DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
100 Folks Of The Old West
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2018 19:18:51

Paid 0.75 for it. As such, it wasn't bad. One page with 100 namres and a single sentence. It felt like the product of a random generator, but it could be useful for NPCs who make a brief appearance and then vanish.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
100 Folks Of The Old West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Micro Maze 01: The Garden of Mad Alchemy (Solo Game)
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 14:57:07

More simplistic than Exiles of the Wicked Maze but easier to get going and has a different goal. Good fun! It would be a 5 star rating if there was more than one map like Exiles. 3 different mazes would be good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Maze 01: The Garden of Mad Alchemy (Solo Game)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Seedy City Business Locations
by Elizabeth R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2018 12:13:40

I have all five of these lists ("all" five so far) and they're very useful. I'm using them as inspiration to fill a few back streets of a medium-small town near my modern campaign venue. They're creative and amusing, and well worth a buck apiece to get my brain unblocked. Favorite item so far: Blazing Balls, which is a bowling alley. Using that one as is :-)

Message to publisher: please could you do (or refer me to) some hospital lists? Staff, ward patients, emergency patients (both injuries from violence and the usual heart ailments and so forth) and visitors/passersby? Maybe EMTs and/or helicopter staff and attendents? Cause eventually my players are going to land their characters in the ER for at least a minute, and there might even be nastiness set in such a place.

Thanks for the great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Seedy City Business Locations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your kind words! You know, that sounds like a good idea... the hospital lists. I do have some sets of modern people (check the new Modern Lists category- I've finally, finally gotten around to organizing the products in publisher created categories), but nothing yet as far as actual reasons for being in hospitals. Which is kind of ironic, as I've worked in mental health for several years and my wife is a nurse. Just as much as the Modern Ghosts series came out as a result of a customer request I'm going to have to take a good look at this... I may do one of just possible reasons for being in the ER and another one of folks with their reason for being in the ER. Plus possible staff.
Thank you again for your review! I've added the first of a number of products inspired by your suggestions. 50 Emergency Room Patients is now up and available. I'll be working on a hospital staff one as well as another set or two of patients. I've made these 50 lists instead of 100 to allow space for more colorful details about the patients and why they are in the ER.
Maze Game Bundle 1 [BUNDLE]
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2018 14:15:12

I wrote reviews of Micro-Maze Adventures separately, but I strongly recommend this bundle. Solo gaming is fun when you need to scratch that gaming itch and you don't have anyone to play with or you're in between gaming sessions. These are very well conceived!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maze Game Bundle 1 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Micro Maze 01: The Garden of Mad Alchemy (Solo Game)
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2018 14:01:18

Another cool Micro-Maze Adventure from Fishwife Games. I've played all from 01-03 and looking forward to playing the newly released 04. As I mentioned in other reviews, I've had a blast playing these games. I only give them 4 out of 5 stars because they may be a little simplistic depending on what you're looking for in a game, but I chose to play these first (as opposed to the more involved Exiles Maze games) because I wanted to play a game while doing something else (watching a football game in my case). Each of these Micro-Maze Adventures come with optional rules to get more replay value, but given their price, even as a one-shot, these maze games are worth it. At some point I'll play the more involved Exiles games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Maze 01: The Garden of Mad Alchemy (Solo Game)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Micro Maze 02: Rival Turf (Solo Game)
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2018 13:35:02

Very cool solo game based on one of my favorite movies: The Warriors. The mechanics of the Micro-Maze Adventures are similar from game to game with different "skins" based on genre. I usually play these while watching a football game. I only give it 4 stars because on its own it may be a little too simplistic depending on your tastes, but still makes for a fun hour or so of game time, rolling dice. Not a bad bargain given the price (buy the bundle). The associated music track is cool but sounds a little too modern than the late 70s or 80s John Carpenter-like music I would prefer to be in my head while playing this game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Maze 02: Rival Turf (Solo Game)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for your detailed review! I will admit that there is quite a bit of a difficulty curve between 02: Rival Turf and the next one in the series. I am planning to do many more of these if interest continues and will be playing around with a wide variety of different mechanics here and there. You are indeed correct about the "skins" concept... though I do try to throw in new mechanics here and there, especially when they add greater depth to a certain theme, the general play is the same... hopefully one day someone will coin a decent name for the whole symbol filled maze format I've been messing around with. One of my inspirations, in fact, when I started creating games like these were pinball tables. I've said the same thing... underneath the lights, sounds, and graphics the machines are more or less the same- minus or added a ramp here, a few neat mechanic props there, etc. I decided to see if I could do the same with the maze games. Essentially have the maze, complete with symbols (and corresponding charts), take on the role that a Game Master or a computer would have- set up the path and flow of the adventure. Right now there's one fantasy, one 70s/80s Bronx style gang theme (this one of course), and two post apocalypse... I did the two in the row because post apocalypse things sell well for me and also I had the whole idea of the Atomic Bard stuck in my head and couldn't focus on anything else until I got it out. I am hoping to do many, many more themes- including weird but cool stuff, the kind of stories and such that would be great for a one shot adventure game (as these mazes provide) but not really something that would be done as an ongoing role playing game. I'm also tinkering around with revisiting some of the names of the music tracks I made for Fishwife Games back in the day and turn them into realized adventures... this also was the reason that there was Rival Turf- the maze game and Rival Turf- the music track (the music track actually came out a number of years earlier- but yes, I admit its not entirely the same feel). Please feel free to let me know if there's a particular genre or setting that you would like to see transformed into one of these micro-maze adventures.
Micro Maze 03: Ruined City Scavenger (Solo Game)
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2018 12:02:50

Fishwife Games Micro-Maze Adventures are fun solo adventures. I usually play them while watching football. I played this one first because I'm a big fan of the post-apocalyptic genre. All of the Micro-Maze Adventures play similarly, with slightly different mechanics and a different genre "skin." This one threw me for a loop because I had completed the entire maze but was not able to get all unique parts of the purifier. There were no rules for how to deal with this situation so I house-ruled it that I had to keep going to the parts and dealing with hazards and enemies until I finally rolled the one missing part I needed. This is also the only Micro-Maze Adventure that my character died in the first attempt (I have purchased but not played the newly released #4). I completed the maze in the second attempt. I'm only giving it 4 stars because the game might be a little simplistic if just played on its own, but the game definitely fulfilled my gaming desires as I watched a football game (as opposed to text-based solo games, the Micro-Maze adventures lends itself to being played while doing other things)! I do like the inventiveness of the game. The art in the rulebook is great. I look forward to more Micro-Maze Adventures!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Maze 03: Ruined City Scavenger (Solo Game)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Robert, Thank you very much for your kind review of all of the Micro-Maze games and also pointing out the issue that you ran into with finding the part. I have heard from another gamer that they ran into this same issue. I was able to find them all myself during the play testing prior to release. However, that said, the ability to get the parts is dependent on the random part of the game's play and if the dice just don't fall right then this is a possibility. The collection of various parts randomly scattered about was a new mechanic I was wanting to try with my symbol-maze gaming format (I really need to come up with an official name for that). Since I just finished the 4th release, Tales of the Atomic Bard, I am going to go back into this one and see if I can work out a fix, and then release the update fixes for rpgnow customers to get. In the meanwhile, thank you so much again for the input. As a token of gratitude, please feel free to pick out an item or two that you might want from the Fishwife Games pdf library. Simply message me and I will do what I can to ensure that I send these to you as complimentary copies.
100 Names For Mobsters and Associates
by Anna L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2017 12:45:53

These are some of my favorite products. You grab a couple of charts on a day everyone wants to play and you are not prepared and POOF a story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Names For Mobsters and Associates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exiles Of The Wicked Maze
by Anna L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2017 08:30:59

This game does keep you busy, now I am the first to admit I am not very good at mazes. So I did suffer from rage quit here and there. I particularly didn't like that one damn troll that I ended up having to repeatedly pass which beat the snickers out of me or took all my jewels. But the game will keep you busy and entertained. I played this when my friends were already deep into a game I'm not involved in, and it kept me busy for several hours. (And it was startling for them to hear me rolling dice when they were playing mwhaha!). I have not yet tried the next maze in the series but I hope to soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exiles Of The Wicked Maze
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Fantasy Alleyway Events & Encounters
by Anna L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2017 14:11:39

I used this to whip up a quick encounter for a white wolf game I was running. I had a group of bored players and we didn't have anything planned but everyone wanted to play. I whipped out this and five minutes later my players were happily involved in an encounter that quickly evolved into a storyline they enjoyed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fantasy Alleyway Events & Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the kind review!
Wreckside District: A Post Apocalypse Setting
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2017 11:11:58

Good morning I've had a lot of time to think about one of the biggest problems with post apocalyptic gaming regardless of old school & retroclone system. I've been playing a lot of Gamma World 1st & 2nd edition lately. But I've used a mutated ton of systems from Mutant Future to Mutant Epoch as well as several of my own creations in addition to enhancing them with Boot Hill & AD&D 1st edition style system. So I know a bit about post apocalptyic gaming and it always seems to come down to location. Sure the players have crawled through the ruins of Pitzburke in Gamma World, done with the ruins of California in Mutant Epoch, etc. It really becomes a pain in the ass to keep doing research to some location that they've never heard of for scavenging & ruin creation. The internet has made it that much harder. So the other night I asked my friend Dave Woodrum for Wreckside District: A Post Apocalypse Setting From Fishwife Games So unlike other Fishwife Games in the past this one has a lot of artwork & some really well done professional layout so its easy on the eyes. The gaming potential here for all kinds of havoc at the the table. This is a an urban, post apocalyptic setting that can be used as part loot zone & part city state whole hog & dropped into a campaign. Its system genric & neutral so its a simple matter to drag & drop this right into a campaign even an on going one with a blank spot on the map like I did with my recent Gamma World/Carcosa game.

A City Of Wasted Potential… Aria stood at the edge of the wasted city and peered off towards its most functioning, but violent, part... Wreckside. The crumbling district was given its name years ago for the salvage yard and multiple garages and towing services that sprung up in the area. Now its name is more fitting for the condition of the district and its desperate inhabitants. "So why are we are going back to that place again?" Aria questioned her companion, Darius, as she stared at the dimly glowing lights of the distant buildings, proof that at least some of Wreckside's inhabitants enjoyed the rare treat of functioning electricity. Darius took a swig from a metal flask as he walked away from the acrid smolder of the dying barrel fire. "Supplies. Some special stuff. Electronics and some old notes on building things. I'll know it when I see it." Aria hated it when Darius wouldn't tell her exactly what they were looking for. Still, though, Darius was renowned by the outskirt settlers as a master scavenger and for keeping his mouth shut about what his employers wanted him to recover. The young woman has learned a lot since Darius took her under his wing a year ago, and the scavenger has always managed to keep her alive in the process. "So its another one of those jobs, eh? Typical orders from Garrett, don't let the new kid in on the details...", Aria remarked with an obvious bit of disgust in her voice. "Hey, don't be knocking on Garrett," Darius replied as he checked the contents of his backpack and finished loading rounds into his pistol clip. "The old man is a bit of a creeper, yeah, but he pays well. Plus, we're going to get a pretty big bonus this time if we get back with exactly what he's hoping we'll find." "Big bonus? What he hopes we'll find?" "You'll see. Now follow me... quietly. I've been told there's a safer route into the district."

There are a couple of minor gripes with Wreckside District, the price measures out to about seven dollars and fifty cents for the pdf & I'd love to have seen a print option for these old eyes of mine. But trying to get a print pdf option for Drivethrrpg & Rpgnow is a huge pain in the arse. Artists also cost money & I was surprised at the amount of artwork in this title. Artists cost. Believe me I totally understand why. You've got a ton of NPC's, gangers, adventure locations, and more built into this. This means that this is a drag & drop product for a campaign. The other thing about Fish Wife Games is the fact that they're a company that seems to fade into the background of the OSR & table top hobby. This means that players are not aware of them as a potential resource for some really nasty post apocalyptic material.

Its a good resource for any of the PA games I mentioned & more. This could even be used for as Cyberpunk 2020 adventure location out in the badlands & no go zones. The price is right up there with other pdfs so I would wait for a Drivethrurpg sale and possibly a code. But is it worth your time & efforts? Hmm with the district's map that contains over two hundred numbered locations which are each provided individual descriptions and details. This can be a resource to base an entire campaign around. Now in lots of other reviews I mentioned Domain level play. What the hell is that? Well, when a PC gets to certain level in OD&D such as ninth or higher it was assumed that if they were a fighter they'd build a stronghold, a wizard a tower, a cleric establish a temple or church, etc. This is basically the PC's carving out their own pound of flesh or land in a campaign setting. For some players this is a huge pain in the arse but for old schoolers this was part & parcel of old school campaign settings. This started with OD&D & carried on in B/X with the Companion & Master rules sets. But what does this have to old school DYI Retro Future campaigns such as Gamma World & the Wreckside District? Actually everything. Many old school post apocalyptic games such as Gamma World all the way to Mutant Epoch have factions or Cryptic Alliances or whatever name such groups are under. In a nut shell this is an extension of kill the mutants, take their stuff and then rule their kingdoms! You & your party are looking for food, shelter, safety for you as well as your community by this blaster you rule! So essentially the Wreckside District provides one more filled in space to explore, exploit, & take over or does it? Not so fast kids this is a large area of a loot, and scavenging zone. Here's where the horror just might start. If your forces are spread too thin then you just might crash and burn at the end of a laser shot. So here's ten reasons why Wreckside Disttrict is a perfect product of opportunity for your old school post apocalyptic games:

This is a system neutral product so drag & drop it into your favorite old school or retroclone rpg systems. Exploit and expand the NPC's, adventure hooks, etc. as you the DM see fit. Situate & expand on some of the adventure locations for later post apocalyptic adventures. Deal with the gangs that are in Wreckside in your own adventures to dove tail them back into bringing the PC's into the adventure location. Cut, spin, and multilate the Wreckside District as you need to. You are not going to break this one. Place artifacts and relics from your home campaign where you want them to hook the PC's into the campaign within Wreckside Kill off a few major NPC's to provide adventure opportunities and for expansion of the PC's as possible rulers Use Wreckside as a potential take over point for one of the campaign's major big bads Port over your D&D style adventurers or cowboys for even more weirdness Have your favorite Drive in film classic Atomic age monster threaten The Wreckside District.

Eric From The Sword & Stitchery blog Want to see more OSR support for this and other old school products,systems, and more? Subscribe to http://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wreckside District: A Post Apocalypse Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so very much for the very lengthy, kind, and honest review! It is inspiring to see someone take one of our products like Wreckside and not only use it, but tweak it as needed for their specific campaign needs. I have taken note on your suggestion about the price point and have placed it on a more or less semi-permanent sale price of $5.00. I agree about the print option as well and personally would prefer to see this in print form. I am currently working on bringing in the POD option for future larger Fishwife Games products. I will say though that this one might be a bit difficult to convert over- if I did decide to see if I could turn it into a pod available product- for the reason of the map. Where the map has a bunch of tiny numbered areas I'm afraid that trying to get it to meet margin dimensions may not work as well.... but I'm tempted to see if I can give it a try.
Ships of Plunder
by Nathanael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2017 14:00:59

This PDF, running a hefty 55 pages in length, provides descriptions of more than forty ships, along with their notable crew members and the cargo that they carry. It seems like an excellent supplement for a pirate-themed campaign in which the heroes run into various ships at sea, saving a lot of work for the GM. While it's still necessary to write up stats, this provides a place from which to start, and is perfect for a game such as Pirates of the Spanish Main.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ships of Plunder
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the compliments! Although I did carefully design it to maximize its system and setting potential, the Spanish Main (historically speaking) in itself was the rule of thumb setting that I developed the contents around.
100 Modern Happenings On A City Street
by Paul O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2017 15:13:34

A set of generic and useful street occurrences. Nothing outlandish, nothing I couldn't use.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Modern Happenings On A City Street
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Things To See In The Devastated City
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2015 10:30:32

An excellent list to quickly whip up what the PCs encounter in a wasteland city. Quite a few of these are unique and provide a possible hook into some new scenario. With little modification this works well for a modern, fantasy, or even a space setting on some lawless world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Things To See In The Devastated City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

50 Modern Day People, Set 2
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2015 10:23:53

A good quick list of people giving Name, age, and quick description. samples Otis Bright (41)- Plant manager over a small local plastics factory. Parker Holman (84)- Retired college football coach who is a regular at the local sports bars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
50 Modern Day People, Set 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 172 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates