DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by Anthony R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2013 19:21:05

Looking for a rules-light fantasy RPG but the flood of OSR games does not exactly blow up your skirt? You have come to the right place. BareBones Fantasy presents a straightforward percentile-based system with a clever 'class as your skill' mechanic and a flexible magic system. The slim volume (or PDF) contains everything you need under one cover; races, skills, magic, combat rules, bestiary, magic items, GM guidelines, random dungeon generation tables - it's all here.

To top it off, the package contains a short adventure, player aid, character sheets and more! Did I mention it also included prinnt friendly versions of everything? And that it was only $10? How can you go wrong?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by Bryan A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2013 17:51:23

Fast and Simple System that Allows for Broad Range of Character Types

Hard to beat this system for low cost but still more than enough materials to run a full campaign using the system. Ordered the PDF and print copies both of which more than met my expectations. Was debating between this and Dungeon World but felt the production quality and support for BareBones Fantasy was far superior.

Not a prefect book in that some situations are not covered such as if a character wants to use two weapons or rules for disengaging from melee but for the price point that could be expected. Over all the rules are solid enough to handle most events that will come up during play.

The campaign world is basic and open-ended with nice cartography on the maps. Comes with a dungeon crawl style adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Decahedron Magazine #1
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2013 20:12:47

For 16 pages, there sure is a lot of packed in here! I really enjoyed the two-weapon fighting article, in particular, which illustrates just how nicely tweakable BareBones Fantasy is. I also loved Matt Jackson's map and short adventure, both of which are top notch.

The "Creature Corner" is interesting, offering a new monster for your game, and the random tables are right up my alley--the authors are right--they are lots of fun!

Best of all, this product got me even more excited about making my own creations for BareBones Fantasy. This is a small gaming magazine, but the quality is absolutely top-notch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Decahedron Magazine #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by Ron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2013 13:49:39

I like BareBones Fantasy. If DwD can maintain their production values, you'll be getting in on the ground floor of something special. I'm certainly rooting for them. I'd recommend this product to anyone looking for a simplified-but-deep-enough approach to fantasy. I'd also recommend it to anyone looking to learn a thing or two in preparation for their own publishing adventure. I wouldn't recommend this book if your interests lie primarily in the truly crunchy and/or complex.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dark Times in Brighton
by Eric K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2013 10:11:30

This product is top notch and well worth the full price, much less on sale. I found it clearly written, well organized and imaginative. There are several strong points to this sandbox setting. The first was that it is clear and easy to follow. The second is convenient stat blocks and encounter tables. Together they allow a DM to quicky absorb and use the adventure, even someone inexperienced. The third strong point are the NPCs. They are sufficiently drawn to make them interesting, but not so much that it would waste time. Fourth are the in town encounters. They are useful for building heroes and role playing. Lastly the dungeon itself was nicely done. Overall, this is a simple, straightforward and enjoyable setting and scenario. It can easily be added to a campaign or used as a starter for one. Five Stars in my opinion!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Times in Brighton
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Keranak Kingdoms Fantasy Setting
by Paolo P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2013 05:10:17

TL;DR version: if you need a solid, well designed, decorated and illustrated traditional-fantasy world to build your campaigns, write novels or to hack and tailor to your needs, BUY THIS BOOK. (No one single rule has been harmed during book writing, so you can use it with your favorite fantasy game with no effort)

Long version: it's a while that I thinker with the idea of building my own world to accommodate a great campaign of Fantasy Dice. While "Crimson Exodus" depicts a great world, full of interesting things to do, I don't like each and every aspect of the setting: too gloomy and magic is far too disconnected from the world, there is a lot of details about its mechanic but it's not clear "how it works" and from where it comes.

Enters Keranak Kingdoms. I bought this book as a source for my own work, since it had very good ratings and reviews, with the idea of using it as a mere blueprint on "how to depict a world in broad lines". But after having read it I'm really in doubt. I'd like to have two days a day so that I can run two games, one on Kernanak, the other on my homebrewed setting.

As for the content, I think this bulleted list can give you an idea if this is good for you:

  • Every setting has a "bottom line": what's peculiar here? Here you are: "The kingdom, comprising all the known world, was founded by the gods and given to a single, gifted bloodline. The lask king died with no heir. The kingdom is still there, governed by the aging queen, but soon it will need a new king... or eventually fall apart." As dull as it seems, this creates a great scenario for mature adventures: will you take part in defending the kingdom? Will you reclaim your province and advocate secession? Will you try to be king? Exciting :)

  • This is a well designed but very "standard" fantasy settings: it has human, dwarves, elfs and halflings (which really behaves like hobbits). When it comes to races, Tolkien is lurking pretty everywhere, from races characterization to idividual names, BUT this is not a mere clone. Starting from classic taste they evolved with good ideas and great characters, so the result is something "familiar but new". "New" don't get in the way here, you won't find anything "strange". Just a deeper characterization compared to other pretty silly settings (next bullet).

  • Cultures are very well-designed: not just races but also location and local history contribute to form a culture. So we'll got stout dwarves, as always, but not all are "blindly" grumpy or fierce, it depends from where they grew, in which culture, etc. Elves in particular are interesting as both PCs and NPCs, divided in separated clans which developed pretty different cultures and histories.

  • There is room for all, but it's not a kitchen sink. Mountains and oceans are the evergreen solution when it comes to create separation between what's "home" and what's "exotic", but the setting always have to adopt a geographical/cultural point of views to pinpoint "home" concept. Here home is the Keranak province, the heart of the kingdom. Far away provinces or territories used to be part of the kingdom, but retained their aura of mystery and unfamiliarity to common people. This creates a world full of different cultures and places but not messy like FR or similar.

  • All is readable by your players: this handbook depicts all that a knowledgable keranakian commoner can know about the world. No more info is given. GM can decide what's real, what's legend, how things work, etc. It's hard to find something so detailed and so tailorable at the same time.

  • Little but dense boxes are scattered around and labeled "Dungeon master advices". You could also let your players read them: they offer some ideas worth developing for GMs but more in form of questions: "what happened in this region? Why X and Y are fighting? Maybe thay know something valuable is hidden there and there?" Actually I'd argue that making your players read that boxes will help you disseminating your campaign with red-harrings :D

Summing all up, the product is worth all the money it costs, and more. Five stars :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Keranak Kingdoms Fantasy Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by adon c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2013 06:31:02

Normally I'd not give 5 stars, as I find the system lacking compared to Swords & Wizardry, Labyrinth Lord or a couple more retro clones I've tried. And not that much easier for new players than any of those, either. But it's got brand new concepts and the best DM section I've seen. It needs serious balancing, as Spellcasters even from level 1 outshadow each and every other class (combat included); each combat became just a turn grinding until the spellcaster could cast offensive strikes to all enemies... It could be the group I DMed (they were very much apprentices in the rpg scene), but still...

But I'll give it the five stars, because it's also extremely good priced for what it offers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by Ward M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2013 20:45:49

Overview: PDF, 84 pages

Includes everything you need to run a game in 84 pages! Chapters are as follows: Introduction, Character Creation, Gameplay, GM Guidelines, Setting Overview.

This book assumes that you know what an RPG is and how to roleplay a character. So, not a whole lot of long-winded explanations. That being said, this would be a great RPG to start new players in.

The good: Some people have derided BBF as a 'beer and pretels' game. I disagree with that assessment. It is decidedly rules-light, but in a good way. More time is spent rolling dice than looking up obscure rules scattered over a dozen books. I call that a positive.

The bad: It could use a few more monsters. More monsters are showing up in the modules, so I guess they are working on this issue.

Bottom line: Best money you will spend on a basic RPG this year.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by loic g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2013 12:09:46

A very good game, all you need for great rpg fun is packed here ! Try it you cant be wrong with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by Dominik D. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/26/2012 10:58:57

Originally posted on: http://www.rollenspiel-almanach.de/rezension-barebones-fantasy-rpg/

Die vollmundige Ankündigung des „BareBones Fantasy RPGs“ (im Folgenden BB) beschreibt es als flexibles und einfaches Fantasysystem mit den typischen Rassen, einem einzigartigen Magiesystem mit Zaubersprüchen und einer Menge Spielleiterhilfen, das alles liefert, was eine Spielgruppe benötigt. Mit anderen Worten, es will das bieten, was schon viele Systeme vor ihm versprochen haben, einschließlich Dungeonslayers oder auch Savage Worlds. Als es bei DrivethruRPG auftauchte, sah ich zunächst keinen Grund, ihm einen zweiten Blick zu gönnen. Die Versprechungen sind schon zu häufig gemacht und unzureichend eingehalten worden. In der späteren Zeit las ich aber immer wieder von Leuten, die das Spiel sehr mochten und wurde selbst neugierig. Vielleicht ist das der Beweis, dass virales Marketing funktioniert. So oder so wurde ich nicht enttäuscht.

Das Design von BB liegt ziemlich genau in der Mitte zwischen „Dungeonslayers“ und „Barbarians of Lemuria“. Wie bei „Barbarians of Lemuria“ werden Archetypen wie Fertigkeiten in verschiedenen Stufen erlernt und gehandhabt. Eine Figur könnte also die Fertigkeiten „Thief“ Stufe 3 und „Cleric“ Stufe 5 haben. Die Stufen erhöhen nicht nur die Chance eine Fertigkeit erfolgreich anzuwenden (ein Kundschafter, der schleicht oder ein Gelehrter, der etwas über die Welt wissen will), sondern haben auch andere Auswirkungen. So kann ein Magier beispielsweise einen bzw. zwei Zaubersprüche pro Stufe erlernen. Gewürfelt wird generell mit 10-seitigen Würfeln, Proben erfolgen auf dem Prinzip von Prozentwürfen. Die Chance, eine Fertigkeit erfolgreich anzuwenden. errechnet sich aus einer der Grundeigenschaften (z. B. Geschick bei „Dieb“) und der Stufe der jeweiligen Fertigkeit. Auf einfache Weise ermöglich BB so, verschiedenste Charaktere zu spielen, indem der Spieler unterschiedliche Fertigkeiten miteinander kombiniert. Den oben erwähnten Diebeskleriker stelle ich mir beispielsweise recht interessant vor. Für Leute, die Dungeonslayers mit seinen fünf Charaktertypen als zu eingeschränkt und Barbarians of Lemuria als zu frei und zu wenig geregelt empfinden ist das ein schöner Mittelweg.

Der Kampf funktioniert wie erwartet: Es gibt Angriffs- und Verteidigungswerte, und wird eine Figur getroffen, erhält sie Schaden, der von einem Wert mit dem Namen „Body Points“ abgezogen wird. Zauberei ist auch sehr einfach, denn es gibt die überschaubare Anzahl von 17 Zaubersprüchen, die von Klerikern und Zauberwirkern erlernt werden können. Die Zauber sind allgemein gehalten (z. B. Telekinese oder Offensivschlag) und decken mit dieser kleinen Liste so ziemlich alles ab, was ein Zauberer normalerweise können will.

Der Spielleiterteil ist so übersichtlich und gut organisiert wie der Rest des Buches. Die beiden Listen mit Monstern und magischen Gegenständen sind für ein Rollenspiel dieser Größe erstaunlich lang. Herausragend ist ein relativ langes Kapitel über die Erstellung von Abenteuern, das hauptsächlich aus Tabellen besteht, die ein schönes Skelett liefern, das der SL anschließend mit Fleisch versieht. Es erinnert stark an die Abenteuergeneratoren aus Savage-Worlds-Büchern. Schön ist auch der Dungeongenerator, bei dem mit Hilfe einer einfachen Tabelle das Layout des Dungeons erwürfelt werden kann, um es anschließend zu füllen.

Schluss des Buches ist die grobe Beschreibung des Keranak-Königreichs: eine Seite Geschichte, eine doppelseitige Karte und vier Seiten mit Erklärungen zu den Namen auf der Karte, jeweils nur zwei bis sechs Zeilen lang. Das ist genug, um erst einmal loszuspielen, wer aber seine Welt nicht selbst erschaffen will, benötigt mehr. Eine detailiertere Beschreibung des Königreichs wird bereits als PDF angeboten.

Zusätzlich zum Regelwerk ist dem Download das Abenteuer „Maidens of Moordoth“ beigefügt. Es ist ein kurzes Old-School-Abenteuer mit einem witzigen Hintergrund, der Dungeon, in dem der Hauptteil des Abenteuers spielt, ist allerdings etwas fade. Als Einführung in das System ist es aber gut zu gebrauchen und sollte Spaß machen. Die Dungeonkarte gibt es auch in einer Spielerversion, in der allerdings etwas eingezeichnet ist, das die Spieler nicht sehen dürfen, und somit als Handout erst dann zu gebrauchen, wenn sie es entdeckt haben.

Das Cover ist sehr gelungen, und auch das Layout ist hübsch und übersichtlich und die Innenillustrationen sind überdurchschnittlich gut. Das Format ist für Tablet-PCs optimiert. Beeindruckend ist auch die Anzahl an Files, die nach Bezahlen freigeschaltet werden: druckerfreundliche Versionen, das Abenteuer in separater Datei, diverse Bögen und sogar eine Weltkarte mit und ohne Hexfelder. Das Regelwerk hat 84 Seiten, das Abenteuer 16. Der Preis von 9,99$ ist für die gelieferte Menge an Text im oberen Durchschnitt vieler professioneller Produkte, aber nicht zu teuer, wenn man die Qualität von Inhalt und Aussehen bedenkt.

Es ist schade, dass „BareBones“ droht in der Masse der generischen Fantasy-Rollenspiele unterzugehen, die versprechen einfach und trotzdem flexibel zu sein. Es trifft für mich den optimalen Punkt zwischen Einfachheit und Detail. Es liefert klassische Regeln mit bekannten Elementen wie Charakterklassen, Lebenspunkten, Angriffen, Paraden und Zaubersprüchen arbeiten, zeigt aber gerade genug Innovation, um interessant zu sein. Es ist außerdem so einfach, dass es auch der zeitlich eingeschränkte Erwachsene neu erlernen und spielen kann, ohne allzu viel seiner kostbaren Freizeit einzubüßen. Wer auf der Suche nach etwas in dieser Art ist, sollte es sich ansehen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by Kevin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2012 09:42:06

BareBones Fantasy is a great option for those that enjoy rules lite systems, for one I really like that the DWD studio's rules lite system is really rules lite. There are many systems out there that claim to be rules lite and still have 100+ pages of rules to go through. Some have combat systems longer than the entire BareBones Fantasy book!

Here are the three things I like most...

  1. Rules are easy to remember and made for "on the fly" gamemastering. I can jury rig a rule on the fly and a rules lawyer won't dig out the book and tell me why I'm wrong. It's very easy to remember the basic rules for skills and combat so there will be far less book-diving than in some other games.

I've always wanted a fantasy or sci-fi game that could be run off the cuff without needing a separate notebook for the rules. The story and speed of action are the most important things to me in a RPG and this system supplies that.

  1. Fully contained system. You don't need anything other than the BareBones fantasy core rules to play, 1 book for the whole game.

A ten dollar pdf for the whole game system. You can't get much better than that unless you get it free.

  1. The setting is open ended. You are not forced to conform to any predetermined outcome for your setting and since the setting is "lite" anything goes creatively. You can create an iconic character for the setting and they will fit in perfectly.

In other words you can create your own version of the wise ole' wizard with your own twist, and have him be the greatest wizard of the land instead of having to accept another systems established character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2012 20:38:25

A great little game in a small package. This is the way AD&D 1e should have been done in the first place. For those that can remember, this game uses game mechanics similar in many ways to the old TSR game "Star Frontiers. I can't recomend this game enough. A lot of potential here. Hope to see more support for this great game.

LIkes: The elimination of classes.

Dislikes: Would have beennice to see a better monster section, though it does have everything needed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2012 02:17:21

In the 30 years that I've been playing B/X D&D, I have tried many other fantasy RPG's. Some have been quite good; others, not so much. However, no game had dethroned B/X D&D as the core in my gaming until now. BareBones Fantasy is that good. It has old-school sensibilities implemented with modern mechanics. You can learn the system in short order and get right to playing a highly cinematic, intense gaming experience that doesn't get you bogged down in the minutiae. Wait, you say, you want minutiae? Or you want to customize the game? BBF is highly customizable; its simplicity belies depths of complexity just waiting to be unleashed. Couple that with solid support from its developers at DwD Studios and you get a system that will serve you well for years to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Decahedron Magazine #1
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2012 21:52:56

This is an excellent first offering of a Fanzine for a new game. It contains work by those working with the studio as well as fan-generated material. If you enjoy BareBones Fantasy or fantasy in general this is a great read!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Decahedron Magazine #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Decahedron Magazine #1
by John A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2012 20:57:35

This the way to do a magazine for BBF - a new spell, race, monster and module as well as 100 descriptors, an unused map and more. Keep it up guys!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 121 to 135 (of 167 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates