DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Spire of Violet Falls (Astral VTT)
by Josh L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2022 08:44:20

I will revise this, but at this time I do not understand how to 'download' this into Astral VTT. Because of this it is unusable.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Spire of Violet Falls (Astral VTT)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Michael V. K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2022 13:51:57

Should be titled Return of the New Dungeon Master, although granted that wouldn't make much sense. Before you read further I must admit that after about 50 pages of reading my brain started shutting down and I started skimming the rest of the book.

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master is a verbose book that details what every DM who has at least 1 years worth of experience knows to do and is most likely already doing.

Start your game night "In medias res!" like all good GM's should. Game night needs to start the blood pumping, players don't belly up to the table to be put to sleep, get their attention at the onset and they are hooked all night! This is advice that is 40 years old and anyone who has read a single RPG forum more than once has probably been told this ad nauseam.

Review your characters! Of course, you should do this as a GM before session zero even begins. Ask your players for any hooks you can tie into your campaigns, look for any possible campaign problems "Hey friends this is more of a strong intrigue campaign so the 7 intelligence barbarian may not fit." Fairly obvious and known information.

Outline potential scenes, sure because that should be your goal as a GM, without scenes are your players just going to look at you, while you look at them, like some high noon duel in the wild west waiting for someone to flinch? Of course not! You need something for the players to do/want.

I commend the good basic advise but basic common sense advise doesn't help you be a lazy dungeon master, it helps you do whatever you have been doing all along.

I applaud the writer for pulling together all the new GM advice into one place but lets call a spade a spade, this isn't going to do a damn thing for the DM on time constrained schedule, this is going to help the brand new DM who has never bellied up to the table before.

I'll save you beleagured, over worked, time starved GM's $10. If you want to be a lazy gm heres how you do it: Pick a final bad guy and decide what the heck they want to accomplish. Figure out what said bad guy needs to accomplish these goals. "The evil lich wants to build a nether gate!" Fine he needs metals, forced labor, a location, and some generals to enforce his will while he is "Busy doing his evil mustache twirls in the mirror" Write some loose encounters around this. Goblin raids on mining town to take it over. Undead attacking towns to kidnap people. Rumors of a famous blacksmith who mysteriously disappeared could start the whole campaign. Create 5 generic villages, just a map, 5 unique locations in the town, each with a unique NPC. Create 10 generic but unique taverns. Create 5 generic but unique smith shops. Create 3 generic but unique apothecaries/temples/places of healing. Do all that and you are ready for just about anything the PC's throw your way for the next 8-12 months.

Oh, and I just saved you $10.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Joaquin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2022 09:52:05

I'm not sure what else to add to this review that others haven't said as well. It is a wonderfuly useful book. I always reccomend it to new DMs and it never hurts to re-read every once in a while when I get too caught up on my own DM shortcomings. A+, great book for everyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Cory S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2022 08:20:34

I had DM'd a couple of times for fourth and fifth edition D&D, but was always turned away from continuing or starting new games by session anxiety. This tome gives a real, actionable and succinct check list that allows me to quell that anxiety. And for that it gets a 5/5 from me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
by Tim J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2022 04:31:09

I can wholeheartedly recommend that book. I ran single adventures as drop-ins for larger campaigns as well as several ones in a row as a small story on their own and they were really fun to play and dm. Deepdelvers Enclave is such a nice hub for an underground area. I love it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lazy Dungeon Master
by William C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2022 12:52:11

A great way to add a little variety into a cmapaign! Great resource!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lazy DM's Companion
by William C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2022 12:51:21

This product has been a fun read, and a useful tool for last minute game prep.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy DM's Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantastic Lairs: 23 Boss Battles for your 5e RPG
by Frank M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2022 09:44:27

If it's Sly Flourish, you know that it's well written and has been tested thoroughly. Mike produces fantastic content and he's one of a few publishers whose work I often buy in print as well as electronically.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Lairs: 23 Boss Battles for your 5e RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
by Frank M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2022 09:31:29

I have said it before and I will say it again, it's very hard to surpass Sly Flourish for great 5E content. Mike Shea has captured the essence of what gaming should be -- light, easy, and fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lazy Dungeon Master
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2022 19:33:41

A compilation of advice and tools for running D&D games with minimal preparation. The author does a good job drawing not just on their own experience, but also that of other notable DMs - there's even a whole Q&A section in the back featuring some of those DMs. Not everything in here will be useful for every DM, but the book is still worth reading in full. One note: this was written near the end of D&D 4th Edition, and some of the advice has that edition in mind - so those bits may be less useful for 5th Edition DMs. (Originally posted on Goodreads)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lazy DM's Companion
by Richard G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2022 14:43:26

This book is extremely useful and fun to use to design adventures- It helps spur interesting and creative ideas. Bravo Mike!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy DM's Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lazy DM's Companion
by Christine C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2022 00:02:32

This book has been so helpful in prepping my games! I've used it to make NPC ship captains, describe rooms in dungeons, and it has added so much depth with minimal prep time for my games. If you look at the product's description it lists all the various tables that are in the book you can use. The sample pages are super helpful as well if you want to evaluate this book before buying it.

One of the tables that has been the most helpful for me is the Stress table, as my players wanted an alternative mechanic to madness that has some mechanical and narrative impact to our games. This book packs such a punch and is so inexpensive- check out the samples and get it if you can!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy DM's Companion
by Rion W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2022 14:29:03

Another great supplement from Sly Flourish. I especially enjoy the advice on encounter building. Using the quick and easy calculation here, you can have a pretty good idea how an encounter will go. More maps are always helpful to any DM too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy DM's Companion
by Nicholas Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2022 21:46:50

Sly Flourish's lazy DM techniques help me refine my game prep and focus on what really matters most to my group. This latest entry from the Sly Flourish media empire — The Lazy DM's Companion — is a verifiable bag of holding of useful tools, tips, and tables to get your brain juices flowing for the betterment of your table. This book is an anthology of strategies to play with for you to find what works best for YOU in prepping your fantasy TTRPG of choice. Take to it with your trusty pen, highlighter, and sticky notes as you bookmark the tools you'll most use. Print out and add tables to your DM screen or campaign bible. To be the best kind of lazy is to be as efficent as possible so that mimimum effort is wasted. For such a cheap price, it's a must-have for any DM wanting to up their game in the most efficient way possible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy DM's Companion
by Steven H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2022 00:19:59

This was the first Kickstarter I ever backed, and it's because I believe in the Way of the Lazy DM!

I got Return of the Lazy DM last year, and it changed the way I prepped my games. The Lazy DM's Workbook has been a greatly valued tool I use when I run my games. With the Lazy DM's Companion, the trilogy is complete!

The Lazy DM's Companion is, well, a companion book to Return of the Lazy DM. It's designed to fire your creativity when prepping for your games. The vast number of rollable tables guarantee that you'll either find something you like directly from the table, or it'll help inspire you to come up with something of your own. The included maps are also a big help.

Highly recommend The Lazy DM's Companion. It will make your life as a game master so much easier!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 118 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates