set at PL; some are behind the scene masterminds, or are set up so a combat against them isn't really supposed to be at all balanced to their benefit. The particular characters I am about to discuss are indicated as not being like this, however. And as the numbers in the M&M conversion go, some of them would be hard pressed to survive more than a round or two against even a single superhero of the power one would think they're intended to go up against.

A couple of standout examples:

Muezzin is set up so he's got an ability that lets him blend into crowds, but the text at the start of his entry indicates that he should be able to "hold his own against most hero groups." The problem with this is that while he's got a perfectly reasonable offensive capability (a rank 12 area damage power in addition to a rank 12 single target one and a a similar powered Affliction, both with an attack value of +10), his defensive abilities are nearly nonexistant; he's got a Dodge and Parry of 8 and a Toughness of +3. That not only won't stop any even halfway serious super, it won't even reliably fend off a couple of cops or two. If he was entirely a stealth attacker, that might be workable, but after a single attack his presence will be revealed and he has no good way to go to ground again.

A similar problem occurs with Cardinal Sin. Though Sin is supposed to mostly be a behind-the-scenes type, the first sentence of his entry mentions that though he throws minions at them first, he should be able to hold his own against a group of PL 10 heroes. Yet he has a Dodge and Parry of 6 and a Toughness of +4. He doesn't even have Muezzin's area effect to try and hope he can flatten his opposition quick.

Frankly, I'd be astonished if either of these characters lasted a single round once combat began with a set of PL 10 opponents.

While these are particularly unfortunate cases, they aren't the only cases of characters who really aren't built to be able to serve the functions they avowedly should serve. It seems like it was assumed in the Foreman's write-up that a hero group will contain no one who uses energy attacks, as while he's quite resistant to physical attacks, an energy attacker could put him down relatively easily. Yes he's supposed to be a character that challenges characters to have to find another way of defeating him, where one energy controller or mystic will make that moot.

To be clear, not every conversion suffers from these problems. For his PL, the Raptor is not badly designed (though a bit under-offensed) and Montana seems capable of holding her own. But enough of the characters are seriously underdefended that I suspect most users will simply need to rewrite them to be functional--and if you're going to do that, you might as well do the conversion yourself from the Icons book.

As I said, the best I can assume is that Mr.Tondro doesn't thoroughly have a feel for how combat situations in M&M work, and has carried over assumptions from Icon that just don't port over properly.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
[Mutants and Masterminds]The Super Villain Handbook Deluxe Edition Conversion Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[ICONS]Against the Axis
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2016 08:26:07

My only real issue with this pdf is that it's listed as 189 pages and is actually 89 pages. The operative question is: what's not to love a about it. Though sent in a different continum and released by a different company, "Against the Axis" is a follow up-continuation-revision of the concepts Perin's earlier ICONS book "Homefront Heroes". "Axis" focuses on the theaters of war. Basically, if you want to tell a Golden Age story with ICONS, what you need is probably in here. Also, because the contributors are ICONS heavy hitters, like Houser and Tondro, esthetically and mechanically it should fit well with most published ICONS material. For those interested in Stark City, the book offers a Kirbyesque ancient aliens origin of superpowes.

If you like ICONS at all, you shouldn't be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[ICONS]Against the Axis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
thanks for catching the typo regarding number of pages. We have fixed that.
[ICONS]The Super Villain Handbook Deluxe Edition
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/20/2016 21:47:53

Conclusion: I loved the Basic Edition so much I named it one of my Top 6. This book tops that, expanding from 98 pages to a whopping 231 pages, written with both love and thought by Jason Tondro. I recommend it for any supers GM and anyone interested in the structure that has molded some of the finest villains in comic book history. Now if we could just get Mr. Tondro's Field Guide to Superheroes in print as well...

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2016/09/tommys-take-on-super-villain-handbook.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[ICONS]The Super Villain Handbook Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[M&M3e] EXTREME EARTH: A DYSTOPIAN SUPERHERO SETTING
by Dennis M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2016 00:42:19

I purchase this with an eye to finally using my M&M3Ed rules, and I am even more fired up to do so now that I've had a chance to read this campaign setting cover to cover, so to speak. I was so impressed I have purchased the printed book as well. If you've got a hankering to run a supers game in a universe close to that which may be seen in Stormwatch: Team Achilles and The Authority, this is a campaign setting you need to check out! I am eagerly awaiting more material for this campaign setting!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[M&M3e] EXTREME EARTH: A DYSTOPIAN SUPERHERO SETTING
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Justice Wheels #6 Hexarcana [ICONS]
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2016 10:25:04

This is my favorite of this series. I have the entire run. I liked their take on vehicle rules an the whole set is great as illustrated examples of the simplified rules. They even feature a chart cross referencing different forms of escape and pursuit. Its perfect, when you think about it. Then there is this #6 issue.

Hexarcana ,of course, reminds me of a paticular hellish biker from the movies, which is great. Out of the entire Justice wheels set, I would most likely play her right out of the box. If anything about this series peaks your interest buy this episode, the vehicle rules are packed in the back. You will have my favorite of the set to look over and see if the rest are worth collecting. (I thought so, and Im stingy.) If you decide not, you invested only one dollar and still have a kick but antihero biker chick with a nice set of rules for vehicles in your ICONS game. Trust me, either way you do not lose.

For the price and what it gives you this product has earned every star I have given it. I cant give it five because... lets face it... its not an opera or anything. I have to save something for the next Divine Comedy: the RPG.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Justice Wheels #6 Hexarcana [ICONS]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Against the Axis KS Preview: Sinder Ella
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2016 07:03:53

The preview just has the character of Sinder Ella in it, but I definitely can't wait for the finished product to come out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Against the Axis KS Preview: Sinder Ella
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[ICONS]Improbable Tales: Belly of the Beast
by Dominique S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2015 21:11:52

Just a quick review, as I'm strapped for time. This is a fun little adventure, something you can knock out in one session, and can be easily rolled into an ongoing campaign. It's got an old school "feel" to it. I liked it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[ICONS]Improbable Tales: Belly of the Beast
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 41 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates