DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Instruments of the Chrysanthemum Throne
by Geno F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2021 19:56:45

This is a really fun game. Set in a mythic Japan, you play a band of desperados gathered together to overcome a series of supernatural threats that have you traveling to locations around the kingdom. To help in your quest you have been loaned The Instruments, ancient named items that have a will and a purpose of their own. We played this game as a break from the super crunchy Warhammer Fantasy RPG, and that may have made the contrast more obvious but it definitely delivered, easy to understand, all the player rules are on the character sheet and print out cards, though it does need a GM. The rule mechanics have you guessing what the dice will roll and trying to influence the roll with your Instrument. The setting is very atmospheric, with Japanese folklore monsters that help immerse you in the story and some beautiful and evocative art work. Try this if you have any interest in old Japan, magical items, supernatural beasts and the tension between pushing your luck and staying safe, highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Instruments of the Chrysanthemum Throne
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Instruments of the Chrysanthemum Throne
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2021 00:44:27

Another excellent product from Imaginary Empire Games. The setting of mythic Japan combined with the innovative dice mechanic make it a treat to play. It's particularly good over mutiple plays.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Soaring Lions
by Geno F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2021 04:52:21

This is a great wrestling game, it's great fun with the characters, you jump in and get the excitement of over the top bouts, and it's low prep, your character sheet has the rules so you can print it out and play, no hassles. Over lockdowns we've played it online and because of the turn sequence it's been a dream, highly recommended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Soaring Lions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Soaring Lions: No Mercy
by Igor D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2021 05:27:30

[grabs microphone] We had a great time playing this, I broke out laughing a few times listening to the ridiculous stories of the wrestlers. People really go wild with ideas, and since its constrained to wrestling, it somehow makes it easier to come up with interesting plots and twists.

Highly recommended for those evenings when you want a one-shot game and some levity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Soaring Lions: No Mercy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Sundown
by Andrey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2021 03:40:13

An interesting scenario that gives a feel of a western movie. Keepers beware, this scenario leans much more into Pulp elements than it seems to into Classic'thulu. Another thing, it seems like the author intended it to be run with large groups, which can be rough if you run with smaller groups as the characters are all interconnected in their backgrounds.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sundown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Death of Legends
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2020 14:07:34

"Death of Legends" is presented as a "dark-fantasy RpG" but it is in my opinion more a tabletop game (because of the map and of the military campaign it involves) with some roleplaying elements. The Free Territories are surrounded by the Badlands ruled by the absolute impersonification of evil, the "Enemy". You interprete up to 6 archetypal heroes who played a major role in the latest war against evil, but once again, the Enemy unleashes his hosts of monstruosities and you have to defend your territories. Though you can cooperate with the other players, the fight will be unbalanced as the Enemy still recruit new armies and the conquered territories add to his power. In the fourth year, you learn that a potent magic item can be retrieved in a remote and perilous place, that shall be the quintessential bane against the Enemy. Who shall take on the Quest and wield this final weapon instead being present on the battlefield ? A very interesting period of negociations, quite "tolkienesque", shall arise between the players; and it is all the more intense since one of the players can be a traitor ! (they're given secret cards at the beginning so that they have different roles and powers). So it's a very original game, that you can use as a story arc for your own RpG if you gamemaster a campaign as epic as "the Lord of the Lords"

(thanks to the generosity of the authors, the game is free but they recommend to spend some money to the UNICEF; given the ongoing pandemics, I had already decided to register as a test patient for medicine students).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Death of Legends
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fragment
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2019 12:24:50

This may be the best free RPG I have ever played. It is a strongly narrative game (with NO tactics) and extremely limited player prerogative. This game is not for everyone. If D&D or Pathfinder or the like are your favorite games, don't bother.

However, if you enjoy narrative games, the choices you do have are meaningful. In addition, I love the idea of spending only 2 minutes to create a character that recalls memories (to be used a rerolls or bonuses) with each segment of the mission.

I am currently playing this by forum. It works great by forum when characters do not join up together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragment
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Death of Legends
by Carl A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2017 23:21:19

This is more for actually tabeltop play than online. The cards in the last few pages of the pdf kind of suggests that to me, but it seems more for laying with kids' creativitiy. The rules are real simple to understand, which for me it's good, and setting up a legend in this case is easy to do. But this is probably also slated for one shots than for a long period of time.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Death of Legends
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Candidate
by Eugene M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2016 03:22:38

I have been playing this with my family, including kids, who are 7 and 8yrs old. It's been topical because we've just had the school elections, which incidentally eaned a bonus by raising the issues of lying to get into power and keeping promises once you're in, which might sound heavy but weren't with a lot of gonzo play and tall tales and trash talk.

The mechanics were really simple and easy to grasp, you're guided by the cut outs and there are only 2 rounds, so no problems with attention

I love the game, it's fast and fun and easy to pick up and, given it's free, my 1st action as prime minister will be to make this available in every household, stand behind me and we will march into that bright future!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Candidate
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Candidate
by Mark E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2016 17:12:41

Short assessment: Outstanding

Basis of review: played twice, once with three, once with four players, none of whom had roleplaying game experience or special interest in politics

Results: All players immediately grasped and happily followed the simple and clear rules and procedures. Each play of the game produced hilarious and impressively realistic dark secrets, responses to allegations, emptily platitudinous slogans and promises, cheap attacks on opponents, and polling and election results based on personal and emotional factors irrelevant to policy. The anti-immigration candidate who was exposed as an immigrant flamed out, but the animal rights vegan survived accusations of eating real chicken instead of tofu burgers and nobody learned until after she'd been elected that she secretly owned a slaughterhouse.

Specific assessment: The one page of rules and procedures may initially look simple and obvious, but this is deceptive. Features such as the Dark Secret and the assumption that all allegations by the press were true, along with the incentives created by other candidates' players acting as the reporters at press conferences and moderators at debates, yielded impressive, dare I say, "yuge" results.

Conclusion: Unlike many candidates who promise lots of great stuff for free, this game delivers. I want to praise it "bigly" for making roleplaying great again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Candidate
by Igor D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2016 20:50:57

I'm looking forward to trying this. Looks like a super quick way to get into the thick of politics. I'm watching House of Cards right now and this could be fast RPG equivalent, but I'd like to see more to do with the dark secret. This game is likely to be as good as the players imaginations :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Death of Legends
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 14:40:14

Essentually this is a pick a path adventure for several players at once. (up to six playing pregenerated characters plus GM). And like a good solo adventure, there are several ways to go through it. You can go through it several times, just trading characters and making different choices.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death of Legends
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Wicked Lies & Alibis
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/24/2015 23:43:09

SIX POINT SUMMARY

  • The game is designed so that The Great Detective is always right, as suits the source material...there's an optional rule that provides Verdict cards to the suspects, which can lead to the detective being wrong.

  • Tons of background information on evoking the art deco era.

  • The game is definitely more about the journey and not the destination, from a game standpoint, as there is no real winner, though there is a pretty clear loser (unless you use the Verdict cards and the killer gets off scott free).

  • Reference sheets are included for each of the nine case set-ups, to help you keep track of the background details.

  • Though a lot of information is provided for playing in the art deco era, it wouldn't take much work to update the setting to something more contemporary, if that suited your tastes (and I know from the contest entries I have received, that it does suit many of your tastes).

  • The PDF includes all of the cars from the game, if you want to print them out instead of buying the card deck.

Wicked Lies & Alibis seems like a great party game for amateur actors, or for anyone who likes their story games with a stronger emphasis on "story". I think my group will enjoy it, given how much they liked Fiasco (though this doesn't have quite the same humor emphasis), and my gut says it could be a great convention game (moreso than EPOCH, which relies a bit more on mood setting).

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2015/04/tommys-take-on-wicked-lies-alibis.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wicked Lies & Alibis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
EPOCH: War Stories
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/20/2014 12:05:51

WHAT WORKS: Five scenarios that shake up EPOCH even further from the standard, and even manages to avoid retreading the same ground, with Mass Destruction especially breaking from the military motif while still invoking war. While most of the conflicts selected were not surprising, placing a scenario in the Congo was a nice touch. The flexibility written into Home Front is also nice.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: World War II obviously couldn't be ignored, but a Vietnam or Korea scenario would have been welcome over a second WWII scenario (though the two are sufficiently different, at least). The editing, once more, could have used some help.

CONCLUSION: I like Frontier of Fear more, as I'm not big on the military in my games, but I would be willing to run the last two scenarios without twisting my arm. Some fine work in showing the versatility of the game, and hopefully Imaginary Empire has more tricks up their sleeve with this game.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/06/tommys-take-on-epoch-war-stories.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EPOCH: War Stories
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
EPOCH: Frontier of Fear
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/17/2014 06:45:59

WHAT WORKS: There are some scary scenes, for sure...and the book does a great job of demonstrating the scope of the game beyond that of the core. Two or more of these could easily be linked together, sometimes with the same characters and sometimes just thematically, as the sci-fi elements gradually build from one scenario to the next. The forethought in some of the scenarios (like customizing Space Station Icarus) really seems like it would boost the buy-in.

WHAT WORKS: The editing could have been tighter in some places, unless I REALLY need to brush up on my British English vs American English spellings (which I may, but Artefact and Vengence don't look correct to me, and one scenario lists the year twice...ten years apart).

CONCLUSION: I really like Quintessence and Hard Time, but any of the scenarios are worthy of playing through. I'm still intending to get this game to my table soon, especially since we played Fiasco, which has a similar (but certainly not identical) set-up and feel and that went over great. May even use Quintessence or Hard Time when I do. Excellent job establishing that there are scary things in space.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/06/tommys-take-on-epoch-frontier-of-fear.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EPOCH: Frontier of Fear
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates