DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Dungeon Smashers
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2020 08:00:40

For the past few days I have soloed my way through Isle of the Rat Wizard (for Far Away Land RPG), free at DriveThru, a six page adventure which is a bit wacky, but it does not have to be. It is for first level characters. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. I used Paul's The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox to solo it. The game system I used was Dungeons Smashers which is on sale at the moment. It has 105 pages and more than 100 illustrations. I did complete the quest and the PCs received a gold bar and a sloop. We recruited a sailor and then sailed the open seas. This led us to The Mystery of Black Ash Island for 7th Sea. It is free out there on the web. At a port the PCs bought a treasure map and went after the treasure right away. The druid was able to find the treasure and get it to the boat. However, pirates in another sloop were waiting for this moment. There was a big battle and now we have two sloops. Our sailor died during this. We had captured one of the pirates, but he could not be trusted. We made him swim to a small island. And, of course, the pirates had loot!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Smashers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle Strikers: Modern Combat RPG
by Monarch P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2020 21:20:33

It does what it needed to do. Simple easy to grasp rules. Can be run and played within half an hour. Fills a niche that is sorely lacking in pen and paper role-playing games. Mainly the absence of G.I. Joe in it.

Gripes I have with this release version. The lack of art. It felt like I was reading a Japanese RPG book.

PS. If anyone who has a copy of Battle Strikers and has a decent knowledge of G.I. Joe could inform me which Strikers and Death agents correspond to which characters from the cartoon and comics would be greatly appreciated.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Strikers: Modern Combat RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Science Fiction Codex of Lists (2nd Edition)
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2020 04:03:18

This is a solid collection of tables.

The 2nd edition has more than twice as many pages as the 1st edition. That's mostly by expanding the existing tables. Many tables have more entries in the 2nd edition, such as Alien Races going from 36 entries to 200. Some tables expand brief entries into a few sentences, such as Alien World Encounters, which goes from brief phrases in the 1st edition to the phrase plus a few lines of explanation in the 2nd edition.

As you can see from the product description and the preview, the tables cover a variety of science fiction flavors. You probably won't use every table in any given setting, but you'll probably find some relevant tables for most settings.

The tables cover a variety of needs: planets, species, encounters, equipment, technology, social structures, and so on. You could use these tables to flesh out your prepared adventures or to throw in some random elements on the fly. You could use them to aid character generation (PCs or NPCs).

The tables are system-neutral. It's up to you to figure out how to represent the results in your game system. For example, you could generate a world with low gravity or an NPC who's an explorer, and then you decide how to stat them up.

Overall, there's little risk of rolling up nonsensical combinations. Many of the tables are stand-alone. When you combine tables, such as rolling up a planet and an alien species to go with it, you could wind up rerolling. For example, your planet might have low gravity, and then you could roll up a species that calls for a high-gravity world. This can happen, but most combinations work out reasonably well.

One thing that's missing, and I'm glad it's missing, are entries like "GM's choice" or "Reroll." I don't need a table's permission to do what I want. These tables give you a result, every time.

My frequent complaints about other random table collections include "That's not what that word means; look it up" and "Sheesh, run a spelling checker." Those complaints do not apply to these tables (yay). So maybe there's a missing hyphen here and there, but for the most part, the entries are written clearly instead of making you figure out or tolerate poorly written descriptions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Codex of Lists (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Confrontations
by Christopher J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2017 19:54:42

This game seems to be a slimmed down take on the combination of WH40K and a few "what if..." ideas. The mechanics are fairly simple and the rules are only 3 pages long. The game also comes with all of the pieces you need to print-cut-glue-play in probably less than an hour. The one main thing that I didn't care much for about the game was that the figures are not fold flats, but I am not sure if they were made to be A-frame models, or fold-flats. But for the small amount of money that you pay for this title, the figs are decent enough to use as is.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Star Confrontations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Science Fiction Codex of Lists (2nd Edition)
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2017 16:03:51

If you're the sort of GM who likes and uses random lists and tables in your games, and if you're running SciFi, then this product is a treasure trove. Holy crap, you get a ton of stuff for your money! Nearly 90 different list/tables of various sizes covering a wide array of subjects. When you consider that your typical random table PDF product sells for between 50c and $1 for a typical d66 table, that represents tremendous value. Some are going to be more useful than others depending on the specifics of the game you're running, but I think there's enough in here for most GM's to get their money's worth. Personally I would have liked to see the lists laid out more like traditional tables, with the dice roll numbers first. but since I'm likely to be importing these and using them in Inspiration Pad Pro, it's not a dealbreaker for me. Of particular note are the planetary generation tables, which cover all the usual details, including a D100 list of Planetary Options that looks like an excellent supplement to the World Tags in Stars Without Number. If you're the sort of GM who prefers to carefully plan out every detail of the worlds your PCs visit, you might still find looking over these lists useful as inspiration, but if you're a seat-of-the-pants improvising GM running a sandbox like SWN or running a solo game, then adding this to your toolbox is a no-brainer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Codex of Lists (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Imperial Crusade Armada
by Matteo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2017 19:09:03

One of the two factions uses a lot of fighters, and the tokens for the fighters are missing, they are present in the demo version, but not in the final product. So, if you want to play this, download the demo version too.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Imperial Crusade Armada
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Tome of Lists 2
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2016 22:39:06

Very usefull compedium of un-statted general use fantasy rpg lists. Fantastic idea generation fodder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Tome of Lists 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Tome of Lists (2nd Edition)
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2016 22:38:47

Very usefull compedium of un-statted general use fantasy rpg lists. Fantastic idea generation fodder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Tome of Lists (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Science Fiction Codex of Lists 2 (2nd Edition)
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2016 22:33:06

Incredibly useful compilation of system neutral lists. Regardless of the genre, any one running a sci-fi campaign will find this pdf a very fertile idea generating tool. This PDF has been by my side the entire time I’ve been running my year-long bizarro star wars campaign and has proven to be invaluable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Codex of Lists 2 (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Science Fiction Codex of Lists (2nd Edition)
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2016 22:31:34

Incredibly useful compilation of system neutral lists. Regardless of the genre, any one running a sci-fi campaign will find this pdf a very fertile idea generating tool. This PDF has been by my side the entire time I’ve been running my year-long bizarro star wars campaign and has proven to be invaluable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Codex of Lists (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle Strikers: Modern Combat RPG
by Kyrinn E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2016 21:19:40

Battle Strikers is a genius treatment of the '80s action figure genre of specialist team infiltration and shoot'em-up.

Very simple system, but detailed enough to seem custom tailored to the premise, and very well written for the 'Greatest American Hero' variety in particular. Serial numbers have been lightly filed off, and everyone you'd expect is there.

You cannot go wrong.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Strikers: Modern Combat RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows of the Ninja: Lite Ninja RPG
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2015 16:14:13

This game blends weaponry, stealth, and magic in this potentially great game. However, the lack of clarity in the rules for such things as levelling up jutsu, how summons work, and what theyre able to do, keep this game from being what it could be with a little polish here and there. it has an extremely well spread selection of villages to choose from, ranks to climb, and all sort of missions to take on. With that bit of polish, this could be the perfect game for short break missions for any ninja fan. With a slight bit of editing and agreement by players, this game is very playable now though, so stay in the shadows, strike without warning, and see your missions to the end players!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of the Ninja: Lite Ninja RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Science Fiction Codex of Lists (2nd Edition)
by timitjy f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 12:19:47

It was useful at helping getting the juices flowing with ideas



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Codex of Lists (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Confrontations: Republic Army
by Quincy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2013 20:45:02

A nice free expansion, based off of star wars. The descriptions for the vehicles are off, though. They are clearly meant for the Star Elf army, as drones are mentioned.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Confrontations: Republic Army
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Imperial Crusade Missions
by Quincy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2013 20:20:23

A good set of missions, but one thing is needed. Every single mission is built for the same point costs. A lot of the fun in different missions is imbalanced fights where the objectives balance it out. It can get dull playing 1000 v 1000 over and over again. I would give 3.5 if possible, but I rounded down.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Imperial Crusade Missions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates