DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Night Blade: A Free 5e Fantastic Adventure
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2020 14:26:57

For the past few days I have soloed my way through THE NIGHT BLADE a (four hour) Free 5E Adventure, available on DriveThruRPG). It is designed for a dungeon master and several players. I used The Dungeon Oracle to solo through it. It was designed for third level characters, but I made it tougher so that my six characters (average level of five) could play it. The most interesting discovery (because of the Oracle) was a drug laboratory. They had somehow managed to produce an addictive drug and their drugged-up test subject was chained up down there. Of course we took all of the drugs on the way out. You never know, they could come in handy some time. Great fun. Give this a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Night Blade: A Free 5e Fantastic Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Stanisław M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 18:55:20

This book changed my life. I always use to overprepare my sessions anticipating my player's moves and imagining possible scenarios. This has made my games more like movies than an RPG. Thanks to this book I can now prepare an entire evening in less than an hour. Then I can spend the rest of my time being creative and making props and cool stuff for the table. Thank you Sly for this amazing book. Just get it... It's money well spent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
by Mark Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2020 13:56:01

As an aspiring DM, I found this adventure to hit on all three pillars of D&D (Exploration, Role Play, Combat). The book is broken down in easily consumable parts, the maps are straightforward, and the scenery is a fresh take that avoids 'traditional' Underdark entities.

I am running for two players (and they each use a side-kick) and so far they seem to really enjoy the adventures. Using gTove (https://illuminantgames.com/gtove) as my mapping tool and Discord for chat/talk has worked very well. The included maps import into gTove easily and character portraits and art of scenes are bonus additions.

I look forward to using the Appendices to enhance the adventures after the core stories are completed.

Having used other tools from this author, I would like to point out the high quality and thought that seems to go into Sly's creations. I have the hardback, pdf, map files, etc...and I am very pleased with the overall quality of this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot Art Book and Map Pack
by Heart o. t. G. V. H. C. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2020 18:42:06

Another awesome and inspiring product from Slyflourish. A great addition to anyone running Ruins of Grendleroot and the artwork is just fantasitc. Really really well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot Art Book and Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
by Joshua V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2020 20:54:56

Bought the PDF version. This book is amazing. I wanted to do an Underdark campaign for the longest time and I just slotted everything from this book into it. (Running it on Roll20 and looking for players if anyone is interested!)

Definitely a great purchase for any DM. Chock full of ideas and creative adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2020 06:01:23

Its a good read and I cartainly use this without too much effort. I recommend the art pack as the images are very evocative and will help you build the narrative.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
by Matthias E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2020 09:24:46

Hi everyone,

I participated in the Kickstarter and also in the playtesting, so I already know something about the setting and played through some of the adventures. The setting is really fantastic with a lot of sense of wonder and it also fits easily into existing campaign worlds. My group of players had a lot of fun with those adventures and I can fully recommend this product.

Have fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by William H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2019 15:17:56

This is an amazing book - there were two absolutely solid 'I never thought of that before' revelations for me. I would recommend it for any DM from starters to ancients; even if you don't need to prep in a rush it is great to have highlighted what are the key points that must be covered.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Rudy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2019 01:58:27

WARNING: Do NOT buy this product if you enjoy spending long arduous hours writing up campaign materials that your players will inevitably destroy when they go full murder hobo or deviate from your planning.

Ok, jokes aside this is a great product and definitely a must-own for Dungeon Masters/GMs alike, even if you're not playing "The 5th Edition of the World's Greatest RPG". This product has advice for whatever game you're playing, even if it is My Little Ponies RPG (I'm not even joking, this product works with just about any RPG). I was able to run an entire old school D&D campaign (Rules Cyclopedia!) that lasted almost 18 months because of the superb advice given in RotLDM. The author really does a great job of distilling game prep down to just the bare minimum yet still allows for maximum fun, because let's be honest, fun is what we're looking for when we all meet around the (virtual) table each and every week. Other reviews here delve more into the content of the book so I'll spare you those details, but suffice it to say that the author implements some pretty creative solutions and game prep ideas that allow you to really optimize your time. The only downside (and it's not much of a downside) is that you also will want the RotLDM Workbook as well in order to keep things better organized. It's not at all a requirement, and in fact a few blank index cards is more than sufficient, however the workbook is definitely a nice-to-have.

So the big question: "Does Return of the Lazy DM actually work?" Let me put it to you this way: I was spending about 4+ hours carefully planning/crafting each gaming session, but after I got RotLDM I was able to shorten my game prep time to just 30 mins. You might be inclined to think that surely a game planned over 4 hours must be better than one hammered out in just 30 mins, but that couldn't be further away from the truth. All the advice given to us DMs (especially if you've read the awesome 1st Edition AD&D Dungeon Master's Guide) typically goes something like this: "Start with broad strokes and fill in the little details, more detail and thought is better." While that school of thought can certainly lead to some memorable campaigns (Gary Gygax had no issues running games like that), the modern person just doesn't have that much time to commit for game preparation, and being able to prepare a super fun and fleshed out game in just 30 mins is nothing short of a miracle. Seriously, I can't sing enough praises for RotLDM.

Are you still reading my review? Okay, I'll take this opportunity to list some of the other resources I use as well in order to run some super awesome and memorable games. Seriously though, RotLDM is worth every penny, and at just $8 USD it's practically a steal. Sacrifice a cup or two of Starbucks coffee if you must, but for sure buy this product! Disclaimer: I am not at all affiliated with the publisher and receive no compensation whatsoever from my review, I'm just a normal guy that really enjoys RotLDM and the fun times I have with my players.

What I use to run amazingly awesome games:

  • Return of the Lazy DM (obviously!)
  • Campaign Fronts as explained in Dungeon World (this handles my long term campaign planning)
  • 5 Room Dungeons (great resource for creating interesting dungeons/adventure sites)
  • Mythic GM Emulator (I make the occasional Fate Roll which leads to surprises & twists even for me)


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Mike C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2019 15:50:04

There are three books that are essential to becoming the GM you want to become, and this is the most important one. 100 pages and so damn clear and concise that you'll weep with joy. If you know all of this, it's concise and well-organized enough to be a refresher on any point you want to strengthen without wasting your time. And when you're learning new tricks (and damn, I learned a lot) the material has guides and examples to get you on your way.

Buy this first. Read it. (Don't just put in on the pile.) Seriously, if you're going to run a pre-generated adventure, this is probably your highest value prep time. Read the first 30 pages of this before you read the adventure you bought and you'll get more out of the adventure. Skim it again after a month so you can put into practice a little more.

Not affiliated with anyone, just a GM that likes happy and terrified players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2019 10:10:55

This book should be the cornerstone of any Game Master's collection, I don't think I've run games better than the ones I only need to spend 30 minutes prepping. Do yourself a favor and buy it NOW.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Dave P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2019 13:35:39

This book has a lot of useful advice, but it's also espousing a philosophy that I think is poisonous to the game, and that's an attitude that prioritizes heroic fiction over player agency. From Chapter 24:

Tweaking combat is one way to change a beat from fear to hope, or vice versa. You can do so by adding monsters to make the fight harder, or removing monsters to make it easier. If the characters have been having an easy time of it, they might walk into a room full of armored ogres training and sparring. If they’ve been having a hard go of it, maybe they stumble across a lone ogre, face down and asleep in her plate of raw meat.

This is the sort of thing that saps player agency and devalues player skill. If they've been having an easy time of it, it's because they've been using lateral thinking and clever tactics to efficiently defeat obstacles. Why would you punish that by throwing extra obstacles at them? If they've been having a hard time of it because they tried to Leroy Jenkins their way through the dungeon, why would you reward that behavior by smoothing the path for them?

In fiction the hero always barely wins the last battle, bloodied and exhausted and depleted, because that's all scripted and the author is the only one with agency. Trying to recreate that in a role-playing game sacrifices all the strengths and freedom of RPGs to turn them into a mediocre imitation of a book or movie.

There are a lot of good suggestions here-- I'd encourage anyone to read chapters 8, 15, 21, and 22. Just tear chapter 24 out of your copy of the book entirely and forget it ever existed, and the remaining chapters comprise a 4-star resource.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2019 15:23:02

If I ran a school on gaming this would be textbook I would hand students on Day 1!

An essential purchase for a new or experienced DM or GM as the ideas within it are system agnostic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 18:21:14

I recently ran an adventure from this book for a weekly drop in group, and I have to say it was extremely well received. The locations and encounters flowed seamlessly and everyone at the table (myself included!) had an amazing time. I think I may have even earned some return players out of it! True to brand there is minimal prep required, yet the structure allows for as much depth and complexity as you want. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lazy DM's Workbook
by Megan I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2019 21:41:30

Really useful supplement book for DMing. It's full of practical info that's great to have during a game, like combat information, DCs - all those fiddly bits of info that are scattered throughout the big rulebooks. Plus there's a ton of random tables that really speed up the game when a player does something unexpected. And the lairs! Honestly, if you don't have this book on-hand every time you DM, you're making life harder for yourself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy DM's Workbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates