DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Character Sheet - C&S Essence (Portrait)
by Simon R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2020 06:06:12

Fairly straight forward download process, unclear as to how payment is to be made. I orderd items that in total constitute more than the ' bundle ', in bulk.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Character Sheet - C&S Essence (Portrait)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Payment will have been taken before you could download, even free items.
Chivalry & Sorcery, 5th Edition
by Philip H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2020 05:47:35

First of all, I know two of the authors personally; secondly, I didn’t pay for my copy of this RPG: the three of us were talking on-line about an idea of mine regarding either skirmish wargaming or roleplaying (or both) in medieval England (or Palestine, or both) during the reign of Richard Coeur de Lion or his brother John, and I was wondering what system to use. I was considering Hârnmaster, as it’s gritty, and the magic system is easily ignored if you wish. And they said ‘Why not look at C&S?’

So, here I am, looking.

This review refers only to the PDF version, which I am viewing mainly on a 12.9” iPad Pro, and it is very much a ‘first impression’.

First of all, the file loads very quickly into GoodReader. Secondly, it looks beautiful: this is a well-designed, well typeset and laid out publication. Navigation around the huge (602 page) tome is quick and easy thanks to excellent hyperlinking. It’s easy to get to the table of contents or index too - alternate pages have links to one or the other (as well as to every chapter); I might have preferred hyperlinks to both on every page, but it’s still very quick and easy to use. It’s a good example of how rules presented in PDF ought to be: the added functionality outweighs the ‘it isn’t a book’ feeling you get from rules on a tablet: it would be great for use at the table because looking something up in the index gets you a hyperlink straight to the relevant text - no scrolling required!

The artwork is good but ‘minimal’ and unobtrusive - the book is big enough without loading it with pages and pages of gratuitous pictures. What art there is, is evocative and suits the ‘feel’ of the subject well. The text is clear and easy to read, though the extensive use of ligatures reduces the readability a bit and their appearance ‘jars’ a little - at least for me. The tables are well laid-out and easy to refer to.

My first impression of the rules is that the system is quite ‘old school’ - complex and ‘crunchy’ - there are lots of rules, lots of acronyms, lots of tables. And I’m sure it harks back to the previous four editions - using mechanics, acronyms, etc., which are probably very familiar to aficionados of the earlier editions. For a tyro like me though, it’s pretty daunting at first glance! More to follow as and when I ‘get to grips’ with the nitty-gritty of the system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chivalry & Sorcery, 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chivalry & Sorcery, Essence (d20) Edition
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2017 07:01:57

Chivalry & Sorcery Essence is an elegant, simplified version of the Chivalry & Sorcery game. It has everything you need to run realistic-feeling medieval fantasy at a personal level with a system which is just "crunchy" enough to appeal to me without being overwhelming. I'd love to see this approach expanded to include similarly elegant mass combat and land-holding rules - then it would really feel "complete" as a C&S ruleset.

I bought it in both print and PDF. My only criticism is that some of the art is slightly low resolution in the print version, but given the low price and the quality of the rules themselves, I couldn't bring myself to take a star off for this. Other than in the print version of the character sheet, I don't find it distracting, and I am not going to use the print version of the character sheet anyway (I'll print my own character sheets - who actually photocopies these from rulebooks anymore?).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chivalry & Sorcery, Essence (d20) Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Reaches Map
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2016 12:39:40

A map for the Chivalry & Sorcery RPG.

Quite a lot of sea. Fairly well detailed. Pretty good also, since it's free.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Reaches Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chivalry & Sorcery 4th Edition "The Rebirth"
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2015 12:51:59

My first exposure to Chivalry & Sorcery. Amazing what you get for FREE. I am a fantasy 3.5 DM, got this to explore another type of game. All you need in 3 volumes to start and run a campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chivalry & Sorcery 4th Edition "The Rebirth"
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chivalry & Sorcery 4th Edition "The Rebirth"
by kevin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2015 11:43:36

What a fantastic game, it that good i got rid of my old D&D books. once you have played C&S, there is no going back



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chivalry & Sorcery 4th Edition "The Rebirth"
by Boris G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2015 18:51:49

Book 1 + 2 are OCRed and reformatted. They messed up one Illustration on page 48 in Book 1 but everything else is perfect. Sadly Book 3 is only a scanned image with lot's of handwritten comments but everything is readable. Highly recommended for all who are interested in role playing in a strong medieval milieu and do not fear complex rules. And also good for all people who still play this game and want to save their precious originals from wear and tear.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treachery
by Boris G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2013 16:09:24

This is an interesting adventure set in Marakush for Chivalry & Sorcery. It has also stats for HarnMaster. Also the two missing maps were added recently.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Treachery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Treachery
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2012 13:37:19

The product is a good edition to the Marakush/Anderia campaign for Chivalry & Sorcery, or for any fantasy RPG. The scan is pretty good, but the pdf is missing two maps from the print book (the map of Ynys Heddwch and the map of Caer Drometh, which were printed on the inside front and rear covers of the book respectively). This really limits the utility of the pdf.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Where Heroes Fear To Tread
by matthew o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2012 21:03:44

I enjoyed reading it Steve, thanks. The dragon was fun, perhaps a worshiper of the ancient ones with a name like that. Methinks he could be delving into the works of the mad Arab and scrawling circles to protect from his own summoning’s.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Where Heroes Fear To Tread
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Character Sheet - C&S Essence (Portrait)
by matthew o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2012 20:55:27

Character sheets help very much. Both formats look functional. Some downloadable full game versions would help too. Or those brief skillscape and combat explanations. Thanks again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Sheet - C&S Essence (Portrait)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chivalry and Sorcery Essence - Apocrypha 0
by matthew o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2012 20:42:47

I like all the additions to the first set of rules and think they add much more of the original C&S combat system feel to the essence paradigm. The idea of an on-going journal is something that the game can use also.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chivalry and Sorcery Essence - Apocrypha 0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Character Sheet - C&S Essence (Landscape)
by matthew o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2012 20:39:32

Great. Now can you post a character sheet for the full game too? How about all the free downloads from the britannia site they were useful. Good one. Thanks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Sheet - C&S Essence (Landscape)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Reaches Map
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2012 11:52:19

It's a map. Production values are high, as always, but it's basically just a map. You can use it as the basis for your campaign, or you can mine it for ideas to include in your own campaign world maps. The price was good, though (free), so I chose to pull it down hunting for ideas for my own fantasy world. You can't really go wrong with free, though, so I encourage you to give it a whirl.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Reaches Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Where Heroes Fear To Tread
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/05/2011 19:27:56

Where Heroes Fear To Tread is not a new release, but it is new to RPGNow. Its a short (and free) scenario for Chivalry & Sorcery Light, but as the game stats are all relegated to the back of the module, it can be treated as systemless and therefore usable with just about any system.

Were the GM to use this adventure in his own setting, he might have to make a few changes in the background of the adventure, as the default is (of course) flavored by Chivalry & Sorcery. Peasants aren't D&D peasants - they are dirt poor.

It's a basic delivery mission / ransoming of some NPCs, but the tweaks and surprises keep it fresh. My main issue is that a main scene has very little for the PCs to do, but that might be more a C&S issue then anything else. It's easy enough to change.

Did I mention its free?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Where Heroes Fear To Tread
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates