DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Fragment
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2019 12:24:50

This may be the best free RPG I have ever played. It is a strongly narrative game (with NO tactics) and extremely limited player prerogative. This game is not for everyone. If D&D or Pathfinder or the like are your favorite games, don't bother.

However, if you enjoy narrative games, the choices you do have are meaningful. In addition, I love the idea of spending only 2 minutes to create a character that recalls memories (to be used a rerolls or bonuses) with each segment of the mission.

I am currently playing this by forum. It works great by forum when characters do not join up together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragment
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Death of Legends
by Carl A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2017 23:21:19

This is more for actually tabeltop play than online. The cards in the last few pages of the pdf kind of suggests that to me, but it seems more for laying with kids' creativitiy. The rules are real simple to understand, which for me it's good, and setting up a legend in this case is easy to do. But this is probably also slated for one shots than for a long period of time.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Death of Legends
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Candidate
by Eugene M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2016 03:22:38

I have been playing this with my family, including kids, who are 7 and 8yrs old. It's been topical because we've just had the school elections, which incidentally eaned a bonus by raising the issues of lying to get into power and keeping promises once you're in, which might sound heavy but weren't with a lot of gonzo play and tall tales and trash talk.

The mechanics were really simple and easy to grasp, you're guided by the cut outs and there are only 2 rounds, so no problems with attention

I love the game, it's fast and fun and easy to pick up and, given it's free, my 1st action as prime minister will be to make this available in every household, stand behind me and we will march into that bright future!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Candidate
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Candidate
by Mark E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2016 17:12:41

Short assessment: Outstanding

Basis of review: played twice, once with three, once with four players, none of whom had roleplaying game experience or special interest in politics

Results: All players immediately grasped and happily followed the simple and clear rules and procedures. Each play of the game produced hilarious and impressively realistic dark secrets, responses to allegations, emptily platitudinous slogans and promises, cheap attacks on opponents, and polling and election results based on personal and emotional factors irrelevant to policy. The anti-immigration candidate who was exposed as an immigrant flamed out, but the animal rights vegan survived accusations of eating real chicken instead of tofu burgers and nobody learned until after she'd been elected that she secretly owned a slaughterhouse.

Specific assessment: The one page of rules and procedures may initially look simple and obvious, but this is deceptive. Features such as the Dark Secret and the assumption that all allegations by the press were true, along with the incentives created by other candidates' players acting as the reporters at press conferences and moderators at debates, yielded impressive, dare I say, "yuge" results.

Conclusion: Unlike many candidates who promise lots of great stuff for free, this game delivers. I want to praise it "bigly" for making roleplaying great again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Candidate
by Igor D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2016 20:50:57

I'm looking forward to trying this. Looks like a super quick way to get into the thick of politics. I'm watching House of Cards right now and this could be fast RPG equivalent, but I'd like to see more to do with the dark secret. This game is likely to be as good as the players imaginations :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death of Legends
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 14:40:14

Essentually this is a pick a path adventure for several players at once. (up to six playing pregenerated characters plus GM). And like a good solo adventure, there are several ways to go through it. You can go through it several times, just trading characters and making different choices.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death of Legends
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wicked Lies & Alibis
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/24/2015 23:43:09

SIX POINT SUMMARY

  • The game is designed so that The Great Detective is always right, as suits the source material...there's an optional rule that provides Verdict cards to the suspects, which can lead to the detective being wrong.

  • Tons of background information on evoking the art deco era.

  • The game is definitely more about the journey and not the destination, from a game standpoint, as there is no real winner, though there is a pretty clear loser (unless you use the Verdict cards and the killer gets off scott free).

  • Reference sheets are included for each of the nine case set-ups, to help you keep track of the background details.

  • Though a lot of information is provided for playing in the art deco era, it wouldn't take much work to update the setting to something more contemporary, if that suited your tastes (and I know from the contest entries I have received, that it does suit many of your tastes).

  • The PDF includes all of the cars from the game, if you want to print them out instead of buying the card deck.

Wicked Lies & Alibis seems like a great party game for amateur actors, or for anyone who likes their story games with a stronger emphasis on "story". I think my group will enjoy it, given how much they liked Fiasco (though this doesn't have quite the same humor emphasis), and my gut says it could be a great convention game (moreso than EPOCH, which relies a bit more on mood setting).

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2015/04/tommys-take-on-wicked-lies-alibis.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wicked Lies & Alibis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPOCH: War Stories
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/20/2014 12:05:51

WHAT WORKS: Five scenarios that shake up EPOCH even further from the standard, and even manages to avoid retreading the same ground, with Mass Destruction especially breaking from the military motif while still invoking war. While most of the conflicts selected were not surprising, placing a scenario in the Congo was a nice touch. The flexibility written into Home Front is also nice.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: World War II obviously couldn't be ignored, but a Vietnam or Korea scenario would have been welcome over a second WWII scenario (though the two are sufficiently different, at least). The editing, once more, could have used some help.

CONCLUSION: I like Frontier of Fear more, as I'm not big on the military in my games, but I would be willing to run the last two scenarios without twisting my arm. Some fine work in showing the versatility of the game, and hopefully Imaginary Empire has more tricks up their sleeve with this game.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/06/tommys-take-on-epoch-war-stories.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EPOCH: War Stories
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPOCH: Frontier of Fear
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/17/2014 06:45:59

WHAT WORKS: There are some scary scenes, for sure...and the book does a great job of demonstrating the scope of the game beyond that of the core. Two or more of these could easily be linked together, sometimes with the same characters and sometimes just thematically, as the sci-fi elements gradually build from one scenario to the next. The forethought in some of the scenarios (like customizing Space Station Icarus) really seems like it would boost the buy-in.

WHAT WORKS: The editing could have been tighter in some places, unless I REALLY need to brush up on my British English vs American English spellings (which I may, but Artefact and Vengence don't look correct to me, and one scenario lists the year twice...ten years apart).

CONCLUSION: I really like Quintessence and Hard Time, but any of the scenarios are worthy of playing through. I'm still intending to get this game to my table soon, especially since we played Fiasco, which has a similar (but certainly not identical) set-up and feel and that went over great. May even use Quintessence or Hard Time when I do. Excellent job establishing that there are scary things in space.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/06/tommys-take-on-epoch-frontier-of-fear.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EPOCH: Frontier of Fear
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPOCH: War Stories
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2014 09:52:28

The following review was originally published at Roleplayers Chronicle and can be read in its entirety at http://roleplayerschronicle.com/?p=41662.

War Stories is a collection of EPOCH tales of horror placed during war times in the modern age including World War I, World War II, War on Iraq, and guerrilla warfare in the Congo. Much like the sci-fi collection in Frontier of Fear, War Stories breaks away from the basic cinematic feel of EPOCH while retaining that character-driven survival horror appeal. There are a total of five scenarios, with two placed in World War II, all written by different authors. That means you get a good variance between scenarios as each author brings out his own version of an EPOCH scenario. New cards are included in the PDF version (or available in POD) to coincide with each scenario. Additionally, each adventure follows the standard format found in every EPOCH scenario, lending to ease of reading and playing from the GM’s point of view.

Part of the horror backdrop in War Stories is the background itself: the horrors of war. Although many of us are immune to the cinematic aspects of war, few of us have experienced it to the point where we understand what that truly means (I for one have never experienced it). With that in mind, it’s difficult for many to picture a horror environment simply due to the war going on around the characters. Four out of the five scenarios add much more to the horror aspects of their respective scenarios (one doesn’t and I feel it suffers for that) creating the survival horror environment of EPOCH. When I think of EPOCH, I think of those four scenarios and really like the resulting storyline. There are many added aspects of “what’s around the corner” that can create that creepiness many desire within a horror RPG. Without those additional aspects of horror, as in more than just the war, I think many gamers would have a hard time feeling suspense due to the numbness from movies and television. Those four scenarios attempt to overcome that numbness, and do an excellent job doing it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EPOCH: War Stories
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPOCH: Frontier of Fear
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2014 09:19:58

The following review was originally posted at Roleplayers Chronicle and can be read in its entirety at http://roleplayerschronicle.com/?p=41058.

Frontier of Fear is a collection of sci-fi horror scenarios for EPOCH. Although these, and probably all, scenarios for EPOCH are designed to be one-shot, they can ultimately be linked together as they revolve around the same basic background structure – the not-too-distant future where humans have started exploring other areas of our solar system and corporations have funded expeditions throughout for various purposes. The four scenarios are Red Gold, Space Station Icarus, Quintessence, and Hard Time. Each one is set within the aforementioned backdrop and all take place away from Earth. Although they are set within the same basic setting, they are not actually linked, although the GM could link them if desired. Frontier of Fear is also accompanied by a new set of cards that correspond to the scenarios.

EPOCH is an interesting game to define. The ‘CH’ within its name pretty much says it all: Cinematic Horror. However, do not confuse some forms of cinematic horror with what EPOCH recreates. Whereas cinematic horror may refer to a horror RPG that has qualities akin to a ‘slasher flick’, in EPOCH, you are actually creating a horror movie. Each player assumes the role of an on-screen character, fighting to avoid being the tragic zero that dies for no good reason. For a heroic death is good in a horror movie, as is survival, but a tragic death which doesn’t help the other characters survive leaves you wondering what that character was for. This is the ultimate struggle of a good EPOCH game: to create a memorable character that doesn’t necessarily have to survive.

With this in mind, Frontier of Fear creates the environment to produce four sci-fi horror movies through role-playing. The way these scenarios are presented is incredibly simple, straight-forward, and easily understood. It’s almost like watching a movie unfold, filling in the blanks as you go along. If I can get this effect from reading through it, imagine how awesome that experience could be when you slot yourself into those blanks with a character you created.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EPOCH: Frontier of Fear
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Epoch
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/07/2014 18:41:39

WHAT WORKS: EPOCH boasts a very interesting mechanic, akin to many semicooperative board games. You are trying to survive, yeah (and someone is probably going to die), but it's all for naught if you fail to rack up enough points to beat the Horror Track. The freeform roleplaying is more likely to appeal to non-gamers or casual gamers. There is a great amount of support available for the game, and the price point for the book is low, making the purchase of the card deck not seem like such a big extra expense.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: Your average roleplayer may be thrown by the game lacking even a trait system, much less stats or ability scores. In some groups, a dominant personality could overrun the game, and the Hero/Zero mechanic could breed some resentment with the wrong players, especially if they feel picked on for not getting enough votes, or being targeted with Zero cards.

CONCLUSION: Definitely not the normal fare for RPGs, EPOCH is a very different take on horror roleplaying, putting the onus very much on the Player-As-Character. That said, the Outcome and Hero/Zero mechanics ensure that the game never comes down to "I win, because I said I do". With the right group who doesn't take anything too personal, it seems like a great game to play in between breaks from other games, though groups with more tense dynamics could run into problems. It could be really great for a convention game, as the lack of personal connections among the group seem like it could actually help, rather than hinder, in this game. I hope to bring this to my table very soon, but from reading, it seems like it could be a great deal if fun if your group isn't afraid of breaking the mold a bit.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/01/tommys-take-on-epoch-experimental.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Epoch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPOCH: Silent Night
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/06/2013 15:05:41

And you thought that the worst part of the annual Christmas trip was putting up with the in-laws during the festive season... be glad that your trip does not take you through Patterson Falls, a small town with a dark and cold secret.

The action in this chilly claustrophobic adventure begins with the characters travelling through nigh-blizzard conditions, and for some reason (several suggestions are given) ending up on a small commuter flight to Patterson Falls. Here they take refuge in a warm concourse from a raging blizzard whilst their plane is refuelled... but strange figures half-glimpsed through the swirling snow are only the beginning of the horror to engulf them.

From then on in, strange event upon strange event challenge the characters' mental and physical resilience. If they can figure it all out, there is a massive moral dilemma to face... those who survive will not forget this night for years to come. There's loads of evocative detail: locals, the airport and township, the events which transpire... much that will make the whole scene spring into vivid reality in your players' minds. There is a wealth of ideas to aid you in facilitating this, showing you how to use the resources provided to best effect.

Even if you do not play Epoch, the outline of this adventure could be adapted to whatever contemporary horror ruleset you prefer, inserting any necessary game mechanics for yourself.

It's a long, cold silent night just waiting for some hapless characters...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EPOCH: Silent Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sundown
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2013 12:55:31

Cthulhu Wild West... without the spaghetti. Yes, it's gritty. Yes, it's deadly. Yes, it is a fine intro to CoC in the old west.... not the Clint Eastwood Spaghetti Western Old West... but the Old West... grim, gritty... violent sometimes.... This is one crunchy morsel... expect high lethality.... you may have to pull some strings as GM to not invoke total party annihilation... Excellent product. If this is what we can expect from this company, I suspect their products will be worth actually paying for.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sundown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Epoch
by mark k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2013 09:29:27

My Full Review is at http://madmindgamer.blogspot.com/2013/01/review-epoch.html

Epoch is a horror game that will test your role playing skills and your mental capacities. It is serious roleplaying in which it is imperative to be invested in both your character and the story. It will make you uncomfortable at times and force you to make the hard decisions. In the end, it delivers what it promises. You will get a unique horror experience that you will remember, and at the end of the day, that's all that matters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Epoch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates